DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding drawing objection, the applicant argues that “the controller is described as a component of the processing system 190. See para 27 of Specification. A computing device 200 as depicted in Figure 2 is referred to as a controller. See paras. 29-30.”
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 1B is shown below:
As can be seen clearly, the processing system 190 processes loss of signal (LOS) 155. The LOS 155 is produced by the ADC or Comparator 150 as shown. Also, the specification clearly describes, “the ADC component of reference indicator 150 may convert an analog voltage signal into a digital logical signal. The digital logical signal may have either a high logic state or a low logic state. The ADC component may output a logical signal based on the voltage signal received from the signal conditioning and/or filtering unit 140. In another embodiment, the comparator component 150 may compare voltages and output a result. The result may include a high logic state if the difference is above a predetermined and adjustable, e.g., preset, voltage threshold. Alternatively, when the result is below the preset voltage threshold the comparator may output a low logic state. According to an embodiment, a low logic state may provide an indication of loss of an optical signal 155 from a transmitting terminal caused by atmospheric fade.” (see, Specification, Para. 25-26). From this description, it is clear that there is no need for a clock and data recovery (CDR) circuit since CDR is a specialized circuit that extracts the timing information (clock) from an incoming serial data stream and uses it to accurately sample and reconstruct the received data. Accordingly, Fig. 1B shows that received data signal 135 is transmitted from photodiode 130, but the data signal 135 is not inserted to processing system 190.
Regarding 103 rejection, the applicant argues “Baranowski was relied upon by the Examiner to suggest a sensor located downstream of a power supply unit. Id. However, Baranowski is entirely devoid of teaching a photodiode, or any functional relationship defining a photodiode, with respect to a power supplying unit or sensor.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Huang et al. discloses a photoelectric detector (PD). Huang et al. teaches that the photoelectric detector (PD) 15. The photoelectric detector is Photo Diode (see, Para. 60). Huang et al. further teaches a rechargeable battery 252 that supplies electric energy to all modules within the optical communication system via the power supplying module 26 (See, Fig. 2; Para. 68). What Huang et al. is missing is a sensor configured to monitor current of the power supply. Baranowski et al. remedies this missing claim limitation which teaches voltage regulator that monitors the current of the power supply 12 (see, Fig. 2). A voltage regulator maintains a constant output voltage despite fluctuations in the input voltage or changes in load current. It achieves this by using a feedback control loop, which continuously monitors the output voltage and adjusts a control element to correct any deviations. Contrary to the applicant’s argument, the claim recites a sensor configured to monitor the current of the power supply. This indicates that the sensor is related to the power supply rather than to a photodiode. That is, it is not required by the claimed limitation to show that the sensor that monitors current to the power supply has any functional relationship defining a photodiode. Accordingly, the cited combination discloses the claimed limitation.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a processing system including a controller and a clock and data recovery (CDR) circuit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US20160134370A1) in view of Baranowski et al. (US6046574).
Regarding claim 1, Huang et al. discloses A free space optical (FSO) system (Fig. 2) comprising:
a power supply unit (Fig. 2; Para. 68; the power supplying module 26. The rechargeable battery 252 supplies electric energy to all modules within the present apparatus via the power supplying module 26); and
a photodiode located downstream (Fig. 2; Para. 60; the photoelectric detector (PD) 23. The photoelectric detector is Photo Diode (PD) and it receives power from the power supplying module 26), wherein the photodiode is configured to receive power from the power supply unit (Fig. 2; Para. 68; The rechargeable battery 252 supplies electric energy to all modules within the present apparatus via the power supplying module 26), receive an optical signal from a source, and output a second signal based on the optical signal (Fig. 2; Para. 68; the photoelectric detector 23 receives a visible light signal from the lighting facility end and converts a same into an electrical signal).
