Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by OHNUMA U. S Patent Publication Number US20230335156A1(hereinafter OHNUMA).
Regarding Claim 1, OHNUMA discloses a data storage device comprising: a plurality of disk media rotatably mounted on a spindle (Fig. 1 i.e., "plurality of magnetic disks 130" and "spindle motor 140"); a head slider comprising a read-write head configured to write to and to read from at least one disk medium of the plurality of disk media (Fig. 1 i.e., magnetic head 151; para. [0037] i.e., The magnetic head 151 records data on the magnetic disks 130, reproduces data, and the like.); a rotary actuator assembly configured to move the head slider about a pivot to access portions of the at least one disk medium via actuation by a voice coil motor actuator (VCMA) (Fig. 1 i.e., actuator 157; para. [0037] i.e., actuator 157), the pivot comprising an at least partially hollow pivot shaft (See annotated Fig. 5 pivot shaft; para. [0050] i.e., tubular shape) having a pivot shaft length (Fig. 5, the length from 10a to 114); an enclosure base (Fig. 5 i.e., base member 111; para. [0054] i.e., base member 111 ) comprising a pivot boss shaft (See annotated Fig. 5, pivot boss shaft; para. [0041] i.e., protruding part 17) comprising an internal threaded portion (Fig. 5 i.e., male thread part 32 a; para. [0038] i.e., ... The inner shaft 30 includes a male thread part 32 a at least at the tip part 32... ) and at least in part disposed within the pivot shaft (See annotated Fig. 5, pivot shaft); a cover (Fig. 5 i.e., 121 inner cover member) coupled with the enclosure base to form an enclosure (Fig. 1 i.e., 111 base member; para. [0024] i.e., cover member (121) attached to the base member (111) ); and a screw (See annotated Fig. 5, screw) coupled with the threaded portion of the pivot boss shaft through the cover (See annotated Fig. 5, screw and pivot boss shaft; para. [0054] i.e., The male thread part 32 a ... inserted into the hole ... screw the inner shaft 30 to the female thread part 114 a. ), the screw having a screw fastening depth (See annotated Fig. 5, screw fastening depth), at which center threads of the threaded portion of the pivot boss shaft are coupled with screw threads, at 66% or more of the pivot shaft length (See annotated Fig. 5; para. [0054] i.e., female thread part 32 a; The threaded portion is positioned at 66% or more of the pivot shaft length, as shown in annotated Fig. 5.).
Regarding Claim 2, OHNUMA discloses the data storage device of Claim 1 as discussed above. OHNUMA further discloses that the screw fastening depth is less than 100% of the pivot shaft length (See annotated Fig. 5; para. [0054] i.e., female thread part 32 a; The screw fastening depth is less than 100% of the pivot shaft length, as shown in annotated Fig. 5.).
Regarding Claim 3, OHNUMA discloses the data storage device of Claim 1 as discussed above. OHNUMA further discloses the pivot boss shaft comprises a proximal opening to a hollow portion top of pivot boss shaft (Fig. 5, top of the body part 31; para. [0062] i.e., body part 31 ) and an opposing distal end (Fig. 5, bottom of the body part 31; para. [0062] i.e., body part 31); and the threaded portion of the pivot boss shaft is positioned only in a distal half of the pivot boss shaft (See annotated Fig. 5; para. [0054] i.e., female thread part 32 a; The threaded portion is positioned only in a distal half of the pivot boss shaft, as shown in annotated Fig. 5.).
Regarding Claim 4, OHNUMA discloses the data storage device of Claim 1 as discussed above. OHNUMA further discloses that the pivot further comprises at least one bearing ring positioned around the pivot shaft (Fig. 5 i.e., bearings 50; para. [0058] i.e., bearings 50).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by OHNUMA.
Regarding Claim 10, OHNUMA discloses a method of assembling a hard disk drive(HDD), the method comprising: positioning around a pivot boss shaft (See annotated Fig. 5, pivot boss shaft; para. [0050 and 0052] i.e., sleeve 70), of an HDD enclosure base (Fig. 5 i.e., 111; para. [0062] i.e., base member 111), a rotary actuator assembly (Fig. 1 i.e., actuator 157; para. [0037] i.e., actuator 157) comprising a hollow pivot shaft (See annotated Fig. 5 pivot shaft; para. [0050] i.e., tubular shape) having a pivot shaft length (Fig. 5, the length from 10a to 114) and one or more bearing rings positioned around the pivot shaft (Fig. 5 i.e., bearings 50; para. [0058] i.e., bearings 50); and fastening a screw (See annotated Fig. 5, screw) through a cover (Fig. 5 i.e., 121 inner cover member) to a threaded portion of the pivot boss shaft (Fig. 5 i.e., male thread part 32 a; para. [0038] i.e., ... The inner shaft 30 includes a male thread part 32 a at least at the tip part 32... ) such that the screw has a screw fastening depth (See annotated Fig. 5, screw fastening depth), at which center threads of the threaded portion of the pivot boss shaft are coupled with screw threads, at 66%-100% of the pivot shaft length (para. [0054] i.e.,The male thread part 32 a ... inserted into the hole ... screw the inner shaft 30 to the female thread part 114 a.; See annotated Fig. 5; para. [0054] i.e., female thread part 32 a; The screw fastening depth is 66% to 100% of the pivot shaft length, as shown in annotated Fig. 5.).
