DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Response, filed 1/20/2026, with respect to the rejections under Kishawi et al. US 2010/0137938 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Alexander et al. US 7,515,964 in view of Sell et al. US 2021/0275823. All previous objections and rejections are withdrawn in light of the claim amendments received and in response to the arguments presented.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first upper axis, separator(s) and the second upper axis (all in claim 23) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. New claim 23 includes the limitation “a separator” in lines 14 and 16. Claim 23 appears to be specific to figure 3C which has lower and upper leads within a header. Although the leads are separate, there is no specific “separator” labeled in any of the drawings nor is there a “separator” discussed in the specification. This could be a specific component however it appears to be a typical header design where the material of the header encases the separate lead connector blocks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 20-21 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander et al. US 7,515,964 in view of Sell et al. US 2021/0275823.
Regarding claims 23 and 20-21: Alexander discloses an implantable pulse generator (“pacemaker”, column 4, lines 9-10 and column 1, lines 15-20) comprising:
a housing body 136 (“casing”) for housing electronic circuitry (“electronic circuitry”, column 5, line 19), the housing hermetically seals the electronic circuitry (column 1, lines 9 and line 41 and column 4, line 17) this hermetically sealing is considered to separate the3 electronic circuitry from biological contamination;
an upper header 116 (figure 6) connected with the housing body 136 (figure 6) which includes a first receptacle 108 (figure 6), second receptacle 112 (figure 6), third receptacle 110 (figure 6) and forth receptacle 114 (figure 6), each receptacle 108/110/112/114 includes an electrical contact (column 5, line 18), each receptacle 108/110/112/114 receives a proximal end of a conductor (“lead”) to deliver electrical signals from the electrical circuitry to each electrical contact (“electrode”, column 5, lines 11-39);
wherein the first 108 (figure 6) and second receptacles 112 (figure 6) are aligned along a first upper axis and are spaced apart radially from each other via the header material considered to be a separator (figure 6, column 5, lines 40-55, “encapsulating”, column 5, lines 34-39);
wherein the third 110 (figure 6) and forth receptacles 114 (figure 6) are aligned along a second upper axis and are spaced apart radially from each other via the header material considered to be a separator (figure 6, column 5, lines 40-55, “encapsulating”, column 5, lines 34-39);
wherein the first and second receptacles extend in opposite directions along the first upper axis away from the separator spacing the first and second receptacles apart (figure 6); and
wherein the third and fourth receptacles extend in opposite directions along the second upper axis away from the separator spacing the first and second receptacles apart (figure 6).
However Alexander does not disclose that the receptacles include four electrical contacts and the volume of the pulse generator is between 5-12 cc’s. Sell however teaches of one or more connectors 118 (figure 3C) four are shown 118A/118B/118C/118D (figure 3C). Sell further teaches that the volume of the implanted device ranges from 5-14 cc’s (paragraph 0053).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Alexander to include four electrical connectors within the receptacle as well as an implanted volume between 5-14 cc’s, as taught by Sell, in order to stimulate tissue.
Regarding claim 16: Alexander discloses a battery (column 1, lines 39-40) these batteries are customarily rechargeable however Sell also teaches of a rechargeable battery (paragraphs 0006). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was field to modify Alexander’s battery to be a rechargeable battery, as taught by Sell, utilize a smaller battery.
Claims 5-6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander et al. US 7,515,964 in view of Sell et al. US 2021/0275823 and further in view of Kishawi et al. US 2010/0137936 previously recited.
Regarding claims 5-6 and 19: Alexander/Sell discloses the claimed invention however Alexander/Well does not disclose an antenna for wirelessly receiving programming signals from an external programmer and delivering the signal to the electrical circuitry and delivering therapy to electrodes near a distal end of the lead based on the programmed signal. Kishawi however, teaches of an antenna 132 (figure 9) within the IPG 102 (figure 9), the clinical programmer 200 (figure 15A) includes antenna 204 (figure 15A), the antenna's provide wireless communication (paragraph 0113) between the implant and the external clinical programmer. The clinical programmer generates desired stimulation pulses and programs for therapy which are used to program the implant device via RF links and telemetry (paragraphs 0077-78 and 0084), the pulse generator then applies signals to the electrodes for the delivery of therapy (paragraphs 0094, 0096 and 0107-0108). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Alexander/Sell to include an antenna within the implant which communicates with an external programmer which also includes an antenna to wirelessly communicate stimulation programs to the implant from the external device, as taught by Kishawi, in order to update and change stimulation parameters.
Regarding claims 17-18: Alexander/Sell discloses the claimed invention however Alexander/Well does not disclose an antenna which communicates via RF coupling with the rechargeable battery for recharging the internal battery via a control circuit. Kishawi however teaches of rechargeable battery (paragraphs 0073 and 0079) which is rechargeable via the clinical or patient programmer (paragraph 0134) the charging as well as the programming of the IPG is occurring via the telemetry and recharge circuit which includes antennas from both the external and internal devices, RF transmission is further disclosed (paragraph 0074). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Alexander/Sell to include an antenna which communicates via RF coupling with the rechargeable battery for recharging the internal battery via a control circuit, as taught by Kishawi, in order to charge the device from an external location using RF coupling.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander et al. US 7,515,964 in view of Sell et al. US 2021/0275823 and further in view of Kishawi et al. US 2010/0137936 previously recited and further in view of Kast et al. 2009/0112282 previously recited.
Regarding claim 22: Alexander/Sell/ Kishawi discloses the claimed invention however Alexander/Sell/ Kishawi does not disclose the use of Bluetooth. Kast however teaches of the use of Bluetooth to communicate between the clinical and patient programmer (paragraph 0035). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Alexander/Sell/ Kishawi to include the use of Bluetooth to communicate between the patient and clinical programmer, as taught by Kast, in order to utilized standard or proprietary telemetry protocols.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAULA J. STICE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3796
/PAULA J STICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796