DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 24 February 2026 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 20 September 2023, 29 March 2024, 02 July 2024 and 23 July 2024.
Claims 1-9, 11-14, and 16-22 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 24 February 2026 has been entered. Response to Arguments5. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-9, 11-14, and 16-22, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9 11, 16 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhou (US 20230319591 A1)
With regarding Claim 1, Zhou disclose a method for determining an uplink channel parameter, executed by a terminal and comprising: receiving target indication information sent by a network-side device, wherein the target indication information comprises transmission configuration indicator state information, and the transmission configuration indicator state information is used to indicate an uplink channel parameter for transmission of a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH (See FIG.5-6 and ¶[0006], [0131], [0099], [0044], [0099], ¶[0111]-[0116], [0118]-[0126], [0071]-[0074].
[0044] In some situations, a user equipment (UE) may decode a downlink transmission, from a base station (BS), using a transmission configuration indicator (TCI), such as a TCI-State, as defined in the 3GPP specifications, or another similar data structure. The TCI may indicate one or more quasi-co-location (QCL) rules, where a rule associates a reference signal (for example, a synchronization signal, such as a synchronization signal block (SSB); a channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS); a positioning reference signal (PRS);[0126] Info 5: Parameters for codebook-/non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission including SRI, TPMI, TRI for PUSCH Tx of the common DL/UL beam. If the joint TCI state indicates multiple common DL/UL beams, each common DL/UL beam can have one set of parameters for CB/NCB based PUSCH transmission.[0111] Additionally, or alternatively, the TCI may further indicate one or more codebook or non-codebook parameters for the UE 120 to use when transmitting. The one or more codebook or non-codebook parameters may include an SRS resource indicator (SRI); a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), such as a transmission PMI (TPMI); a rank indicator (RI), such as a transmission rank indicator (TRI); or a combination thereof. In some aspects, as described above, the TCI may indicate a plurality of beams. Accordingly, each beam of the plurality of beams may share the one or more codebook or non-codebook parameters. As an alternative, at least one beam of the plurality of beams may use one or more different codebook or non-codebook parameters. For example, the codebook parameters may be used in codebook-based uplink MIMO transmissions, and the non-codebook parameters may be used in non-codebook-based uplink MIMO transmissions. [0103] The one or more properties for the beam may be spatial, temporal, or otherwise related to a physical property of the beam. For example, the one or more properties may include a Doppler shift (such as when the QCL rule is a QCL-TypeA assumption, a QCL-TypeB assumption, or a QCL-TypeC assumption), a Doppler spread (such as when the QCL rule is a QCL-TypeA assumption or a QCL-TypeB assumption), an average delay (such as when the QCL rule is a QCL-TypeA assumption or a QCL-TypeC assumption), a delay spread (such as when the QCL rule is a QCL-TypeA assumption), a spatial reception filter (such as when the QCL rule is a QCL-TypeD assumption), spatial relation information for transmission, or a combination thereof. Disclosed Method performed by an apparatus of a UE for wireless communication. UE receives a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) for a beam from a base station. The received indication is explicitly embodied as a TCI-state data structure.), the joint TCI explicitly indicates properties or parameters for uplink PUSCH transmission, including codebook or non-codebook parameters used for PUSCH Tx.); and determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information(See ¶[0115]-[0116], [0131]-[0132]. Disclosed UE applies the received TCI, measures indicated reference signals, adjusts hardware or configurations, and determines UL transmission parameters for PUSCH based on the TCI.); wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises(See FIG. 6 and ¶[0115]-[0116], [0131]-[0133]. Disclosed UE applies TCI, measures indicated RSs, adjusts hardware, and derives UL transmission parameters.): determining the following uplink channel parameters based on the transmission configuration indicator state information: a port quantity, beam information, and precoding information (See ¶[0103], [0111]-[0112],[0115]-[0116], [0118]-[0126], [0185], [0155]. [0115] As shown by reference number 510, the UE 120 may apply the TCI. For example, the UE 120 may measure the one or more reference signals indicated by the TCI in order to obtain the one or more properties (such as those indicated by one or more QCL rules indicated by the TCI) provided by the one or more reference signals. The UE 120 may adjust one or more antennas, a modulator, a demodulator, or other hardware based on the one or more properties.
