DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment in the reply filed on 12/17/25 is acknowledged. Claims 1-16 are pending. Claims 11-16 are withdrawn. Claims 1-10 are examined on the merits.
Any rejection that is not reiterated is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections –35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al (CN 108210975 A).
Yu et al teach a dressing liquid for treating acne, characterized in that the dressing liquid is mainly composed of 1 to 10 parts of marine hydrolyzed collagen, 0.5 to 4 parts of dipotassium glycyrrhizinate, 0.2 to 1 part of aloe vera gel powder (thus claim 10 is met, thus an active agent), and prepared by 1000 parts of water (see claim 1). Yu et al teach the dressing liquid according to claim 1, wherein the molecular weight of said marine hydrolyzed collagen (thus claim 1 is met) is 400~1500 Daltons, such as 400 Daltons, 500 Daltons, 600 Daltons (thus the claimed 500-1000Da), 700 Daltons, 800 Daltons, 900 Daltons, 1000 Daltons, 1100 Daltons, 1200 Daltons, 1300 Daltons, or 1400 Daltons (see claim 3).
Yu et al teach in the half-face experiment, both individuals used the dressing described in Example 4 of this invention on the right half of their face (thus cosmetic, thus claim 9 is met), while the left half of their face served as a control [0090].
Yu et al teach acne can persist for years, causing disfigurement or leaving permanent scars and having a serious negative impact on a patient's psychological [0004].
Therefore, the reference is deemed to anticipate the instant claim above.
Claim Rejections –35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yu et al as applied to claims 1, 9, and 10 above, and further in view of Petito (US 20160220645 A1).
The teachings of Yu et al are set forth above and applied as before.
The teachings of Yu et al do not specifically teach the incorporation of bovine source hydrolyzed collagen or a hydrolyzed whey in the composition; neither do Yu et al teach the claimed percentages of each different source or a therapeutic agent in claim 6, a medical food in claim 7, or nutritional supplement in claim 8.
Petito teaches the composition for tissue/cell repair facilitates healing of damaged tissues, promoting tissue and cell growth, protecting cells and tissues, and reducing scar tissue. The composition includes hydrolyzed collagen, and may include high molecular weight hydrolyzed collagen. The hydrolyzed collagen may be combined with native collagen and/or at least one other therapeutic agent. For example, the therapeutic agent may be a polysulfated glycosaminoglycan (thus claims 6 and 10 are met), a glucosamine salt, or mixtures thereof. The collagen may be derived from two or more different sources, and may be combined with hydrolyzed whey and/or elastin (see Abstract).
Petito teaches further examples of this wound healing composition optimized for different applications include: about 70% bovine sourced hydrolyzed collagen (thus claim 5 is met) and about 30% marine sourced hydrolyzed collagen; about 50% bovine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, about 30% marine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, and about 20% hydrolyzed whey (thus claim 2 is met); about 40% bovine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, about 20% marine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, about 20% hydrolyzed whey, and about 20% elastin; about 20% bovine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, about 40% marine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, about 20% hydrolyzed whey, and about 20% elastin; about 20% bovine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, about 40% marine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, and about 40% hydrolyzed whey; and about 30% bovine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, about 30% marine sourced hydrolyzed collagen, about 30% hydrolyzed whey, and about 10% elastin. The bovine hydrolyzed collagen can have a molecular weight of about 500 Daltons to about 10,000 Daltons [0029] (thus overlaps with the claimed 500-1000 Daltons).
Petito teaches the composition may be formulated as a nutritional supplement. For example, at least one of vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin E, vitamin B12, magnesium oxide, chelated manganese, grape seed extract, zinc, an alginate, cellulose, honey, chromium picolinate, selenium, glutamine, and glycosaminoglycans can be added to the composition to produce a nutrient composition for oral intake [0036] (thus claims 7 and 8 are met).
Petito teaches the composition may be useful for applications relating to cosmetic and plastic surgery, e.g., as a filler for lines and wrinkles formed in the skin [0031].
Petito teaches the composition may take a physical form used in topical administration, such as a gel, spray, powder, paste, foam, film for incorporation in a dressing bandage, or a topically applied patch. The composition may take a physical form used in internal administration, such as an injectable liquid or an orally ingestible liquid [0032].
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the combination of bovine and marine sourced hydrolyzed collagen and hydrolyzed whey since Petito teaches to do so.
It would also have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the composition as medical food or nutritional supplement since Petito teaches to do so.
Since both of the references teach using marine sourced hydrolyzed collagen with a molecular weight of about 500-1000 Daltons in cosmetics regarding reducing scar tissue, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make and use the invention.
Regarding the claimed amount of each component in claim 5, determining an appropriate amount of the components within the composition is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of the ordinary skills in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant’s arguments regarding Yoshioka et al have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yu et al.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/Qiuwen Mi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655