DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 8/14/2026 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 1-15 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 2 and 3, of which are dependent upon claim 1, both recite the limitation of “the active end of the one or more massaging points”. However, the only “active end” that has been introduced in the preceding claims refer to the active end as being a part of the lug (see line 18 of claim 1). Therefore, it is unclear if the “active end” of claims 2 and 3 are referring to the overall massaging points, or the active end of the lug, as stated in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamasaki (4,947,833); or alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (4,947,833) in view of Cohen (US 2016/0338901 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamasaki discloses an adjustable physical therapy device (bed-type massaging apparatus comprising rollers which may be adjusted and/or moved transversely along the frame, Abstract and Figure 1), comprising: a massaging frame (bed-type massaging apparatus comprising an elongated frame, Abstract and Figure 1); massaging points (massaging rollers 7, Col. 2 lines 46-50 and Figure 1); wherein the massaging frame comprises: vertical support arms (vertical parallel rails 2, Col. 2 lines 14-15 and Figures 1-3); horizontal support arms (horizontal rollers 7 supported by an intermediate shaft of each translational carriage 8, Col. 2 lines 54-60 and Figures 1-3); the vertical support arms are positioned parallel to each other (vertical parallel rails 2, Col. 2 lines 14-15 and Figures 1-3); the horizontal support arms are slidably coupled to the vertical support arms (the horizontal, intermediate shafts supporting the rollers 7 within the carriages 8 are movably supported for displacement longitudinally along the vertical side rails 2, Col. 2 lines 54-65 and Figures 1-3); and the massaging points are each slidably coupled to and protrude from one of the horizontal support arms in a manner to press against a user when the user is positioned against the massaging frame (the rollers 7 are capable of rollingly contacting and massaging the muscles of the back, the wait, the legs of the user, Col. 3 lines 51-57 and Figures 1-3); each comprise a knob affixed to lug (see massaging rollers 7 comprising a knob affixed to lug, Annotated Figure 3 below, similarly to the arrangement as shown in Applicant’s Figure 3); the lug selectively screws into a channel nut that is slidably positioned within one of the horizontal support arms (the lug as is screwed into the support 9 which are movably supported for displacement longitudinally along the vertical side rails 2, Col. 2 lines 54-65 and Figures 1-3), the lug includes an active end protruding therefore and positioned opposite the channel nut; and the active end is structurally oblong, oval or polygonal (see lug as shown in Annotated Figure 3 below as having an end that is oblong and oval).
Annotated Figure 3
However, should there be any doubt Yamasaki teaches the knob structure as recited above, Cohen teaches a massaging board assembly (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a massaging frame assembly comprising massaging points (massaging board 13 comprising massager balls 30, Figure 2 and Paragraph 0065) wherein each massaging point comprises a knob affixed to lug (knob 30 affixed to holder 16, Figure 11); the lug selectively screws into a channel nut that is slidably positioned within one of the horizontal support arms (the holder 16 screws into nut 34, such that the assembly is slidably positioned within support arms 14, Paragraph 0078, Figure 8 and Figure 11), the lug includes an active end protruding therefore and positioned opposite the channel nut; and the active end is structurally oblong, oval or polygonal (see holder 16 having a structurally oblong end, Figure 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device by including a knob, lug and channel nut connecting mechanism to each massaging point, as taught by Cohen, as providing such additional connecting components may provide a more secure connection between the massaging points and the horizontal supports.
Regarding claim 4, Yamasaki further discloses wherein the vertical support arms each comprise a wheel (see vertical rails 2 each comprising a wheel 5, Figure 2 and Col. 2 lines 33-35); the wheel is rotatably coupled to the vertical support arm opposite the horizontal support arms (wheels 5 rotatably coupled to side rails 2 and opposite horizontal rollers 7, Figure 2 and Col. 2 lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 5, Yamasaki further discloses further comprising: a support structure (bed 1 covering, Figure 1 and Col. 3 lines 59-62); wherein the support structure is vertically or horizontally oriented (bed 1 is oriented both vertically and horizontally over the rollers and frame, Col. 3 lines 59-62); the massaging frame is coupled to the support structure (bed 1 is secured relative to the frame, Col. 3 lines 59-62).
