DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks at page 8, filed 30 April 2026, with respect to the objections to claims 4, 6 and 7 for minor informalities have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks at page 8, filed 30 April 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 7, 15 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks at pages 8-10, filed 18 30 April 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that because Fisher discloses camera calibration in a motion tracking process, which is purportedly “time-consuming”, and because the subject matter of claims 4 and 5 incorporated into claim 1 purportedly avoids the need for camera calibration, the claims are therefore allowable. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The term “calibrate” or its variations, e.g., “calibration” does not appear in the pending claims. After review, the specification appears to only make one explicit reference to calibration in line 9 of page 10. That section of the specification explicitly mentions obtaining “the correct calibration”. Furthermore, the rejection does not rely upon the cited portion of Fisher concerning camera calibration that is reproduced on page 9 of Remarks. Even if it did, that in itself does not disqualify the application of Fisher to the subject matter of claims 4 and 5 because nothing in the claims requires not performing calibration.
Applicant argues on pages 9-10 of Remarks against the use de Almeida Barreto (“Barreto” per the examiner’s shorthand) to reject the subject matter of claim 5 because paragraph 138 discloses obtaining intrinsic camera parameters from a calibration frame and, as similarly argued in relation to Fisher, the claims allegedly require avoiding calibration (despite no claim language requiring as such). Examiner respectfully disagrees. The prior rejection of claim 5 did not cite paragraph 138 and the claims do not require any applied reference to be devoid of camera calibration.
In addition to the reasons provided above, it is noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant has not sufficiently addressed the combination of references. Rather, Applicant has attacked the references individually, made the unpersuasive assertion that the claims require a lack of camera calibration, and asserts that “No prior art of record provides this advantage” (of not requiring calibration). Remarks at pg. 10. The record does not indicate that the claims require Applicant’s narrow interpretation or that the originally-filed application supports the notion that the claimed invention gains an advantage over prior approaches because it avoids camera calibration.
The problem mentioned in the Background section is to avoid the intrusive nature of three-dimensional markers used in surgeries. See specification at pgs. 1-2. The described embodiments are provided, according to applicant, to “solve this problem”. See id. A purported benefit of the disclosed embodiments is a marker that “does not need to be placed inside a patient’s body, and in the meantime ensure a patient’s safety and achieve high motion tracking accuracy.” Id. at pg. 3. Thus, the purported advantage gained by the claimed invention, if any, includes the use of a non-intrusive marker instead of a rigid marker, which is not the same as purporting to possess a target tracking method or device that negates the need for camera calibration. The use of flexible or non-intrusive markers for target tracking and/or image registration, such as the ArUco markers used by Fisher, is a well-developed field, so it is unclear how such a marker would be considered new and nonobvious.
Of note, the subject matter of claims 4 and 5, which is the focus of applicant’s arguments pertaining to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, is not featured in independent claim 15 and applicant provides no specific arguments to that claim. Presumably the same arguments addressing claim 1 would apply to claim 15. In that case, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the argument that claim 15 is allowable for the same reasons provided above, as applicable.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on May 30,2022. However, a certified copy of Chinese Pat. Appl. No. 202210597366.6, which has a foreign filing date of 30 March 2022, has not been filed in the instant application to support the foreign priority claim as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Accordingly, the effective filing date of the pending claims is 30 March 2023.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: there is an unnecessary hyphen in the phrase “eight corner points-of two adjacent” found in the fifth line from the top of page 3. Appropriate correction is required, e.g., replace the hyphen with a space.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“visible light image acquisition module for acquiring a visible light image of a flexible marker” in claims 15-16;
“depth image acquisition module for acquiring a depth image of the marker” in claims 15-16;
“image processing module for detecting the two-dimensional code on the visible light image” in claims 15-16; and
“an execution module for generating a motion instruction to the robot” in claims 15-16.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed functions, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
The status of claim 2 is indicated as “Previously presented”. However, line 6 thereof includes a strikethrough, which contradicts the claim status thereby making it unclear. The same struck-through portion appears in the amendment to claim 2 filed 19 September 2025. For purposes of applying prior art, claim 2 is interpreted as not including the carried-over language from claim 2 that was already removed from the claim.
