Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 11, 13, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0022274 A1), hereinafter, ZHANG in view of Koskela et al. (Patent No: US 2024/0015759 A1), hereinafter, Koskela.
Regarding Claim 1, ZHANG teaches,
A beam processing method, executed by a terminal and comprising: receiving first configuration information, wherein the first configuration information is used to indicate a candidate beam information set, the candidate beam information set comprises candidate beam information sets of N object groups, -Paragraph [0161][0228] ([0161] recites, “..In addition, the network device further needs to notify (send) the terminal device of another configuration, for example, a search space set, associated with the control resource set.…” Network device sends the configuration information and terminal device receives the configuration information from the network. [0228] recites, “The network device may further configure, for the terminal device, a reference signal resource set (a candidate beam RS list, a candidate beam RS identification resource, a beam failure candidate beam resource, a candidate beam identification RS, or a candidate beam list) (which may also be referred to as a candidate reference signal resource set or a link failure recovery reference signal resource set) used to recover a link between the terminal device and the network device. …”)
at least one of the object groups comprises at least two objects, each of the objects is a channel or a reference signal, and N is a positive integer; -Paragraph [0186-0187]([0186-0187] recites, “A TCI is used to indicate QCL information of a PDCCH/CORESET or a PDSCH. TCI information indicates that a reference signal included in a TCI and a DMRS of the PDCCH/PDSCH satisfy a QCL relationship, and is mainly used to indicate that during reception of the PDCCH/PDSCH, information such as a spatial reception parameter of the PDCCH/PDSCH is the same as, similar to, or approximate to information such as a spatial reception parameter of the reference signal included in the TCI. One TCI state may include one or two referenced reference signals and an associated QCL type. The QCL type may further be classified into four categories: A, B, C, and D that are different combinations or selections of (Doppler shift, Doppler spread, average delay, delay spread, spatial Rx parameter). The TCI state includes QCL information, or the TCI state is used to indicate QCL information.” As explained above TCI state may include QCL information and reference signals (at least two objects, N=2 is positive integer) and as explained it can be QCL information for channel (PDCCH or PDSCH) or reference signal (DMRS))
and receiving indication information, wherein the indication information is used to indicate beam information of at least two channels or reference signals, and the beam information belongs to the candidate beam information set of the object group; -Paragraph[0175] [0214][0225] [0386] ([0175] recites, “For example, the reference signal may be a CSI-RS. Herein, an index of each reported CSI-RS resource corresponds to one transmit-receive beam pair previously established during measurement performed based on the CSI-RS resource. It should be understood that information about receive beams for the two reference signals or channels that satisfy the QCL relationship is the same, and the terminal device may infer, based on the indexes of the reference signal resources, information about receive beams for receiving the PDCCH or the PDSCH. “ [0225] recites, “ .. When the terminal device uses analog beamforming, the terminal device may precisely determine the receive beam of the terminal based on the beam indication information sent by the network device…” As explained in the above paragraph, beam indication information is sent by the network device and received by the terminal device and based on the information the terminal device precisely determines the receive beam. [0214] recites, “In one embodiment, the beam may further correspond to information associated with a reference signal resource of the network device. A reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), an SSB, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a phase tracking signal (PTRS), a tracking signal (TRS), or the like. The information associated with the reference signal resource may be a reference signal resource identifier, QCL information (especially the QCL type D), or the like. The reference signal resource identifier corresponds to a transmit-receive beam pair that is previously established during measurement based on the reference signal resource. The terminal may infer beam information based on the reference signal resource index.” Also, [0386] recites, “…Otherwise, when the first indication information indicates that the terminal device identifies a new link, the reference signal corresponding to the second indication information is a corresponding reference signal in the candidate beam list.”)
Although implicit, ZHANG does not explicitly mention,
wherein the N object groups comprise a first object group, and the first object group satisfies the following: the first object group comprises a control channel carried by a first control resource set, and the control channel carried by the first control resource set comprises only a dedicated control channel.
