DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the pending claims, 15-20, 32-37, received 26 October 2025. Accordingly, the detailed action of claims 15-20, 32-37 is as follows:
Examiner’s Note
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “determining, in accordance with an Artificial Intelligence or Machine Learning (AI/ML) based model of the network, a first candidate path and a second candidate path for the requested connection through user plane functions in the network”. The examiner understands the claimed feature to indicate using the AI/ML model to determine a pathway through the network (first candidate path) and alternate connections (second candidate path) as supported by applicant’s specification {0050-0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 USC 112 rejection presented in the previous office action has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments (Remarks pg 8-9)
Claims 15-19, 32-36 and 37 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “wherein the first candidate path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a first data path identifier and a first predicted response time and wherein the second candidate path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a second data path identifier and a second predicted response time” however, the examiner is unable to find support for said feature. After careful review of the applicant’s specification, the examiner is able to find support for a (measured) response time and reply time (Spec [0053]). There appears to be no mention, teaching or suggestion of parameters including a data path identifier or predicted response time for a plurality of paths as claimed.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “a connection admission reply that indicates one or more candidate connections, each corresponding to a respective one of the first and second candidate paths determined by the AI/ML based model of the network, and lists for each candidate connection, predicted parameters comprising at least one of a data-path identifier and a predicted response time, of the corresponding candidate path” however, the examiner is unable to find support for said feature. After careful review of the applicant’s specification, the examiner is unable to find any teach, suggestion or motivation, that the connection admission reply indicates the plurality of elements as claimed.
The examiner is able to find support for “an AI/ML based path routing engine [can] determine which pathway though the network is most likely to be able to support the connection request” (Spec [0050]), “Determining a path for the requested connection” (Spec [Fig 4]), however, there is not mention, teaching or suggestion of determining or providing a reply which includes multiple paths. The only discussion of multiple paths is directed to a case when the connection request is rejected a negotiation process is entered whereby “connections” are suggested (Spec [0051]). However, this negotiation process occurs after the sending of the connection admission reply, containing the rejection, such that there is no mention of transmitting a connection reply indicating a plurality of paths and corresponding parameters.
Claims 16-19 and 32-36 do not cure the deficiencies of claim 15. Therefore claims 16-19 and 32-36 are rejected for the same reasons set forth above regarding claim 15.
Regarding claim 37, the claim recites “transmitting, together with the rejection of the connection-admission request, an indication of one or more alternative connection parameters”, however, the examiner is unable to find support for said feature. After careful review of the applicant’s specification ([0051]) the examiner is able to find support for entering a negotiation process to determine whether an alternate connection request can be supported, upon determination the admission of a connection is rejected, whereby connections that can be supported are suggested. There is no positive recitation the reply includes suggested connections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15-17, 32-34, 36 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al (US 20210105196 A1, hereafter referred to as Dao) in view of Trakinat et al (US 20230291677 A1, hereafter referred to as Trakinat) in view of Shaik et al (US 20200084127 A1, hereafter referred to as Shaik).
Regarding claim 15, Dao teaches a method, comprising:
receiving, from an application server outside the network, a request for admission of a connection between a node associated with the network and the application server (Dao [0296] discloses receiving from a UE, outside the core network, a request to establish a connection [0292-0293]. Additionally, [0269] discloses receiving, from an application function, located outside a core network in a mobile data network [0355], a request to establish a session);
determining (Dao [0064] discloses identifying and configuring network functions in the control plane) a candidate path for the requested connection through user plane functions in the network (Dao [0064] teaches using network functions including a SMP to select user plane functions [0044]);
transmitting to the application a connection admission reply in response to the received request (Dao [0385-0386] discloses transmitting an accept response to the UE), a connection admission reply that indicates one or more candidate connections, each corresponding to a respective one of the first and second candidate paths determined by the AI/ML based model of the network, and lists for each candidate connection, predicted parameters comprising at least one of a data-path identifier and a predicted response time, of the corresponding candidate path (Dao [0389] teaches forwarding the PDU Session ID, N1 SM container Session Establishment Accept); and
thereafter transmitting to a node within the network a single connection request, based on a selected candidate path (Dao [0374-0377] discloses initiating a session establishment procedure with user plane functions, wherein the user plane functions are selected as one or a combination of NFs));
establishing a connection between the node and the application server (Dao [Fig 11B] teaches uplink and downlink data transmission).
