DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on August 22, 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0067590) in view of Ouchi et al. (US 2018/0220458) and Pan et al. (US 2020/0059290).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a method performed by a first communication node, comprising:
receiving at least one reference signal from a second communication node (“the TRP periodically broadcasts beamformed reference signals (e.g., a Channel State Information (CSI) Reference Signal (CSI-RS), a Cell Specific Reference Signal (CRS), or the like)” – See [0027]; The UE (first communication node) receives CSI-RS (reference signal) from the TRP (second communication node));
determining at least one reference signal received power (RSRP) value associated with the at least one reference signal (“After measurement of the Tx/Rx beams, the UE reports to the TRP which Tx beams are good for communications, and the reporting content could include the Tx beam index/BPL index, and the associated RSRP of the beam” – See [0097]; The UE determines at least one RSRP associated with the beam/reference signal);
generating a RSRP report comprising the at least one RSRP value in accordance with a predetermined format (“The reporting content can include the Tx beam index or beam pair link (BPL) index, as well as one or more Reference Signal Received Powers (RSRPs)” – See [0027]; “After measurement of the Tx/Rx beams, the UE reports to the TRP which Tx beams are good for communications, and the reporting content could include the Tx beam index/BPL index, and the associated RSRP of the beam” – See [0097]; See also Fig. 9; The UE generates a RSRP report comprising a plurality of RSRP values, wherein the report has a predetermined format as shown in Fig. 9),
wherein the predetermined format is selected from at least two different reporting formats each of which corresponds to a respective manner of determining the at least one RSRP value, wherein one predetermined format is selected by the first communication node from among the at least two different reporting formats based on a configuration of available resources (“if the dynamic switching of beam grouping scheme is enabled, for beam indication, the beam grouping scheme should also be indicated in the reporting method field 930. For example, one more fields could be added to the beam reporting format, which, for example, could be a one-bit field indicating whether the reporting is antenna group (panel) based or Rx beam set based” – See [0114]; “For example, if the Reporting method field is set to 1, it means the reporting is based on antenna group and different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by different UE antenna groups. If it is set to 0, it means the reporting is based on Rx beam set and the different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by the same Rx beam set” – See [0115]; The predetermined format includes at least two formats (e.g., RX beam set based, antenna group/panel based, etc.), wherein the predetermined format is selected by the UE according to a configuration of available resources (i.e., whether different TX beams can be simultaneously received by the same RX beam set or whether different TX beams can be simultaneously received by different panels/antenna groups)); and
transmitting the RSRP report to the second communication node (“the UE reports to the TRP which Tx beams are good for communications” – See [0027]; The UE transmits the report to the TRP (second communication node)),
Wang does not explicitly teach that the at least one RSRP value is associated with a resource group comprising at least one antenna port, and wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined based on a linear average over power contributions of resource elements carrying the at least one reference signal associated with the at least one antenna port.
However, Ouchi teaches that the at least one RSRP value is associated with a resource group comprising at least one antenna port, and wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined based on a linear average over power contributions of resource elements carrying the at least one reference signal associated with the at least one antenna port (“The RSRP may be referred to as “CSI-RSRP” in a case that the measurement is performed using the resources for the CSI-RS. Note that the CSI-RSRP is defined as the linear average value of power for resource elements transmitting the CSI-RS and included in the measurement bandwidth of the subframes in the configured DS occasion. A resource R15 to which the CSI-RS is mapped (resource for antenna port 15) is used to determine the CSI-RSRP. That is, to measure the CSI-RSRP, the terminal device measures the power for the resource to which R15 is mapped, and linearly averages the measured power” – See [0146]; “Moreover, the resources corresponding not only to antenna port 15 but also to antenna ports 16, 17, and the like may be used for the CSI-RS” – See [0097]; The RSRP is associated with an antenna port (e.g., antenna port 15), wherein the RSRP is determined based on a linear average power value of resource elements carrying the CSI-RS associated with the antenna port).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang such that the at least one RSRP value is associated with a resource group comprising at least one antenna port, and wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined based on a linear average over power contributions of resource elements carrying the at least one reference signal associated with the at least one antenna port. Motivation for doing so would be to ensure that the UE can satisfy the needed measurement accuracy by determining a number of resource elements used to measure the RSRP and averaging the measured values (See Ouchi, [0141]).
Wang does not explicitly teach that the RSRP report is based on the following first hierarchical association: each of the at least one RSRP value is determined for one beam transmitted from the second communication node and for one received beam set associated with the first communication node.