However, in an analogous invention Koskela teaches,
wherein the N object groups comprise a first object group, and the first object group satisfies the following: the first object group comprises a control channel carried by a first control resource set, and the control channel carried by the first control resource set comprises only a dedicated control channel. -Paragraph [0085, 0104] ([0085] recites, “For determining the transmit beam for a dedicated downlink control channel, each control resource set 218 may be associated to one or more TCI states 212 (e.g., TCI rows)… Search space set related parameters associated to the control resource set 218 define time domain monitoring pattern/occasions from which the user device 204 determines the starting positions of associated control resource set 218. Then, from associated (active) TCI state 212 of the control resource set 218, the user device 204 determines how to set its RX beam for the purpose of DL control channel estimation and dedicated control channel monitoring in that control resource set 218.” [0104] recites, “TCI state defined in a TCI table 251 associated with one or more control resource sets 218. The TCI state 212 relates to transmit beam information for a dedicated control channel, that may be different from the downlink control channel 206 (e.g., the GC-PDCCH)”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of Koskela to include “the first object group comprises a control channel carried by a first control resource set, and the control channel carried by the first control resource set comprises only a dedicated control channel” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to significant improvement in wireless performance [0004].
Regarding Claim 10, ZHANG and Koskela combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
ZHANG further teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the object group is determined by at least one of the following: a control resource set, a link direction, and a channel type. -Paragraph [0186-0187] (object group (TCI state or TCI state pool) is associated with (determined by) Control resource set (CORESETUL), UL/DL channel type (PDCCH/PDSCH/PUSCH) and reference signals among other parameters e.g., QCL information etc. [0186-0187] recites, “ A TCI is used to indicate QCL information of a PDCCH/CORESET or a PDSCH. TCI information indicates that a reference signal included in a TCI and a DMRS of the PDCCH/PDSCH satisfy a QCL relationship, and is mainly used to indicate that during reception of the PDCCH/PDSCH, information such as a spatial reception parameter of the PDCCH/PDSCH is the same as, similar to, or approximate to information such as a spatial reception parameter of the reference signal included in the TCI. One TCI state may include one or two referenced reference signals and an associated QCL type…”)
Regarding Claim 11, ZHANG and Koskela combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
ZHANG further teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein objects in the object group comprise at least one of the following: CSI-RS for obtaining channel state information CSI;CSI-RS for tracking; sounding reference signal SRS for antenna switching; SRS for codebook; SRS for non-codebook; and RS for beam failure detection. -Paragraph [0186-0187][0169] ( Object group (TCI state/TCI state pool) comprises QCL information which in turn defines the relationship between reference signal (RS), SRS, CSI-RS etc. [0186-0187] recites, “A TCI is used to indicate QCL information of a PDCCH/CORESET or a PDSCH. TCI information indicates that a reference signal included in a TCI and a DMRS of the PDCCH/PDSCH satisfy a QCL relationship, and is mainly used to indicate that during reception of the PDCCH/PDSCH, information such as a spatial reception parameter of the PDCCH/PDSCH is the same as, similar to, or approximate to information such as a spatial reception parameter of the reference signal included in the TCI….. The TCI state includes QCL information, or the TCI state is used to indicate QCL information.” [0169] recites, “The QCL information is used to indicate a QCL relationship between two types of reference signals. A target reference signal may be usually a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), or the like. A referenced reference signal or a source reference signal may be usually a CSI-RS, a tracking reference signal (TRS), a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (synchronous signal/PBCH block, SSB), a sounding reference signal (SRS), or the like.”)
Regarding Claim 13, ZHANG and Koskela combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
ZHANG further teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the indication information is carried in a first medium access control element MAC CE or downlink control information DCI. -Paragraph [0352] ([0352] recites, “ In one embodiment, if the first indication information indicates the first state, the DCI indicates the second reference signal resource set, or the DCI is associated with the second reference signal resource set by default. If the first indication information indicates the second state, the DCI is associated with a first reference signal resource set by default. In one embodiment, the terminal device sends the second request message on a resource indicated by the DCI.”)
Claim 15 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method Claim 1. Claim 1 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 1. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
ZHANG further teaches
A communication device, comprising a memory, a processor, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or instructions are executed by the processor -Paragraph [0420] ([0420] recites, “FIG. 7 is a schematic diagram of a structure of a terminal device 700 according to an embodiment of this application. As shown in FIG. 7, the terminal device 700 includes a processor 710 and a transceiver 720. In one embodiment, the terminal device 700 further includes a memory 730. The processor 710, the transceiver 720, and the memory 730 communicate with each other through an internal connection path, to transfer a control signal and/or a data signal. The memory 730 is configured to store a computer program. The processor 710 is configured to invoke the computer program from the memory 730 and run the computer program, to control the transceiver 720 to send and receive a signal.”)