However, Dao does not explicitly teach [determining] in accordance with an Artificial Intelligence or Machine Learning (AI/ML) based model of the network (Dao [0064] discloses identifying and configuring based on a OAM [0052]. Further [0316] discloses determining rejection based on applied logic) a first candidate path and a second candidate path for the requested connection, wherein the first candidate path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a first data path identifier and a first predicted response time and a wherein the second candidate path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a second data path identifier and a second predicted response time; transmitting based on a selected one of the first and second candidate paths determined by the AI/ML based model of the network.
Trakinat, in an analogous art, teaches [determining] in accordance with an Artificial Intelligence or Machine Learning (AI/ML) based model of the network a first candidate path and a second candidate path for the requested connection (Trakinat [0046] discloses an agent or module which determines candidate routing paths for a communication link [0049-0051] using machine learning or artificial intelligence [0050 and 0052] for automatic selection [0052]), wherein the first candidate path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a first data path identifier and a first set of metrics and a wherein the second candidate path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a second data path identifier and a second set of metrics (Trakinat [0051] discloses metrics or characteristics upon which the plurality of paths are evaluated [0051], wherein the metrics are used in selection algorithms [0010] and include network delay and load [0002]);
thereafter transmitting to a node within the network a single connection request, based on a selected one of the first and second candidate paths determined by the AI/ML based model of the network (Trakinat [0053] teaches transmitting a(n) (“single”) request based on the routing path selected by the ML model [0050, 0052]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dao in view of Trakinat in order to configure the determination of a path for the requested connection through user plane functions in the network, as taught by Dao, to include determining a first path and a second path wherein the first path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a first data path identifier and a first data rate and a wherein the second pat includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a second data path identifier and a second data rate, as taught by Trakinat.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to select or predict the best route to ensure better service quality, reliability and performance (Trakinat [0001-0002]).
However, Dao-Trakinat does not explicitly teach the set of metrics as or including a predicted response time.
Shaik, in an analogous art, teaches the set of metrics as or including response time (Shaik [0019] teaches storing performance indictor data associated with a plurality of network function devices in a telecommunications system) such that Shaik teaches wherein the first candidate path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a first data path identifier and a first predicted response time and wherein the second candidate path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a second data path identifier and a second predicted response time (Shaik [0019] teaches storing performance indictor data associated with a plurality of network function devices in a telecommunications system, wherein the performance indicators include a latency performance indicator regarding roundtrip time).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dao-Trakinat in view of Shaik in order to configure the first and second path, as taught by Dao-Trakinat, to include, in the set of parameters, a [respective] response time, as taught by Shaik.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to reduce the burden of an operator to include resources to manage a plurality of network function devices thereby decreasing the complexity of the system and operating and maintaining the system and distributed storage requirements permitting optimization of operating parameters of the system (Shaik [0010 and 0036]).
Regarding claim 16, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
Additionally, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the method wherein the node associated with the network is connected to the network through a radio access network (Dao [0046 and 0056] discloses an application server (and application function ([0355])) is connected to a data network [0352], outside the core network, which connects to the user plane function part of the core network [0056], wherein the data network is part of a mobile edge network [0042]).
Regarding claim 17, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
Additionally, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the method wherein the network is a core network associated with a mobile network (Dao [0041] discloses a core network associated with a mobile network [0042, 0039 and 0063]).
Regarding claim 32, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
Additionally, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the method wherein the determining is performed using knowledge of various network statuses and load levels (Dao [0092] discloses rejection causes, used in establishing a session [0348, 0351], include network status (out of service area) and insufficient resources (load level). Likewise, Trakinat [0002] discloses considering load).
Regarding claim 33, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
Additionally, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the method wherein the Artificial Intelligence or Machine Learning based Model uses one or more network routing patterns (Dao [0324] discloses consulting the NRF to determine a network function based on previously selected network functions to serve the session. Likewise, Trakinat [0050] discloses user inputs, network inputs and past performance as inputs).
Regarding claim 34, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
Additionally, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the method wherein the determining identifies which pathway through the network is most likely to be able to support the connection request (Dao [0324] discloses consulting the NRF or received information to determine the network functions configured to support the session request. Likewise, Trakinat [0049-0051]).
Regarding claim 36, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
Additionally, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the method wherein the determining comprises a preemptive rejection of the request for admission of a connection (Dao [0316, 0322] discloses rejecting a session creation request without transmitting a creation request to a SMF [0324-0325]).
Claim 18-19, 35 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dao et al (US 20210105196 A1, hereafter referred to as Dao) in view of Trakinat et al (US 20230291677 A1, hereafter referred to as Trakinat) in view of Shaik et al (US 20200084127 A1, hereafter referred to as Shai) as applied above regarding claim 15, further in view of Neuman et al (US 20180115520 A1, hereafter referred to as Neuman).
