This communication is in response to application No. 18/128,228; Steering Apparatus; filed on 3/30/2023 and amended on 11/21/2025. Claims 1, 3-22 are currently pending and have been examined. Claim 2 has been cancelled by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siskoy (US 2019/0009813 A1) in view of Szepessy (US 2020/0406954 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Siskoy discloses;
A steering apparatus (steer-by-wire system 108; fig. 1, paragraph 17) comprising:
a reaction force actuator (steering column emulator 110; fig. 2, paragraph 17) operably connected to a steering control member (steering wheel 114; fig. 1) operated by a driver of a vehicle, the reaction force actuator configured to generate a reaction force to be provided to the steering control member operated by the driver;
a reaction force controller (steering column ECU 202; fig. 2, paragraph 22) configured to control the reaction force actuator based on an electrical signal associated with operation of the steering control member operated by the driver;
a steering actuator (first actuator 221; fig. 2, paragraph 24) configured to drive a steering mechanism (steering rack 112) operably connected to at least one wheel (road wheels 104; fig. 1) of the vehicle to steer the at least one wheel of the vehicle;
a steering controller (steering rack ECU 220; fig. 2) configured to control the steering actuator based on the electrical signal associated with the operation of the steering control member operated by the driver;
a first communication network (communication link 132; fig. 1, paragraph 17) connected to the reaction force controller and the steering controller to transmit a control signal to the reaction force controller and the steering controller; and
a second communication network (backup steering system 130; fig. 1, paragraph 20) connected to the reaction force controller and the steering controller independently of the first communication network such that the control signal is transmitted to the reaction force controller and the steering controller through the second communication network independently of the first communication network;
a first power line (first power harness 244; fig. 2, paragraph 32) connected to the reaction force controller (ECU 202) and the steering controller (ECU 220) to supply power to the reaction force controller and the steering controller;
Siskoy does not disclose a second power line connected to the reaction force controller and the steering controller independently of the first power line so that power is supplied to the reaction force controller and the steering controller through the second power line independently of the first power line. However, Szepessy teaches;
a second power line (power supply 201; fig. 2, paragraph 17) connected to the reaction force controller (feedback actuator 4) and the steering controller (steering actuator 6) independently of the first power line (power supply 200) so that power is supplied to the reaction force controller and the steering controller through the second power line independently of the first power line. (Szepessy describes two power distribution lines feeding the reaction force controller and the steering controller, independent of one another.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Siskoy to include a second power line connected to the reaction force controller and the steering controller independently of the first power line so that power is supplied to the reaction force controller and the steering controller through the second power line independently of the first power line, as taught by Szepessy, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steer-by-wire vehicle steering systems. As disclosed by Szepessy, it is well known for a second power line to be connected to the reaction force controller and the steering controller independently of the first power line so that power is supplied to the reaction force controller and the steering controller through the second power line independently of the first power line. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siskoy to include a second power line connected to the reaction force controller and the steering controller independently of the first power line so that power is supplied to the reaction force controller and the steering controller through the second power line independently of the first power line, as taught by Szepessy, as such a modification would provide the ability to provide a steer-by-wire system which always operates reliably. (Paragraph 3 of Szepessy).
Regarding claim 3, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising: a first battery (power supply 240; fig. 2, paragraph 32) connected to the first power line to provide the power to the first power line; and
a second battery (backup power supply 242; fig. 2, paragraph 32) connected to the second power line to provide the power to the second power line.
Regarding claim 4, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising a communication line (first private bus 226; fig. 2, paragraph 26) directly connecting between the reaction force controller (steering column ECU 202; fig. 2, paragraph 22) and the steering controller (steering rack ECU 220; fig. 2) such that the reaction force controller and the steering controller directly communicate each other through the communication line.
