DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gopinath et al. (US 20200294659) herein after Gopinath ‘659, cited previously, in view of Gopinath (US 20210085275), herein after Gopinath ‘275.
Regarding claim 15, Gopinath ‘659 discloses determining a position of interest for performing a medical procedure (Section 0105), the method comprising: obtaining extravascular imaging data for a portion of a blood vessel (Figs. 3C, 4B, section 0105, angiography); obtaining intravascular imaging data for the same portion of the blood vessel (section 0105,); co-registering the intravascular imaging data with the extravascular imaging data to generate co-registered image data (Section 0105, co-registering); determining a desired implantation location LZ for implanting a stent based on the intravascular imaging data (Fig. 3C, section 0105);
However, Gopinath ‘659 does not specifically disclose displaying the position of interest in a live fluoroscopy image on a live fluoroscopy session display based on the co-registered image data, wherein the co-registering comprises: detecting anatomical landmarks in the intravascular imaging data obtained during translation of an intravascular imaging element through the portion of the blood vessel; marking predicted locations of the anatomical landmarks on the extravascular imaging data; and aligning the predicted locations of with corresponding visualized anatomical landmarks shown in an extravascular contrast image on the extravascular imaging data. Gopinath ‘275 discloses displaying the position of interest 812, 814, 816 in a live fluoroscopy image 810 on a live fluoroscopy session display based on the co-registered image data (Fig. 8, section 0078), wherein the co-registering comprises: detecting anatomical landmarks in the intravascular imaging data obtained during translation of an intravascular imaging element through the portion of the blood vessel (section 0033); marking predicted locations of the anatomical landmarks on the extravascular imaging data; and aligning the predicted locations of with corresponding visualized anatomical landmarks shown in an extravascular contrast image (section 0033) on the extravascular imaging data (Section 0028, intravascular markers and intravascular image data or parameters to be overlaid with or co-registered with live fluoroscopy. Stent detection, stent expansion, side branches, and other image data detected based on collected intravascular datasets can be linked to or displayed relative to live fluoroscopy images and angiography images as a result of the co-registration between and among the three image datasets). This allows for proper and accurate placement of stent planning markers on from OCT-Angiographic images on live fluoroscopy feed and help reduce geographic miss by ensuring physicians target the region they had planned to address. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the device of Gopinath ‘659 by adding displaying the position of interest in a live fluoroscopy image on a live fluoroscopy session display as taught by Gopinath ‘275 in order to facilitate proper and accurate placement of stent planning markers on from OCT-Angiographic images on live fluoroscopy feed and help reduce geographic miss by ensuring physicians target the region they had planned to address.
Regarding claim 16, Gopinath ‘659 discloses the medical procedure comprises implanting a stent (Figs. 4B-C, section 0105, an angiography image that has been co-registered with an OCT image such that an existing deployed stent DST is shown and two landing zones LZ1, LZ2 selecting during stent planning workflow or another work flow are displayed on the angiography image although originated from an workflow interface in which intravascular or other image data was used to select and plan stent deployment).
Regarding claim 17, Gopinath ‘659 discloses displaying the position of interest on a live fluoroscopy display comprises displaying a distal marker indicating a target location for a distal end of the stent (Figs. 4B-C, section 0060, 0105, an angiography image that has been co-registered with an OCT image such that an existing deployed stent DST is shown and two landing zones LZ1, LZ2 selecting during stent planning workflow or another work flow are displayed on the angiography image although originated from an workflow interface in which intravascular or other image data was used to select and plan stent deployment).
Regarding claim 18, Gopinath ‘659 discloses displaying the position of interest on a live fluoroscopy display further comprises displaying a proximal marker indicating a target location for a proximal end of the stent (Figs. 4B-C, section 0060, 0105, an angiography image that has been co-registered with an OCT image such that an existing deployed stent DST is shown and two landing zones LZ1, LZ2 selecting during stent planning workflow or another work flow are displayed on the angiography image although originated from an workflow interface in which intravascular or other image data was used to select and plan stent deployment).
