DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Health index output part in claims 1-3 -- [0053] “communication part 75 (an example of a health index output unit) for outputting the plurality of health indices of the user “[00112] “the communication part 75 may be achieved by a microcomputer and the like which executes a corresponding program”
Temperature determining part in claims 1-9 – [0077] “the controller 70 is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the seat surface 21 is: within a range of 0 °C to 10 °C (an example of a third range); or within another range of 10 °C to 20 °C (another example of a third range); or outside these ranges (i.e., equal to or higher than 20 °C); based on the measurement results of the temperature thermistor 65 (an example of a temperature sensor), as a temperature determining part”
Operation change instruction part in claims 1-4 – [0092] “the controller 70 is configured to cause the communication part 75 (health index output part) to output error information and/or to stop outputting the health index, as an operation change instruction part”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 3, the limitation "a predetermined second threshold value” makes it is unclear as to how many threshold values are required, as no first threshold value is recited in claim 3 or its parent claim 1. Examiner acknowledges “a predetermined first threshold value” is recited in claim 2.
In claim 4, the limitation "a predetermined third range” makes it is unclear as to how many ranges are required, as no first or second range is mentioned in claim 4 or its parent claim 1. Examiner acknowledges “a predetermined first threshold value” is recited in claim 2 and "a predetermined second threshold value is recited in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shao (CN 106419712 A).
Regarding claim 1, Shao teaches a toilet system (Fig. 1, toilet gasket system) comprising:
a toilet seat having a seat surface on which a user is to sit (Fig. 1, toilet gasket);
a sensor provided in or on the toilet seat, configured to measure a physical quantity which reflects blood flow conditions of the user (Fig. 2, reflective PPG photo sensor 4, a pressure switch 6, a pressure sensor 8);
a heater configured to heat the toilet seat (insulated heating wire 10);
a health index calculator configured to calculate a health index of the user based on measurement results of the sensor (pg 2 [12] “calculating the health parameters output by the PPG electrical signal the received (4) the central processor and a pressure signal.” Pg 3 [10, 17] “the toilet gasket is applied for detecting the health index… heart rate, blood pressure, blood oxygen, heart of the user”);
a health index output part configured to output the health index of the user which has been calculated by the health index calculator (pg 3 [17-18] “display screen. (8) the detected data is convenient to read according to user and detecting data stored in the memory, comparing the central processor.“);
a temperature determining part configured to determine whether a temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies a predetermined condition or not (pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”), and
an operation change instruction part configured to change an operation of the health index calculator and/or an operation of the health index output part when the temperature determining part determines that the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition (pg 2 [11-14] “(2) infrared light emitting tube of the photoelectric PPG sensor emits infrared light irradiated to the leg of the user, an infrared light-sensitive device to receive the legs of the user reflecting the changes it into a PPG electrical signal to transmit to the central processor… Further, before said step (2), the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”).
Regarding claim 2, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat is equal to or lower than a predetermined first threshold value or not (pg 3 [8] “an insulated heating wire 10 covered by the heat conducting material, laying cavity upper part, so that the toilet gasket is heated uniformly, the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate.”), and the operation change instruction part is configured to stop an output operation of the health index output part when the temperature determining part determines that the temperature state of the toilet seat is equal to or lower than the first threshold value (pg 2 [11-14] “(2) infrared light emitting tube of the photoelectric PPG sensor emits infrared light irradiated to the leg of the user, an infrared light-sensitive device to receive the legs of the user reflecting the changes it into a PPG electrical signal to transmit to the central processor… Further, before said step (2), the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”).
Regarding claim 5, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the toilet seat, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not, based on measurement results of the temperature sensor (pg 3 [14] “(4) starting the heating wire, the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”).
Regarding claim 8, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, further comprising wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not, based on an operational state of the heater (pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”).