Regarding claim 5, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising a steering control sensor (angle sensor 204; fig. 2, paragraph 22) configured to measure a physical quantity related to the operation of the steering control member (steering wheel 114) operated by the driver, and provide the measured physical quantity to the reaction force controller (steering column ECU 202),
wherein the electrical signal has a correlation with the physical quantity related to the operation of the steering control member operated by the driver. (The angle sensor measures the angle of rotation of the steering column. Paragraph 22)
Regarding claim 6, Siskoy further discloses;
wherein the physical quantity includes a torque generated by the operation of the steering control member operated by the driver. (Siskoy also discloses a torque sensor (206) which measure steering column torque and reports to the steering column ECU 202. Paragraph 22)
Regarding claim 7, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising a steering mechanism operation sensor (rack position sensor 224; fig. 2, paragraph 21) configured to sense movement related to operation of the steering mechanism operated by the driver, and
transmit to the steering controller (steering rack ECU 220) a signal associated with the sensed movement related to the operation of the steering mechanism operated by the driver.
Regarding claim 8, Siskoy further discloses;
wherein: the steering mechanism includes a linearly movable member (steering rack 124; fig. 1, paragraph 24); and
the signal associated with the sensed movement related to the operation of the steering mechanism operated by the driver includes a position of the linearly movable member. (Paragraph 24 of Siskoy discloses the rack position sensor as determining the position of the steering rack.)
Claim(s) 9, 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siskoy in view Kaepernick (DE 10 2019 207615 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Siskoy discloses;
A steering apparatus comprising:
a reaction force actuator (steering column emulator 110) configured to generate a reaction force to be provided to a steering control member (steering wheel 114) operated by a driver of a vehicle;
a first reaction force controller (steering column ECU 202) configured to control the reaction force actuator based on an electrical signal associated with operation of the steering control member operated by the driver;
a steering actuator (first actuator 221) configured to drive a steering mechanism (steering rack 112) operably connected to at least one wheel (road wheels 104) of the vehicle to steer the at least one wheel of the vehicle;
a first steering controller (steering rack ECU 220) configured to control the steering actuator based on the electrical signal associated with the operation of the steering control member operated by the driver;
a second steering controller (steering rack ECU 222; fig. 2, paragraph 25) configured to control the steering actuator based on the electrical signal along with or instead of the first steering controller;
a first communication network (communication link 132; fig. 1, paragraph 17) connected to the first reaction force controller and the first steering controller to transmit a control signal to the first reaction force controller and the first steering controller; and
Siskoy discloses a backup steering system which receives signals from backup angle and torque sensors as part of the steering column and communicates with the steering rack control unit in the event of a steering column emulator failure. Siskoy does not disclose a second reaction force controller as part of this backup system. However, Kaepernick teaches;
a second reaction force controller (second controller 18; fig. 1b, paragraph 22) configured to control the reaction force actuator (feedback actuator 14) based on the electrical signal along with or instead of the first reaction force controller; (Paragraph 22 describes the control units 16, 18 as controlling the feedback actuator.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Siskoy to include a second reaction force controller as taught by Kaepernick, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steer-by-wire backup control systems. As disclosed by Kaepernick, it is well known for a steer-by-wire backup control system to include a second reaction force controller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siskoy to include a second reaction force controller as taught by Kaepernick, as such a modification would provide for a backup to the steering wheel feedback actuator.
Siskoy further discloses;
a second communication network (backup steering system 130; fig. 1, paragraph 20, Siskoy) connected to the second reaction force controller (second controller 19 of Kaepernick) and the second steering controller (steering rack ECU 222; Siskoy) such that the control signal is transmitted to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller (steering rack ECU 222) through the second communication network. (Siskoy discloses a backup steering system. As modified under the teaching of Kaepernick this system would be augmented with a second reaction force controller which would utilize the second communication network of Siskoy to communicate between the steering rack control unit and the steering wheel feedback controller.)
Regarding claim 12, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising: a first communication line (first private bus 226; fig. 2, paragraph 26) directly connecting between the first reaction force controller (steering column ECU 202) and the first steering controller (steering rack ECU 220) such that the first reaction force controller and the first steering controller directly communicate each other through the first communication line; and
a second communication line (second private bus 228, fig. 2, paragraph 26-27) directly connecting between the second reaction force controller (second controller 18; Kaepernick) and the second steering controller (steering rack ECU 222; fig. 2, paragraph 25) such that the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller directly communicate each other through the second communication line.
