DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: Health index output part in claims 1-3 -- [0053] “ communication part 75 (an example of a health index output unit) for outputting the plurality of health indices of the user “[00112] “ the communication part 75 may be achieved by a microcomputer and the like which executes a corresponding program ” Temperature determining part in claims 1-9 – [0077] “ the controller 70 is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the seat surface 21 is: within a range of 0 °C to 10 °C (an example of a third range); or within another range of 10 °C to 20 °C (another example of a third range); or outside these ranges (i.e., equal to or higher than 20 °C); based on the measurement results of the temperature thermistor 65 (an example of a temperature sensor), as a temperature determining part ” Operation change instruction part in claims 1-4 – [0092] “t he controller 70 is configured to cause the communication part 75 (health index output part) to output error information and/or to stop outputting the health index, as an operation change instruction part ” Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim s 3-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In c laim 3 , the limitation "a predetermined second threshold value” makes it is unclear as to how many threshold values are required , as no first threshold value is recited in claim 3 or its parent claim 1. Examiner acknowledges “ a predetermined first threshold value ” is recited in claim 2. In claim 4, the limitation " a predetermined third range ” makes it is unclear as to how many ranges are required , as no first or second range is mentioned in claim 4 or its parent claim 1. Examiner acknowledges “ a predetermined first threshold value ” is recited in claim 2 and "a predetermined second threshold value is recited in claim 3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 -2, 5, 8, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shao ( CN 106419712 A ) . Regarding claim 1, Shao teaches a toilet system (Fig. 1, toilet gasket system) comprising: a toilet seat having a seat surface on which a user is to sit (Fig. 1, toilet gasket) ; a sensor provided in or on the toilet seat, configured to measure a physical quantity which reflects blood flow conditions of the user (Fig. 2, reflective PPG photo sensor 4, a pressure switch 6, a pressure sensor 8 ) ; a heater configured to heat the toilet seat (insulated heating wire 10) ; a health index calculator configured to calculate a health index of the user based on measurement results of the sensor ( pg 2 [12] “calculating the health parameters output by the PPG electrical signal the received (4) the central processor and a pressure signal.” Pg 3 [10 , 17 ] “the toilet gasket is applied for detecting the health index… heart rate, blood pressure, blood oxygen, heart of the user”) ; a health index output part configured to output the health index of the user which has been calculated by the health index calculator ( pg 3 [17-18] “display screen. (8) the detected data is convenient to read according to user and detecting data stored in the memory, comparing the central processor. “) ; a temperature determining part configured to determine whether a temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies a predetermined condition or not ( pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”) , and an operation change instruction part configured to change an operation of the health index calculator and/or an operation of the health index output part when the temperature determining part determines that the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition ( pg 2 [11 -14 ] “ (2) infrared light emitting tube of the photoelectric PPG sensor emits infrared light irradiated to the leg of the user, an infrared light-sensitive device to receive the legs of the user reflecting the changes it into a PPG electrical signal to transmit to the central processor… Further, before said step (2), the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”) . Regarding claim 2, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat is equal to or lower than a predetermined first threshold value or not ( pg 3 [8] “an insulated heating wire 10 covered by the heat conducting material, laying cavity upper part, so that the toilet gasket is heated uniformly, the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate.”) , and the operation change instruction part is configured to stop an output operation of the health index output part when the temperature determining part determines that the temperature state of the toilet seat is equal to or lower than the first threshold value ( pg 2 [11-14] “ (2) infrared light emitting tube of the photoelectric PPG sensor emits infrared light irradiated to the leg of the user, an infrared light-sensitive device to receive the legs of the user reflecting the changes it into a PPG electrical signal to transmit to the central processor… Further, before said step (2), the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”) . Regarding claim 5, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, further comprising a temperature sensor configured to measure a temperature of the toilet seat, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not, based on measurement results of the temperature sensor ( pg 3 [14] “ (4) starting the heating wire, the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature. ”) . Regarding claim 8, Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, further comprising wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not, based on an operational state of the heater ( pg 2 [14] “ the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature. ”) . Regarding claim 11, Shao teaches a method of providing a health index by using a toilet system ( Pg 3 [10] “ the toilet gasket is applied for detecting the health index ”) comprising: a toilet seat having a seat surface on which a user is to sit (Fig. 1, toilet gasket) ; a sensor provided in or on the toilet seat, configured to measure a physical quantity which reflects blood flow conditions of the user (Fig. 2, reflective PPG photo sensor 4, a pressure switch 6, a pressure sensor 8) ; and a heater configured to heat the toilet seat (insulated