DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-22 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 11, 2025.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on November 11, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 lists the that each polycarboxylate can come from a fumaric or mesaconic acid. However, claim 1, on which claim 3 depends, excludes Zr-MOFs with a fumarate and mesaconate group. Therefore, the dependent claim fails to include the limitations that the independent claim requires.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 [Furukawa]
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Furukawa, Hiroyasu, et al. “Water Adsorption in Porous Metal–Organic Frameworks and Related Materials.” Journal of the American Chemical Society, vol. 136, no. 11, 11 Mar. 2014, pp. 4369–4381, https://doi.org/10.1021/ja500330a.
Regarding claim 1, Furukawa discloses a Zr-MOF that has a formula of Zr6O4(OH)4(BCD)6 (Furukawa [Scheme 1 Ref. 16]). Therefore, this disclosure fulfils the limitations set in the instant claim requiring the Zr-based metal organic framework to comprise of a formula of Zr6O4(OH)4(polycarboxylate)6 where the Zr MOF is not Zr6O4(OH)4(fumarate)6 nor a Zr6O4(OH)4(mesaconate)6.
Regarding claim 2, Furukawa discloses the presence of a polycarboxylate in the Zr-MOF in the form of H2-BDC (Furukawa [Scheme 1 Ref. 16]), which is an aromatic dicarboxylic acid. This disclosure fulfills the limitations set in the instant claim requiring the polycarboxylate to be a part of the aromatic polycarbonate group.
Regarding claim 3, Furukawa discloses the presence of a polycarboxylate in the Zr-MOF in the form of BDC, also known as terephthalic acid (Furukawa [Pg. 4371 ¶7]). This disclosure fulfills the limitations set in the instant claim requiring the polycarboxylate to be a terephthalic acid.
Regarding claim 4, Furukawa discloses the presence of many Zr-MOFs in a single crystal form (Furukawa [Abstract]). This disclosure fulfils the limitations set in the instant claim requiring the Zr-MOF to be in a crystalline form.
Regarding claim 5, Furukawa discloses a Zr-MOF known as UiO-66 (Zr) (Furukawa [Scheme 1 Ref. 16]). UiO-66 possesses multiple types of pores. The value that represents the longest linear dimension perpendicular to a long axis of pores is called the window width, which in the case of UiO-66 (Zr) is 6 Å. Therefore, this disclosure would fulfill the expectations set in the instant claim requiring the Zr-based metal organic framework to comprise a plurality of pores, wherein the pores have a longest linear dimension perpendicular to a long axis of pores from about 0.1 Å to about 200 Å.
Regarding claim 6, Furukawa discloses that the zirconium MOF (UiO-66) has a Langmuir surface are of 1390 m2/g (Furukawa [Table 1 Row 4]). This disclosure fulfills the limitations set in the instant claim requiring Zr-MOF to comprise of a Langmuir Surface area between 0-1400 m2/g.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 [Reinsch]
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reinsch (US 10450330 B2) as evidenced by Furukawa, Hiroyasu, et al. “Water Adsorption in Porous Metal–Organic Frameworks and Related Materials.” Journal of the American Chemical Society, vol. 136, no. 11, 11 Mar. 2014, pp. 4369–4381, https://doi.org/10.1021/ja500330a.
Regarding claim 1, Reinsch discloses a zirconium metal organic framework comprising of a cluster with a formula of Zr6O4(OH)4 (Reinsch [C3 ¶17-19]). The prior art also teaches that the zirconium structure would include various organic linkers which include 1,4-benzene dicarboxylic acid (BDC), a terephthalic (polycarboxylate) acid(Reinsch [C5 ¶41]). By combining the zirconium cluster with the BDC, the MOF that forms will be UiO-66(Zr) (Reinsch [C5 ¶42]) which has a structural formula of Zr6O4(OH)4(BCD)6 (see evidentiary document Furukawa at [Scheme 2 Ref. 16]) . Therefore, this disclosure would fulfill the expectations set in the instant claim requiring the Zr-based metal organic framework to comprise of a formula of Zr6O4(OH)4(polycarboxylate)6 where the Zr MOF is not Zr6O4(OH)4(fumarate)6 nor a Zr6O4(OH)4(mesaconate)6.
Regarding claim 2, Reinsch discloses that for Zr6O4(OH)4, the organic linkers comprise of multiple carboxylates (polycarboxylate) (Reinsch [C4 ¶34-39]). The prior art notes the usage of BCD which is an aromatic dicarboxylic acid. (Furukawa [Scheme 1 Ref. 16]). Therefore, the prior art meets the limitations set in the instant claim requiring the polycarboxylate to be a part of the aromatic polycarbonate group.
Regarding claim 3, Reinsch discloses that for Zr6O4(OH)4 the organic linkers that can be used include terephthalic acid (Reinsch [C5 ¶1-15]). Therefore, the prior art meets the limitations set in the instant claim requiring the polycarboxylate to be a terephthalic acid.
Regarding claim 4, Reinsch discloses a process of forming Zr-MOF where the product is completely crystalline (Reinsch [C8 ¶3-4]). Therefore, this disclosure would fulfill the expectations set in the instant claim requiring the Zr-based metal organic framework to be completely crystalline.
Regarding claim 5, Reinsch discloses a Zr-MOF known as UiO-66 (Zr) (Reinsch [C5 ¶42]). UiO-66 possesses multiple types of pores. The value that represents the longest linear dimension perpendicular to a long axis of pores is called the window width, which in the case of UiO-66 (Zr) is 6 Å. Therefore, this disclosure would fulfill the expectations set in the instant claim requiring the Zr-based metal organic framework to comprise a plurality of pores, wherein the pores have a longest linear dimension perpendicular to a long axis of pores from about 0.1 Å to about 200 Å.
Regarding claim 6, Reinsch discloses that the zirconium MOF has a BET surface area of 797 m2/g and a Langmuir surface are of 914 m2/g (Reinsch [C10 ¶1-3]). This disclosure fulfills the limitations set in the instant claim requiring Zr-MOF to comprise of a BET surface area between 0-1000 m2/g and a Langmuir Surface area between 0-1400 m2/g.
Conclusion
/ANNETTE PHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1736
/ANTHONY J ZIMMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1736