Regarding claim 18, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
However, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik does not explicitly teach the method wherein transmitting the connection request to the node within the network is performed after transmitting the connection admission reply.
Neuman, in an analogous art, teaches the method wherein transmitting the connection request to the node within the network is performed after transmitting the connection admission reply (Neuman [0212-0213] discloses transmitting the connection request to the server after transmitting the connection response [0208-0209]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dao-Trakinat-Shaik in view of Neuman in order to configure the transmitting the connection request, as taught by Dao-Trakinat-Shaik, be performed after transmitting the connection admission reply, as taught by Neuman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enable faster response and start up time, reducing the delay of round-trip times (Neuman [0204, 0206]).
Regarding claim 19, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
Additionally, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the method further comprising:
receiving from the node within the network a reply to the connection request (Dao [0348, 0378] teaches receiving a response to the connection request).
However, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik does not explicitly teach the method further comprising: further wherein the step of transmitting a connection admission reply is performed before receiving the reply to the connection request from the node within the network.
Neuman, in an analogous art, teaches the method further comprising:
receiving from the node within the network a reply to the connection request (Neuman [Fig 30-1766]), and further wherein the step of transmitting a connection admission reply is performed before receiving the reply to the admission request from the node within the network (Neuman [0212-0213] discloses transmitting the connection request to the server after transmitting the connection response [0208-0209]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dao-Trakinat-Shaik in view of Neuman in order to configure the reply to the connection request from the node within the network, as taught by Dao-Trakinat-Shaik, be performed before receiving the reply to the admission request from the node within the network, as taught by Neuman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enable faster response and start up time, reducing the delay of round-trip times (Neuman [0204, 0206]).
Regarding claim 35, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the limitations of claim 15, as rejected above.
Additionally, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik teaches the method wherein the Artificial Intelligence or Machine Learning based model uses predictions about network behavior (Trakinat [0050] discloses using predictions about network behavior, based on past performance data).
However, Dao-Trakinat-Shaik does not explicitly teach teaches the method wherein the Artificial Intelligence or Machine Learning based model uses predictions about network behavior to allow faster response to the request for admission.
Neuman, in an analogous art, teaches the method wherein the Artificial Intelligence or Machine Learning based model uses predictions about network behavior to allow faster response to the request for admission (Neuman [0209] discloses using predictions to respond to the connection request, providing faster startup times and reducing round trip times [0204, 0206]).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dao-Trakinat-Shaik in view of Neuman in order to configure the AI or machine learning using predictions about network behavior, as taught by Dao-Trakinat-Shaik, use predictions to allow faster response to the request for admission, as taught by Neuman.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to enable faster response and start up time, reducing the delay of round-trip times (Neuman [0204, 0206]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20 and 37 allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 Oct 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 15, applicant argues:
“Amended claim 15 recites a two-phase, application-facing workflow that the cited prior- arts even if combined do not teach or suggest, that is:
1. Predictive multi-candidate reply to an external application server (pre-admission):
The ADF (using an AI/ML model of the network) determines a first and second candidate path and transmits to the application server a connection-admission reply that indicates one or more candidate connections, each corresponding to a respective one of those candidate paths, and lists, for each candidate, predicted parameters including at least one of: (i) the data-path identifier; and (i1) the predicted response time, of the corresponding candidate path.” Remarks pg 11
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees according to the 112 rejection presented above. Specifically, the examiner is unable to find support for a reply indicating a plurality of paths, much less listing, for each candidate, predicted parameters to be transmitted to the application server in an reply.
Regarding claim 15, applicant argues:
“2. Single internal admission request that selects a listed candidate:
Thereafter, the ADF transmits a single connection request based on a selected one of the first/second candidate paths (i.e., it selects one of the previously listed, model-predicted candidates and proceeds with that one).” Remarks pg 11
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees according to the reasons set forth above in the updated grounds of rejection responsive to applicant’s amendment. Specifically, Dao [0374] teaches the SMF initiates a N4 session establishment procedure with the selected UPF.
Regarding the prior art, the applicant argues:
“Network-internal vs. application-facing: Dao, Trakinat, and Shaik address network-internal path selection and metrics. None teaches returning to an external application a multi-candidate reply populated with model-predicted parameters tied to internally computed candidate UPF paths. Surfacing a shortlist with predicted metrics to an external application is a different interface and purpose than the cited art’s internal selection flows.” Remarks pg 12
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees according to the reasons set forth above responsive to applicant’s previous arguments pertaining to the prior art. Specifically, the examiner is unable to find support for listing, for each candidate, predicted parameters to be transmitted to the application server in an reply. Moreover, Dao teaches the UE or AS located outside of the Core Network ([0269, 0355]) sending a request to establish a session thru core network functions including control plane and user plane functions).