Regarding claim 6, Yamasaki teaches the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 1, and although Yamasaki further teaches a support structure in the form of a bed covering (bed 1 covering, Figure 1 and Col. 3 lines 59-62), Yamasaki doesn’t explicitly state a support structure, pair of parallel tracks: wherein the support structure is vertically or horizontally oriented; the parallel tracks are affixed to the support structure, the massaging frame slidably traverses the parallel tracks.
However, Cohen teaches a massaging board assembly (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a massaging frame assembly comprising massaging points (massaging board 13 comprising massager balls 30, Figure 2 and Paragraph 0065) and a vertically oriented support structure comprising a pair of parallel tracks (massaging board is secured to a stand assembly comprising two vertical parallel stand legs 18, tube 19, and metal feet 20, Paragraphs 0065-0066 and Figure 5) wherein the massaging frame slidably traverses the parallel tracks (see Figure 6 showing massaging board 13 slidably engaging with the vertical pair of strand legs 18).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that it includes a supporting structure comprising a pair of parallel tracks, such that the massaging frame slidably engages with the tracks, as taught by Cohen, as providing such a supporting structure for which the massaging frame may engage with allows for the overall assembly to be used in either a horizontal or vertical orientation, as well as making the overall assembly more portable for the user.
Regarding claim 7, Yamasaki in view of Cohen teach the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 6, with Cohen further teaching wherein the support structure is configured to be affixed to a vertical structure; and the vertical structure comprises a wall, a door, and/or a support frame (the support stand comprising mounting brackets 15 allow the device to be coupled to surfaces such as a door or wall, Paragraph 0070 and Figure 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that it includes a supporting structure configured to be affixed to a vertical structure such as a wall or a door, as further taught by Cohen, as providing such a supporting structure configured to affix to a vertical structure such as a wall or a door allows for the overall assembly to be more portable for the user and used in various locations.
Regarding claim 9, Yamasaki in view of Cohen teach the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 6, with Cohen further teaching secondary support beams (see secondary support beams 20 of supporting stand assembly, Figure 5); wherein each secondary support beam is rotatably affixed to a bottom of the support structure proximate to one of the parallel tracks (beams 20 comprise knobs 21 configured to rotate/incline the massaging board 13, therefore rotatably affixed to the bottom of the support structure and proximate to the vertical tracks 18, Figure 5 and Paragraph 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that it comprises secondary support beams rotatably affixed to the bottom of the supporting structure, as further taught by Cohen, as providing such rotatable supporting beams allows for the massaging frame assembly to be adjusted and/or inclined according to the user’s preference.
Regarding claim 10, Yamasaki in view of Cohen teach the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 9, with Cohen further teaching further comprising: a folded state; an unfolded state; wherein in the folded state, the secondary support beams are oriented parallel and positioned proximate to the parallel tracks; and in the unfolded state, the secondary support beams are oriented orthogonal to and are rotated away from the parallel tracks (beams 20 comprise knobs 21 configured to rotate/incline the massaging board 13, therefore rotatably affixed to the bottom of the support structure and proximate to the vertical tracks 18, therefore fully capable of configuring the massaging board 13 and stand assembly in a folded or unfolded state, Figure 5 and Paragraph 0066; see also Figures 8-9 of Yamasaki teaching a folded and unfolded state of the massaging assembly).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that it includes secondary beams configured to place the assembly in a folded and unfolded state, as taught by Cohen, as this would allow the device to be easily stored away while not in use.
Regarding claim 11, Yamasaki in view of Cohen teach the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 10, with Cohen further teaching footrest selectively coupled to the secondary support beams (see bottom beam 20 in Figure 5 configured to be placed near user’s foot); wherein the footrest comprising: a panel; parallel supports; the panel is selectably and rotatably affixed to parallel supports (bottom beam 20 comprising a panel top surface rotatably affixed to vertical legs 18 via adjustable knob 21, Paragraph 0067).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (4,947,833) in view of Bove (6,065,210).
Regarding claim 2, Yamasaki teaches the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 1, however is silent wherein the active end of one or more of the massaging points comprises a magnet.
