Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the switch (claim 19) must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites the limitation "T1" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 recites “the electric device further comprises a switch” that “closes when a temperature of the electrochemical apparatus is lower than T1, so that a current passes through the first zone”. It is unclear where the switch is located/connected or how it is configured to perform the claimed function.
Claim 20 is indefinite as it depends from an indefinite base and fails to cure the deficiencies of said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10, 14, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (US 2022/0302526 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Li teaches an electrochemical apparatus (Li Fig. 8) comprising a first electrode plate (element 802A, Li Fig. 8), a first terminal (connection point in the first zone, annotated Li Fig. 8 shown below) and a second terminal (element 852, Li Fig. 9), wherein the first electrode plate comprises a composite current collector (includes elements 836A, 838, and 836B, Li Fig. 8), and the composite current collector comprises:
a base layer, wherein the base layer has a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other (element 838, Li Fig. 8)
a first conductive layer, wherein the first conductive layer is disposed on the first surface (element 836A, Li Fig. 8)
a second conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is disposed on the second surface (element 836B, Li Fig. 8)
wherein the first conductive layer comprises a first zone and a second zone (annotated Li Fig. 8 shown below)
the first terminal and the second terminal are electrically connected to the first zone (Li [112])
Li further teaches an electrical device comprising the electrochemical apparatus (element 842 load device connected to battery, Li Fig. 8 [68]).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Li teaches all features of claims 1 and 10, as described above. Li further teaches the first zone being formed integrally by extending from the second zone and the first zone being located at an end of the composite current collector in a length direction (Li annotated Fig. 8 shown above for claim 1).
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Li teaches all features of claims 1 and 10, as described above. Li further teaches the electric device comprising a switch (element 882, Li Fig. 8). Li teaches that the switch is closed when the temperature is greater than a predetermined value (Li [106]) and that the temperature that invokes the heating position (switch open) is when the temperature is lower than a predetermined temperature such as -10°C (Li [106]). In this case, when the temperature (T1 of the instant claims 19 and 20) is 5°C, Li teaches the switch is closed when the temperature is lower than T1 (when temperature is greater than -10°C and less than 5°C ). When the switch is closed, current passes through the first zone.
Claims 1, 5, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yan (CN 112952104 A, English translation used for text citations, original untranslated document used for figure citations).
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 8-9, Yan teaches an electrochemical apparatus (Yan pg. 5, battery) comprising a first electrode plate (negative electrode, Yan pg. 5 Example 2), wherein the first electrode plate comprises a composite current collector (Yan pg. 5 Example 2, the negative electrode current collector), and the composite current collector comprises:
a base layer, wherein the base layer has a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other (base layer, Yan Example 2, element 1 of Fig. 1)
a first conductive layer, wherein the first conductive layer is disposed on the first surface (element 4, Yan Fig. 1)
a second conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is disposed on the second surface (element 4, Yan Fig. 1, shown on both sides of base layer 1)
wherein the first conductive layer comprises a first zone and a second zone (annotated Yan Fig. 1 shown below)
a bonding layer between the base layer and the first conductive layer (porous conducting layer, Yan Example 2, element 3 Fig. 1), wherein the bonding layer comprises a binder (polyvinylidene fluoride, Yan Example 2) and a conductive agent (conducting agent, Yan Example 2)
a bonding layer between the base layer and the second conductive layer (porous conducting layer, Yan Example 2, element 3 Fig. 1), wherein the bonding layer comprises a binder (polyvinylidene fluoride, Yan Example 2) and a conductive agent (conducting agent, Yan Example 2)
the first zone is formed integrally by extending from the second zone and the first zone is located at an end of the composite current collector in a length direction (annotated Yan Fig. 1 shown below)
Yan does not explicitly teach the electrochemical apparatus comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are electrically connected to the first zone. However, Yan teaches that the positive and negative electrodes of the electrochemical apparatus (battery) are connected. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would recognize that there must be at least two terminals present to achieve this connection. Additionally, since the electrochemical apparatus is a battery, all components of the current collector, including the first zone, are electrically connected to these terminals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 15, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Li teaches all features of claim 1, as described above. Li further teaches a first resistance R1 provided between the first terminal and the second terminal (Li [112]). Li is silent to the value of R1.
Li teaches that the pattern of the resistive element (element 838, Li Fig. 8) can be tuned to obtain different resistances, thus resulting in the predictable result of controlling the heating energy (Li [112]). Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pattern of the resistive element (element 838, Li Fig. 8), thus achieving different resistances including those greater than or equal to 5 mΩ, in order to control the heating energy and obtain heating suitable for a desired application.
Regarding claim 4 and 13, Li teaches all features of claims 1 and 10, as described above. Li further teaches the second conductive layer (element 836B, Li Fig. 8) comprising a third zone, a fourth zone (annotated Li Fig. 8 shown below), a third terminal (annotated Li Fig. 8 shown below), and a fourth terminal (element 856 Li Fig. 9). Li further teaches the third terminal and the fourth terminal electrically connected to the third zone (Li [112]).