[0116] As shown by reference number 515, the BS 110 and the UE 120 may communicate using the joint beam indicated by the TCI. For example, the BS 110 may use beamforming hardware (such as that described above in connection with FIG. 3) to transmit downlink data or control information to the UE 120. The UE 120 may use the one or more properties provided by the one or more reference signals (as described above in connection with reference number 510) to receive and decode the downlink data or control information. Similarly, the UE 120 may use beamforming hardware (such as that described above in connection with FIG. 3) to transmit uplink data or control information to the BS 110. The UE 120 may use the one or more properties provided by the one or more reference signals (as described above in connection with reference number 510) to encode and transmit the uplink data or control information. Disclosed The joint TCI state explicitly includes a Transmission Rank Indication (TRI), which directly corresponds to the port quantity or number of layer for PUSCH transmission, TCI state provides spatial relation information and QCl-TypeD assumptions, which constitute beam or spatial filter information, and TCI state explicitly includes a Transmission Precoding Matrix Indicator (TPMI) for PUSCH. All three parameters(beam via info 2, TRI & TPMI via info 5) are natively packaged within a single TCI-State data structure. UE extracts and applies them directly upon receiving the TCI.): the transmission configuration indicator state information is associated with the port quantity, the beam information, and the precoding information(See ¶[0110]-[0112], [0118]-[0127]. [0118] a joint DL/UL TCI state can be defined with the following contents.[0120] Info 2: One or multiple source RSs to provide various QCL assumptions including characteristics on delay, Doppler, spatial Rx/Tx parameters.[0126] Info 5: Parameters for codebook-/non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission including SRI, TPMI, TRI for PUSCH Tx of the common DL/UL beam. If the joint TCI state indicates multiple common DL/UL beams, each common DL/UL beam can have one set of parameters for CB/NCB based PUSCH transmission. Disclosed a joint DL/UL TCI-State data structure that natively bundles all three parameters: info 2: Source RSs providing QCL/spatial assumptions. Info 5: Parameters for PUSCH Tx including TPMI(precoding) and TRI (rank/port quantity) By packaging all three within a single TCI-State container, an explicit structural and protocol-defined association is established.):
With regarding Claim 2, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the target indication information further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the uplink channel parameter for transmission of the PUSCH (See ¶[0099], [0115]-[0116]. Disclosed Joint TCI framework operates alongside DCI/RRC for scheduling PUSCH. First indication as DCI scheduling grant.); wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises at least one of the following: determining beam information of the PUSCH based on the transmission configuration indicator state information (See ¶[0099]-[0103], [0120]. Disclosed TCI provides spatial relation or QCL-TypeD assumptions, which constitute beam or spatial filter information directly applied to PUSCH transmission.); and determining precoding information based on the first indication information, wherein the first indication information comprises precoding information in downlink control information DCI(See ¶[0111], [0120]-[0126], [0185]. Joint TCI/DCI indicates TPMI(precoding) for PUSCH.).
With regarding Claim 3, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 2, wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises: determining a port quantity of the PUSCH based on the transmission configuration indicator state information (See ¶[0111], [0126]. Disclosed the joint TCI state explicitly includes Info 5, which contains parameters for codebook-based PUSCH transmission, specifically a Transmission Rank Indicator (TRI).), wherein the transmission configuration indicator state information is associated with the port quantity of the PUSCH (See ¶[0118]-[0126]. The TRI/port Quantity is natively packaged within the joint TCI State data structure(info 5).); or, wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises: determining a port quantity of the PUSCH based on the first indication information or a protocol specification.
With regarding Claim 4, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein an association relationship is present between the precoding information and the port quantity (See ¶[0111], [0118]-[0127]. Disclosed info 5 of joint TCI state to explicitly bundle a Transmission Precoding Matrix indicator (TPMI as precoding information) and Transmission Rank Indicator (TRI) as port quantity or number of layers) with the same TCI-state data structure).
