DETAILED ACTION
Applicant elects Group II (including Claims 18-20), drawn to a method of designating an artificial intelligence model mapped to a training set identifier (TSI) and training the artificial intelligence model mapped to TSI based on a received signal, as set forth in the outstanding Election/Restriction Requirement.
Claims 1-17 have been cancelled. Claims 18-20 remain pending for examination in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/30/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chai et al. (US 20240211770 A1), hereinafter referred to as Chai.
Regarding claim 18:
Chai discloses an operation method of a terminal in a communication system (method of performing model training by a terminal [0097]), comprising:
receiving, from a base station, training set identifier (TSI) configuration information including at least one TSI (receiving, from base station, indication information of three training sets, each of which includes pieces of training data [0099]);
designating an artificial intelligence model mapped to the at least one TSI according to the TSI configuration information (designing artificial intelligence {AI} model based on training data configured by base station [0087]);
receiving, from the base station, training indication information including the at least one TSI (receiving, from base station, information on training data [0003]) ;
receiving, from the base station, a signal including the at least one TSI (receiving, from base station, a reference signal that is used to generate N pieces of training data [0115]); and
training the artificial intelligence model mapped to the at least one TSI based on the received signal (performing model/ AI training based on N pieces of training data based on reference signals, e.g., DMRS, CSI-RS, .. [0115]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to train the AI model mapped to the at least one TSI based on the received signal; thus meeting increasingly diversified services requirements (Chai [0002]) by designing different AI models having different functions and usages based on different types of training data (Chai [0086]).
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Chai, as applied to claim 18 above, in view of Kim (US 20230344505 A1), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 19:
Chai discloses all features of claim 18, and –
Chai further discloses the at least one TSI is mapped to at least one physical channel (training data are generated from physical downlink data channel [0115, lines 26-37]).
Also, Chai discolses that AI model can be applied to beam management or prediction scenario [0115, lines 26-37].
Chai does not explicitly disclose TSI is mapped to one physical channel in one beam direction; which is known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for data communications, as suggested in Kim’s disclosure as below.
Kim, from the same field of endeavor, discloses receiving channels and signals, e.g., PDSCH, CSI-RS, DMRS, etc., in Rx beam directions [0288].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to map TSI to physical channel in one beam direction; thus efficiently performing a specific operation, e.g., channel estimation, by using proper training data Kim [0085-0086].
Regarding claim 20:
Chai discloses all features of claim 18, and –
Chai further discloses wherein the at least one TSI is mapped to at least one reference signal (training data are generated from reference signal [0115, lines 1-22]).
Also, Chai discolses that AI model can be applied to beam management or prediction scenario [0115, lines 26-37].
Chai does not explicitly disclose TSI is mapped to one reference signal in one beam direction; which is known in the art and commonly applied in communications field for data communications, as suggested in Kim’s disclosure as below.
Kim, from the same field of endeavor, discloses receiving channels and signals, e.g., PDSCH, CSI-RS, DMRS, etc., in Rx beam directions [0288].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time before the claimed invention was filed to map TSI to a reference signal in a beam direction; thus efficiently performing a specific operation, e.g., channel estimation, by using proper training data Kim [0085-0086].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pezeshki (US 20210345131 A1 [0028, 0088, 0152]) and
Xiao (US 20240413884 A1 [0058, 0084, 0088]) --
are all cited to show that training the AI model mapped to the at least one TSI based on the received signal – would meet increasingly diversified services requirements by designing different AI models having different functions and usages based on different types of training data – similar to the claimed invention.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and videoconferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A. Abaza, can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/C.Q.T./
/AYMAN A ABAZA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465