Regarding the prior art, applicant argues:
“No disclosure of “predictive parameters listed to the app.”: Even if Trakinat/Shaik discuss ML/latency/metrics, those are used internally. The asserted combo does not teach listing the model’s predicted parameters to the application for each candidate connection; that step is central to claim 15.” Remarks pg 12
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees according to the reasons set forth above responsive to applicant’s previous arguments pertaining to the prior art. Specifically, the examiner is unable to find support for listing, for each candidate, predicted parameters to be transmitted to the application server in an reply.
Regarding the prior art, applicant argues:
“Neuman does not cure the gap: Neuman’s “faster response/ordering” does not teach (1) an ADF-— application multi-candidate admission reply populated with predicted metrics, nor (i1) a single internal request that selects one of those previously surfaced candidates. Neuman is about early responses/ordering—not about exposing internal candidate UPF routes and predictions to an external app.” Remarks pg 12
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees according to the reasons set forth above regarding applicant’s previous arguments pertaining to the listing of predicted metrics of which there appears to be no support as well as the positively recited establishment request sent by the SMF to the UPF as taught by Dao.
Regarding the prior art, applicant argues:
“No reasoned motivation to combine; change in principle of operation: The proposed combination would require exporting internal candidate paths and their predicted performance outside the core, fundamentally changing how the core’s selection logic interacts with applications. Doing so would also raise API, security, and timing concerns that the art does not address (i.e., there is no articulated rationale in the references to make this two-phase, app-facing design change).” Remarks pg 12
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Dao in view of Trakinat in order to configure the determination of a path for a requested connection through user plane functions in the core network from an UE or AS/AF outside the core network, as taught by Dao, to include determining a first path and a second path wherein the first path includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a first data path identifier and a first data rate and a wherein the second pat includes a set of parameters comprising at least one of a second data path identifier and a second data rate, as taught by Trakinat, whereby a connection admission reply is provided to the requesting device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated in order to select or predict the best route to ensure better service quality, reliability and performance (Trakinat [0001-0002]).
Regarding the prior art, applicant argues:
“Claim-specific constraints still unmet: Claim 15 requires a single post-reply internal request that selects a previously listed candidate. The art neither requires a single internal request nor ties that request to selecting from a previously sent, model-predicted shortlist.” Remarks pg 12
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim recites, in part, “thereafter” transmitting to a node within the network a single connection request, which based upon broadest reasonable interpretation indicates, after (one of) receiving a request, determining candidates, or transmitting a reply, transmitting a single connection request. Dao teaches, after receiving a request ([0296]) and determining a path ([0064]), transmitting a connection request ([0374-0377]).
Regarding the prior art, applicant argues:
“Furthermore, dependent claims 18-19 (ordering) reinforce the reply-then-request sequencing (Neuman’s general ordering still lacks the app-facing, predictive multi-candidate reply). Dependent claims 32-36 recite model inputs/behaviors (statuses, load, routing patterns, predicting which pathway is most likely, preemptive rejection). The combo does not disclose using these features in an ADF—application multi-candidate reply context.” Remarks pg 12
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees according to the reasons set forth above regarding applicant’s previous arguments pertaining to claim 15.
Regarding the prior art, applicant argues:
“Even under KSR, there is no teaching, suggestion, or reasoned motivation to transform the cited, network-internal selection flows into the claimed two-phase, application-facing workflow that (1) lists model-predicted candidate options to the application and (11) then sends one internal request that selects from that list.” Remarks pg 12-13
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees according to the reasons set forth above. Particularly, the examiner is unable to find support for listing predicted candidate options to the requestor. Additionally, the functionality the applicant is traversing “an internal request that selects from the [provided] list, is not positively recited.
Regarding claims 15-19 and 32-36, applicant argues:
“As such, the prior arts, either alone or in any known combination, fail to teach or suggest all of the elements of amended claim 15. Therefore, claim 15 is not obvious over the cited prior arts.
Because claims 16-19 and 32-36 each depend from claim 15, for at least similar reasons, said claims also not obvious in view of the cited arts.
Therefore, the Examiner's rejection of claims 15-19 and 32-36 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 should be withdrawn.” Remarks pg 13
In response the examiner respectfully disagrees according to the reasons set forth above regarding applicant’s previous arguments pertaining to claim 15 of which the dependent claims inherit.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHEAN TOKUTA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2446
/SHEAN TOKUTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446