Claim 21 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method Claim 1. Claim 1 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 1. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 1.
ZHANG further teaches
A non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non- transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or the instructions are executed by a processor to implement: -Paragraph [0424] ([0424] recites, “ The terminal device includes a transceiver and a processor. In one embodiment, the terminal device further includes a memory. The processor is configured to control the transceiver to send and receive a signal. The memory is configured to store a computer program. The processor is configured to invoke the computer program from the memory and run the computer program, to enable the terminal device to perform the method according to any one of the possible implementations”)
Claims 2, 16 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of Koskela and further in view of Marinier et al. (Patent No: US 2023/0148282 A1), hereinafter, Marinier.
Regarding Claim 2, ZHANG and Koskela teach the limitations of Claim 1.
ZHANG does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information is carried in target configuration information, and the target configuration information is other configuration information than physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration information.
However, Marinier teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first configuration information is carried in target configuration information, and the target configuration information is other configuration information than physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration information. -Paragraph [0085] ([0085] recites, “A WTRU may receive a first (e.g., target) downlink channel or signal according to a spatial domain filter or a spatial reception parameter used for a second (e.g., reference) downlink channel or signal. An association may exist between a physical channel (e.g., PDCCH or PDSCH) and the DM-RS's associated with the physical channel. In examples (e.g., if the first and second signals described herein are reference signals), such an association may exist if the WTRU is configured with a quasi-colocation (QCL) assumption type D between corresponding antenna ports. The association may be configured, for example, as a TCI state. A WTRU may receive an indication of an association between a CSI-RS (or an SS block) and a DM-RS, for example, via an index to a set of TCI states configured by RRC and/or signaled through a MAC CE. In at least some examples provided herein, such an indication may be referred to as a beam indication.” As explained above the target configuration information including association with CSI-RS and DM-RS is conveyed by TCI state configured by RRC or MAC CE which is different from PDSCH configuration information and referred to as beam indication.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of Marinier to include “the first configuration information is carried in target configuration information, and the target configuration information is other configuration information than physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) configuration information.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve network coverage [0076]
Claim 16 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method Claim 2. Claim 2 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 2. Claim 15 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 2.
Claim 24 is essentially the same as Claim 2, and the only exception is that Claim 24 is dependent claim of independent claim 21, while claim 2 is dependent claim of independent claim 1. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 2 which is rejected above. Claim 24 is rejected under the same rational as claim 2.
Claims 3, 17, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of Koskela, Marinier and further in view of Zhang et al. (Patent No: US 12022497 B2), hereinafter, Zhang.
Regarding Claim 3, ZHANG, Koskela and Marinier teach the limitations of Claim 2.
Although implicit, ZHANG does not explicit teach,
The method according to claim 2, wherein the first configuration information is configuration information of a transmission configuration indicator state (TCI) state pool, the target configuration information comprises: configuration information of a bandwidth part BWP, and the configuration information of the TCI state pool is carried in the configuration information of the BWP.
However, in an analogous invention, Zhang teaches,
The method according to claim 2, wherein the first configuration information is configuration information of a transmission configuration indicator state (TCI) state pool, the target configuration information comprises: configuration information of a bandwidth part BWP, and the configuration information of the TCI state pool is carried in the configuration information of the BWP. -Claim 7 (It recites, “one set of data channel configuration information for one BWP comprises a plurality of sets of configuration information about the one transmission parameter set of the data channel, wherein the one transmission parameter set of the data channel comprises at least one of following parameters: a TCI state pool parameter, a rate matching indication parameter, a generation parameter of a scrambling sequence, a TA parameter.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of Zhang to include “first configuration information is configuration information of a transmission configuration indicator state (TCI) state pool, the target configuration information comprises: configuration information of a bandwidth part BWP, and the configuration information of the TCI state pool is carried in the configuration information of the BWP .“ One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase spectral efficiency [col, 17, line 63-64].