However, Bove teaches a back massager apparatus (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising massaging points (massaging rollers 20, Figure 2 and Col. 4 lines 25-27) wherein the massaging points comprise a magnet positioned on its end (magnets 50 may be fitted into the groove 44 of the roller 20, to thereby impart magnetic fields from the rollers 20, Col. 4 lines 58-67 and Figures 2-3). The Examiner also notes the 112b rejection present above for this particular limitation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that each massaging point includes a magnet, as taught by Bove, as providing a magnetic structure to therefore impart magnetic field stimulation to the user, as the use of magnetic fields may provide additional and/or supplemental therapeutic and restorative treatments to various limbs, organs, and other parts of the body (Col. 1 lines 15-20 of Bove).
Claim(s) 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (4,947,833) in view of McCrae (US 2007/0075109 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yamasaki teaches the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 1, however is silent wherein the active end of one or more of the massaging points comprises an electrified end configured to provide pulsed electromagnetic field therapy.
However, McCrae teaches a therapeutic backpack massaging assembly (Abstract and Figure 1) wherein one or more of the massaging points comprises an electrified end configured to provide electromagnetic field therapy to the user (electromagnetic elements 24 configured as a series of electrical leads or contacts, Figure 4 and Paragraph 0046). The Examiner also notes the 112b rejection present above for this particular limitation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that each massaging point includes an electrified end configured to provide electromagnetic field therapy, as taught by McCrae, as providing electromagnetic stimulation to the user, in addition to the massaging action, would therefore provide a supplemental therapeutic effect to as electromagnetic stimulation aides in alleviating back tightness and discomfort (Paragraph 0013 of McCrae).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (4,947,833) in view of Cohen (US 2016/0338901 A1) and in further view of Trevino, JR. (US 2021/0338522 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yamasaki in view of Cohen teaches the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 6, however is silent on further comprising the support structure comprises a pully system; and the pully system is functionally coupled to the massage frame.
However, Trevino, JR teaches a back massaging apparatus (Abstract and Figure 1), comprising a massaging frame (see massaging frame comprising massaging points 120, Figure 12) comprising a supporting structure (overhead bracket comprising an affixable bracket 600, Paragraph 0052 and Figure 12), wherein the support structure comprises a pulley system, such that the pulley system is functionally coupled to the massaging frame (see pulley 630 system attached to the massager, Figure 12 and Paragraph 0052).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that it comprises a support stricture comprising a pulley system, as taught by Trevino, as using a pulley system to adjust the location of the massaging frame with respect to the support structure, offers several advantages such as obtaining more control of the force applied without the need to press one’s hands against an opposing surface, and avoiding cords or other mechanisms chafing the body as the device is moved up or down (Paragraph 0053 of Trevino).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (4,947,833) in view of Cohen (US 2016/0338901 A1) and in further view of Engel (5,643,182).
Regarding claim 12, Yamasaki in view of Cohen teach the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 11, with Cohen further teaching wherein the massaging frame comprises an adjustable handle (adjustable handle 17 protruding from massaging board 13, Figure 3 and Paragraph 0075) that allows the massaging frame to be selectably positioned along the parallel tracks (see Figure 4 showing handle 17 placement along any of the holes 24 along parallel stand legs), however is silent wherein the adjustable handle comprises: a spring-loaded rod that selectably engages a vertical beam.
However, Engel teaches a massaging apparatus (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a handle (handle portion 35, Figure 1) such that the handle comprises a spring-loaded rob selectively engaging a vertical beam (see handle 35 comprising a spring loaded tension rod 14, Figures 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that it includes an adjustable handle portion comprising a spring loaded rod, as taught by Engel, as providing such a structure would therefore provide more adjustability to the overall device to better suit an individual’s personal preferences.