Regarding claim 13, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising: a first steering control sensor (angle sensor 204; fig. 2, paragraph 22) configured to measure a physical quantity related to the operation of the steering control member and provide the physical quantity to the first reaction force controller; and
a second steering control sensor (backup angle sensor 230; Fig. 2, paragraph 21) configured to measure a physical quantity related to the operation of the steering control member (steering wheel 114) operated by the driver, and provide the physical quantity to the second reaction force controller (second controller 18; Kaepernick), wherein the electrical signal has a correlation with the physical quantity related to the operation of the steering control member operated by the driver. (Paragraph 27 describe the backup angle sensor (230) and backup torque sensor (232) as measuring the steering angle and torque applied to the steering column.)
Regarding claim 14, Siskoy further discloses;
wherein the physical quantity includes a torque generated by the operation of the steering control member operated by the driver. (Siskoy also discloses a backup torque sensor (232) which measure steering column torque. Paragraph 27)
Regarding claim 15, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising: a first steering mechanism operation sensor (rack position sensor 224a; fig. 2, paragraph 21) configured to sense movement related to operation of the steering mechanism, and transmit to the first steering controller (steering rack ECU 220) a first signal associated with the sensed movement related to the operation of the steering mechanism; and
a second steering mechanism operation sensor (rack position sensor 224b; fig. 2, paragraph 21) configured to sense the movement related to the operation of the steering mechanism, and transmit to the second steering controller (second steering rack ECU 222; fig. 2. Paragraph 25) a second signal associated with the sensed movement related to the operation of the steering mechanism.
Regarding claim 16, Siskoy further discloses;
wherein: the steering mechanism includes a linearly movable member (steering rack 124; fig. 1, paragraph 24); and
the signal associated with the sensed movement related to the operation of the steering mechanism operated by the driver includes a position of the linearly movable member. (Paragraph 24 of Siskoy discloses the rack position sensor as determining the position of the steering rack.)
Regarding claim 17, Siskoy in view of Kaepernick discloses;
further comprising a communication line (first private bus 226; fig. 2, paragraph 26) disposed between the first reaction force controller (steering column ECU 202) and the second reaction force controller (second controller 18; Kaepernick), and directly connecting between the first reaction force controller and the second reaction force controller.
Regarding claim 18, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising a communication line (communication paths 225a/225b) disposed between the first steering controller (ECU 220) and the second steering controller (ECU 222), and directly connecting between the first steering controller and the second steering controller.
Regarding claim 19, Siskoy in view of Kaepernick discloses;
wherein: the first reaction force controller (ECU 202; Siskoy) is configured to generate a control command for the reaction force actuator (steering column emulator 110; Siskoy); and the second reaction force controller (second controller 18; Kaepernick) is configured to receive the control command generated by the first reaction force controller (steering column ECU 202 of Siskoy or first controller 16 of Kaepernick) to control the reaction force actuator, and generate the control command for the reaction force actuator when the first reaction force controller fails. (Siskoy discloses a backup steering system. As modified under the teaching of Kaepernick this system would be augmented with a second reaction force controller which would generate control commands for the reaction force actuator. Kaepernick, paragraph 30, describes the two controllers 16/18 as connected in series to control the actuator.)
Regarding claim 20, Siskoy in view of Kaepernick discloses;
wherein: the reaction force actuator (steering column emulator 110) includes a reaction force motor configured to generate a reaction force; and the control command for the reaction force actuator includes a torque control command for controlling a torque of the reaction force actuator. (Siskoy, paragraph 24, discloses that steering column emulator can utilize a torque signal from the torque sensor 206 to simulate a “road-feel” to the driver at the steering wheel. While Siskoy does not specifically disclose the motor, this functionality would require a motor. Kaepernick, paragraph 17, specifically discloses a motor as part of the feedback actuator.)