Claims 6 and 7 are recited as depending from claim 5, which is cancelled. Therefore, the dependency of claims 6 and 7 is ambiguous. For purposes of applying prior art, the examiner assumes claims 6 and 7 depend from claim 1, since the subject matter of claim 5 was incorporated into claim 1.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d), as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which they depend, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 6 and 7 are recited as depending from claim 5, but claim 5 is cancelled. Therefore, they are not in proper dependent form.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, e.g., by amending them to depend from claim 1, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Optimizing Marker Design to Improve Precision of Optical Camera-Based Rigid-Body motion Tracking and Correction in Medical Imaging (Fisher) in view of Joint Scene and Object Tracking for Cost-Effective Augmented Reality Guided Patient Positioning in Radiation Therapy (Sarmadi), in view of Sensor Fusion for Fiducial Tags: Highly Robust Pose Estimation from Single Frame RGBD (Jin), in view of U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2014/0275760 (Lee) and in further view of U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 20180071032 (Barreto).
Regarding claim 1, Fisher teaches a target tracking method for a surgical robot, wherein the method comprises:
obtaining a visible light image (Fisher, pg. 2, section C, “The main challenge of a 2D marker is that the full marker must be visible to the camera to estimate its pose. Therefore, to handle this limitation, we incorporated ArUco markers [11] in the checkerboard, as shown in Fig 2B.”) of a marker (Fisher, Fig. 3 shows the marker’s three-dimensional motion tracking data derived from the two-dimensional images of the marker, where Z corresponds to depth.) attached on a surface of a tracked target (Fisher, Fig. 1, “The marker is mounted to [a] 4 [degree] of freedom stage”; section II.A: patient’s head), the marker being a tracked target and having an upper surface (the surface where the codes are visible to a camera), wherein the marker is provided with a checkerboard pattern formed by adjacent square-shaped areas having a first or second contrasting color on the upper surface of the marker (Fisher, Fig. 2B shows an upper surface of the marker. The full pattern includes contrasting black and white squares. Black and white are both considered colors. Each white square containing a unique code is an adjacent square-shaped area.), wherein each of the square-shaped areas (Fisher, Fig. 2B, The white squares include individual two-dimensional codes.) includes a two-dimensional code having a pattern that serves as an identifier (ID) of the two-dimensional code (each ArUco marker is a unique two-dimensional code), and wherein each of the two-dimensional codes is arranged inside one of the square-shaped areas of the checkerboard (Fisher, pg. 2, section C, “These ArUco Markers serve as unique barcodes with known relative position.”; As shown in Fig. 2B, each white square contains a two-dimensional code inside the white square .); and
carrying out two-dimensional code detection on the visible light image (Fisher, pg. 2, Fig. 2B, “Each ArUco Marker has its unique ID marked in green”), and obtaining two-dimensional (2D) coordinates of four corner points of each square-shaped area of the marker (Fisher, Fig. 2B and Fig. 3; The marker is tracked in three-dimensional space as shown in Fig. 3 and relative positions of detected key points and codes from the two-dimensional camera images are used to estimate the marker’s pose as described in section I.C. For a plurality of the white squares of the 3D-encoded marker, each square has four corners detected as key points. The marker’s pose is determined from the detected key points, which are two-dimensional (x,y) corner points in the camera plane.), wherein the ID of each square-shaped area is within the four corner points of each square-shaped area of the marker (Fisher, pg. 2, Fig. 2B; Each white square is bounded by 4 detected corner points, where the black-and-white code is within the bounds of the four corner points.).
Fisher does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Sarmadi.
Sarmadi teaches obtaining a visible light image and a depth image (Sarmadi, pg. 8, section 3.4, “depth map and … RGB image”; pg. 10, section 4.2: RGB-D video sequence) of a flexible marker (Sarmadi, pg. 2, “a set of printed markers”) directly attached on a surface of a patient’s body (Sarmadi, Figure 1, “ArUco markers are attached to the body for tracking, while another set of ArUco markers are placed on the environment to track the camera pose in the environment.”).