With regarding Claim 6, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the target indication information further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the uplink channel parameter for transmission of the PUSCH (See ¶[0099], [0115]-[0116]. Disclosed Joint TCI operates alongside DCI scheduling grants for PUSCH); wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises at least one of the following: determining beam information of the PUSCH based on the transmission configuration indicator state information (See ¶[0099]-[0103], [00120]. TCI provides spatial relation/QCL-TypeD assumptions, which constitute beam/spatial filter information directly applied to PUSCH transmission.); determining an SRS resource based on the transmission configuration indicator state information or the first indication information (See ¶[0101], [0111], [0126]. Disclosed TCI indicates reference signals including SRS. Joint TCI explicitly includes SRI for PUSCH.); determining a port quantity of the PUSCH based on a port quantity of the SRS resource (See ¶[0101], [0111], [0126]. TCI indicates TRI (rank/ports) for PUSCH. Standard NR links SRS port config to PUSCH port config.); and determining precoding information based on the first indication information (See ¶[0111], [0126], [0185]. Disclosed joint TCI/DCI indicates TPMI(precoding) for PUSCH.).
With regarding Claim 7, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 6, wherein the SRS resource is configured in the transmission configuration indicator state information(See ¶[0118]-[0127]. Disclosed defines the joint DL/UL TCI state to include Info 2(source RSs explicitly listing SRS for spatial/QCL assumptions) and Infor 5 (parameters for PUSCH transmission explicitly including SRI). SRS configuration inside the TCI state information.), or the transmission configuration indicator state information is associated with the SRS resource.
With regarding Claim 8, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 6, wherein the PUSCH is a PUSCH scheduled based on a codebook, and an SRS resource is configured by the network-side device, wherein the SRS resource comprises at least one of the following: one first SRS resource configured by the network-side device (See FIG. 5 and ¶[0099], [0101], [0120], [0111], [0126]. Disclosed that the configured TCI state indicates at least one SRS resource (as a source RS in Info 2 and via SRI in Info 5). The UE determines and applies this configured SRS resource for codebook-based PUSCH transmission.); at least one of a plurality of second SRS resources having a same port quantity and configured by the network-side device; at least one of a plurality of third SRS resources configured by the network-side device, wherein at least two of the plurality of third SRS resources have different port quantities; and at least one of a plurality of fourth SRS resources configured by the network-side device, wherein at least two of the plurality of fourth SRS resources have different port quantities (See FIG. 5 and ¶[0101], [0119]-[0127]. Disclosed that SRS resources are either configured directly within the TCI-State data structure or inherently associated with it via the unified joint TCI framework[0120] Info 2: One or multiple source RSs to provide various QCL assumptions.[0126] Info 5: Parameters for codebook-/non-codebook-based PUSCH transmission including SRI, TPMI, TRI for PUSCH Tx of the common DL/UL beam.); and at least one piece of the transmission configuration indicator state information is associated with at least one of the plurality of fourth SRS resources, or at least one of the plurality of fourth SRS resources is configured in at least one piece of the transmission configuration indicator state information.
With regarding Claim 9, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 8, wherein an association relationship is present between the precoding information and the SRS resource, and beam information of the SRS resource is determined based on the transmission configuration indicator state information (See FIG. 5 and ¶[0111], [0126], [0103], [0120]. Disclosed association relationship encompass parameters that are structurally bundled within the same signaling container).
With regarding Claim 11, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the target indication information further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the uplink channel parameter for transmission of the PUSCH (See ¶[0044], [0099], [0111], [0115]-[0116], [0126]. Disclosed that the UE receives a joint TCI-state data structure (target indication information) alongside dynamic downlink control signaling used to schedule uplink transmission, and that uplink channel parameters for PUSCH (precoding, port quantity, SRS resources) are indicated via dynamic control signaling and or the TCI-State.); wherein during non-codebook based scheduling of PUSCH transmission, the target indication information is the transmission configuration indicator state information and the first indication information, and the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises: determining beam information of the PUSCH based on the transmission configuration indicator state information (See FIG. 5 and ¶[0111], [0099], [0115]-[0116], [0103], [0120]. Disclosed beam information encompasses spatial relation information, QCL-TypeD assumptions, and spatial Tx parameters.); or determining beam information of the PUSCH based on the first indication information.
With regarding Claim 16, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the target indication information is the transmission configuration indicator state information, the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises (See ¶[0099], [0044]. Disclosed that the UE receives a joint DL/UL TCI-State data structure from the network device.): determining second power control parameter information based on the transmission configuration indicator state information, wherein the second power control parameter information is configured in the transmission configuration indicator state information (See ¶[0124], [0109], [0118]-[0127]. Disclosed the joint TCI-State architecture to natively package uplink power control parameters directly within the TCI-State container.), or the transmission configuration indicator state information is associated with the second power control parameter information.
