DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/7/23 and 10/15/25 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 3/30/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 209401755 U (CN ’755) in view of US 2014/0272537 A1 (US ’537).
As to Claim 1:
CN ’755 discloses:
a cell comprising an electrode assembly for a secondary battery (p. 1, lines 8–14; p. 6, lines 3–8);the electrode assembly includes a first electrode plate (first pole piece 11), a second electrode plate (second pole piece 12), and a diaphragm (13) disposed between the first and second pole pieces, wherein the diaphragm functions as an insulating layer sandwiched between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (p. 4, lines 10–18; Fig. 1);
the first pole piece includes a first region (112) and a second region (113), wherein the second region is bent and connected with the first region, forming a bend or transition in the first electrode plate (p. 5, lines 6–15). This bent transition corresponds to an inflection-type region of the first electrode plate; and
the electrode assembly is formed into a flat structure including a main body region (14) and a corner region (15) (p. 4, lines 19–26). CN ’755 explicitly teaches that different distances (gaps) are present at different locations of the electrode assembly, including a first gap G1 at the corner region and a second gap G2 at the main body region, and further teaches that G1 is larger than G2 (p. 6, lines 12–22; Fig. 3). Thus, CN ’755 teaches two different distances between opposing layers of the electrode assembly along a direction across the width of the electrode assembly.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate, and the insulating layer are stacked and partially folded back, nor does CN ’755 expressly describe the electrode assembly as being formed by a fold-back configuration (as opposed to a wound configuration). CN ’755 also does not explicitly describe the bend in the first electrode plate as being positioned at a folded-back portion of the stacked electrode assembly.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly formed by folding layers back upon themselves. In particular, US ’537 teaches a separator layer folded back upon itself to form a first separator section and a second separator section ([0021]–[0023]). US ’537 further teaches that an electrode layer is folded over the separator layer, thereby forming a stacked structure created by partial fold-back of the electrode and separator layers ([0024]–[0026]).
US ’537 also teaches that an electrode layer includes opposing first and second surfaces, and that the folding operation creates a fold region connecting those surfaces ([0027]–[0029]). US ’537 further explains that the folding may occur along directions that are orthogonal to one another, thereby defining distinct directions for spacing between opposing surfaces of the folded structure ([0030]–[0032]).
Accordingly, US ’537 teaches that spacing varies continuously as a function of distance from the fold region ([0030]–[0032]), supporting a gradual decrease in spacing.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the stacked and partially folded-back configuration taught by US ’537 in order to achieve a compact, layered electrode assembly while maintaining controlled spacing between electrode layers. Such a modification would result in a first electrode plate having a bend (inflection-type region) positioned at a folded-back portion of the stacked assembly, and would preserve the two different distances (G1 and G2) taught by CN ’755 at different locations of the electrode assembly.
As to Claim 2:
CN ’755 further discloses that a first gap (G1) is formed at the corner region and a second gap (G2) is formed at the main body region, and explicitly states that the first gap G1 is larger than the second gap G2 (p. 6, lines 12–22; Fig. 3). Accordingly, CN ’755 teaches an electrode assembly having a maximum distance (G1) between opposing surfaces at a particular location (corner region), and smaller distances (G2) at other locations.
CN ’755 also teaches that the corner region and the main body region are arranged along a lateral direction (Y direction) of the electrode assembly (p. 4, lines 21–24), such that the distance between opposing surfaces varies depending on position along that direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the distances between the opposing surfaces gradually decrease as moving away from the location of the maximum distance along the lateral direction. CN ’755 explicitly discloses different distances at different regions (G1 and G2), but does not explicitly describe the change in distance as being gradual between those regions.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which electrode layers and a separator layer are stacked and partially folded back, forming a folded structure in which the spacing between opposing surfaces varies depending on position relative to the fold. Specifically, US ’537 teaches that a separator layer is folded back upon itself to form multiple separator sections, and an electrode layer is folded over the separator layer to form a stacked structure ([0021]–[0026]). US ’537 further explains that the folded structure results in different spacing relationships between opposing surfaces at different positions along the folded direction, reflecting changes in geometry as the distance from the fold increases ([0030]–[0032]). This teaching supports a progressive or gradual change in distance between opposing surfaces as one moves away from a fold region.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 such that the spacing between opposing surfaces gradually decreases as moving away from the location of the maximum distance, as taught by the folded-back stacked electrode structure of US ’537. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known folding and stacking techniques to control inter-layer spacing, and would result in an electrode assembly having a maximum first distance at a first point and progressively smaller distances away from that point along a second direction.