Fisher discloses a fiducial marker tracking system for medical imaging applications where the marker is designed to be attached to a patient’s body (e.g., head). Thus, Fisher shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use fiducial tags attached to a patient’s body for medical imaging applications, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, accurately tracking non-intrusive markers attached to a patient’s body. Sarmadi discloses a fiducial marker tracking system for medical imaging applications where the markers are flexible and directly attached to a patient’s body. Thus, Sarmadi shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use flexible fiducial tags for medical imaging applications that are directly attached to the patient’s body, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, accurately tracking non-intrusive markers attached to a patient’s body.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the 3D-encoded marker and camera system disclosed by Fisher to construct the marker as a flexible marker directly attached to a three-dimensional surface of a patient and track the attached marker using an RGBD video camera system as disclosed by Sarmadi to thereby track the patient’s movement via the marker using visible and depth image data to localize the marker. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of placing the marker as close as possible to the patient’s body to thereby more precisely track the pose of the patient’s body.
Fisher in view of Sarmadi does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Jin.
Jin teaches according to the depth image (Jin, pg. 5772, section IV.A “depth image”; Jin, pg. 5773, section IV.A, “our depth sensor (time of flight sensor from Kinect V2)”), 2D coordinates of the four corner points of each square-shaped area of the marker (Jin, pg. 5772, section IV.A, “The rectangular patch of points in the depth image bounded by the approximated corner pixels y = [y1, y2, y3,y4] contains the range information of all the points on the tag”) and the IDs of each square-shaped are obtained (Jin, pg. 5772, section IV, “decoding the tag”, “First, we find the plane in SO(3) containing the tag using depth data and detected corners. Secondly, an approximate initial pose is computed using the depth plane. Finally, the method refines the initial pose using the RGB data by minimizing the reprojection error within a constrained space”), thereby obtaining three-dimensional (3D) coordinates of the four corner points of each of the square-shaped areas on the marker (Jin, pg. 5772, section IV, “The process of detecting and decoding the tag is identical to previous fiducial tag systems. After the tag corners are detected, they are treated as approximated locations of the true corners. Using the corners, the method implicitly evaluates the depth data and RGB data as two separate observations and fuse them to minimize the error in 2D and 3D space.”); and
according to the 3D coordinates of the four corner points of each of the square-shaped areas, obtaining position information of the tracked target in 3D space (Jin, pg. 5773, section IV.B, “An alternative is to use all 4 detected corners as 4 pairs of point correspondences for the optimization. We projected the detected corners onto [the depth plane] to get the [four corner coordinates] in the robot sensory frame. The [four] corner coordinates in the tag frame can be easily calculated since the tag is a square plane. We define the center of the tag as the origin, and the coordinates are simply the location of the corners on a Cartesian plane. Given these two sets of 3D point correspondences, the pose can be computed as a rigid body transformation estimation.”).
Fisher in view of Sarmadi is analogous to the claimed invention for the same reasons provided above. Jin discloses plane fitting on depth image data for tasks where nonintrusive markers are tracked using a commercially-available RGBD device. Thus, Jin shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use plane fitting with nonintrusive markers to determine their pose relative to an RGBD camera, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, accurately tracking non-intrusive markers attached to a patient’s body.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the RGBD camera system and use of plane-fitting as disclosed by Jin with the tracking algorithm of Fisher in view of Sarmadi to estimate the marker’s position according to the depth image of the RGBD camera system to thereby use the depth image from a low-cost, off-the-shelf RGBD camera system as disclosed by Jin to fit a plane to the marker area attached to the patient and recover the pose of the marker relative to the camera system. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of accurately tracking the marker in the presence of variations in its three-dimensional surface.
Fisher in view of Sarmadi and in further view of Jin does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Lee.
Lee teaches providing the position information to a surgical robot (Lee, par. [0104], “the disclosure herein has provided example embodiments of a surgical robot and control method to control the surgical robot”), wherein the position information is used to track the tracked target (marker) during a surgical procedure (Lee, par. [0091], “the augmented reality image generator 430 receives a real image captured by the camera 410, detects a plurality of markers, estimates that the camera 410 faces the abdomen of the patient P at the center of the patient P in a state of being spaced apart from the patient P using position information of each marker in the real image, and overlays a virtual image of the corresponding region received from the imaging system 300 over the real image.”; par. [0063], “Examples of the surgical tool 230 may include a skin holder, a suction line, a scalpel, scissors, a grasper, a surgical needle, a needle holder, a stapler, a cutting blade, and the like, without being limited thereto.”).