Regarding claim 11, Shao teaches a method of providing a health index by using a toilet system (Pg 3 [10] “the toilet gasket is applied for detecting the health index”) comprising:
a toilet seat having a seat surface on which a user is to sit (Fig. 1, toilet gasket);
a sensor provided in or on the toilet seat, configured to measure a physical quantity which reflects blood flow conditions of the user (Fig. 2, reflective PPG photo sensor 4, a pressure switch 6, a pressure sensor 8); and
a heater configured to heat the toilet seat (insulated heating wire 10);
the method comprising:
a health index calculating step of calculating a health index of the user based on measurement results of the sensor (pg 2 [12] “calculating the health parameters output by the PPG electrical signal the received (4) the central processor and a pressure signal.” Pg 3 [10, 17] “the toilet gasket is applied for detecting the health index… heart rate, blood pressure, blood oxygen, heart of the user”);
a health index outputting step of outputting the health index of the user which has been calculated by the health index calculating step (pg 3 [17-18] “display screen. (8) the detected data is convenient to read according to user and detecting data stored in the memory, comparing the central processor.“);
a temperature determining step of determining whether a temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies a predetermined condition or not (pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”), and
an operation change instructing step of changing an operation during the health index calculating step and/or an operation during the health index outputting step when it is determined that the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition by the temperature determining step (pg 2 [11-14] “(2) infrared light emitting tube of the photoelectric PPG sensor emits infrared light irradiated to the leg of the user, an infrared light-sensitive device to receive the legs of the user reflecting the changes it into a PPG electrical signal to transmit to the central processor… Further, before said step (2), the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”).
Regarding claim 12, Shao teaches a program for providing a health index by using a toilet system (pg 3 [13] “(3) the central processor receives user detection command, starting a detection program.”) comprising:
a toilet seat having a seat surface on which a user is to sit (Fig. 1, toilet gasket);
a sensor provided in or on the toilet seat, configured to measure a physical quantity which reflects blood flow conditions of the user (Fig. 2, reflective PPG photo sensor 4, a pressure switch 6, a pressure sensor 8); and
a heater configured to heat the toilet seat (insulated heating wire 10);
the program is capable of perform, when executed by a computer:
a health index calculating step of calculating a health index of the user based on measurement results of the sensor (pg 2 [12] “calculating the health parameters output by the PPG electrical signal the received (4) the central processor and a pressure signal.” Pg 3 [10, 17] “the toilet gasket is applied for detecting the health index… heart rate, blood pressure, blood oxygen, heart of the user”);
a health index outputting step of outputting the health index of the user which has been calculated by the health index calculating step (pg 3 [17-18] “display screen. (8) the detected data is convenient to read according to user and detecting data stored in the memory, comparing the central processor.“);
a temperature determining step of determining whether a temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies a predetermined condition or not (pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”); and
an operation change instructing step of changing an operation during the health index calculating step and/or an operation during the health index outputting step when it is determined that the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition by the temperature determining step (pg 2 [11-14] “(2) infrared light emitting tube of the photoelectric PPG sensor emits infrared light irradiated to the leg of the user, an infrared light-sensitive device to receive the legs of the user reflecting the changes it into a PPG electrical signal to transmit to the central processor… Further, before said step (2), the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao (CN 106419712 A) in view of Zhang (US 20050261593 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat is equal to or lower than a predetermined second threshold value or not (pg 3 [8] “an insulated heating wire 10 covered by the heat conducting material, laying cavity upper part, so that the toilet gasket is heated uniformly, the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate.”). However, Shao fails to disclose outputting error information.
Zhang teaches a method for measuring an arterial blood pressure of a subject comprising detecting a pulse-wave-related signal of the subject; extracting a feature from the signals; determining a factor that can affect the arterial blood pressure of the subject; and determining the arterial blood pressure based on the feature with an automatic compensation for the factors.
Zhang discloses and the operation change instruction part is configured to cause the health index output part to output error information when the temperature determining part determines that the temperature state of the toilet seat is equal to or lower than the second threshold value ([0095] “Tc and a percentage difference thereof with respect to that measured during the calibration are obtained to counterbalance the effect of the contacting force, ambient temperature, nervous activities and/or cardiac output, respectively.” [0096] “Step 807 determines whether the percentage difference exceeds a pre-defined boundary. If exceeded, e.g. by 50%, the system will display an error message and the complete measurement process has to be repeated starting from step 801.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include outputting error information when a temperature state is equal to or lower than a threshold value as disclosed in Zhang to prevent erroneous outputs due to variable ambient temperature (Zhang [0076]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao (CN 106419712 A) in view of Fjield (US 20090030641 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat is within a predetermined third range or not (pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”). However, Shao fails to disclose modifying a calculation operation when the temperature state is within a predetermined range.
