DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 8-9 of the Remarks, Applicant argues that neither Schmidt nor Chang discloses “wherein the alternating electric field is applied to the subject’s body through electrodes positioned on the subject’s skin,” and that there would not be any motivation to modify the electrode configuration of Schmidt to be positioned on a subject’s skin as it would change the principle of operation according to Schmidt.
Examiner points to paragraphs [0015] and [0104] of Chang which teach ‘a set of electrodes configured for affixation to the subject’s body’ in paragraph [0015] and further specify the positioning electrodes on the subject’s skin in paragraph [0104].
Examiner agrees with Applicant that, absent some additional teaching, suggestion, or motivation, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify the system of Schmidt by affixing the electrodes to a subject’s skin, nor does Schmidt disclose an embodiment where the electrodes are located externally to the patient. However, Chang discloses these features, see new grounds of rejection as necessitated by the amended claims below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 07/20/2023 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-12, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al (US 20200254242 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches a method to treat a target region of a subject's body with an alternating electric field (see [abstract]; using alternating electric fields to increase permeability of cell membrane for the delivery of therapy), the method comprising:
applying the alternating electric field to the target region of the subject's body at a first frequency while increasing an intensity of the alternating electric field from zero to a target intensity (see [0010]; the alternating electric field has a field strength of at least 1 V/cm RMS, it can be appreciated that in order to reach a target intensity, the intensity of the field must start at zero),
wherein the alternating electric field is applied to the subject's body through electrodes positioned on the subject's skin (see [0015]; a set of electrodes configured for affixation to the subject’s body, [0104]; positioning electrodes on the subject’s skin); and
changing the frequency of the alternating electric field from the first frequency to a target frequency (see [0008-0009]; application of a first alternating field at a first frequency, the first frequency may be between 250kHz and 350kHz, at a first period of time) while maintaining the alternating electric field at the target intensity (see [0114]; in vivo experiment where cells were subjected to an alternating electric field with a field strength of 1.62 V/cm EMS at different frequencies),
wherein the target frequency and the target intensity have a known efficacy for treating the target region of the subject's body with the alternating electric field (see [0008-0009]; application of a second alternating electric field at a second frequency, at a second period of time, wherein the second alternating electric field reduces viability of cancer cells); and
wherein the first frequency is greater than the target frequency (see [0016]; the first frequency is between 250 kHz and 350 kHz, and the second frequency is between 150 kHz and 250 kHz).
Regarding claim 8, Chang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: after a first period of time, halting application of the alternating electric field to complete a first duty cycle of the alternating electric field (see [0014-0017]; the alternating field is applied for an interval of time where the interval of time is at least 12 hours);
applying one or more subsequent duty cycles of the alternating electric field, each subsequent duty cycle following a similar pattern of intensities and frequencies as the first duty cycle (see [0014-0016]; the controller is programmed to switch the control input back and forth between the first state and the second state).
Regarding claim 9, Chang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the target frequency is approximately 50 kHz to approximately 500 kHz (see [0016]; the second frequency is between 150 kHz and 250 kHz).
Regarding claim 10, Chang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first frequency is at least approximately 10 kHz higher than the target frequency (see Chang [0016]; the first frequency is between 250 kHz and 350 kHz, and the second frequency is between 150 kHz and 250 kHz, therefore having a first frequency at least approximately 10 kHz higher than the target).
Regarding claim 11, Chang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the target intensity is approximately 0.1 V/cm to approximately 10.0 V/cm (see [0007]; the alternating field may have a field strength between 1 and 4 V/cm).