However, Huang et al. does not expressly disclose a sensor located downstream of the power supply unit, wherein the sensor is configured to monitor current of the power supply; a signal conditioning unit (SCU) located downstream of the sensor, wherein the SCU is configured to receive a first signal associated with the monitored current; a comparator located downstream of the SCU, wherein the comparator is configured to receive the first signal from the SCU and determine an indication of signal loss based upon the first signal being below a predetermined threshold.
Baranowski et al. disclose a sensor (Fig. 1; Fig. 2; the voltage regulator 26) located downstream of the power supply unit (Fig. 2; the voltage regulator 26 is located downstream from the battery 12), wherein the sensor is configured to monitor current of the power supply (Fig. 2; Column 3, lines 40-43; the voltage regulators 24 and 26 regulate the amount of voltage which battery 12 supplies to control unit 14 and A/D converter 22. (A voltage regulator maintains a constant output voltage despite fluctuations in the input voltage or changes in load current. It achieves this by using a feedback control loop, which continuously monitors the output voltage and adjusts a control element to correct any deviations));
a signal conditioning unit (SCU) located downstream of the sensor (Fig. 2; the A/D converter 22 located downstream the voltage regulator 26), wherein the SCU is configured to receive a first signal associated with the monitored current (Fig. 2; Column 3, lines 45-48; a voltage monitor such as a voltage divider 28 in parallel with battery 12 provides an analog signal to A/D converter 22 via line 29);
a comparator located downstream of the SCU (Fig. 2; the control unit 14 located downstream of A/D converter 22), wherein the comparator is configured to receive the first signal from the SCU (Fig. 2; Column 3, lines 48-50; A/D converter 22 converts the analog signal to a digital one and passes the digital signal to control unit 14) and determine an indication of signal loss based upon the first signal being below a predetermined threshold (Fig. 2; Fig. 5; Column 7, lines 19-21 and lines 26-28; Column 4, lines 27-30; In step 52, the control unit compares the scaled voltage with the known turn-off voltage to determine whether the particular application should be turned off. If the scaled voltage is approximately equal to the turn-off voltage, electronic device 10 in step 56 issues a low battery warning on display 16. The turn-off voltage is voltage at which electronic device 10 should be shut down causing the loss of signals both optical signal received or the electrical power supply to the electronic device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a mechanism to monitor the power of the power supplying module, as taught by Baranowski et al., in the present system of Huang et al. in order to provide a low power warning signal so the user can quickly mitigate the effect and to take appropriate action to restore the proper operation of the optical communication system.
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US20160134370A1) and Baranowski et al. (US6046574) in view of Sackinger (Broadband Circuit for Optical Fiber Communication, 2002).
Regarding claim 2, the present combination discloses The FSOC system of claim 1, as described and applied above, further comprising: a processing system (Baranowski et al., Fig. 2; Column 3, lines 26-27; the control unit 14 is a microprocessor) including a controller (Baranowski et al., Fig. 2; Fig. 5; the control unit 14 controls the process of the electronic device as shown as shown in Fig. 5) wherein the comparator is configured to transmit the indication of signal loss to the processing system (Baranowski et al., Fig. 2; Fig. 5; Column 7, lines 19-21 and lines 26-28; Column 4, lines 27-30; In step 52, the control unit compares the scaled voltage with the known turn-off voltage to determine whether the particular application should be turned off. If the scaled voltage is approximately equal to the turn-off voltage, electronic device 10 in step 56 issues a low battery warning on display 16. The turn-off voltage is voltage at which electronic device 10 should be shut down causing the loss of signals both optical signal received or the electrical power supply to the electronic device).
The present invention is different from the claimed invention because the functions of controlling the process, processing instructions, and comparing are performed by a single microprocessor rather than separate elements of processing system, controller, and comparator.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to integrate all three components of processing system, controller, and comparator into one single microprocessor, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
However, the present combination still lacks a clock and data recovery (CDR) circuit.