With regarding Claim 18, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that an aperiodic SRS resource is configured by the network-side device, the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises: determining beam information of the PUSCH based on the transmission configuration indicator state information or based on an SRI in the DCI, wherein the beam information of the aperiodic SRS resource indicated by the SRI is determined based on RRC signaling or a MAC CE command sent by the network-side device or the transmission configuration indicator state information (See ¶[0101], [0103], [0115]-[0116]. Disclosed that the joint TCI-state framework includes SRS as a valid source reference signal for uplink configuration and provides spatial/beam properties for PUSCH transmission.); and determining that a port quantity and/or precoding information associated with the aperiodic SRS resource indicated by the SRI in the DCI (See ¶[01240], Disclosed configures the SRS itself as a source RS within the TCI-State to provide spatial/QCL assumptions.), or a port quantity and/or precoding information associated with the transmission configuration indicator state information is a port quantity or precoding information of the PUSCH (See ¶[0126], [0111], [0115]-[0116]. Disclosed bundles PUSCH port quantity and precoding parameters within the same TCI-State container. UE determines and applies these exact port quantity(TRI) and precoding (TPMI) parameters directly from the TCI-State to configure PUSCH transmission.). With regarding Claim 22, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the target indication information is the transmission configuration indicator state information, the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises at least one of the following (See ¶[0044], [0099], [0109]. Disclosed that the UE receives a TCI-State ([0044], [0099]), obtains/applies UL properties based in it ([0115]-[0116]), and extracts specific uplink channel parameters (beam, port, precoding, power control reference signals) from the standardized TCI-State container ([0118]-[0127]).): determining that a downlink RS is a reference signal for first power control parameter information in a case that a source RS in the transmission configuration indicator state information is the downlink RS; determining that a source RS of the uplink RS or a downlink RS corresponding to the uplink RS is a reference signal for the first power control parameter information in a case that a source RS in the transmission configuration indicator state information is an uplink RS; determining that a preset downlink RS is a reference signal for the first power control parameter information in a case that no source RS is present in the transmission configuration indicator state information; and determining a reference signal for the first power control parameter information based on a preset mapping relationship and the transmission configuration indicator state information, wherein the preset mapping relationship is used to indicate a mapping relationship between the transmission configuration indicator state information and the reference signal for the first power control parameter information (See ¶[0124], [0118]-[0127], [0109]. Disclosed the first and second alternatives via [0120], which explicitly configures DL RSs (SSB/CSI-RS) and UL RSs (SRS) as source RSs within the TCI-State to provide spatial/QCL assumptions. In standard NR unified TCI frameworks, the indicated source RS type inherently dictates the pathloss reference signal derivation for UL power control.). With regarding Claim 19, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 19 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 1, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 20, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 20 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 1, and is rejected under the same reasoning.9. Claim(s) 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20230319591 A1) in view of WU et al (US 20210273712 A1).
With regarding Claim 12, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 11, Zhou may not explicitly disclose wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information further comprises: determining at least one of a port quantity and precoding information of the PUSCH based on an SRI of DCI in the first indication information. However, in analogous art Wu disclose wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information further comprises: determining at least one of a port quantity and precoding information of the PUSCH based on an SRI of DCI in the first indication information(See ¶[0151], [0156]-[0158], [0280]-[0282], [0119], [0260], [0263]-[0264], [0151]. Disclosed that the first index/SRI determines the number of transmitting antenna ports (port quantity), and explicitly determines a first precoding matrix for the radio signal/PUSCH. And states the first signaling comprises DCI. The first field in the DCI comprises part or all of information in as SRS resource indicator (SRI) field. The first index is explicitly defined as an SRI. The UE determines port precoding parameters directly from this DCI-indicated SRI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu to modify Zhou. Zhou teaches joint TCI framework structure alongside dynamic DCI scheduling grants to configure uplink channel parameters for PUSCH transmission. Wu teaches that the first indication information corresponds to DCI scheduling grants containing and explicit SRS Resource indicator field. This combination yields a dynamically adaptable, standard-compliant PUSCH scheduling framework that improves transmission flexibility while maintaining