heating wire 10) ; the method comprising: a health index calculating step of calculating a health index of the user based on measurement results of the sensor ( pg 2 [12] “ calculating the health parameters output by the PPG electrical signal the received (4) the central processor and a pressure signal. ” Pg 3 [10, 17] “ the toilet gasket is applied for detecting the health index … heart rate, blood pressure, blood oxygen, heart of the user ”) ; a health index outputting step of outputting the health index of the user which has been calculated by the health index calculating step ( pg 3 [17-18] “ display screen. (8) the detected data is convenient to read according to user and detecting data stored in the memory, comparing the central processor. “) ; a temperature determining step of determining whether a temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies a predetermined condition or not ( pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.” ) , and an operation change instructing step of changing an operation during the health index calculating step and/or an operation during the health index outputting step when it is determined that the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition by the temperature determining step ( pg 2 [11-14] “ (2) infrared light emitting tube of the photoelectric PPG sensor emits infrared light irradiated to the leg of the user, an infrared light-sensitive device to receive the legs of the user reflecting the changes it into a PPG electrical signal to transmit to the central processor… Further, before said step (2), the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.”). Regarding claim 12, Shao teaches a program for providing a health index by using a toilet system ( pg 3 [13] “ (3) the central processor receives user detection command, starting a detection program. ”) comprising: a toilet seat having a seat surface on which a user is to sit (Fig. 1, toilet gasket) ; a sensor provided in or on the toilet seat, configured to measure a physical quantity which reflects blood flow conditions of the user ( Fig. 2, reflective PPG photo sensor 4, a pressure switch 6, a pressure sensor 8) ; and a heater configured to heat the toilet seat ( insulated heating wire 10 ) ; the program is capable of perform, when executed by a computer: a health index calculating step of calculating a health index of the user based on measurement results of the sensor ( pg 2 [12] “ calculating the health parameters output by the PPG electrical signal the received (4) the central processor and a pressure signal. ” Pg 3 [10, 17] “ the toilet gasket is applied for detecting the health index … heart rate, blood pressure, blood oxygen, heart of the user ”) ; a health index outputting step of outputting the health index of the user which has been calculated by the health index calculating step ( pg 3 [17-18] “ display screen. (8) the detected data is convenient to read according to user and detecting data stored in the memory, comparing the central processor. “) ; a temperature determining step of determining whether a temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies a predetermined condition or not ( pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.” ) ; and an operation change instructing step of changing an operation during the health index calculating step and/or an operation during the health index outputting step when it is determined that the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition by the temperature determining step ( pg 2 [11-14] “ (2) infrared light emitting tube of the photoelectric PPG sensor emits infrared light irradiated to the leg of the user, an infrared light-sensitive device to receive the legs of the user reflecting the changes it into a PPG electrical signal to transmit to the central processor… Further, before said step (2), the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.” ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao ( CN 106419712 A ) in view of Zhang (US 20050261593 A1) . Regarding claim 3 , Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat is equal to or lower than a predetermined second threshold value or not ( pg 3 [8] “an insulated heating wire 10 covered by the heat conducting material, laying cavity upper part, so that the toilet gasket is heated uniformly, the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate .”). However, Shao fails to disclose outputting error information. Zhang teaches a method for measuring an arterial blood pressure of a subject comprising detecting a pulse-wave-related signal of the subject; extracting a feature from the signals; determining a factor that can affect the arterial blood pressure of the subject; and determining the arterial blood pressure based on the feature with an automatic compensation for the factors. Zhang discloses and the operation change instruction part is configured to cause the health index output part to output error information when the temperature determining part determines that the temperature state of the toilet seat is equal to or lower than the second threshold value ([0095] “Tc and a percentage difference thereof with respect to that measured during the calibration are obtained to counterbalance the effect of the contacting force, ambient temperature, nervous activities and/or cardiac output, respectively.” [0096] “Step 807 determines whether the percentage difference exceeds a pre-defined boundary. If exceeded, e.g. by 50%, the system will display an error message and the complete measurement process has to be repeated starting from step 801.”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include outputting error information when a temperature state is equal to or lower than a threshold value as disclosed in Zhang to prevent erroneous outputs due to variable ambient temperature ( Zhang [ 0076 ]) . Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao ( CN 106419712 A ) in view of Fjield ( US 20090030641 A1 ) . Regarding claim 4, Shao teaches t he toilet system according to claim 1, wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat is within a predetermined third range or not ( pg 2 [14] “the central processor starts the insulation heating wire the toilet gasket is heated to a set temperature.” ) . However, Shao fails to disclose modifying a calculation operation when the temperature state is within a predetermined range. Fjield teaches a method for compensating for a temperature-related error in a physiological sensor. Fjield discloses and the operation change instruction part is configured to modify a calculation operation of the health index calculator when the temperature determining part determines that the temperature state of the toilet seat is within the predetermined third range ([0022] “ The monitoring system determines a correction factor to compensate for a temperature-related error in the output of the sensor. ” [00 35 ] “ over a temperature range of 32.degree. C. to 41.degree. C. ” ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include modifying a calculation operation when the temperature state is within a predetermined range as disclosed in Fjield for a more practical solution for temperature compensation in biosensor electrodes that provide s reliable measurements despite a change in surrounding temperature (Fjield [0009]) . Claim(s) 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao ( CN 106419712 A ) in view of Du ( WO 2021083136 A1 ) . Regarding claim 6, Shao teaches t he toilet system according to claim 1 . However, Shao fails to disclose a room temperature sensor. Du teaches a physiological characteristic data analysis method for a user on a toilet . Du discloses further comprising a room temperature sensor configured to measure an environment temperature around the toilet seat ( pg 7 [15-16] “ The environment data is detected by the environment detection sensor, and the environment data of the environment where the user is located is acquired. It should be further explained that environmental detection sensors may include, but are not limited t o, temperature sensors, humidity sensors, noise sensors, etc. The temperature sensor can obtain the temperature data of the user's environment … sensor can be embedded in a seat cushion or a toilet seat of a toilet, or embedded in a chair, sofa, bed, etc., to detect the environmental data of the user. ” ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include a room temperature sensor to measure temperature of the environment around the toilet seat as disclosed in Du to obtain more accurate and comprehensive vital sign data ( Du pg 8 [1] ) . The combination of Shao/Du discloses , wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not, based on measurement results of the room temperature sensor ( Shao: pg 3 [8] “ the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate. ” Du: pg 7 [16] “ The temperature sensor can obtain the temperature data of the user's environment ; ” pg 8 [9] “ The returned vital sign data is transmitted to the mobile device for display, and it is determined whether the vital sign data exceeds the preset early warning threshold, and when the vital sign data exceeds the preset early warning threshold, an early warning is given to the mobile device through the server ” ) . Regarding claim 9, Shao teaches t he toilet system according to claim 1 . However, Shao fails to disclose a timer for measuring seating time. Du discloses , further comprising a timer configured to measure a seating time during which the user continues to sit on the toilet seat ( pg 9 [9] “ toilets, etc., on which the user can maintain a sitting posture. ” Pg 11 [11] “ The sitting position time length is transmitted to the server for analysis and storage, and the sitting position time length analysis result returned by the server analysis is transmitted to the mobile device for display. ”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include a timer for measuring seating time as disclosed in Du to prevent a series of health problems such as lumbar muscle strain, hemorrhoids and other diseases (Du pg 4 [16]) . The combination of Shao/Du discloses wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not, based on measurement results of the timer ( Shao: pg 3 [8] “ the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate. ” Du: pg 6 [8] “ the method of the embodiments of the present application can also detect and analyze the user's sitting time for analysis. ” pg 6 [18] “ When the vital sign data shows that the body movement data exceeds a preset body movement data warning threshold, the body movement data is abnormal, and an early warning is given to the mobile device through the serve ”) . Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shao ( CN 106419712 A ) in view of Bradley ( US 20190086890 A1 ) . Regarding claim 7 , Shao teaches the toilet system according to claim 1 , wherein the temperature determining part is configured to determine whether the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfies the predetermined condition or not ( pg 3 [8] “an insulated heating wire 10 covered by the heat conducting material, laying cavity upper part, so that the toilet gasket is heated uniformly, the central processor at every detection will be heated to the fixing temperature, so that the detection is more accurate.”) . However, Shao fails to disclose the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfying the predetermined condition being based on weather information. Bradley teaches a t oilet seat that collect s biometric data or biological characteristics from the user. Bradley discloses based on weather information ([ 0174] “ weather data from a weather service is used to determine a temperature for the heater of the toilet seat. ”) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Shao to include the temperature state of the toilet seat satisfying the predetermined condition being based on weather information as disclosed in Bradley to increase the temperature of the toilet seat for the comfort of the user ( Bradley [0049]) . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MOLLY HALPRIN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-1520 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT 12PM-8PM ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Robert (Tse) Chen can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-3672 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /M.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3791 /DEVIN B HENSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791