DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Liao (US 10,760,630 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Liao discloses a caliper brake (100) comprising:
an inner brake pad (312) and an outer brake pad (322)arranged on both sides of a brake disc (2) rotating together with a wheel;
a pressing member (40 (41)) configured to press the inner brake pad toward the brake disc;
a caliper housing (20) provided such that the pressing member moves forward or rearward;
a caliper bridge (22) connected to the caliper housing and configured to press the outer brake pad toward the brake disc by a reaction force according to an operation of the pressing member;
a carrier (10 (11)) fixedly installed in a vehicle body;
at least one guide rod (12, 13) fixedly installed in the carrier and configured to guide sliding movement of the caliper housing and the caliper bridge relative to the carrier; and
at least one outer pad spring (23 in fig. 2) mounted on a protrusion part formed at a side end of an outer pad plate on which the outer brake pad (note the side protrusion ends of the pad plate 322 in fig. 2) is fixedly installed and configured to elastically support the outer brake pad,
wherein the caliper bridge (22) includes:
an outer pad seat (224) on which at least portions of the outer pad spring (23) and the protrusion part (note the side protrusion ends of the pad plate 322 in fig. 2) are seated;
a first torque support step (left side of 225) protruding from an upper side of the outer pad seat and facing an upper end of the protrusion part or one side of the outer pad spring; and
a second torque support step (ridge side 225) protruding from a lower side of the outer pad seat and facing a lower end of the protrusion part or the other side of the outer pad spring,
wherein the outer pad spring (note fig. 2 and the figure shown below) includes:
a first fastening portion facing a circumferential outer surface of the first torque support step (note fig. 2 and the figure shown below); and
a second fastening portion facing a circumferential outer surface of the second torque support step (note fig. 2 and the figure shown below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao (US 10,760,630 B2) in view of Inoue (WO 2021039413 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Liao discloses the outer pad plate and the outer pad spring includes: a base disposed to face the rear surface of the pad plate and a fastening hole which is formed through the base but fails to disclose a restraint protrusion provided on a rear surface of the protrusion part wherein the restraint protrusion is inserted into the fastening hole. However, Inoue discloses a pad plate including restraint protrusion (152 in fig. 7) inserted into a fastening hole of pad spring (161). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the filing date of the present application was made to modify the pad plate and the pad spring of Liao with restraint protrusion as taught by Inoue will provide stronger connection of the spring to the pad plate and reduce any noise and rattling.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-20 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on some reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the outer pad spring including a first fastening portion facing a circumferential outer surface of the first torque support step and a second fastening portion facing a circumferential outer surface of the second torque support step, the examiner notes that Liao discloses all claimed limitations as set forth above including the outer pad spring (note fig. 2 and the figure shown above) including a first fastening portion facing a circumferential outer surface of the first torque support step (note fig. 2 and the figure shown above) and a second fastening portion facing a circumferential outer surface of the second torque support step (note fig. 2 and the figure shown above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616