DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 March 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizrahi et al., USPN 2022/0159033 in view of Carter et al., USPN 2003/0051026.
With regard to claim 1, Mizrahi discloses a method for providing security management for a system (0004-0006, 0011) using an expert system (0013), the method including receiving, at the expert system, a representation of the system generated based on data specifying rights allocated to entities in the system (0016-0025) which include actions the entities are allowed to perform within the system (0016-0025), providing security management at the expert system by analyzing, by the expert system, the representation of the system to identify sets of one or more actions that could be taken by an attacker to access an identified resource based on at least the access rights allocated to the entities in the system (0032, 0081), wherein the actions are identified based on at least the data specifying the rights allocated to the entities in the system (0045, 0097-0098), processing, by the expert system, the sets of one or more actions to identify a subset of at least some of the sets of one or more actions (0045-0051) to be monitored at the system (0052-0064),wherein actions in the subset of the at least some of the sets of one or more actions are identified based on at least how common respective actions are across the sets of one or more actions (0055-0070, 0100), and how common respective actions are is determined based on a count of how many of the set of one or more actions include individual ones of the respective actions (0100, claim 10), monitoring the system actions using detection signatures generated by the expert system to detect occurrences of respective actions of the subset of at least some of the sets of one or more actions at the system (0075), and wherein the expert system adds facts learned from processing the representation, processing the actions, and monitoring the system to a knowledgebase (0033). The method of Mizrahi is focused on detecting system weaknesses, and less focused on real time monitoring of those vectors. Carter discloses a method for providing security management for a system using an expert system (0168, 0171, 0172, 0188), similar to that of Mizrahi, and further discloses more detail on how to implement the method for system security, such as monitoring the system actions using detection signatures generated by the expert system to detect occurrences of respective actions of the subset of at least some of the sets of one or more actions at the system (0218-0219, 1055), and wherein the expert system adds facts learned from processing the representation, processing the actions, and monitoring the system to a knowledgebase (0220, 1056, 1066). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the instant effective filing date, to implement the monitoring and security implementation of Carter in the method of Mizrahi for the motivation of improving system security and maintaining up to date protection.
With regard to claims 2, 4, 10, 12, 18, and 20, Mizrahi in view of Carter discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Mizrahi further discloses the data specifying rights allocated to entities in the system incudes network configuration data and network policy data for a computer network (0018-0025, 0084, 0111).
With regard to claims 3, 11, and 19, Mizrahi in view of Carter discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Mizrahi further discloses the network configuration data specifies access rights allocated to respective groups and the network policy data specifies includes a set of access rights for group members to access network resources (0017-0025, 0085-0087, 0094).
With regard to claims 5 and 13, Mizrahi in view of Carter discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Mizrahi further discloses the software representation includes a source code representation or an executable compiled from the source code representation (0121-0122, claim 19) and represents a plurality of states and transitions between states (0035-0040, 0096-0098).
With regard to claims 6 and 14, Mizrahi in view of Carter discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Mizrahi further discloses analyzing the representation to identify actions that could be taken by an attacker includes stimulating the representation using a plurality of inputs to identify sets of one or more state changes that reach a target state from a starting state (0035-0040, 0096-0098).
With regard to claims 7 and 15, Mizrahi in view of Carter discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Mizrahi further discloses the actions include one or more state-to-state transitions representing traversal of the system, modification of the system, or acquisition of access rights in the system (0035-0040, 0096-0098).
With regard to claims 8 and 16, Mizrahi in view of Carter discloses the method of claim 1, as outlined above, and Carter further discloses monitoring the actions using detection signatures generated by the expert system includes processing a triggering event received in response to a detection signature detecting an occurrence that satisfies one or more atomic rules by applying a second set of rules to the triggering event to determine whether to generate an alert (0804-0817, 0475, claim 20). The motivation to combine remains the same as the parent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, filed 30 March 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-20 of the prior office action have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Mizrahi does disclose ranking based on how common an attack is performed based on a count (0100, claim 10), as outlined above.
References Cited
Robbins et al., USPN 11,032,298, discloses a method of generating an attack path model using permission data (column 6 line 54-column 7 line 7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434