common beam alignment. With regarding Claim 17, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 1, Zhou may not explicitly disclose wherein the target indication information further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the uplink channel parameter for transmission of the PUSCH; wherein in a case that the target indication information is the first indication information and a second power control parameter is associated with an SRS resource configured by the network-side device, the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises: determining the second power control parameter based on an SRI of DCI in the first indication information However, in analogous art Wu disclose wherein the target indication information further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the uplink channel parameter for transmission of the PUSCH (See ¶[0260]. Disclosed that the first indication information comprises DCI used to dynamically schedule and configure uplink transmission parameters.); wherein in a case that the target indication information is the first indication information and a second power control parameter is associated with an SRS resource configured by the network-side device, the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises (See ¶[0120]-[0121], [0396], [0485]-[0488]. Disclosed that the network configures SRS resources and explicitly associates each SRS resource with specific uplink power control parameters via higher layer configuration.): determining the second power control parameter based on an SRI of DCI in the first indication information(See ¶[0263]-[0264], [0505]-[0507], [0551]- [0555], [0619]- [0621], [0280]. Disclosed that the DCI contains an SRI filed, and the UE determines the applicable power control parameters by applying the received SRI to the pre-configured SRS-PC association.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu to modify Zhou teachings. Zhou teaches joint TCI framework structure alongside dynamic DCI scheduling grants to configure uplink channel parameters for PUSCH transmission. Wu teaches dynamic power control selection mechanism in the context of NR PUSCH scheduling. This combination improves beam specific power optimization, reducing uplink interference and improving link reliability without increasing RRC/MAC Ce signaling overhead.
10. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20230319591 A1) in view of Fan et al (US 20220393823A1). With regarding Claim 13, Zhou method according to claim 1, Fan disclosed wherein the target indication information further comprises first indication information, and the first indication information is used to indicate the uplink channel parameter for transmission of the PUSCH (See ¶[0109]-[0114], [0128]-[0131], [0245]-[0267]. Disclosed first information us first indication information and is used to indicate uplink channel parameters for PUSCH.): wherein in a case that a dummy SRS resource in an association relationship with the uplink channel parameter is configured by the network-side device, an SRI of DCI in the first indication information is used to indicate the dummy SRS resource (See ¶[0102]-[0106], [0129]-[0131], [0152]-[0154], [0142]. Disclosed dummy SRS resources in association with the uplink channel parameter requirement, the SRS field in DCI (first indication information), indicates an SRS resource that is associated with the uplink channel parameter. “An SRI of DCI is used to indicate the dummy SRS resource.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fan to modify Zhou invention. Zhou teaches joint TCI framework structure alongside dynamic DCI scheduling grants to configure uplink channel parameters for PUSCH transmission. Fan teaches that the network configures SRS resources and SRS resources sets for PUSCH transmission, including SRS resources whose usage is codebook, and uses DCI fields as SRS resources indicators(SRI) to select individual SRS resources or SRS groups, where a single indicated SRS resource can represent an entire SRS set or SRS combination used to determine PUSCH beams. The combination yields use an SRI filed to point to a dummy SRS resource whose purpose is parameter association rather than channel measurement.
11. Claim 14 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20230319591 A1) in view of Fan et al (US 20220393823A1), and further in view of WU et al (US 20210273712 A1). With regarding Claim 14, Zhou disclose the method according to claim 12. Zhou and Wu may not explicitly disclose wherein before the determining at least one of a port quantity and precoding information of the PUSCH based on the SRI in the DCI, the method further comprises: sending a precoded SRS resource to the network-side device; and receiving the DCI sent by the network-side device, wherein precoding information in the DCI is obtained through measurement on the precoded SRS resource by the network-side device. However, in analogous art Fan disclose wherein before the determining at least one of a port quantity and precoding information of the PUSCH based on the SRI in the DCI, the method further comprises: sending a precoded SRS resource to the network-side device; and receiving the DCI sent by the network-side device, wherein precoding information in the DCI is obtained through measurement on the precoded SRS resource by the network-side device (See ¶[0105]-[0107]. Disclosed precoded SRS resource encompasses standard NR codebook-based SRS transmissions, wherein the UE applies a precoding matrix to the SRS so the gNB can measure channel conditions.