As to Claim 3:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly has a lateral width direction (Y direction) and a thickness direction perpendicular thereto (p. 4, lines 21–24). As shown and described, the electrode assembly is a flat structure in which the dimension in the width (Y) direction is significantly larger than the dimension in the thickness direction (p. 5, lines 1–5). Thus, CN ’755 teaches a region of the electrode assembly whose maximum width in one direction (Y direction) is larger than its maximum width in a perpendicular direction (thickness direction).
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the main body region is a “first region surrounded by the first surface and the second surface” as recited in claim 3, nor does CN ’755 expressly define the region in terms of surfaces created by a folded-back configuration of the electrode assembly.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which an electrode layer and a separator layer are stacked and partially folded back, thereby forming regions enclosed between opposing surfaces of folded layers ([0021]–[0026]). US ’537 further teaches that the folded electrode/separator structure defines elongated regions whose lateral dimensions extend along a direction different from the fold direction ([0027]–[0030]). These teachings describe regions that are surrounded by opposing surfaces of the folded electrode layers and that have a maximum width in one direction greater than in a perpendicular direction.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to incorporate the folded-back stacked electrode configuration taught by US ’537, thereby forming a region surrounded by opposing surfaces of the folded electrode layers and having a maximum width in a second direction larger than a maximum width in a first direction. Such a modification represents a predictable application of known folding techniques to a flat electrode assembly.
As to Claim 4:
CN ’755 further teaches that the electrode assembly comprises a plurality of stacked layers (wound turns) arranged along an axial direction that is perpendicular to both the thickness direction and the width direction of the electrode assembly (p. 5, lines 1–8). As shown and described, these multiple stacked layers define multiple instances of the main body region (14) along the axial direction.
CN ’755 also discloses that the geometry of the electrode assembly varies depending on position within the stacked layers, as evidenced by differences between the inner and outer wound layers (p. 5, lines 8–15). Accordingly, CN ’755 teaches that, along a direction perpendicular to both the thickness direction and the width direction, multiple regions of the electrode assembly exist that inherently have different geometric dimensions, including widths measured in a given direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that, in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, a plurality of maximum widths of the first region measured in the first direction are different from each other, as recited in claim 4. While CN ’755 discloses multiple stacked regions along an axial direction, it does not explicitly quantify or compare the maximum widths of those regions in the first direction.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly formed by stacking and partially folding back electrode layers and separator layers, thereby creating a plurality of stacked sections along a direction perpendicular to both the layer-spacing direction and the fold direction ([0021]–[0026]). US ’537 further teaches that these folded-back sections can have different geometric dimensions as a result of their position within the folded stack, including different widths measured along a given direction ([0027]–[0032]). Thus, US ’537 teaches that, in a folded-back stacked electrode assembly, multiple regions arranged along a third direction can have different maximum widths in a given direction.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back stacked configuration taught by US ’537, such that the electrode assembly includes a plurality of regions arranged along a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions, wherein the maximum widths of the first region measured in the first direction differ from one another as a predictable result of the folded-back stacking geometry.
As to Claim 5:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly includes a plurality of stacked/wound layers (turns) arranged along an axial direction that is perpendicular to both the thickness direction and the lateral width direction of the electrode assembly (p. 5, lines 1–8). Each stacked layer includes the main body region (14) extending in the width (Y) direction (i.e., the second direction), and the geometry of these layers varies depending on position within the wound stack (p. 5, lines 8–15). As shown and described, the effective maximum width of the main body region in the width direction differs between inner and outer layers along the axial (third) direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that, in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, a plurality of the maximum widths of the first region measured in the second direction are different from each other, as recited in claim 5. While CN ’755 teaches multiple stacked regions along an axial direction with varying geometry, it does not explicitly quantify or compare the maximum widths of those regions in the second direction.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly formed by stacking and partially folding back electrode layers and separator layers, thereby creating a plurality of stacked sections along a direction perpendicular to both the fold direction and the layer-spacing direction ([0021]–[0026]). US ’537 further teaches that these folded-back sections can have different geometric dimensions, including different lateral widths, depending on their position within the folded stack ([0027]–[0032]). Thus, US ’537 teaches that, along a third direction, multiple regions of a folded electrode assembly may have different maximum widths in a given direction, addressing the limitation not expressly disclosed by CN ’755.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back stacked configuration taught by US ’537, such that the electrode assembly includes, along a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions, a plurality of regions whose maximum widths in the second direction differ from one another as a predictable result of the folded-back stacking geometry.