Regarding claim 12, Chang teaches an apparatus for treating a target region of a subject's body with an alternating electric field (see [0014]; an apparatus for treating a tumor in a subject’s body), the apparatus comprising:
a first pair of transducers configured to be positioned on the subject's skin to apply a first alternating electric field to a target region of the subject's body (see [0015]; a set of electrodes configured for affixation to the subject’s body, [0105]; for example, if the target cells are located in the subject’s lungs, one pair of electrodes could be positioned on the front and back of the subject’s thorax);
a voltage generator coupled to the first pair of transducers and capable of providing a first voltage to the first pair of transducers for applying the first alternating electric field (see [0014-0015]; an AC voltage generator connected to a set of electrodes to apply an electric field to the target tissue); and
a controller coupled to the voltage generator (see [0014]; the apparatus comprising a controller), the controller comprising one or more processors and memory accessible by the one or more processors, the memory storing instructions that when executed by the one or more processors, cause the controller to instruct the voltage generator to generate the first voltage according to a first waveform (see [0014-0017]; the controller is configured to output a first or second frequency based on the control input to the control module and the programmed instructions) having:
an initial ramp-up period during which an amplitude of the first waveform increases from zero to a target amplitude while a frequency of the first waveform is at a first frequency (see [0010]; the alternating electric field has a field strength of at least 1 V/cm RMS, it can be appreciated that in order to reach a target intensity, the intensity of the field must start at zero); and
a sustained intensity period (see [0114]; in vivo experiment where cells were subjected to an alternating electric field with a field strength of 1.62 V/cm EMS at different frequencies) during which the frequency of the first waveform changes to a target frequency lower than the first frequency while the amplitude of the first waveform remains at the target amplitude (see [0016]; the first frequency is between 250 kHz and 350 kHz, and the second frequency is between 150 kHz and 250 kHz).
Regarding claim 19, Chang teaches the apparatus of claim 12, wherein the voltage generator (see [0014-0015]; AC voltage generator) is coupled to the first pair of transducers (see [0014-0015]; a set of electrodes coupled to the AC voltage generator) and capable of providing a third voltage to the first pair of transducers for applying a third alternating electric field to a target region of the subject's body (see [0014-0017]; the AC voltage generator is capable of operating at at least one additional frequency when the control input is in at least one additional state), and
the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the controller to instruct the voltage generator to generate the third voltage (see [0123]; the AC voltage generator may be configured to output one or more additional frequencies based on a signal from the control input) according to a second waveform having:
an initial ramp-up period during which an amplitude of the second waveform increases from zero to the target amplitude (see [0010]; the alternating electric field has a field strength of at least 1 V/cm RMS, it can be appreciated that in order to reach a target intensity, the intensity of the field must start at zero); while a frequency of the second waveform is at a frequency lower than the first frequency (see [0016]; the first frequency is between 250 kHz and 350 kHz, and the second frequency is between 150 kHz and 250 kHz); and
a sustained intensity period during which the frequency of the second waveform is at the target frequency while the amplitude of the second waveform remains at the target amplitude (see [0114]; in vivo experiment where cells were subjected to an alternating electric field with a field strength of 1.62 V/cm EMS at different frequencies).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 7, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20200254242 A1) in view of Schmidt et al (US 20190117973 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Chang teaches the method of claim 1. Chang is silent regarding wherein changing the frequency of the alternating electric field is performed gradually over a period of time during application of the alternating electric field.
Schmidt teaches a method for treating cancerous tumors (Schmidt [0006]), via the implementation of an alternating electric field to a targeted area (Schmidt [0121]), wherein changing the frequency of the alternating electric field is performed gradually over a period of time during application of the alternating electric field (see Schmidt Fig. 15, [0120, 0122]; plot 1502 shown sweeping through a range of frequencies gradually).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alternating electric field as taught by Chang with the gradual change of frequencies as taught by Schmidt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to seamlessly transition from a first frequency to a second frequency via sweeping through the frequency ranges, wherein the sweeping may be performed indefinitely (Schmidt [0122]). It can also be appreciated that in the scenario of transitioning from one frequency to a second frequency, there are only a limited number of ways to get from one to the other (e.g. instantaneous, gradual, stepwise), so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try the gradual approach of the present claim, having a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Regarding claim 7, Chang and Schmidt teach the method of claim 6. Chang further teaches wherein: the alternating electric field is applied using a voltage generated according to an AC voltage waveform (see Chang [0014]; AC voltage generator capable of applying electric field to target area according to control program). Chang is silent regarding changing the frequency of the alternating electric field is performed in a stepwise manner with each shift happening at a different zero crossing of the AC voltage waveform.
Schmidt teaches wherein the alternating electric field is applied using a voltage generated according to an AC voltage waveform (see Schmidt Fig. 15, [0122]; alternating electric field, AC voltage waveform 1502), and
changing the frequency of the alternating electric field is performed in a stepwise manner with each shift happening at a different zero crossing of the AC voltage waveform (see Schmidt [0120]; stepping through one or more frequencies sequentially).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alternating electric field as taught by Chang with the stepwise transition between frequencies as taught by Schmidt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to sequentially transition from one frequency to the next (Schmidt [0120]). It can also be appreciated that in the scenario of transitioning from one frequency to a second frequency, there are only a limited number of ways to get from one to the other (e.g. instantaneous, gradual, stepwise), so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try the stepwise approach of the present claim, having a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Regarding claim 17, Chang teaches the apparatus of claim 12. Chang is silent regarding wherein the frequency of the first waveform changes gradually from the first frequency to the target frequency.