Claim 17 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method Claim 3. Claim 3 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 3. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 3.
Claim 25 is essentially the same as Claim 3, and the only exception is that Claim 25 is dependent claim of independent claim 24, while claim 3 is dependent claim of independent claim 2. The applicant’s attention is directed towards claim 3 which is rejected above. Claim 25 is rejected under the same rational as claim 3.
Claims 4, 8-9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of Koskela and further in view of ZTE (“Further details on Multi-beam and Multi-TRP operation” 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #102-e, R1-2005461, August, 2020) hereinafter, ZTE.
Regarding Claim 4, ZHANG and Koskela teach the limitations of Claim 1.
ZHANG does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the N object groups satisfy any one of the following: the N object groups comprise one object group, and the object group comprises an uplink object and a downlink object; and the N object groups comprise two object groups, one object group comprises an uplink object, and the other object group comprises a downlink object;
However, ZTE teaches
The method according to claim 1, wherein the N object groups satisfy any one of the following: the N object groups comprise one object group, and the object group comprises an uplink object and a downlink object; -Page 3, section 2.2, line 21-24 (It recites, “In NR Rel-15/16, a basic TCI state pool (at most 128 TCI states) is configured by RRC parameter PDSCH-Config, but can be used only for DL transmission, e.g. PDSCH, PDCCH and CSI-RS. In NR Rel-17, the TCI state pool should be also used for uplink transmission. A common TCI state pool which is a subset of the basic TCI state pool can be used for PDSCH, PDCCH, CSI-RS, PUSCH, PUCCH, and /or SRS.” As explained object groups (TCI states) in the common TCI state pool can be used for both uplink and downlink and can have uplink and downlink objects (e.g., DSCH, PDCCH, CSI-RS, PUSCH, PUCCH, and /or SRS. )
and the N object groups comprise two object groups, one object group comprises an uplink object, and the other object group comprises a downlink object; -Page 3, section 2.2 (As explained above, TCI state pool can be used for either DL or UL or for both. Therefore, it is easily understandable for an ordinary person in the field of art that object group may comprise of any combination of uplink and downlink objects)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of ZTE to include “the N object groups satisfy any one of the following: the N object groups comprise one object group, and the object group comprises an uplink object and a downlink object; and the N object groups comprise two object groups, one object group comprises an uplink object, and the other object group comprises a downlink object; ” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve a flexible beam updating scheme for DL/UL data and control transmission/reception with low signaling overhead and latency. improve network coverage [Page 3, section 2.2]
Regarding Claim 8, ZHANG, Koskela and ZTE combination teach the limitations of Claim 4,
ZHANG does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 4, wherein the indication information is used to indicate at least one TCI state, and the at least one TCI state is used for determining beam information of the N object groups.
However, ZTE teaches
The method according to claim 4, wherein the indication information is used to indicate at least one TCI state, and the at least one TCI state is used for determining beam information of the N object groups. -Section 2.1; Page 1, line 23-26 (Recites, “ In NR CA in Rel-15, the UE can be configured with up to 32 serving CCs. RRC configuration of up to 128 TCI states are required per BWP in each CC and a MAC-CE command (18 bytes in the 128 TCI case) shall activate an TCI state or a set of TCI states for PDCCH or PDSCH per CC/BWP. Therefore, for beam indication/update of multiple CC/BWPs, the overhead of RRC configuration and MAC-CE commands are huge.” As explained above multiple (up to 128 TCI states) may be configured in the indication information by RRC and one or more activated TCI states are used for determining the beam information.)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of ZTE to include “the indication information is used to indicate at least one TCI state, and the at least one TCI state is used for determining beam information of the N object groups.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve a flexible beam updating scheme for DL/UL data and control transmission/reception with low signaling overhead and latency. improve network coverage [Page 3, section 2.2]
Regarding Claim 9, ZHANG, Koskela and ZTE combination teach the limitations of Claim 8.
ZHANG does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 8, wherein a TCI state indicated by the indication information satisfies any one of the following: in a case that the indication information indicates one TCI state of a CC, the TCI state is used for all CCs in a CC list to which the CC belongs; and in a case that the indication information indicates at least two TCI states of a CC, the at least two TCI states are used for different object groups on all CCs in a CC list to which the CC belongs.