As to Claim 6:
CN ’755 further discloses that the bent second region (113) has an end portion away from the connected region, described as a winding end, which constitutes a portion extending away from the bend (p. 2, line 27; p. 5, lines 1–5). Thus, CN ’755 teaches a first electrode plate having a bending region and a part connected to an edge of the bending region opposite the bend direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the first electrode plate includes a first bending region that is part of a first surface and a second bending region that is part of a second surface opposite to the first bending region, nor does CN ’755 expressly disclose two distinct parts respectively connected to edges of the first and second bending regions in a second direction, as recited in claim 6. CN ’755 describes a bent region and an extending end, but does not expressly characterize the bend in terms of opposing surfaces or disclose separate parts extending from each bending region.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which a first electrode layer has opposing first and second surfaces ([0016]) and is folded back over a separator layer, thereby forming a fold (inflection) region where portions of the electrode layer on opposite surfaces meet ([0012], [0021]–[0023]). US ’537 further teaches that the folding operation creates multiple electrode sections (parts) extending away from the fold region in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, including a first electrode section on one side of the fold and a second electrode section on the opposite side of the fold ([0012], [0024]–[0026]). These electrode sections correspond to a first part connected to an edge of a first bending region and a second part connected to an edge of a second bending region, respectively, extending away from the inflection point in the fold direction.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the first electrode plate of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back electrode structure taught by US ’537, such that the first electrode plate includes a first bending region on a first surface and a second bending region on an opposing second surface connected at an inflection point, with respective parts extending from edges of each bending region in a second direction. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known electrode folding techniques to achieve a compact stacked electrode assembly.
As to Claim 7:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly is formed by winding the first pole piece, the diaphragm, and the second pole piece together into a flat structure (p. 4, lines 19–26), such that the diaphragm is continuously arranged between adjacent electrode layers.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose a configuration in which a part of the insulating layer is arranged between a first part and a second part of the same first electrode plate, as recited in claim 7. While CN ’755 teaches that the diaphragm is disposed between different electrode layers, it does not expressly describe a folded-back electrode configuration in which two parts of the same electrode plate are separated by a portion of the insulating layer.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which an electrode layer and a separator layer are stacked and partially folded back. Specifically, US ’537 teaches that a separator layer is folded back upon itself to form a first separator section and a second separator section, and that an electrode layer is folded over the separator layer, resulting in multiple electrode sections (parts) separated by portions of the separator layer ([0021]–[0024]). US ’537 further explains that, in this folded-back configuration, a portion of the separator layer is positioned between a first electrode section and a second electrode section of the same electrode layer ([0025]–[0026]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back electrode and separator configuration taught by US ’537, such that a part of the insulating layer is arranged between a first part and a second part of the first electrode plate. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known electrode folding techniques to position an insulating layer between folded electrode portions.
As to Claim 8:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly has defined directions, including a width (Y) direction along which the planar portions of the electrode plate extend, and a thickness direction perpendicular thereto (p. 4, lines 21–24; p. 5, lines 1–5). Thus, CN ’755 teaches that the first part of the first electrode plate comprises a plane extending along a defined direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the direction in which the first plane extends has a different angle from the second direction, as recited in claim 8. While CN ’755 identifies multiple directions of the electrode assembly, it does not explicitly describe an angular relationship between the extension direction of the planar first part and the second direction as defined in claim 1.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which an electrode layer is folded back over a separator layer, forming electrode sections that extend along a direction that is different from, and angled relative to, the stacking or spacing direction between electrode layers ([0012], [0030]–[0032]). US ’537 further explains that the electrode layer has opposing surfaces and that folding occurs along a direction orthogonal to the thickness direction, thereby establishing that the planar electrode sections extend along a direction that is at a different angle than the direction in which layers are spaced ([0016], [0024]–[0026]). These teachings address the angular relationship missing from CN ’755.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the first electrode plate of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back electrode configuration taught by US ’537, such that the first part comprises a planar portion whose extending direction is at a different angle than the second direction. Such a modification represents a predictable application of known electrode folding techniques to control electrode orientation within a stacked assembly.