Schmidt further teaches wherein the frequency of the first waveform changes gradually from the first frequency to the target frequency (see Schmidt Fig. 15, [0120, 0122]; plot 1502 shown sweeping through a range of frequencies gradually).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alternating electric field as taught by Chang with the gradual change of frequencies as taught by Schmidt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to seamlessly transition from a first frequency to a second frequency via sweeping through the frequency ranges, wherein the sweeping may be performed indefinitely (Schmidt [0122]). It can also be appreciated that in the scenario of transitioning from one frequency to a second frequency, there are only a limited number of ways to get from one to the other (e.g. instantaneous, gradual, stepwise), so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try the gradual approach of the present claim, having a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Regarding claim 18, Chang and Schmidt teach the apparatus of claim 17. Chang is silent regarding wherein the frequency of the first waveform changes in a stepwise manner with each shift happening at a different zero crossing of the first waveform.
Schmidt teaches wherein the frequency of the first waveform changes in a stepwise manner with each shift happening at a different zero crossing of the first waveform (see Schmidt [0120]; stepping through one or more frequencies sequentially).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the alternating electric field as taught by Chang with the stepwise transition between frequencies as taught by Schmidt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to sequentially transition from one frequency to the next (Schmidt [0120]). It can also be appreciated that in the scenario of transitioning from one frequency to a second frequency, there are only a limited number of ways to get from one to the other (e.g. instantaneous, gradual, stepwise), so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try the stepwise approach of the present claim, having a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143(I)(E).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20200254242 A1) in view of Giladi et al (US 20170281934 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Chang teaches the method of claim 1. They are silent regarding wherein changing the frequency of the alternating electric field is performed instantly at one time during application of the alternating electric field.
However, Giladi teaches a system for treating cancer cells in a target region by imposing an alternating electric field (Giladi [Abstract]) wherein changing the frequency of the alternating electric field is performed instantly at one time during application of the alternating electric field (see Giladi Fig. 8, [0047]; the electric field has two frequencies, anti-mitosis and anti-motility, that are switched between instantaneously at each time t0, t1, t2, etc).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of delivering an alternating electric field by instantaneously changing frequencies as taught by Giladi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have two distinct phases of the alternating electric fields having different effects on the target region, in this case an anti-mitosis phase and an anti-mobility phase that are mutually exclusive with respect to time (Giladi [0057]).
Regarding claim 4, Chang teaches the method of claim 1. They are silent regarding wherein changing the frequency of the alternating electric field is performed in less than a period of 200 ms. Giladi teaches an instantaneous changing of the frequencies (see Giladi Fig. 8, [0047]; the electric field has two frequencies, anti-mitosis and anti-motility, that are switched between instantaneously at each time t0, t1, t2, etc), but is also silent regarding the period of change being less than 200ms.
However, it can be appreciated that the general conditions of the claim, changing the frequencies of an alternating electric field in a near-instantaneous time period, were disclosed in the prior art of Giladi. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the frequencies in a period less than 200ms, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 13, Chang teaches the apparatus of claim 12. They are silent regarding wherein the frequency of the first waveform changes instantly from the first frequency to the target frequency.
However, Giladi teaches wherein the frequency of the first waveform changes instantly from the first frequency to the target frequency (see Giladi Fig. 8, [0047]; the electric field has two frequencies, anti-mitosis and anti-motility, that are switched between instantaneously at each time t0, t1, t2, etc).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of delivering an alternating electric field by instantaneously changing frequencies as taught by Giladi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to have two distinct phases of the alternating electric fields having different effects on the target region, in this case an anti-mitosis phase and an anti-mobility phase that are mutually exclusive with respect to time (Giladi [0057]).
Regarding claim 15, Chang teaches the apparatus of claim 12. The are silent regarding wherein the frequency of the first waveform changes from the first frequency to the target frequency in less than 200 ms. Giladi teaches an instantaneous changing of the frequencies (see Giladi Fig. 8, [0047]; the electric field has two frequencies, anti-mitosis and anti-motility, that are switched between instantaneously at each time t0, t1, t2, etc), but is also silent regarding the period of change being less than 200ms.