Li further teaches a second resistance R2 provided between the third terminal and the fourth terminal (Li [112]). Li is silent to the value of R2.
Li teaches that the pattern of the resistive element (element 838, Li Fig. 8) can be tuned to obtain different resistances, thus resulting in the predictable result of controlling the heating energy (Li [112]). Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the pattern of the resistive element (element 838, Li Fig. 8), thus achieving different resistances including those greater than or equal to 5 mΩ, in order to control the heating energy and obtain heating suitable for a desired application.
Regarding claim 6 and 15, Li teaches all features of claim 1, 4, 10, and 13, as described above. Li further teaches the third zone formed integrally be extending from the fourth zone and the third zone being located at an end of the composite current collector in a length direction (annotated Li Fig. 8 shown above for claim 4).
Regarding claim 7 and 16, Li teaches all features of claims 1, 4, 10, and 13, as described above. Li further teaches the first electrode plate further comprising a first active material layer (element 850, Li Fig. 8) that is disposed on a surface of the second zone (annotated Li Fig. 8 shown above for claim 1).
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Grepow (Grepow Rechargeable Battery. The internal resistance (IR) of LiPo Batteries | Battery Monday. May 10, 2021).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Li teaches all features of claims 1, 2, 10, and 11, as described above. Li further teaches a positive tab and a negative tab (connection points annotated on Li Fig. 8, shown below).
Li is silent to the internal resistance R provided between the positive tab and the negative tab. However, Grepow teaches that it is known to form batteries with low internal resistance in order to achieve improved battery performance (Grepow, Conclusion) since small internal resistance results in “strong high-current discharge capability” and large internal resistance results in “weak discharge capability” (Grepow, Influencing Factors).
Since it is known that having batteries with low internal resistance is desired and Li teaches that the resistance of the resistive element can be tuned to achieve desired heating performance, as described above for claim 2, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the internal resistance R of the electrochemical apparatus of Li, including values resulting in 0.05 ≤ R1/R ≤ 5000, in order to obtain an electrochemical apparatus with improved battery performance, as taught by Grepow, and heating performance suitable for a desired application.
Claims 10, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan.
Regarding claims 10, 14 and 17-18, Yan teaches an electrochemical apparatus (Yan pg. 5, battery) comprising a first electrode plate (negative electrode, Yan pg. 5 Example 2), wherein the first electrode plate comprises a composite current collector (Yan pg. 5 Example 2, the negative electrode current collector), and the composite current collector comprises:
a base layer, wherein the base layer has a first surface and a second surface that are opposite to each other (base layer, Yan Example 2, element 1 of Fig. 1)
a first conductive layer, wherein the first conductive layer is disposed on the first surface (element 4, Yan Fig. 1)
a second conductive layer, wherein the second conductive layer is disposed on the second surface (element 4, Yan Fig. 1, shown on both sides of base layer 1)
wherein the first conductive layer comprises a first zone and a second zone (annotated Yan Fig. 1 shown below)
a bonding layer between the base layer and the first conductive layer (porous conducting layer, Yan Example 2, element 3 Fig. 1), wherein the bonding layer comprises a binder (polyvinylidene fluoride, Yan Example 2) and a conductive agent (conducting agent, Yan Example 2)
a bonding layer between the base layer and the second conductive layer (porous conducting layer, Yan Example 2, element 3 Fig. 1), wherein the bonding layer comprises a binder (polyvinylidene fluoride, Yan Example 2) and a conductive agent (conducting agent, Yan Example 2)
the first zone is formed integrally by extending from the second zone and the first zone is located at an end of the composite current collector in a length direction (annotated Yan Fig. 1 shown below)
Yan does not explicitly teach the electrochemical apparatus comprising a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are electrically connected to the first zone. However, Yan teaches that the positive and negative electrodes of the electrochemical apparatus (battery) are connected. Therefore, the ordinary artisan would recognize that there must be at least two terminals present to achieve this connection. Additionally, since the electrochemical apparatus is a battery, all components of the current collector, including the first zone, are electrically connected to these terminals.
Yan does not explicitly teach an embodiment of an electrical device comprising the electrochemical apparatus. However, Yan teaches lithium ion batteries (Yan pg. 2, Technical Field) and that lithium ion batteries are used in vehicles (Yan pg. 2 Background), which are electrical devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the electrochemical apparatus (lithium ion battery) of Yan to a vehicle in order to obtain the predictable result of a vehicle containing a lithium ion battery.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yu (US 2020/0235444 A1): appears to disclose a self-heating battery (abstract, title, Fig. 2A, [3-5]).
Ravdel (US 2012/0315537 A1): appears to disclose a composite current collector (abstract, claim 1).
/J.S.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789