Sackinger discloses a clock and data recovery (CDR) circuit (Fig. 1.1; Page 3, first paragraph; Fig. 1.1 shows a block diagram of a typical optical transceiver front-end. The received signal is fed into a Clock and Data Recovery (CDR) which extracts the clock signal and retimes the data signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a clock and data recovery circuit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because CDR is a part of a typical optical transceiver front-end. CDR allows extracting the timing information (clock) from a data stream without a separate clock signal in order for the receiver to correctly sample and interpret the data.
Regarding claim 7, the present combination discloses The FSOC system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose an avalanche photodiode.
Sackinger discloses an avalanche photodiode (Fig. 3.5; the avalanche photodetector is shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use avalanche photodiode. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so is because the APD detector is one of the most commonly used photodetectors. It's also advantageous to use APD because it is designed to detect light and convert it into an electrical current with an added internal gain mechanism that significantly enhances its sensitivity.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US20160134370A1) and Baranowski et al. (US6046574) in view of Leonard (4-bit DAC using op-amp, 2019).
Regarding claim 6, the present combination discloses The FSOC system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose an operational amplifier.
Leopard discloses an operational amplifier (Page 2; the 4 bit DAC using op-amp is shown).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Leonard with the present combination. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because, although Baranowski et al. teaches A/D converter, Baranowski et al. does not provide the details of A/D converter in a circuit level. Leonard shows that an operational amplifier (op-amp) is a crucial component in many analog-to-digital converter (ADC) circuits. Op-amps are used to buffer, amplify, or condition the analog input signal before it's converted to a digital value.
Claim(s) 8-9 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US20160134370A1) and Baranowski et al. (US6046574) in view of Velazco (US10581525B2).
Regarding claim 8, the present combination discloses The FSOC system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose comments are housed in an optical receiver.
Velazco discloses comments are housed in an optical receiver (Fig. 3; Column 5, lines 51-55; an omnidirectional optical communicator 300 is shown with all the communication components housed inside a case. The omnidirectional optical communicator 300 includes receivers for detecting incoming laser beam 308, laser transmitters for transmitting laser beam 306, high aperture lens 304, and photon counting avalanche photo detectors (APD) 302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a housing to protect all the electrical components of the optical communication system. The optical communication system requires housing because the housing provides mechanical protection to delicate electronic components from physical impact, vibration, or shock. A housing acts as a physical barrier. A housing can also provide environmental protection that safeguard the internal electronics from environmental elements such as: dust, dirt, debris, moisture, humidity, water, etc.
Regarding claim 9, the present combination discloses The FSOC system of claim 1, as described and applied above.
However, the present combination does not expressly disclose optical receiver is housed in a satellite or ground station.
Velazco discloses comments optical receiver is housed in a satellite or ground station (Fig. 3; Column 5, lines 51-55; an omnidirectional optical communicator 300 is shown with all the communication components housed inside a case. The omnidirectional optical communicator 300 includes receivers for detecting incoming laser beam 308, laser transmitters for transmitting laser beam 306, high aperture lens 304, and photon counting avalanche photo detectors (APD) 302).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a housing to protect all the electrical components of the optical communication system. The optical communication system requires housing because the housing provides mechanical protection to delicate electronic components from physical impact, vibration, or shock. A housing acts as a physical barrier. A housing can also provide environmental protection that safeguard the internal electronics from environmental elements such as: dust, dirt, debris, moisture, humidity, water, etc.
Regarding claim 20, the present combination discloses The system of claim 9, as described and applied above, wherein the photodiode is an avalanche photodiode (Velazco, Fig. 3; Column 5, lines 51-55; The omnidirectional optical communicator 300 includes receivers for detecting incoming laser beam 308, laser transmitters for transmitting laser beam 306, high aperture lens 304, and photon counting avalanche photo detectors (APD) 302).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-19 allowed.
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAI M. LEE
Examiner
Art Unit 2634
/JAI M LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2634