Regarding claim 19, Gopinath ‘659 discloses determining a position of interest for performing a medical procedure (Section 0105), the method comprising: obtaining extravascular imaging data for a portion of a blood vessel (Figs. 3C, 4B, section 0105, angiography); obtaining intravascular imaging data for the same portion of the blood vessel (section 0105,); co-registering the intravascular imaging data with the extravascular imaging data to generate co-registered image data (Section 0105, co-registering); determining a desired implantation location LZ for implanting a stent based on the intravascular imaging data (Fig. 3C, section 0105);
However, Gopinath ‘659 does not specifically disclose displaying the position of interest in a live fluoroscopy image on a live fluoroscopy session display based on the co-registered image data, wherein the co-registering comprises: detecting anatomical landmarks in the intravascular imaging data obtained during translation of an intravascular imaging element through the portion of the blood vessel; marking predicted locations of the anatomical landmarks on the extravascular imaging data; and aligning the predicted locations of with corresponding visualized anatomical landmarks shown in an extravascular contrast image on the extravascular imaging data. Gopinath ‘275 discloses displaying the position of interest 812, 814, 816 in a live fluoroscopy image 810 on a live fluoroscopy session display based on the co-registered image data (Fig. 8, section 0078), wherein the co-registering comprises: detecting anatomical landmarks in the intravascular imaging data obtained during translation of an intravascular imaging element through the portion of the blood vessel (section 0033); marking predicted locations of the anatomical landmarks on the extravascular imaging data; and aligning the predicted locations of with corresponding visualized anatomical landmarks shown in an extravascular contrast image (section 0033) on the extravascular imaging data (Section 0028, intravascular markers and intravascular image data or parameters to be overlaid with or co-registered with live fluoroscopy. Stent detection, stent expansion, side branches, and other image data detected based on collected intravascular datasets can be linked to or displayed relative to live fluoroscopy images and angiography images as a result of the co-registration between and among the three image datasets). This allows for proper and accurate placement of stent planning markers on from OCT-Angiographic images on live fluoroscopy feed and help reduce geographic miss by ensuring physicians target the region they had planned to address. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the device of Gopinath ‘659 by adding displaying the position of interest in a live fluoroscopy image on a live fluoroscopy session display as taught by Gopinath ‘275 in order to facilitate proper and accurate placement of stent planning markers on from OCT-Angiographic images on live fluoroscopy feed and help reduce geographic miss by ensuring physicians target the region they had planned to address.
Regarding claim 20, Gopinath ‘659 discloses displaying the desired stent implantation location comprises displaying one or more of a distal marker indicating a target location for a distal end of the stent and a proximal marker indicating a target location for a proximal end of the stent (Figs. 4B-C, section 0060, 0105, an angiography image that has been co-registered with an OCT image such that an existing deployed stent DST is shown and two landing zones LZ1, LZ2 selecting during stent planning workflow or another work flow are displayed on the angiography image although originated from an workflow interface in which intravascular or other image data was used to select and plan stent deployment).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner finds that Gopinath ‘659 in view of Gopinath ‘275 , specfically Gopinath ‘275 discloses displaying the position of interest 812, 814, 816 in a live fluoroscopy image 810 on a live fluoroscopy session display based on the co-registered image data (Fig. 8, section 0078), wherein the co-registering comprises: detecting anatomical landmarks in the intravascular imaging data obtained during translation of an intravascular imaging element through the portion of the blood vessel (section 0033); marking predicted locations of the anatomical landmarks on the extravascular imaging data; and aligning the predicted locations of with corresponding visualized anatomical landmarks shown in an extravascular contrast image (section 0033) on the extravascular imaging data (Section 0028, intravascular markers and intravascular image data or parameters to be overlaid with or co-registered with live fluoroscopy. Stent detection, stent expansion, side branches, and other image data detected based on collected intravascular datasets can be linked to or displayed relative to live fluoroscopy images and angiography images as a result of the co-registration between and among the three image datasets). This allows for proper and accurate placement of stent planning markers on from OCT-Angiographic images on live fluoroscopy feed and help reduce geographic miss by ensuring physicians target the region they had planned to address. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to modify the device of Gopinath ‘659 by adding displaying the position of interest in a live fluoroscopy image on a live fluoroscopy session display as taught by Gopinath ‘275 in order to facilitate proper and accurate placement of stent planning markers on from OCT-Angiographic images on live fluoroscopy feed and help reduce geographic miss by ensuring physicians target the region they had planned to address.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796