Fisher in view of Sarmadi and in further view of Jin is analogous to the claimed invention for the same reasons provided above. Lee discloses a surgical robot that uses markers attached to a patient’s body to determine positional information for guiding the surgical robot. Thus, Lee shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use fiducial tags for medical applications including surgical procedures, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, accurately tracking non-intrusive markers attached to a patient’s body.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the flexible marker disclosed by Fisher in view of Sarmadi and in further view of Jin to guide a surgical robot as disclosed by Lee during a surgical procedure using positional information obtained from the marker directly attached to the patient’s body. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of using the marker in surgeries in a nonintrusive manner, thereby minimizing any discomfort felt by the patient.
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, and in further view of Lee further teaches
according to the 2D coordinates of the corner points of the square-shaped areas containing the two-dimensional codes and the IDs of the two-dimensional codes, key areas of interest in the visible light image are obtained, wherein each key area of interest corresponds to a corner point of a square-shaped area (Fisher, pg. 2, section II.C, “key points.” Key points delineate the square-shaped areas of the checkerboard pattern containing ArUco markers, thereby providing key areas of interest corresponding to the locations of the ArUco markers.);
for each key area of interest, the 3D coordinates of the corresponding corner point are obtained according to the key area of interest and the depth image (Jin, pg. 5772, section IV, “The process of detecting and decoding the tag is identical to previous fiducial tag systems. After the tag corners are detected, they are treated as approximated locations of the true corners. Using the corners, the method implicitly evaluates the depth data and RGB data as two separate observations and fuse them to minimize the error in 2D and 3D space.”),
performing detection of the four corner points of each square-shaped area according to the two-dimensional code IDs (Fisher, pg. 2, section II.C, “key points.”; Key points are detected according to their positions relative to the ArUco markers.), and
using the 2D coordinates of eight corner points of two adjacent square-shaped areas (Fisher, Fig. 2B, The checkerboard pattern is comprised of a 10 x 10 alternating pattern of black and white square shapes with the two-dimensional codes located on the white shapes. Each two-dimensional code has four key points at its corners. The center of the checkerboard pattern includes a 3 x 3 area with four adjacent two-dimensional codes adjacent to the center two-dimensional code. Thus, there are 2 pairs of two-dimensional codes, each having eight corners.), and obtaining key areas of interest of each square-shaped area on the visible light image according to preset areas of the square-shaped areas on a standard arrangement of the marker (Fisher, section II.C; The layout of the individual ArUco markers is known by the algorithm so that the relative positions of the key points can be determined.), wherein each preset area is a square area with a corner of a square-shaped area as the center and corners of adjacent square-shaped areas comprising two-dimensional codes as the diagonal vertices (Fisher, Fig. 2B, The center square area has four corners. At each diagonal corner is a two-dimensional code having four corners.).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided above.
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin and in further view of Lee does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Barreto.
Barreto teaches for each corner point detected, calculating a homography transformation matrix from a standard image of the marker (Barreto, par. [0063], “HC can be estimated from image information”; pars. [0090]-[0091], “the visual marker can have different topological configurations but, for the sake of simplicity and without compromising generality, it will be assumed that the visual marker is a planar surface with a known pattern. This planar pattern should be such that it has a local system of coordinates, it is amenable to be detected and uniquely identified from its image projection”; The image of the marker before projection to the camera coordinate system is a standard or typical camera image.) to the visible light image of the marker (Barreto, par. [0063], “If the marker is planar, then its projection is described by an homography HC, that maps plane points into image points, and encodes the relative rotation RC and translation tC between marker and camera reference frames. Thus, and since HC can be estimated from image information, it is possible to use this homography relation to determine at every frame time instant the 4×4 matrix C that transforms world coordinates into camera coordinates (FIG. 1A).”).
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin and in further view of Lee discloses a surgical robot that tracks a checkerboard pattern. Thus, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin and in further view of Lee shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a checkerboard pattern with a surgical robot, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, accurately tracking non-intrusive markers attached to a patient’s body. Barreto discloses methods of computer-aided surgery that use a checkerboard pattern attached to a patient’s body and calculating a homography matrix to determine positional information. Thus, Barreto shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate a homography matrix to determine the correspondence between a camera coordinate system and a world coordinate system, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, accurately tracking non-intrusive markers attached to a patient’s body.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to calculate a homography matrix between world and camera coordinate systems as disclosed by Barreto using the camera and marker images obtained by the surgical robot disclosed by Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin and in further view of Lee, to thereby determine the position of the marker attached to the patient using key points of the marker and each detected two-dimensional code. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of accurately determining position of the surgical robot relative to the patient.