As to Claim 9:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly includes metal current collecting plates that are electrically connected to the respective pole pieces at end portions/connection regions of the electrode sheets (p. 3, lines 1–10). These current collecting plates correspond to the claimed first metal plate and second metal plate, and the pole pieces themselves correspond to first and second conductive layers.
CN ’755 also discloses that the first pole piece includes different regions, including a second region (113) that is bent and connected with another region of the pole piece, and that an end portion away from the bend serves as a connection region for electrical coupling (p. 2, lines 23–27; p. 5, lines 1–5). Additionally, CN ’755 discloses that the second pole piece is arranged adjacent to the first pole piece across the diaphragm (p. 4, lines 10–18), thereby teaching adjacency between regions of the second electrode plate and portions of the first electrode plate.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the second region of the first electrode plate is connected with a first part or a second part formed by a folded-back configuration, nor does CN ’755 expressly disclose that the third region of the second electrode plate is adjacent to the first part or the second part, as recited in claim 9. CN ’755 also does not expressly describe the electrode assembly in terms of first and second parts created by folding, as required by claim 9.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which electrode layers are stacked and partially folded back, thereby forming first and second electrode parts (sections) of the same electrode layer ([0012], [0021]–[0024]). US ’537 further teaches that each electrode layer includes a conductive layer and that current collectors (metal plates) are electrically connected to the electrode layers at defined regions ([0018]). US ’537 also discloses that, in the folded-back configuration, regions of a second electrode layer are adjacent to the folded first electrode parts across a separator layer ([0021]–[0026]). These teachings address the folded-part connectivity and adjacency relationships not expressly disclosed by CN ’755.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to incorporate the folded-back electrode architecture taught by US ’537, such that the assembly includes first and second electrode parts, defined regions of the first and second electrode plates connected to or adjacent to those parts, and first and second metal plates electrically connected to respective conductive layers in those regions. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known folded electrode and current-collector connection techniques.
As to Claim 10:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly includes metal current collecting plates that are electrically connected to the respective pole pieces (p. 3, lines 1–10). These current collecting plates correspond to the claimed first metal plate and second metal plate.
CN ’755 also discloses that the first pole piece (11) includes a connection region at an end portion of the electrode sheet, described as a winding end, which is away from the central stacked region of the electrode assembly and is used for electrical connection (p. 2, lines 23–27; p. 3, lines 1–6). Thus, CN ’755 teaches that the first electrode plate comprises a first conductive layer and a second region located at an end portion away from the central region, and that the first metal plate is electrically connected with the first conductive layer at that end portion.
CN ’755 further discloses that the second pole piece (12) similarly includes its own end portion used as a connection region, separate from the central region of the electrode assembly, and that a metal current collecting plate is electrically connected to the second pole piece at that end portion (p. 3, lines 1–10; p. 4, lines 10–18). Accordingly, CN ’755 teaches that the second electrode plate comprises a second conductive layer and a third region located at an end portion away from the central region, and that the second metal plate is electrically connected with the second conductive layer at that region.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose the electrode assembly in the context of the folded-back electrode configuration of claim 6, nor does it describe the above end-portion electrical connections in combination with the first and second parts formed by folding recited in claim 6 from which claim 10 depends.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which electrode layers are stacked and partially folded back, forming folded electrode parts while still providing end portions of the electrode layers for electrical connection to current collectors ([0012], [0018], [0021]–[0024]). US ’537 teaches that each electrode layer includes a conductive layer and that metal current collectors are electrically connected to the electrode layers at terminal regions located away from the central stacked region of the electrode assembly ([0018]). These teachings address the folded-back context missing from CN ’755 while maintaining end-portion electrical connections.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to incorporate the folded-back electrode configuration taught by US ’537 while retaining the end-portion electrical connections of the first and second electrode plates to respective metal current collecting plates, such that the first and second conductive layers include regions located at end portions away from the central region of the electrode assembly and are electrically connected to corresponding metal plates.