However, Pan teaches that the RSRP report is based on the following first hierarchical association: each of the at least one RSRP value is determined for one beam transmitted from the second communication node and for one received beam set associated with the first communication node (“The report may be based on both Rx beam set and Rx antenna group … The measured RSRP(s) above the RSRP threshold T5 may be reported, along with the details of the corresponding Tx beam(s), Rx beam set(s) and Rx antenna group(s)” – See [0255]; The RSRP report is based on an association between a TX beam (one beam transmitted from the second communication node), and RX beam set (one received beam set associated with the first communication node)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang such that the RSRP report is based on the following first hierarchical association: each of the at least one RSRP value is determined for one beam transmitted from the second communication node and for one received beam set associated with the first communication node. Motivation for doing so would be to enable UEs with more than one antenna group to report on TX beams/RX beam sets for more than one antenna group (See Pan, [0243]).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang in view of Ouchi and Pan teaches the method of Claim 1. Wang further teaches that the resource group further comprises a received beam set or a reference signal (RS) resource (“if the dynamic switching of beam grouping scheme is enabled, for beam indication, the beam grouping scheme should also be indicated in the reporting method field 930. For example, one more fields could be added to the beam reporting format, which, for example, could be a one-bit field indicating whether the reporting is antenna group (panel) based or Rx beam set based” – See [0114]; The resource group may be an RX beam set (received beam set)).
Regarding Claim 3, Wang in view of Ouchi and Pan teaches the method of Claim 2. Wang further teaches that the resource group further comprises at least one of: an antenna group or a RS resource set, a diversity branch, or a receive branch (“if the dynamic switching of beam grouping scheme is enabled, for beam indication, the beam grouping scheme should also be indicated in the reporting method field 930. For example, one more fields could be added to the beam reporting format, which, for example, could be a one-bit field indicating whether the reporting is antenna group (panel) based or Rx beam set based” – See [0114]; The resource group may be a panel/antenna group).
Regarding Claim 4, Wang in view of Ouchi and Pan teaches the method of Claim 1. Wang further teaches that the at least two different reporting formats comprises:
a first reporting format wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined for each transmitter beam transmitted from the second communication node to the first communication node (“If it is set to 0, it means the reporting is based on Rx beam set and the different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by the same Rx beam set” – See [0115]; See also Fig. 9; As shown in Fig. 9, the reporting format includes at least one RSRP which is determined for each of different TX beams from the TRP (second communication node) to the UE (first communication node)); and
a second reporting format wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined on a per transmitter beam basis as evaluated at the first communication node on a per receiver set basis (“if the Reporting method field is set to 1, it means the reporting is based on antenna group and different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by different UE antenna groups” – [0115]; See also Fig. 9; As shown in Fig. 9, the reporting format includes at least one RSRP which is determined on a per TX beam basis evaluated at different UE panels/antenna groups (i.e., per receiver set basis)).
Regarding Claim 5, Wang in view of Ouchi and Pan teaches the method of Claim 1. Wang further teaches that the at least two different reporting formats comprises:
a first reporting format wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined for each transmitter beam transmitted from the second communication node to the first communication node (“if the Reporting method field is set to 1, it means the reporting is based on antenna group and different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by different UE antenna groups” – [0115]; See also Fig. 9; As shown in Fig. 9, the reporting format includes at least one RSRP which is determined for each of different TX beams from the TRP (second communication node) to the UE (first communication node)); and
a second reporting format wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined for all transmitter beams corresponding to a receiver beam set at the first communication node (“If it is set to 0, it means the reporting is based on Rx beam set and the different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by the same Rx beam set” – See [0115]; See also Fig. 9; As shown in Fig. 9, the reporting format includes at least one RSRP which is determined for all TX beams received by a RX beam set (receiver beam set)).
Regarding Claim 6, Wang in view of Ouchi and Pan teaches the method of Claim 1. Wang further teaches that the at least two different reporting formats comprises:
a first reporting format wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined on a per transmitter beam basis as evaluated at the first communication node on a per receiver set basis (“if the Reporting method field is set to 1, it means the reporting is based on antenna group and different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by different UE antenna groups” – [0115]; See also Fig. 9; As shown in Fig. 9, the reporting format includes at least one RSRP which is determined on a per TX beam basis evaluated at different UE panels/antenna groups (i.e., per received set basis)); and
a second reporting format wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined for all transmitter beams corresponding to a receiver beam set at the first communication node (“If it is set to 0, it means the reporting is based on Rx beam set and the different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by the same Rx beam set” – See [0115]; See also Fig. 9; As shown in Fig. 9, the reporting format includes at least one RSRP which is determined for all TX beams received by a RX beam set (receiver beam set)).