However, it can be appreciated that the general conditions of the claim, changing the frequencies of an alternating electric field in a near-instantaneous time period, were disclosed in the prior art of Giladi. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change the frequencies in a period less than 200ms, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 3, 5, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20200254242 A1) in view of Giladi et al (US 20170281934 A1) and Goldwasser et al (US 20170224990 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 5, Chang and Giladi teach the method of claims 2 and 4 wherein the alternating electric field is applied using a voltage generated according to an AC voltage waveform (see Chang [0014]; AC voltage generator).
They are silent regarding changing the frequency of the alternating electric field is performed at a time corresponding to a zero crossing of the AC voltage waveform.
However, Goldwasser teaches a system for electrical stimulation via an alternating electric field (Goldwasser [0020]), wherein the modulation of the parameters including frequency are modified in order to reduce discomfort to the patient (Goldwasser [1024]). It can therefore be appreciated that, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the frequency of the alternating electric field at the time in which the least amount of discomfort or shock was felt by the patient. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, wherein Goldwasser specifies the modulation of waveform frequency to allow habituation to reduce irritation or discomfort (Goldwasser [1019]), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claims 14 and 16, Chang and Giladi teach the apparatus of claims 12 and 15. They are silent regarding wherein the frequency of the first waveform changes at a zero crossing of the first waveform.
However, Goldwasser teaches a system for electrical stimulation via an alternating electric field (Goldwasser [0020]), wherein the modulation of the parameters including frequency are modified in order to reduce discomfort to the patient (Goldwasser [1024]). It can therefore be appreciated that, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the frequency of the alternating electric field at the time in which the least amount of discomfort or shock was felt by the patient. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, wherein Goldwasser specifies the modulation of waveform frequency to allow habituation to reduce irritation or discomfort (Goldwasser [1019]), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 20200254242 A1) in view of Goldwasser et al (US 20170224990 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Chang teaches a method to treat a target region of a subject's body with an alternating electric field (see Chang [abstract]; using alternating electric fields to increase permeability of cell membrane for the delivery of therapy), the method comprising:
applying the alternating electric field to the target region of the subject's body at a frequency and an intensity, wherein the frequency is a first frequency, wherein the intensity is a first intensity (see [0006-0008]; an alternating electric field may be applied to a target cell, wherein the target cell may be a glioblastoma cell, at a first frequency and strength); and
wherein the alternating electric field is applied to the subject's body through electrodes positioned on the subject's skin (see [0015]; a set of electrodes configured for affixation to the subject’s body, [0104]; positioning electrodes on the subject’s skin);
having a first frequency and a target frequency wherein the first frequency is greater than the target frequency (see Chang [0016]; the first frequency is between 250 kHz and 350 kHz, and the second frequency is between 150 kHz and 250 kHz, the second frequency being regarded as the target frequency), and the target frequency has known efficacy for treating the target region (see Chang [0008-0009]; the second alternating field reduces the viability of cancer cells) of the subject's body with the alternating electric field.
Chang is silent regarding the applying the alternating field and increasing the intensity from a first intensity to a target intensity, wherein the first intensity is lesser than the target intensity, and the target intensity has a known efficacy for treating the target region of the subject's body with the alternating electric field.
Goldwasser teaches a system for electrical stimulation via an alternating electric field (Goldwasser [0020]), applying the alternating field and increasing the intensity from a first intensity to a target intensity, wherein the first intensity is lesser than the target intensity (see Goldwasser [0250]; waveform amplitude may be ramped, for the delivery of a new set of waveform properties), and the target intensity has a known efficacy for treating the target region (see Goldwasser [1019]; the ensemble waveforms delivered may minimize pain and irritation for a patient) of the subject's body with the alternating electric field.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Chang’s method of delivering an alternating electric field having a first frequency, first intensity, and target frequency, with and the first and target intensities of Goldwasser. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select the frequencies as taught by Chang in order to first increase the permeability of the cancerous cell membranes with the first frequency and then reduce the viability of the cancer cells with the second, target frequency (Chang [0008]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select the intensities as taught by Goldwasser in order to allow for habituation to the electrical field which may reduce irritation and discomfort felt by the subject (Goldwasser [1024]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/Benjamin J Klein/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792