As to Claim 11:
CN ’755 further discloses an electrode assembly including a first pole piece (11) and a second pole piece (12), each being a conductive electrode plate, and metal current collecting plates that are electrically connected to the respective pole pieces (p. 3, lines 1–10; Fig. 1). The metal current collecting plates are conductive components configured to collect current from the electrode plates. Accordingly, CN ’755 teaches that the first conductive layer (first pole piece) includes a current collecting structure, and that the second conductive layer (second pole piece) likewise includes a current collecting structure.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the first conductive layer comprises a first current collector and that the second conductive layer comprises a second current collector, as recited in claim 11, in the sense that the current collectors are described as components comprised within the conductive layers themselves, rather than as external plates electrically connected thereto.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which each electrode layer includes or is associated with a current collector forming part of the conductive structure of the electrode layer. Specifically, US ’537 teaches that an electrode layer comprises an active material layer supported on a current collector, and that the current collector is part of the conductive layer used to draw current from the electrode ([0010], [0018]). US ’537 thus expressly teaches that a conductive layer comprises a current collector, addressing the limitation not explicitly disclosed by CN ’755.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to configure the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer to each comprise a current collector, as taught by US ’537, in order to facilitate efficient current collection from the respective electrode plates. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known current-collector structures in electrode layers.
As to Claim 12:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly is formed by winding the first pole piece, diaphragm, and second pole piece together into a flat structure (p. 4, lines 19–26), such that the diaphragm is continuously present between electrode layers even at bent portions of the electrode plates.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that a part of the separator is located between a first bending region and a second bending region of the same electrode plate, as recited in claim 12. While CN ’755 teaches that the diaphragm is disposed between electrode plates in general, it does not expressly describe a folded-back configuration in which the separator is positioned between opposing bending regions of a folded electrode plate.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which electrode layers and a separator layer are stacked and partially folded back. Specifically, US ’537 teaches that a separator layer is folded back together with the electrode layers, such that a portion of the separator is located between folded portions of the electrode layer at the fold (bending) region ([0021]–[0024]). US ’537 further explains that the folded-back structure results in separator sections positioned between electrode sections on opposite sides of the fold ([0025]–[0026]), thereby teaching the placement of a separator between a first bending region and a second bending region.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back electrode and separator configuration taught by US ’537, such that the first layer is a separator and a part of that separator is located between a first bending region and a second bending region of the electrode plate. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known folding techniques for electrode assemblies.
As to Claim 14:
CN ’755 further discloses that the first pole piece (11) is electrically connected to a metal current collecting plate at an end portion (winding end) of the electrode sheet that is separated from the main body region of the electrode assembly (p. 2, lines 23–27; p. 3, lines 1–10). Thus, CN ’755 teaches a first metal plate electrically connected to the first electrode plate, wherein the metal plate is positioned away from the main body region of the electrode assembly.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the first metal plate is distant from the first region when viewed from the first direction, as recited in claim 14. While CN ’755 discloses that the metal plate is located at an end portion away from the main body region, it does not explicitly characterize this separation with respect to a viewing direction corresponding to the first direction defined in claim 1.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which electrode layers are stacked and partially folded back, forming a central stacked region and terminal regions at which metal current collectors are electrically connected to electrode layers ([0012], [0018], [0027]). US ’537 further teaches that these current collectors are positioned outside the central electrode region along the thickness direction (i.e., the direction between opposing electrode surfaces), such that when viewed along that direction, the current collectors are spaced apart from the central stacked region ([0027]). These teachings address the directional relationship missing from CN ’755
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 in view of the teachings of US ’537 so that the first metal plate electrically connected to the first electrode plate is positioned distant from the first region when viewed from the first direction, consistent with conventional placement of current collectors at terminal regions outside the central stacked electrode region. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known electrode assembly design principles.
As to Claim 15:
As discussed above with respect to claim 1, CN ’755 discloses a cell comprising an electrode assembly for a secondary battery (p. 1, lines 8–14; p. 6, lines 3–8).CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly includes a first electrode plate (first pole piece 11), a second electrode plate (second pole piece 12), and a diaphragm (13) disposed between the first and second pole pieces, wherein the diaphragm functions as an insulating layer sandwiched between the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate (p. 4, lines 10–18; Fig. 1).
CN ’755 also discloses that the first pole piece includes a first region (112) and a second region (113), wherein the second region is bent and connected with the first region, forming a bend or transition in the first electrode plate (p. 5, lines 6–15). This bent transition corresponds to an inflection-type region of the first electrode plate.