However, ZTE teaches
The method according to claim 8, wherein a TCI state indicated by the indication information satisfies any one of the following: in a case that the indication information indicates one TCI state of a CC, the TCI state is used for all CCs in a CC list to which the CC belongs; and in a case that the indication information indicates at least two TCI states of a CC, the at least two TCI states are used for different object groups on all CCs in a CC list to which the CC belongs.
-Section 2.1; Page 1, line 23-28 (Recites, “ In NR CA in Rel-15, the UE can be configured with up to 32 serving CCs. RRC configuration of up to 128 TCI states are required per BWP in each CC and a MAC-CE command (18 bytes in the 128 TCI case) shall activate an TCI state or a set of TCI states for PDCCH or PDSCH per CC/BWP. Therefore, for beam indication/update of multiple CC/BWPs, the overhead of RRC configuration and MAC-CE commands are huge. In order to reduce signaling overhead, in Rel-16, the concept of CC group is introduced and one MAC-CE command is supported to update the TCI states of a CC group” As explained above and easily understandable to on ordinary person with skill in the art that if the TCI state belongs to CC (downlink in this case), it applies to all CC in the CC group (list))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of ZTE to include “in a case that the indication information indicates one TCI state of a CC, the TCI state is used for all CCs in a CC list to which the CC belongs;” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve a flexible beam updating scheme for DL/UL data and control transmission/reception with low signaling overhead and latency. improve network coverage [Page 3, section 2.2]
Claim 18 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method Claim 4. Claim 4 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 4. Claim 18 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 4.
Claims 6-7, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of Koskela, Marinier, Zhang and ZTE.
Regarding Claim 6, ZHANG, Koskela, Marinier and Zhang combination teach the limitations of Claim 3.
Although implicit, ZHANG does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the TCI state pool comprises at least one of the following: TCI states; and at least one TCI state group, wherein the TCI state group comprises at least two TCI states; wherein each TCI state in the TCI state pool comprises at least one source reference signal RS.
However, ZTE teaches
The method according to claim 1, wherein the TCI state pool comprises at least one of the following: TCI states; -Page 4; section 2.2, line 3-4 (It recites, “The power control parameter, SRS resource or PUSCH port information should be associated with the TCI state in the common TCI state pool”)
and at least one TCI state group, wherein the TCI state group comprises at least two TCI states; -Fig. 2-2 (Fig. 2-2 shows association of TCI state group with common TCI state pool with 3 states)
wherein each TCI state in the TCI state pool comprises at least one source reference signal RS. -Fig. 2-2; Page 4, line 3-4 (The power control parameter, SRS resource or PUSCH port information should be associated with the TCI state in the common TCI state pool”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of ZTE to include “TCI state pool comprises at least one of the following: TCI states; and at least one TCI state group, wherein the TCI state group comprises at least two TCI states; wherein each TCI state in the TCI state pool comprises at least one source reference signal RS.” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve a flexible beam updating scheme for DL/UL data and control transmission/reception with low signaling overhead and latency. improve network coverage [Page 3, section 2.2]
Regarding Claim 7, ZHANG, Koskela, Marinier and Zhang combination teach the limitations of Claim 3.
ZHANG does not explicitly teach,
The method according to claim 3, wherein the TCI state pool comprises TCI states for uplink, at least one TCI state for uplink comprises a target parameter or is associated with a target parameter, and the target parameter comprises at least one of the following: wherein, the target parameter further comprises at least one of the following: uplink timing information, or power control parameter information;
However, ZTE teaches
The method according to claim 3, wherein the TCI state pool comprises TCI states for uplink, at least one TCI state for uplink comprises a target parameter or is associated with a target parameter, and the target parameter comprises at least one of the following: wherein, the target parameter further comprises at least one of the following: uplink timing information, or power control parameter information; -Section 2-2; Page 3, line 15-17 (It recites, “A TCI state applied for uplink transmission needs to be associated with power control parameters. And a TCI state applied for PUSCH transmission needs to be additionally associated with SRS resource or PUSCH port parameters.”)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of ZTE to include “TCI state pool comprises TCI states for uplink, at least one TCI state for uplink comprises a target parameter or is associated with a target parameter, and the target parameter comprises at least one of the following: wherein, the target parameter further comprises at least one of the following: uplink timing information, or power control parameter information” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to achieve a flexible beam updating scheme for DL/UL data and control transmission/reception with low signaling overhead and latency. improve network coverage [Page 3, section 2.2]
Claim 23 is the apparatus claim corresponding to the method Claim 6. Claim 6 has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to Claim 6. Claim 23 is rejected under the same rational as Claim 6.