Regarding claim 2, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 1, wherein the two-dimensional code detection comprises:
for the pattern of each two-dimensional code inside a square-shaped area of the marker, matching the two-dimensional code to the visible light image (Fisher, pg. 2, section II.C, “identifying the barcodes”; Before a code from a white square can be identified, it must first be detected, which matches the location of a two-dimensional code to its position in the image.), wherein a similarity between the two-dimensional code of the marker and a detected pattern of a two-dimensional code inside a square-shaped area in the visible light image is obtained (Fisher, FIG. 2B; Identifying an individual ArUco marker means the two-dimensional code of the marker and the corresponding pattern depicted in the image are the same, and therefore, similar to one another.); and
determining whether a two-dimensional code of a selected square-shaped area of the marker matching a two-dimensional code in the visible light image is detected according to the similarity (Fisher, Fig. 3; section I.B, “For each frame estimate the marker’s pose relative to the camera”, “Estimate motion between frames at times 0 and t”, and “using two sets of poses … estimate the transformation between them”; Successfully tracking the pose of the marker from one pose to the next means that a two-dimensional code pattern of a selected square of the marker containing an ArUco marker was determined to be similar to the corresponding image features acquired by the camera.), wherein if the pattern of a two-dimensional code of the marker matching a corresponding two-dimensional code in the visible light image is detected according to the similarity (Fisher - Successfully tracking the pose of the marker.), the 2D coordinates of the four corner points of the selected square-shaped area and the ID of the detected two-dimensional code are obtained (Fisher, section II.C, “When the algorithm detects the key points and barcodes, it knows each key point's relative position by identifying the barcodes adjacent to it, and thus can estimate the marker’s pose using only a subset of the key points.”; Pose is determined after a prerequisite step of detecting corner/key points and ID is successful. Tracking the pose of the marker means the prerequisite step has occurred, which means the 2D coordinates and ID have been obtained.).
Regarding claim 3, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 1, wherein before obtaining the 3D coordinates of the corner points on the marker according to the depth image, the 2D coordinates of the corner points of the square-shaped areas containing the two-dimensional codes and the IDs of the two-dimensional codes, the method further comprises:
obtaining an actual position distribution of the two-dimensional codes on the marker according to the 2D coordinates of the corner points of the square-shaped areas containing the two-dimensional codes and the IDs of the two-dimensional codes (Fisher, Fig. 2B shows annotated labels of all the detected IDs and key point positions, thereby exhibiting a distribution of positions. Multiple camera poses/acquisitions take place. Thus, before 3D or 2D corner points or IDs are obtained in a subsequent camera pose/acquisition, 3D or 2D corner points or IDs are obtained in a prior camera pose/acquisition);
comparing a standard position distribution and the actual position distribution of the two-dimensional codes on the marker, and verifying the 2D coordinates of the corner points of the square-shaped areas containing the two-dimensional codes and the IDs of the two-dimensional codes (Fisher, pg. 2, section II.C, “When the algorithm detects the key points and barcodes, it knows each key point's relative position by identifying the barcodes adjacent to it, and thus can estimate the marker’s pose using only a subset of the key points.”; The pose (position and orientation) of the marker is determined by the relative positions of the actual positions of the two-dimensional codes, thereby determining the pose of the marker according to a standard/expected relationship between the two-dimensional codes.); and
discarding or adjusting the 2D coordinates of the corner points of the square-shaped areas having corner points with 2D coordinates that deviate by more than a predetermined amount (Fisher, pg. 2, section II.C, “When the algorithm detects the key points and barcodes, it knows each key point's relative position by identifying the barcodes adjacent to it, and thus can estimate the marker’s pose using only a subset of the key points.” If the algorithm is aware of every detected key point and uses a subset of them to determine marker pose, then the subset is verified and the use of the subset is pre-programmed or predetermined. Every corner point corresponds to a unique pixel and therefore deviates by at least that amount of space from every other pixel, including any discarded or unused pixels in the pose estimation.).
Regarding claim 8, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 1, wherein the marker comprises a flexible planar substrate (Sarmadi, pg. 2, “a set of printed markers”; Figure 1, “ArUco markers are attached to the body for tracking, while another set of ArUco markers are placed on the environment to track the camera pose in the environment.”; Figure 1 shows the printed markers, which are printed onto flexible planar substrates. The substrates are flexible because they conform to the surface they are disposed on.).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 1, wherein the contrasting colors are black and white (Fisher, Fig. 2B shows an upper surface of the marker. The full patterns includes contrasting black and white squares. Black and white are both considered colors.).