Additionally, CN ’755 discloses that the electrode assembly is formed into a flat structure including a main body region (14) and a corner region (15) (p. 4, lines 19–26). CN ’755 explicitly teaches that different distances (gaps) are present at different locations of the electrode assembly, including a first gap G1 at the corner region and a second gap G2 at the main body region, and further teaches that G1 is larger than G2 (p. 6, lines 12–22; Fig. 3). Thus, CN ’755 teaches two different distances between opposing layers of the electrode assembly along a direction across the width of the electrode assembly.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the first electrode plate, the second electrode plate, and the insulating layer are stacked and partially folded back, nor does CN ’755 expressly describe the electrode assembly as being formed by a fold-back configuration (as opposed to a wound configuration). CN ’755 also does not explicitly describe the bend in the first electrode plate as being positioned at a folded-back portion of the stacked electrode assembly.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly formed by folding layers back upon themselves. In particular, US ’537 teaches a separator layer folded back upon itself to form a first separator section and a second separator section ([0021]–[0023]). US ’537 further teaches that an electrode layer is folded over the separator layer, thereby forming a stacked structure created by partial fold-back of the electrode and separator layers ([0024]–[0026]).
US ’537 also teaches that an electrode layer includes opposing first and second surfaces, and that the folding operation creates a fold region connecting those surfaces ([0027]–[0029]). US ’537 further explains that the folding may occur along directions that are orthogonal to one another, thereby defining distinct directions for spacing between opposing surfaces of the folded structure ([0030]–[0032]).
Accordingly, US ’537 teaches the stacked and partially folded-back architecture missing from CN ’755 and provides an explicit example of a fold-back configuration in an electrode assembly.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the stacked and partially folded-back configuration taught by US ’537 in order to achieve a compact, layered electrode assembly while maintaining controlled spacing between electrode layers. Such a modification would result in a first electrode plate having a bend (inflection-type region) positioned at a folded-back portion of the stacked assembly, and would preserve the two different distances (G1 and G2) taught by CN ’755 at different locations of the electrode assembly.
Furthermore regarding the electronic devices limitation, US ’537 discloses electrochemical cells for use in electronic devices ([0002]–[0004]). It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to incorporate the cell of CN ’755, as modified by US ’537, into an electronic device, since US ’537 expressly teaches such use and the claimed electronic device imposes no additional structural limitations beyond inclusion of the cell.
As to Claim 16:
CN ’755 further discloses that a first gap (G1) is formed at the corner region and a second gap (G2) is formed at the main body region, and explicitly states that the first gap G1 is larger than the second gap G2 (p. 6, lines 12–22; Fig. 3). Accordingly, CN ’755 teaches an electrode assembly having a maximum distance (G1) between opposing surfaces at a particular location (corner region), and smaller distances (G2) at other locations.
CN ’755 also teaches that the corner region and the main body region are arranged along a lateral direction (Y direction) of the electrode assembly (p. 4, lines 21–24), such that the distance between opposing surfaces varies depending on position along that direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the distances between the opposing surfaces gradually decrease as moving away from the location of the maximum distance along the lateral direction. CN ’755 explicitly discloses different distances at different regions (G1 and G2), but does not explicitly describe the change in distance as being gradual between those regions.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which electrode layers and a separator layer are stacked and partially folded back, forming a folded structure in which the spacing between opposing surfaces varies depending on position relative to the fold. Specifically, US ’537 teaches that a separator layer is folded back upon itself to form multiple separator sections, and an electrode layer is folded over the separator layer to form a stacked structure ([0021]–[0026]). US ’537 further explains that the folded structure results in different spacing relationships between opposing surfaces at different positions along the folded direction, reflecting changes in geometry as the distance from the fold increases ([0030]–[0032]). This teaching supports a progressive or gradual change in distance between opposing surfaces as one moves away from a fold region.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 such that the spacing between opposing surfaces gradually decreases as moving away from the location of the maximum distance, as taught by the folded-back stacked electrode structure of US ’537. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known folding and stacking techniques to control inter-layer spacing, and would result in an electrode assembly having a maximum first distance at a first point and progressively smaller distances away from that point along a second direction.