Regarding Claim 11, OHNUMA discloses the method of Claim 10 as discussed above. OHNUMA further discloses the pivot boss shaft comprises a proximal opening (Fig. 5, top of the body part 31; para. [0062] i.e., body part 31 ) ; and an opposing distal end (Fig. 5, bottom of the body part 31; para. [0062] i.e., body part 31) and the threaded portion of the pivot boss shaft is positioned only in a distal half of the pivot boss shaft (See annotated Fig. 5; para. [0054] i.e., female thread part 32 a; The threaded portion is positioned only in a distal half of the pivot boss shaft, as shown in annotated Fig. 5.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OHNUMA in view of Keshavan et al. U.S. Patent Number US10891980B1 (hereinafter Keshavan).
Regarding Claim 5, OHNUMA teaches the data storage device of Claim 1 as discussed above but fails to explicitly teach that the enclosure base and the pivot boss shaft are an integrally-formed component.
In an analogous art, Keshavan teaches the enclosure base and the pivot boss shaft are an integrally-formed component (Fig. 2B i.e., 250; Col. 6 lines 30-55 i.e., common post 250 that is integrated with the enclosure base).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the integrated common post and pivot shaft structure of Reference Keshavan in to the HDD housing of reference OHNUMA. Such integrated structures are commonly available and understood in the art as shown in Reference Keshavan, in order to provide predictable benefits, including improved reliability, simplified manufacturing, and reduced cost.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OHNUMA in view of McGinlay et al. U.S. Patent Number US4638383A (hereinafter McGinlay).
Regarding Claim 6, OHNUMA teaches the data storage device of Claim 1 as discussed above but fails to explicitly teach that the pivot boss shaft has a higher coefficient of thermal expansion than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the pivot shaft.
In an analogous art, McGinlay teaches wherein the pivot boss shaft has a higher coefficient of thermal expansion than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the pivot shaft (Col. 2 lines 2-13 i.e., This thermal compensation system uses different materials with different coefficients of thermal expansion for various components of the positioning mechanism for the read-write head used in the disk drive system.; Col. 4 lines 50-56 i.e., The pivot shaft, head support arm and metal band are formed of a third material…. These first, second and third materials have different coefficients of thermal expansion.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to try the thermal compensation system by McGinlay in an attempt to provide an improved coefficients of thermal expansion for various components, as person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. In turn, because the coefficient of thermal expansion as claimed has the properties predicted by the prior art, it would have been obvious to make the pivot boss shaft has a higher coefficient of thermal expansion than the coefficient of thermal expansion of the pivot shaft before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Resh U.S. Patent Number US10192575B1(hereinafter Resh) in view of OHNUMA.
Regarding Claim 7, Resh discloses a hard disk drive (HDD) enclosure base comprising: a hollow pivot boss shaft (Fig. 3b, "deck 332" and "bottom shafts 324, 326" ; Col. 3 lines 37-46 i.e., "deck 332" and "shafts 324 , 326") comprising: a proximal top opening configured (Fig. 3b, top of 324; Col. 3 lines 37-46 i.e., shafts 324) to receive a threaded fastener (Fig. 3b i.e., screw 336 ; Col. 3 lines 37-46 i.e., screw 336); and a distal end opposing the proximal top (Fig. 3b, bottom of the screw 336, i.e., the space receiving the tip of the screw 336; Col. 3 lines 37-46 i.e., screw 336) opening and forming a pivot boss shaft length defined as the distance between the proximal top and the distal end (Fig. 3b i.e., screw 336, The length from the top of the element 324 to the bottom of the space configured to receive the tip of the screw ; Col. 3 lines 37-46 i.e., screw 336) but fails to explicitly disclose an internal threaded portion within the shaft.
In an analogous art, OHNUMA teaches an internal threaded portion within the shaft (Fig. 5 i.e., female thread part 34 a; para. [0059] i.e., female thread part 34 a ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the internal threaded portion to the shaft as taught by OHNUMA in order to securely fasten the screw and improve the structural rigidity of the pivot assembly bearing apparatus (OHNUMA, para. 59).
Resh further discloses the internal threaded portion having a center positioned at 64% or more of the pivot boss shaft length (Fig. 3b, bottom of the screw 336; Col. 3 lines 37-46 i.e., screw 336).
Regarding Claim 8, Resh modified by OHNUMA teaches the HDD enclosure base of Claim 7 as discussed above. Resh further teaches the pivot boss shaft further comprises a counterbore extending from the threaded portion toward the distal end (Fig. 3b, bottom of the screw 336, i.e., the space receiving the tip of the screw 336; Col. 3 lines 37-46 i.e., screw 336).
Regarding Claim 9, Resh modified by OHNUMA teaches the HDD enclosure base of Claim 7 as discussed above. Resh further teaches the pivot boss shaft is formed as an integral part with the enclosure base (Fig. 3b, "deck 332"; Col. 3 lines 37-46 i.e., deck 332).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHELLE J. KIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2688
/STEVEN LIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2688