Regarding claim 10, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 1, further comprising the step of moving a robotic arm of the surgical robot (Lee, par. [0104], “the robot and augmented reality image display system may be utilized to perform operations in any confined space or enclosure in which an operator may need to perform controlled movements using an instrument attached to a robot arm”).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 1, further comprising the step of moving a surgical tool of the surgical robot (Lee, par. [0063], “Examples of the surgical tool 230 may include a skin holder, a suction line, a scalpel, scissors, a grasper, a surgical needle, a needle holder, a stapler, a cutting blade, and the like, without being limited thereto.”).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 11, wherein the surgical tool is a drill guide, a drill, a puncture needle (Lee, par. [0063], “a surgical needle”), scissors (Lee, par. [0063], “scissors”), a grasper (Lee, par. [0063], “a grasper”), or a needle holder (Lee, par. [0063], “a needle holder”).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 1, further comprising the step of performing a surgical operation with the surgical robot (Lee, par. [0104], “the robot and augmented reality image display system may be utilized to perform operations in any confined space or enclosure in which an operator may need to perform controlled movements using an instrument attached to a robot arm, so as to avoid or to prevent injuries to bodies or objects, that may be located or disposed within the space or enclosure, due to imprecise movements of the robot”).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to claim 1, wherein the surgical operation is performing a drilling operation, performing a cutting operation (Lee, par. [0063], “Examples of the surgical tool 230 may include a skin holder, a suction line, a scalpel, scissors”), or performing a grasping operation (Lee, par. [0063], “Examples of the surgical tool 230 may include … a grasper”).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Claim 15 substantially overlaps with claim 1 by reciting a robot that implements functions corresponding to the method of claim 1, primarily differing by comprising a visible light image acquisition module, a depth image acquisition module, an image processing module, and an execution module.
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto, as applied in claim 1, teaches a visible light image acquisition module (Fisher, pg. 2, section C, “camera”), a depth image acquisition module (Jin, pg. 5773, section IV.A, “our depth sensor (time of flight sensor from Kinect V2)”), an image processing module (Fisher, pg. 1, Fig. 1, “computer”), and an execution module (Fisher, pg. 1, Fig. 1, “computer”; Computers include a processor to execute program instructions.).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1
Regarding claim 16, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches a target tracking system, wherein the system comprises:
a flexible marker for attachment to a surface of an object to be tracked (Sarmadi, pg. 2, “a set of printed markers”), wherein the flexible marker is provided with a black and white checkerboard pattern (Fisher, Fig. 2B shows an upper surface of the marker. The full pattern includes contrasting black and white squares. Black and white are both considered colors.), and two-dimensional codes are arranged inside square-shaped areas of the checkerboard pattern (Fisher, Fig. 2B); and
the robot of claim 15.
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee, in view of Barreto and in further view of the online forum discussion Find center between 4 points from the website discussions.unity.com (Unity).
Regarding claim 6, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to [claim 1], wherein according to the key area of interest of each square-shaped area and the depth image, the method comprises calculating the corresponding square-shaped area’s 3D coordinates as follows:
calculating the 3D coordinates (x
i
3
d
, y
i
3
d
, z
i
3
d
) of each pixel in an area of focus with the 2D coordinate of an i-th pixel in the depth image and the 2D coordinate of an i-th pixel in the visible light image, where i ∈ (1, … , N) indicates an i-th pixel among N pixels in the key area of interest (Jin, pg. 5772, section IV, “Using the corners, the method implicitly evaluates the depth data and RGB data as two separate observations and fuse them to minimize the error in 2D and 3D space.”).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee, and in further view of Barreto does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Unity.
Unity teaches calculating a center 3D coordinate of four other 3D coordinates (Unity, pg. 1, “The centre of a group of points at arbitrary locations in 2D or 3D space is usually referred to as the centroid. This is computed by averaging the location of the points in each coordinate (x, y, and z). Assuming you have N points (4 in your case) stored as Vector3 s, just add them all together (vectors are added component-wise in Unity, as they should be) and divide the result by N to obtain the coordinates of the centroid point.”).