Fjield teaches a method for compensating for a temperature-related error in a physiological sensor. Fjield discloses and the operation change instruction part is configured to modify a calculation operation of the health index calculator when the temperature determining part determines that the temperature state of the toilet seat is within the predetermined third range ([0022] “The monitoring system determines a correction factor to compensate for a temperature-related error in the output of the sensor.” [0035] “over a temperature range of 32.degree. C. to 41.degree. C.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include modifying a calculation operation when the temperature state is within a predetermined range as disclosed in Fjield for a more practical solution for temperature compensation in biosensor electrodes that provides reliable measurements despite a change in surrounding temperature (Fjield [0009]).
Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao (CN 106419712 A) in view of Du (WO 2021083136 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1. However, Shao fails to disclose a room temperature sensor.
Du teaches a physiological characteristic data analysis method for a user on a toilet. Du discloses further comprising a room temperature sensor configured to measure an environment temperature around the toilet seat (pg 7 [15-16] “The environment data is detected by the environment detection sensor, and the environment data of the environment where the user is located is acquired. It should be further explained that environmental detection sensors may include, but are not limited to, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, noise sensors, etc. The temperature sensor can obtain the temperature data of the user's environment… sensor can be embedded in a seat cushion or a toilet seat of a toilet, or embedded in a chair, sofa, bed, etc., to detect the environmental data of the user.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include a room temperature sensor to measure temperature of the environment around the toilet seat as disclosed in Du to obtain more accurate and comprehensive vital sign data (Du pg 8 [1]).
The combination of Shao/Du discloses, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not, based on measurement results of the room temperature sensor (Shao: pg 3 [8] “the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate.” Du: pg 7 [16] “The temperature sensor can obtain the temperature data of the user's environment;” pg 8 [9] “The returned vital sign data is transmitted to the mobile device for display, and it is determined whether the vital sign data exceeds the preset early warning threshold, and when the vital sign data exceeds the preset early warning threshold, an early warning is given to the mobile device through the server”).
Regarding claim 9, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1. However, Shao fails to disclose a timer for measuring seating time.
Du discloses, further comprising a timer configured to measure a seating time during which the user continues to sit on the toilet seat (pg 9 [9] “toilets, etc., on which the user can maintain a sitting posture.” Pg 11 [11] “The sitting position time length is transmitted to the server for analysis and storage, and the sitting position time length analysis result returned by the server analysis is transmitted to the mobile device for display.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include a timer for measuring seating time as disclosed in Du to prevent a series of health problems such as lumbar muscle strain, hemorrhoids and other diseases (Du pg 4 [16]).
The combination of Shao/Du discloses wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not, based on measurement results of the timer (Shao: pg 3 [8] “the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate.” Du: pg 6 [8] “the method of the embodiments of the present application can also detect and analyze the user's sitting time for analysis.” pg 6 [18] “When the vital sign data shows that the body movement data exceeds a preset body movement data warning threshold, the body movement data is abnormal, and an early warning is given to the mobile device through the serve”).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao (CN 106419712 A) in view of Bradley (US 20190086890 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not (pg 3 [8] “an insulated heating wire 10 covered by the heat conducting material, laying cavity upper part, so that the toilet gasket is heated uniformly, the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate.”). However, Shao fails to disclose the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfying the predetermined condition being based on weather information.
Bradley teaches a toilet seat that collects biometric data or biological characteristics from the user. Bradley discloses based on weather information ([0174] “weather data from a weather service is used to determine a temperature for the heater of the toilet seat.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfying the predetermined condition being based on weather information as disclosed in Bradley to increase the temperature of the toilet seat for the comfort of the user (Bradley [0049]).
Conclusion
/M.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/DEVIN B HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791