As to Claim 17:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly has a lateral width direction (Y direction) and a thickness direction perpendicular thereto (p. 4, lines 21–24). As shown and described, the electrode assembly is a flat structure in which the dimension in the width (Y) direction is significantly larger than the dimension in the thickness direction (p. 5, lines 1–5). Thus, CN ’755 teaches a region of the electrode assembly whose maximum width in one direction (Y direction) is larger than its maximum width in a perpendicular direction (thickness direction).
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the main body region is a “first region surrounded by the first surface and the second surface” as recited in claim 3, nor does CN ’755 expressly define the region in terms of surfaces created by a folded-back configuration of the electrode assembly.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which an electrode layer and a separator layer are stacked and partially folded back, thereby forming regions enclosed between opposing surfaces of folded layers ([0021]–[0026]). US ’537 further teaches that the folded electrode/separator structure defines elongated regions whose lateral dimensions extend along a direction different from the fold direction ([0027]–[0030]). These teachings describe regions that are surrounded by opposing surfaces of the folded electrode layers and that have a maximum width in one direction greater than in a perpendicular direction.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to incorporate the folded-back stacked electrode configuration taught by US ’537, thereby forming a region surrounded by opposing surfaces of the folded electrode layers and having a maximum width in a second direction larger than a maximum width in a first direction. Such a modification represents a predictable application of known folding techniques to a flat electrode assembly.
As to Claim 18:
CN ’755 further teaches that the electrode assembly comprises a plurality of stacked layers (wound turns) arranged along an axial direction that is perpendicular to both the thickness direction and the width direction of the electrode assembly (p. 5, lines 1–8). As shown and described, these multiple stacked layers define multiple instances of the main body region (14) along the axial direction.
CN ’755 also discloses that the geometry of the electrode assembly varies depending on position within the stacked layers, as evidenced by differences between the inner and outer wound layers (p. 5, lines 8–15). Accordingly, CN ’755 teaches that, along a direction perpendicular to both the thickness direction and the width direction, multiple regions of the electrode assembly exist that inherently have different geometric dimensions, including widths measured in a given direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that, in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, a plurality of maximum widths of the first region measured in the first direction are different from each other, as recited in claim 4. While CN ’755 discloses multiple stacked regions along an axial direction, it does not explicitly quantify or compare the maximum widths of those regions in the first direction.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly formed by stacking and partially folding back electrode layers and separator layers, thereby creating a plurality of stacked sections along a direction perpendicular to both the layer-spacing direction and the fold direction ([0021]–[0026]). US ’537 further teaches that these folded-back sections can have different geometric dimensions as a result of their position within the folded stack, including different widths measured along a given direction ([0027]–[0032]). Thus, US ’537 teaches that, in a folded-back stacked electrode assembly, multiple regions arranged along a third direction can have different maximum widths in a given direction.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back stacked configuration taught by US ’537, such that the electrode assembly includes a plurality of regions arranged along a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions, wherein the maximum widths of the first region measured in the first direction differ from one another as a predictable result of the folded-back stacking geometry.
As to Claim 19:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode assembly includes a plurality of stacked/wound layers (turns) arranged along an axial direction that is perpendicular to both the thickness direction and the lateral width direction of the electrode assembly (p. 5, lines 1–8). Each stacked layer includes the main body region (14) extending in the width (Y) direction (i.e., the second direction), and the geometry of these layers varies depending on position within the wound stack (p. 5, lines 8–15). As shown and described, the effective maximum width of the main body region in the width direction differs between inner and outer layers along the axial (third) direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that, in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction, a plurality of the maximum widths of the first region measured in the second direction are different from each other, as recited in claim 5. While CN ’755 teaches multiple stacked regions along an axial direction with varying geometry, it does not explicitly quantify or compare the maximum widths of those regions in the second direction.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly formed by stacking and partially folding back electrode layers and separator layers, thereby creating a plurality of stacked sections along a direction perpendicular to both the fold direction and the layer-spacing direction ([0021]–[0026]). US ’537 further teaches that these folded-back sections can have different geometric dimensions, including different lateral widths, depending on their position within the folded stack ([0027]–[0032]). Thus, US ’537 teaches that, along a third direction, multiple regions of a folded electrode assembly may have different maximum widths in a given direction, addressing the limitation not expressly disclosed by CN ’755.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back stacked configuration taught by US ’537, such that the electrode assembly includes, along a third direction perpendicular to the first and second directions, a plurality of regions whose maximum widths in the second direction differ from one another as a predictable result of the folded-back stacking geometry.