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee, and in further view of Barreto is analogous to the claimed invention for the same reasons provided above. Unity is an online forum discussion from a website for a game engine (Unity engine) where users discuss how to find a center between 4 coordinate points in 2D or 3D space. Besides medical applications, engineers making video games also use 2D markers for tracking purposes. Many augmented reality video games, for example, use 2D markers and cameras to localize the real world three-dimensional environment with the graphics generated by a game engine. Thus, Unity shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate a center of a polygon represented by 4 coordinate points in 2D or 3D space, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, accurately tracking non-intrusive markers attached to a patient’s body.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to calculate a center of a square-shaped area bounded by four points as disclosed by Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto using the technique disclosed by Unity to thereby calculate the area’s center/centroid by adding the coordinates component-wise and dividing by the number of points to obtain the coordinates of the centroid, thereby using an equivalent of the 3D corner point calculation formula of claim 6. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of accurately determining position of the marker relative to the camera informed by multiple observations.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee, in view of Barreto, in view of Unity, and in further view of U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 20190380792 (Poltaretskyi).
Regarding claim 7, Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto teaches the target tracking method according to [claim 1], wherein according to the key area of interest of each square-shaped area and the depth image, the 3D coordinates of corresponding checkerboard corners that have angle changes and/or deformation on the depth image are calculated as follows:
calculating 3D coordinates (x
i
3
d
, y
i
3
d
) of four corners of an area of focus with the 2D coordinate of an i-th pixel in the depth image and the 2D coordinate of an i-th pixel in the visible light image where i ∈ (1, … , 4) indicates the four corners of the area of focus (Jin, pg. 5772, section IV, “Using the corners, the method implicitly evaluates the depth data and RGB data as two separate observations and fuse them to minimize the error in 2D and 3D space.”).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 1.
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee and in further view of Barreto does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Unity.
Unity teaches calculating a center 3D coordinate of four other 3D coordinates (Unity, pg. 1, “The centre of a group of points at arbitrary locations in 2D or 3D space is usually referred to as the centroid. This is computed by averaging the location of the points in each coordinate (x, y, and z).”).
The rationale for obviousness is the same as provided for claim 6.
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee, in view of Barreto, and in further view of Unity does not teach that which is explicitly taught by Poltaretskyi.
Poltaretskyi teaches plane fitting for three or more observed points to define a depth plane (Poltaretskyi, par. [0536], “Visualization device 213 may be configured to refine the classifications and determine only the points that belong to the depth aid element (plane). Once visualization device 213 determines these points, that belong to the depth aid element (plane), visualization device 213 can fit a plane to these points (e.g., according to a best fit plane function or equation). Again, FIG. 80 is an example illustration of “best line fitting” whereby observed points 8000 along a line can define the line according to a best fit. A best fit plane can be defined in a similar way. Once visualization device 213 determines the best fit plane for the first time, visualization device 213 can perform a simple tracking algorithm that will determine the best fit plane at each frame that comes from the depth camera(s).”; FIGs. 30A and 30B show 2D and 3D markers; FIG. 80: minimized function that may be extended to 3D as described in par. [0533]).
Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee, in view of Barreto, and in further view of Unity is analogous to the claimed invention for the same reasons provided above. Poltaretskyi discloses visually tracking markers (depth aids) in a surgical context and fitting a plane to three or more observation points to track the plane. Thus, Poltaretskyi shows that it was known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to track a marker based on three or more coordinate points, which is analogous to the claimed invention in that it is pertinent to the problem being solved by the claimed invention, accurately tracking non-intrusive markers attached to a patient’s body.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the plane fitting disclosed by Fisher in view of Sarmadi, in view of Jin, in view of Lee, in view of Barreto, and in further view of Unity to fit a plane to the center point and three or more of the four corner points using the plane fitting disclosed by Poltaretskyi to thereby track the marker via the plane fit to the center point and observed corner points, thereby using an equivalent of the plane fitting formula in claim 7. Based on the foregoing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made such modification according to known methods to yield the predictable results to have the benefit of more precisely tracking the marker by estimating the plane relative to the center of the marker and being able to retain tracking in the event one of the corners is not visible to the camera.
Conclusion
/RYAN P POTTS/Examiner, Art Unit 2672
/SUMATI LEFKOWITZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2672