Regarding Claim 7, Wang in view of Ouchi and Pan teaches the method of Claim 1. Wang further teaches generating an additional RSRP report comprising one or more RSRP values based on the following second hierarchical association:
each of the one or more RSRP values is determined for one beam transmitted from the second communication node and for one antenna group associated with the first communication node (“if the Reporting method field is set to 1, it means the reporting is based on antenna group and different Tx beams can be simultaneously received by different UE antenna groups” – [0115]; The RSRP value in the report is determined based on a TX beam from the TRP (one beam transmitted from the second communication node) and an antenna group associated with the UE (first communication node)).
Additionally, Pan also teaches generating an additional RSRP report comprising one or more RSRP values based on the following second hierarchical association: each of the one or more RSRP values is determined for one beam transmitted from the second communication node and for one antenna group associated with the first communication node (“The report may be based on Rx antenna groups … For a (e.g., each) reported Rx antenna group, the first T4 beams (e.g., only the first T4) having the strongest RSRP (e.g., summation of the Rx beam sets for a Tx beam) may be reported along with the respective Tx beam indices for the reported T4 beams” – [0115]; The RSRP value in the report is determined based on a TX beam (one beam transmitted from the second communication node) and an RX antenna group (antenna group associated with the first communication node)).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Claim 10 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 4.
Claims 12 and 19 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 5.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 6.
Claim 14 is rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 15, Wang in view of Ouchi and Pan teaches the method of Claim 8. Pan further teaches receiving an additional RSRP report, comprising one or more RSRP values, which is generated based on the following second hierarchical association: each of the one or more RSRP values is determined for one beam transmitted from the first communication node and for one received beam set associated with the second communication node and for one antenna group associated with the second communication node (“The report may be based on both Rx beam set and Rx antenna group … The measured RSRP(s) above the RSRP threshold T5 may be reported, along with the details of the corresponding Tx beam(s), Rx beam set(s) and Rx antenna group(s)” – See [0255]; The RSRP report is based on an association between a TX beam (one beam transmitted from the second communication node), RX antenna group (one antenna group associated with the first communication node), and RX beam set (one received beam set associated with the first communication node)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on August 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 12 of the remarks, Applicant argues “However, Ouchi fails to disclose anywhere any kind of mechanism where the reporting format (i.e., the structure or content of the RSRP report) is selected by the UE from among multiple formats, based on a configuration of available resources. Rather, Ouchi’s reporting is based on event triggers or periodicity, but not on resource-based format selection.
In addition, Ouchi fails to disclose a reporting structure where each RSRP value is determined for a specific combination of a transmitted beam and a received beam set. Further still, Ouchi fails to disclose a hierarchical association in the reporting format between beams, beam sets, and antenna ports.
Moreover, Ouchi’s reporting is focused on reporting measured values (RSRP, RSRQ, RSSI, histograms) for configured events or periodicities, not on dynamically selecting among different reporting formats or structures.
In summary, Ouchi fails to disclose the limitations of the claims for which it is cited.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to Applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Ouchi is cited with respect to the limitations “wherein the at least one RSRP value is associated with a resource group comprising at least one antenna port” and “wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined based on a linear average over power contributions of resource elements carrying the at least one reference signal associated with the at least one antenna port.” Neither of these limitations include features related to the reporting format or dynamically selecting among different reporting formats or structures.
Thus, Applicant’s arguments that Ouchi fails to teach a mechanism where the reporting format is selected by the UE from among multiple formats based on a configuration of available resources, a reporting structure where each RSRP value is determined for a specific combination of a transmitted beam and a received beam set, or a hierarchical association in the reporting format between beams, beam sets, and antenna ports does not address how the teachings of Ouchi were applied with respect to the limitations “wherein the at least one RSRP value is associated with a resource group comprising at least one antenna port” and “wherein the at least one RSRP value is determined based on a linear average over power contributions of resource elements carrying the at least one reference signal associated with the at least one antenna port.”
On pages 13-14 of the remarks, Applicant argues “However, Pan fails to disclose anywhere how the RSRP is physically measured at the resource element level. Further, Pan fails to specify that the RSRP is calculated as a linear average over power contributions of resource elements carrying the reference signal associated with a specific antenna port. The focus in Pan is on the reporting structure and associations, not the underlying measurement method.