Regarding claim 21, Siskoy further discloses;
wherein: the first steering controller (ECU 220) is configured to generate a control command for the steering actuator (first actuator 221); and the second steering controller (ECU 222) is configured to receive the control command generated by the first steering controller to control the steering actuator, and generate the control command for the steering actuator when the first steering controller fails. (Siskoy, fig. 2 and paragraph 25, illustrates two communications paths (225a/225b) for communication between the first and second steering ECU (220/222) so that each may control the other actuator (221/223) in case of a failure of either ECU.)
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siskoy in view Kaepernick as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Szepessy (US 2020/0406954 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Siskoy in view of Kaepernick discloses;
further comprising: a first power line (first power harness 244; Siskoy) connected to the first reaction force controller (steering column ECU 202; Siskoy) and the first steering controller (steering rack ECU 220; Siskoy) to supply power to the first reaction force controller and the first steering controller;
Siskoy in view of Kaepernick does not disclose a second power line connected to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller to supply power to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller. However, Szepessy teaches;
a second power line (power supply 201; Szepessy, fig. 2, paragraph 17) connected to the second reaction force controller (second controller 18; Kaepernick, fig. 1b, paragraph 22) and the second steering controller (steering rack ECU 222; Siskoy, fig. 2, paragraph 25) to supply power to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller. (Kaepernick teaches a second reaction force controller. Szepessy describes a second power distribution line feeding the reaction force controller and the steering controller. The combination of Kaepernick and Szepessy with the basic structure of Siskoy would connect the second reaction force controller to the second steering controller through the second power line.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Siskoy in view of Kaepernick to include a second power line connected to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller to supply power to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller, as taught by Szepessy, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steer-by-wire vehicle steering systems. As disclosed by Szepessy, it is well known for a second power line to be connected to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller to supply power to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siskoy to include a second power line connected to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller to supply power to the second reaction force controller and the second steering controller, as taught by Szepessy, as such a modification would provide the ability to provide a steer-by-wire system which always operates reliably. (Paragraph 3 of Szepessy).
Regarding claim 11, Siskoy further discloses;
further comprising: a first battery (power supply 240) connected to the first power line to provide the power to the first power line; and
a second battery (backup power supply 242) connected to the second power line to provide the power to the second power line.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siskoy in view of Kaepernick as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Pramod (US 11203379 B2).
Regarding claim 22, Siskoy in view of Kaepernick discloses;
wherein: the steering actuator (first actuator 221) includes a driving motor configured to drive the steering mechanism; (Siskoy, paragraph 24 discloses the steering rack actuator 221 as generating the mechanical motion of the steering rack. Siskoy does not disclose a motor but this functionality would require a motor. Kaepernick, paragraph 16, discloses an electric steering motor 40 as part of the steering rack.)
Siskoy in view of Kaepernick does not disclose the control command for the steering actuator includes a torque control command. However, Pramod teaches;
the control command for the steering actuator includes a torque control command for controlling a torque of the steering actuator. (Pramod, claim 1, discloses the position of the steering rack of the road-wheel actuator is adjusted based on an input torque command to a motor.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Siskoy in view of Kaepernick to include a torque control command for controlling a torque of the steering actuator as taught by Pramod, as the references and the claimed invention are directed to steer-by-wire road-wheel actuation. As disclosed by Pramod, it is well known for a steering actuator to include a torque control command for controlling the torque of the steering actuator. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Siskoy in view of Kaepernick to include a torque control command for controlling a torque of the steering actuator as taught by Pramod, as such a modification would provide the ability to adjust the position of the steering rack and the road-wheels. (Claim 1, Pramod).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, third paragraph, filed 11/21/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Szepessy (US 2020/0406954 A1).
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to include the limitations previously included in claim 2, which has been cancelled by amendment.
Applicant is correct that Siskoy does not disclose a second power line connected to the reaction force controller and the steering controller independently of the first power line so that power is supplied to the reaction force controller and the steering controller through the second power line independently of the first power line. As applicant has noted, Siskoy’s disclosed second power line (246) only provides power to the steering controller (112) and does not power the reaction force controller (110), in a mirror of the first power line (244). However, Szepessy discloses two separate power lines which both power the reaction force controller and the steering controller, independently from one another.
Conclusion
/SCOTT LAWRENCE STRICKLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614