As to Claim 20:
CN ’755 further discloses that the bent second region (113) has an end portion away from the connected region, described as a winding end, which constitutes a portion extending away from the bend (p. 2, line 27; p. 5, lines 1–5). Thus, CN ’755 teaches a first electrode plate having a bending region and a part connected to an edge of the bending region opposite the bend direction.
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose that the first electrode plate includes a first bending region that is part of a first surface and a second bending region that is part of a second surface opposite to the first bending region, nor does CN ’755 expressly disclose two distinct parts respectively connected to edges of the first and second bending regions in a second direction, as recited in claim 6. CN ’755 describes a bent region and an extending end, but does not expressly characterize the bend in terms of opposing surfaces or disclose separate parts extending from each bending region.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which a first electrode layer has opposing first and second surfaces ([0016]) and is folded back over a separator layer, thereby forming a fold (inflection) region where portions of the electrode layer on opposite surfaces meet ([0012], [0021]–[0023]). US ’537 further teaches that the folding operation creates multiple electrode sections (parts) extending away from the fold region in a direction perpendicular to the thickness direction, including a first electrode section on one side of the fold and a second electrode section on the opposite side of the fold ([0012], [0024]–[0026]). These electrode sections correspond to a first part connected to an edge of a first bending region and a second part connected to an edge of a second bending region, respectively, extending away from the inflection point in the fold direction.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the first electrode plate of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back electrode structure taught by US ’537, such that the first electrode plate includes a first bending region on a first surface and a second bending region on an opposing second surface connected at an inflection point, with respective parts extending from edges of each bending region in a second direction. Such a modification represents a predictable use of known electrode folding techniques to achieve a compact stacked electrode assembly.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 209401755 U (CN ’755) in view of US 2014/0272537 A1 (US ’537), as applied to Claim 6 above, and further in view of JP 2013-191282 A (JP’282).
As to Claim 13:
CN ’755 further discloses that the electrode plate includes an end portion away from the bend, constituting a part extending from the bending region (p. 2, line 27; p. 5, lines 1–5).
However, CN ’755 does not expressly disclose a second connection point connecting a second bending region and a second part, nor does CN ’755 disclose a first midpoint between two connection points in the first direction, or the definition of a fourth direction based on a virtual line connecting such a midpoint and an inflection point, as recited in claim 13. CN ’755 also does not disclose comparing the angle of such a virtual-line direction with a second direction.
US ’537 discloses an electrode assembly in which an electrode layer is stacked and partially folded back, forming two electrode parts (sections) connected to a fold line on opposite sides of the fold ([0012], [0021]–[0024]). This folded-back configuration inherently provides a first connection point and a second connection point, each connecting a bending region at the fold with a respective electrode part. US ’537 further teaches that the folded electrode sections are arranged on opposite sides in the thickness (first) direction ([0016]), thereby supplying the structural basis for two connection points separated along the first direction.
JP’282 discloses defining geometric reference points and midpoints between opposing fold-related regions of an electrode assembly along a thickness direction ([0046]–[0049]; Figs. 6–7). JP’282 further teaches defining an imaginary (virtual) line connecting a midpoint and a bend or fold point, and using the extending direction of that virtual line as a reference direction ([0050]–[0054]). JP’282 explicitly teaches comparing the angle of such a virtual-line direction with another predefined direction of the electrode assembly ([0054]–[0057]), thereby teaching that the defined direction has a different angle than another direction.
CN ’755, US ’537, and JP’282 are analogous art because each reference is directed to electrode assemblies for electrochemical cells and addresses the structural configuration, bending/folding geometry, and spatial relationships of electrode plates and separator layers within a battery cell (p. 1, lines 8–14; [0002]–[0004]; [0001]–[0003]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode assembly of CN ’755 to adopt the folded-back electrode configuration taught by US ’537, thereby providing first and second connection points connecting respective bending regions and electrode parts on opposite sides in the first direction, and further to apply the geometric analysis techniques taught by JP’282 to define a midpoint between those connection points, a virtual line connecting the midpoint and the inflection point, and a fourth direction having an angle different from the second direction. Such a modification represents a predictable combination of known folding structures and known geometric characterization methods.
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723