In addition, while Pan describes different reporting structures (e.g., based on Rx beam set, Rx antenna group, or both), Pan fails to teach that the reporting format is selected by the UE from among multiple formats based on a configuration of available resources.
Per the paragraphs indicated above, it is clear that Pan’s reporting is based on logical groupings (beam sets, antenna groups). However, Pan does not disclose any single explicit association between the RSRP value with a resource group comprising at least one antenna port, nor does Pan specify the measurement as a linear average at the antenna port level.
In summary, Pan also fails to disclose the limitations of the claims for which it is cited.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to Applicant’s arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In the rejection of Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Pan is cited with respect to the limitation “wherein the RSRP report is based on the following first hierarchical association: each of the at least one RSRP value is determined for one beam transmitted from the second communication node and for one received beam set associated with the first communication node.” Neither of these limitations include features related to the RSRP being measured at the resource element level, that the RSRP is calculated as a linear average over power contributions of resource elements carrying the reference signal associated with a specific antenna port, or that the reporting format is selected by the UE from among multiple formats based on a configuration of available resources.
Thus, Applicant’s arguments that Pan fails to teach that the RSRP is measured at the resource element level, that the RSRP is calculated as a linear average over power contributions of resource elements carrying the reference signal associated with a specific antenna port, or that the reporting format is selected by the UE from among multiple formats based on a configuration of available resources do not address how the teachings of Pan were applied with respect to the limitation “wherein the RSRP report is based on the following first hierarchical association: each of the at least one RSRP value is determined for one beam transmitted from the second communication node and for one received beam set associated with the first communication node.”
On page 14 of the remarks, Applicant argues “Based on the above analysis, Ouchi provides a detailed method for measuring RSRP as a linear average over resource elements for an antenna port, but does not teach or suggest flexible, resource-based reporting format selection or hierarchical associations between beams and beam sets in the report.
Similarly, Pan provides detailed hierarchical and group-based reporting structures, including associations between Tx beams, Rx beam sets, and antenna groups, but does not teach the underlying physical measurement method (linear average over antenna port resource elements). Nor does Pan disclose resource-based selection of reporting format.
Thus, even if the skilled person were to combine Ouchi’s method of measuring RSRP (linear average over antenna port resource elements), with Pan’s hierarchical reporting structures, the resulting system would still lack:
A) A mechanism for the UE to select the reporting format from among multiple formats based on available resources; and
B) A reporting structure where each RSRP value is both (a) physically measured as a linear average over antenna port resource elements, and (b) reported in a hierarchical association with a specific transmitted beam and received beam set.
Neither Ouchi nor Pan provide any teaching or suggestion to combine their respective features in a way that would result in the claimed invention. In particular, there is no motivation or suggestion in the prior art to tightly integrate the physical measurement method (from Ouchi) with the flexible, resource-based reporting structure and hierarchical associations (from Pan), as required by claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument essentially attacks Ouchi for not teaching a resource-based reporting format selection or hierarchical associations between beams and beam sets in the report even though the features in question are respectively taught by Wang (i.e., resource-based reporting format selection) and Pan (i.e., hierarchical associations between beams and beam sets in the report). Similarly, Applicant attacks Pan for not teaching the physical measurement method using a linear average over antenna port resource elements or resource-based selection of reporting format even though these features are respectively taught by Ouchi (i.e., the physical measurement method using a linear average over antenna port resource elements) and Wang (i.e., resource-based selection of reporting format). These arguments do not address the how the disclosures of Ouchi or Pan were applied to the actual claim limitations that they were cited against. Instead, they simply assert that Pan and Ouchi do not teach certain claim limitations, when in fact each of these limitations was rejected based on the disclosure of a different prior art reference.
Furthermore, Ouchi and Pan disclose subject matter which was well-known in the art before the effective filing date of the invention such that when they are combined with Wang would yield predictable results. For instance, Ouchi’s disclosure of RSRP measurements being physically measured as a linear average over antenna port resource elements ensures that the needed measurement accuracy can be satisfied by determining a number of resource elements used to measure the RSRP and averaging the measured values (See Ouchi, [0141]) and Pan’s disclosure of the RSRP being reported in a hierarchical association with a specific transmitted beam and received beam set allows TX beams/RX beam sets to be reported on for multiple antenna groups (See Pan, [0243]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478