Claim 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG in view of Koskela and further in view of Matsumura et al. (Patent No: US 2022/0022207 A1), hereinafter, Matsumura.
Regarding Claim 26, ZHANG and Koskela combination teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Although implicit, ZHANG does not explicitly mention,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the object group is determined by a link direction.
However, in an analogous invention Matsumura teaches,
The method according to claim 1, wherein the object group is determined by a link direction. -Paragraph [0021-0023] ([0022-0023] recites, “The TCI state may represent that applied to a downlink signal/channel. The TCI state applied to an uplink signal/channel may be expressed as a spatial relation. The TCI state is information regarding quasi-co-location (QCL) of the signal/channel, and may be referred to as, for example, a spatial reception parameter and spatial relation information (SRI). The TCI state may be configured in the UE for each channel or each signal.” As recited above the TCI state (object) may be configured for each channel (DL/UL) in both direction and can be determined by the link direction (DL/UL))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the “Link Failure Recovery Method” proposed by ZHANG with the concept of Matsumura to include “object group is determined by a link direction” One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to efficiently using the RS resources [0057].
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on April 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the Examiner regretfully maintains the rejection.
The whole premise of the Applicant’s argument is that none of the prior-art used to reject the independent claim 1 addresses the amended part in the following:
“receiving indication information, wherein the indication
information is used to indicate beam information of at least two channels or reference signals, and the beam information belongs to
the candidate beam information set of the object group;” with special emphasis on “at least two channels or reference signals” Page 9.
The Examiner’s response is the following:
The examiner regretfully does not agree with the Applicant and believes the added amendment and the emphasized part is very well addressed by the used prior-art (ZHANG) as cited directly from the prior-art as follows.
ZHANG teaches, “and receiving indication information, wherein the indication information is used to indicate beam information of at least two channels or reference signals, and the beam information belongs to the candidate beam information set of the object group;” -Paragraph[0175] [0214][0225] [0386] ([0175] recites, “For example, the reference signal may be a CSI-RS. Herein, an index of each reported CSI-RS resource corresponds to one transmit-receive beam pair previously established during measurement performed based on the CSI-RS resource. It should be understood that information about receive beams for the two reference signals or channels that satisfy the QCL relationship is the same, and the terminal device may infer, based on the indexes of the reference signal resources, information about receive beams for receiving the PDCCH or the PDSCH. “ [0225] recites, “ .. When the terminal device uses analog beamforming, the terminal device may precisely determine the receive beam of the terminal based on the beam indication information sent by the network device…” As explained in the above paragraph, beam indication information is sent by the network device and received by the terminal device and based on the information the terminal device precisely determines the receive beam. [0214] recites, “In one embodiment, the beam may further correspond to information associated with a reference signal resource of the network device. A reference signal may be a channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), an SSB, a demodulation reference signal (DMRS), a phase tracking signal (PTRS), a tracking signal (TRS), or the like. The information associated with the reference signal resource may be a reference signal resource identifier, QCL information (especially the QCL type D), or the like. The reference signal resource identifier corresponds to a transmit-receive beam pair that is previously established during measurement based on the reference signal resource. The terminal may infer beam information based on the reference signal resource index.” Also, [0386] recites, “…Otherwise, when the first indication information indicates that the terminal device identifies a new link, the reference signal corresponding to the second indication information is a corresponding reference signal in the candidate beam list.”) As for the added part, [0175] clearly states, “It should be understood that information about receive beams for the two reference signals or channels that satisfy the QCL relationship is the same” i.e., beam information of two reference signals or channels.
For the above rational, the Examiner regretfully maintains the rejection status. Also, for the same reason, rejection status for all the other claims are also retained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED SAIFUDDIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475