DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II in the reply filed on 12/9/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 1-4 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2007/011343, hereinafter Berzin.
Regarding claim 5, Berzin teaches a culturing device (figure 7A) that gathers gas generated by microalgae in a culturing solution, the culturing device comprising: an accommodation portion (item 102) that accommodates the culturing solution and the microalgae (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II)); a support body (items 210, 212 and 214) that supports the accommodation portion in a posture inclined with respect to a vertical direction (figure 3A); a gas supply unit (item 608) that supplies culturing gas to the culturing solution in the accommodation portion (figure 7A); a guide portion (item 101) that is provided to the accommodation portion and guides the culturing gas from a bottom portion of the accommodation portion toward a liquid surface of the culturing solution (figure 7A); and a gas gathering portion (item 141) that is provided at an upper portion of a side wall of the inclined accommodation portion (figure 7A), an outer surface of the side wall facing obliquely upward (figure 7A), wherein the gas produced by the microalgae being cultured is gathered with the gas gathering portion (figure 7A).
Regarding claim 8, these limitations are directed to the material worked upon by the apparatus, all the structural limitations of the claim has been disclosed by Berzin and the apparatus of Berzin is capable of working on Chlamydomonas and hydrogen. As such, it is deemed that the claimed apparatus is not differentiated from the apparatus of Berzin (see MPEP §2115).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berzin in view of United States Application Publication No. 2012/0094350, hereinafter Raap.
Regarding claim 6, Berzin teaches the guide portion (item 101) includes a discharge port (the upper opening between item 101 and 102) that discharges the culturing gas (figure 7a).
Berzin fails to teach the gas gathering portion includes a gathering port opened in the culturing solution, and the gathering port is positioned below the discharge port or at a same height as the discharge port.
Raap teaches a gas collection hood which is placed below the water surface so that gas bubbles do not reach the water surface and results in a calm zone at the top of the container (Raap, paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a gas collection hood which is opened in the culturing solution because it would produce a calm zone at the top of the container (Raap, paragraph [0003]). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to determine, through routine experimentation, the optimum height for the gathering port so that it is at or below the height of the discharge port which would allow for the gas bubbles to not reach the water surface and result in a calm zone at the top of the container (Raap, paragraph [0003]) (MPEP § 2144.05 (II)).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berzin in view of JP H1080267, hereinafter Kitajima.
Regarding claim 7, Berzin teaches all limitations of claim 5; however, Berzin fails to teach a sliding member that is provided to the accommodation portion and slides along an inner surface of the side wall of the accommodation portion.
Kitajima teaches a photosynthesis reactor which has a stirring member which slides on the inner surface of the cylinder so that it can simultaneously perform stirring and cleaning of the walls (Kitajima, page 7, paragraph 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a sliding member which slides along the inner surface of the accommodation portion because it would simultaneously perform stirring and cleaning of the walls (Kitajima, page 7, paragraph 11).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796