DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, dicyclopentadiene, styrene, divinylbenzene, TAIC, Perbutyl P, Ricon 100, SVC, polyphenylene ether resins, copper foil substrate, silane adhesive in the reply filed on 1/8/26 is acknowledged. There are no arguments drawn to the traversal. This is not found persuasive because the 2 groups are properly restricted as product and process of making and the process can be used to make materially different products such as polymerizing individual components in order to make a block terpolymer or mixing 2 monomers together and polymerizing and adding a third. The species may be independent or distinct for those reasons set forth in the restriction dated 11/10/25, page 5.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/10/25.
Priority
The provisional application does not support the breadth of the claims, and, the foreign priority is not in English, thus the claims have an effective date of the filing of the instant application 3/30/23
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/18/26, 12/16/25, 11/24/25, 8/6/24, 4/12/24, 1/26/24 have been considered by the examiner. The reference lined through on the IDS dated 8/6/24 was not in English. The third party submission filed 10/30/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5, 15, 19, and their dependents, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 5 claim “the bridged ring monomer compound” which lack antecedent basis. Claim 1 claims “bridged ring monomer compounds.”
Claims 15 and 19 have the limitation “further comprising other resin polymers….0-99”. The claim requires the other resin polymers while including the use of no other resin polymers. Thus the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabe (JP2018/039995A-full English translation of description and claims provided and used below).
Kawabe discloses polyfunctional vinyl aromatic copolymers (title). Said copolymers comprise 2-98mol% divinylaromatic monomer [embracing (c) of claim 1], 2-98mol% monovinyl aromatic monomer [embracing (b) of claim 1] and 3-300 mol% cycloolefin (last paragraph of page 7 of the provided translation). The cycloolefin may be dicyclopentadiene (page 6, para 4) [embracing (a) of claim 1]. The 3 monomers making up a terpolymer [meeting the hydrocarbon resin polymer of claim 1].
In light of the overlapping nature of the mol% and the instant claims a prima facie case of obviousness exists over claim 1.
Dicyclopentadiene meets claims 2-5. The mol% of cycloolefin and divinylaromatic compound combined embrace the use of 13mol% or more combined, as required by claim 6. The mol% ranges above embrace claims 7-9. Since the crosslinking degree of divinylaromatic compound is directly related of the mol% of divinylaromatic compound used, and, since the mol% of divinylaromatic compound of claim 1 is embraced, the crosslinking degree of claim 10 must be embraced. Likewise the hydrogen atom content in reactive double bonds in the polymer is directly related to the mol% of monomers used. Since the above mol% embrace that of claim 1, this limitation must also be embraced by the reference. The Mn of the polymer ranges from 300-100,000 (page 3 para 3), as required by claim 12. Elements above meet claim 14. The polymer may be mixed with other polymer resins such as polyphenylene ether (page 9 para 7), in amounts from 30-99.9% by mass (page 15 para 2) wherein a 50wt% of each equates to a 1:1 ratio, embracing claims 15-16. Other additives can be included (page 15 para 2), as required by claim 17. The composition may be used in a laminate (page 16 para 5) on a metal foil such as a copper foil (page 16 para 5). The laminate comprising an adhesive to adhere the polymer composition to the metal foil (page 17, last 2 para), the copper foil being the base, as required by claims 18-20.
Claim(s) 1-12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao.
Liao discloses vinyl containing aromatic alicyclic copolymers (abstract). Said copolymers comprise 10-40 mol% alicyclic monomer [corresponding to the bridged ring monomer of claim 1), 10-40 mol% vinyl content [corresponding to the divinyl compound C of claim 1) and 20-90 mol% styrene [corresponding to the monovinyl aromatic compound B). The alicyclic monomer is exemplified to be dicyclopentadiene (Table 1), the vinyl monomer is exemplified to be divinylbenzene (table 1), meeting the elected species of bridged ring monomer and divinyl aromatic monomer. The mol% above embrace and thusly render prima facie obvious the A, B, C requirements of claim 1. See In re Wertheim.
Dicyclopentadiene meets claims 2-6. The above mol% of [0014] embrace a total of alicyclic (bridged ring A) and vinyl content (divinylmonomer) of 20-80 mol% (e.g. 10-40 mol% alicyclic compound plus 10-40 mol% vinyl content monomer), thus embracing claim 6. Elements above embrace claims 7-9, 14. Since the mol% of the monomers are directly related to the crosslinking degree and hydrogen atom content, the requirements of claims 10-11 are embraced by the reference. The MW of the polymer ranges from 2000-6000 [0013], embracing and rendering obvious the requirements of claim 12.
Table 2 exemplifies 19 wt% polyphenylene ether resin mixed with 11.2 wt% of the prepared resins, which is a ratio of 1:1.73, meeting claims 15 and 16. Table 2 exemplifies using initiator and additives, meeting claim 17 to form an end substrate meeting claims 18-19.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao in view of Kawabe.
Liao includes elements as set forth above. Liao discloses copolymers of bridged ring monomers, styrene and divinyl aromatic monomers used in combination with polyphenylene ether resins to form copper foil substrates (see [0047] that discloses the copper foil substrates). Liao discloses impregnating and hot pressing to form said substrates but does not disclose the use of a base layer, adhesive, and resin mixture on top.
Kawabe includes elements as set forth above. Kawabe discloses copolymers of bridged ring monomers, styrene and divinyl aromatic monomers, the same copolymers as Liao. Kawabe mixes such with polyphenylene ether resins, akin to Liao, and forms substrates with copper foil. Kawabe discloses these substrates to comprise a copper foil base layer, an adhesive, and the resin mixture applied thereon. Kawabe thusly teaches a different, suitably known method of making copper foil substrates using the same polymer resin mixture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include in Liao the use of a copper foil substrate, adhesive, and applying the resin composition on top, as taught by Kawabe since such amounts to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and/or obvious to try from a finite number of identified predictable solutions with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143A, E.
Elements above meet claim 20.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-9, 11, 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 4, 6 of copending Application No. 18/812277 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1, 3, 4 of ‘277 meet instant claims 1, 6-9, 15, claim 6 of ‘277 further meets instant claim 11.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ALICIA BLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759