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Fan to Wu and Zhou teachings. Zhou teaches joint TCI/DCI scheduling framework, Wu teaches antenna ports configured in the first reference signal resource(SRS), and DCI scheduling grants carry codebook indicators for PUSCH and Fan teaches SRS measurement to DCI precoding. This combination would improving uplink spectral efficiency and link reliability. With regarding Claim 21, Zhou disclosed the method according to claim 1, Zhou may not explicitly disclose wherein the PUSCH is a PUSCH scheduled based on a codebook, and an SRS resource is configured by the network- side device, wherein the SRS resource is at least one of a plurality of second SRS resources having a same port quantity and configured by the network-side device; wherein the target indication information is the transmission configuration indicator state information and first indication information, the first indication information is used to indicate the uplink channel parameter for transmission of the PUSCH, and the first indication information comprises precoding information in downlink control information DCI; wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises: determining beam information of the PUSCH and at least one second SRS resource based on the transmission configuration indicator state information; determining a port quantity of the PUSCH based on a port quantity of the at least one second SRS resource; and determining the precoding information based on the first indication information. Fan disclosed wherein the PUSCH is a PUSCH scheduled based on a codebook (See ¶[0104]-[0107]. Disclosed in codebook-based PUSCH transmission, an optimal codebook for PUSCH transmission needs to be determined by using an SRS resource whose usage is codebook.), and an SRS resource is configured by the network-side device, wherein the SRS resource is at least one of a plurality of second SRS resources having a same port quantity and configured by the network-side device (See ¶[0010], [0128], [0245], [0267]. Disclosed mapping between beams/SRS resources and DMRS ports quantity.); wherein the target indication information is the transmission configuration indicator state information and first indication information, the first indication information is used to indicate the uplink channel parameter for transmission of the PUSCH, and the first indication information comprises precoding information in downlink control information DCI (See ¶[0128]-[0130], [0152]-[0154], [0106]-[0107], [0144]. Disclosed the network device may indicate one or more beams/spatial relations/TCI-states/pieces of QCL information/SRS resources, DCI fields used for SRS resource indication.); wherein the determining the uplink channel parameter based on the target indication information comprises: determining beam information of the PUSCH and at least one second SRS resource based on the transmission configuration indicator state information (See ¶[0128]-[0130], [0152]-[0154], [0106]-[0107], [0144]. Disclosed the network device may indicate one or more beams/spatial relations/TCI-states/pieces of QCL information/SRS resources, DCI fields used for SRS resource indication.); determining precoding information based on the first indication information (See ¶[0104]-[0107], [0142]-[0144]. Disclosed optimal codebook is determined based on SRS measurements and indicated via DCI ).
Zhou and Fan may not explicitly disclose determining a port quantity of the PUSCH based on a port quantity of the at least one second SRS resource; andHowever, in analogous art, Wu discloses disclose determining a port quantity of the PUSCH based on a port quantity of the SRS resource (See ¶[0414]-[0415]. Disclosed the number of the antenna ports configured to the PUSCH bearing the first signal.);and Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Wu to modify Fan and Zhou invention. Zhou teaches UE receives a joint TCI-State data structure alongside dynamic DCI scheduling to configure uplink channel parameter for PUSCH transmission and bundle with precoding, port and beam. Fan teaches beam information of PUSCH based on TCI state information, determining SRS resources based on TCI state or DCI signaling, and indicating precoding information through first indication information. Wu teaches antenna ports configured in the first reference signal resource(SRS), and DCI scheduling grants carry codebook indicators for PUSCH. This combination improve transmission reliability while addressing the excessive control signaling overhead in multi-beam NR system.
12. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou (US 20230319591 A1) in view of Liu et al (US 20200022120 A1). With regarding claim 5, Zhou may disclose the method according to claim 2,
Zhou may not explicitly disclose wherein the PUSCH is a PUSCH scheduled based on a codebook, and no sounding reference signal SRS resource is configured for the terminal by the network-side device.
However, in analogous art, Liu discloses wherein the PUSCH is a PUSCH scheduled based on a codebook, and no sounding reference signal SRS resource is configured for the terminal by the network-side device (See ¶[0015], [0029]-[0030], [0056], [0053], [0062], [0075]-[0076]. Disclosed that the base station determines the optimal codebook/PMI by measuring a configured SRS resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu to modify Zhou teaches joint TCI framework structure alongside dynamic DCI scheduling grants to configure uplink channel parameters for PUSCH transmission. Liu of directly signaling precoding information (e.g. PMI) without SRS-based measurements. This combination renders it obvious to omit SRS configuration in codebook-based PUSCH scenarios where precoding is directly signaled to the terminal.
Conclusion
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468