DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the wall" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In view of the Specification, it is understood that Applicant intends “the wall” of claim 12 to be in reference to the “insulating wall” set forth in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al (CN 211605201 U; references made herein are with respect to the 7 page English translation, submitted herewith).
Regarding claim 1, Yu teaches a button-type battery 200 (page 6/7, pars. 4-5). The battery comprises first shell 20 and second shell 30, wherein said second shell 30 comprises the instantly claimed first end cover and the opposing surface of first shell 20 (opposite relative to the second shell 30) comprises the instantly claimed second end cover (Fig. 6). As can be seen in Figure 6, first shell 20 also comprises side walls which enclose an accommodating cavity. Said accommodating cavity comprises an electrode assembly comprising first and second electrode plates having opposite polarities, wherein pole 34 protrudes from a first communication hole in the side wall of first shell 20, said hole enabling communication between the accommodating cavity and an external environment (Fig. 6). Pole 34 constitutes the claimed first conductive terminal and is electrically connective to the first electrode plate via first tab 12 (Fig. 6).
While Yu does not expressly teach that the second shell 30 material, at least at the side walls, is insulative, Yu does teach alternative configurations including wherein the first shell 20 and the second shell 30 can present the same electric polarity as the positive electrode, the negative electrode, or only one of said shell components may exhibit the same electric polarity as one of the electrodes by using an insulating pad (page 6/7, par. 3).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the claimed invention to utilize insulative material within the housing of the button battery cell as desired by the end user and ultimately the intended use of the battery, including around the side walls of second shell 30, in order to regulate the polarity of the cell, as taught by Yu.
Regarding claim 2, while Yu fails to expressly teach that the insulating wall has a second communication hole and associated second conductive terminal, doing so would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the claimed invention because Yu already teaches terminal pole 34 traversing a side wall of the battery. Batteries necessarily contain two terminals. As Yu has already shown one of said terminals emanating from within the cell to outside of the cell at the side wall, having the second terminal configured in a similar manner is considered prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 11, Yu teaches second shell 30 (cover) having liquid injection port 31 (through hole) and sealing piece 32 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, batteries and electronic devices housing batteries are typically designed for secure attachment, wherein the very shape of the battery itself could be considered a protrusion held in place by the device. Regardless, secure design to secure the battery, including protrusions and/or groove, is prima facie obvious. Button cells having lines on one side (which will have the effect of anti-skidding) are conventionally known.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Yu et al (CN 211605201 U) is considered to represent the closest related prior art to the claimed invention, as discussed above. Yu does not teach or suggest that the insulating wall comprises at least two packaging units, and the at least two packaging units are spliced and fixed sequentially along a circumferential direction of the first end cover so that the insulating wall forms a closed ring shape along the circumferential direction. Huang (CN 201233915 Y) teaches a cylindrical battery shell that is formed by enclosing two side walls of battery shell, which is taught to efficiently reduce the cost (abstract). However, the joining of components appears to be on a line perpendicular to that required by instant claim 3, as it is not along the circumferential direction of the wall but along the length of the cylinder.
Conclusion
/Colin W. Slifka/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732