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki (4,947,833) in view of Cohen (US 2016/0338901 A1), Bove (6,065,210) and in further view of McCrae (US 2007/0075109 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Yamasaki discloses an adjustable physical therapy device (bed-type massaging apparatus comprising rollers which may be adjusted and/or moved transversely along the frame, Abstract and Figure 1), comprising: a massaging frame (bed-type massaging apparatus comprising an elongated frame, Abstract and Figure 1); massaging points (massaging rollers 7, Col. 2 lines 46-50 and Figure 1);; wherein the massaging frame comprises: vertical support arms (vertical parallel rails 2, Col. 2 lines 14-15 and Figures 1-3); horizontal support arms (horizontal rollers 7 supported by an intermediate shaft of each translational carriage 8, Col. 2 lines 54-60 and Figures 1-3); the vertical support arms are positioned parallel to each other (vertical parallel rails 2, Col. 2 lines 14-15 and Figures 1-3); the horizontal support arms are slidably coupled to the vertical support arms (the horizontal, intermediate shafts supporting the rollers 7 within the carriages 8 are movably supported for displacement longitudinally along the vertical side rails 2, Col. 2 lines 54-65 and Figures 1-3); and the massaging points are each slidably coupled to and protrude from one of the horizontal support arms in a manner to press against a user when the user is positioned against the massaging frame (the rollers 7 are capable of rollingly contacting and massaging the muscles of the back, the wait, the legs of the user, Col. 3 lines 51-57 and Figures 1-3); each comprise a knob affixed to lug (see massaging rollers 7 comprising a knob affixed to lug, Annotated Figure 3 above in the claim 1 analysis, similarly to the arrangement as shown in Applicant’s Figure 3); the lug selectively screws into a channel nut that is slidably positioned within one of the horizontal support arms (the lug as is screwed into the support 9 which are movably supported for displacement longitudinally along the vertical side rails 2, Col. 2 lines 54-65 and Figures 1-3), the lug includes an active end protruding therefore and positioned opposite the channel nut; and the active end is structurally oblong, oval or polygonal (see lug as shown in Annotated Figure 3 below as having an end that is oblong and oval).
However, should there be any doubt Yamasaki teaches the knob structure as recited above, Cohen teaches a massaging board assembly (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising a massaging frame assembly comprising massaging points (massaging board 13 comprising massager balls 30, Figure 2 and Paragraph 0065) wherein each massaging point comprises a knob affixed to lug (knob 30 affixed to holder 16, Figure 11); the lug selectively screws into a channel nut that is slidably positioned within one of the horizontal support arms (the holder 16 screws into nut 34, such that the assembly is slidably positioned within support arms 14, Paragraph 0078, Figure 8 and Figure 11), the lug includes an active end protruding therefore and positioned opposite the channel nut; and the active end is structurally oblong, oval or polygonal (see holder 16 having a structurally oblong end, Figure 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device by including a knob, lug and channel nut connecting mechanism to each massaging point, as taught by Cohen, as providing such additional connecting components may provide a more secure connection between the massaging points and the horizontal supports.
Yamasaki is silent on one or more of the massaging points comprises a magnet positioned on an end of the massaging point; and one or more of the massaging points comprises an electrified end configured to provide pulsed electromagnetic field therapy.
However, Bove teaches a back massager apparatus (Abstract and Figure 1) comprising massaging points (massaging rollers 20, Figure 2 and Col. 4 lines 25-27) wherein the massaging points comprise a magnet positioned on its end (magnets 50 may be fitted into the groove 44 of the roller 20, to thereby impart magnetic fields from the rollers 20, Col. 4 lines 58-67 and Figures 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that each massaging point includes a magnet, as taught by Bove, as providing a magnetic structure to therefore impart magnetic field stimulation to the user, as the use of magnetic fields may provide additional and/or supplemental therapeutic and restorative treatments to various limbs, organs, and other parts of the body (Col. 1 lines 15-20 of Bove).
Regarding electromagnetic therapy, McCrae teaches a therapeutic backpack massaging assembly (Abstract and Figure 1) wherein one or more of the massaging points comprises an electrified end configured to provide electromagnetic field therapy to the user (electromagnetic elements 24 configured as a series of electrical leads or contacts, Figure 4 and Paragraph 0046). The Examiner also notes the 112a rejection for this particular claim presented above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Yamasaki’s massaging device such that each massaging point includes an electrified end configured to provide electromagnetic field therapy, as taught by McCrae, as providing electromagnetic stimulation to the user, in addition to the massaging action, would therefore provide a supplemental therapeutic effect to as electromagnetic stimulation aides in alleviating back tightness and discomfort (Paragraph 0013 of McCrae).
Regarding claim 14, Yamasaki in view of Cohen, Bove and McCrae teach the adjustable physical therapy device of claim 13, with Yamasaki further teaching wherein the vertical support arms each comprise a wheel (see vertical rails 2 each comprising a wheel 5, Figure 2 and Col. 2 lines 33-35); the wheel is rotatably coupled to the vertical support arm opposite the horizontal support arms (wheels 5 rotatably coupled to side rails 2 and opposite horizontal rollers 7, Figure 2 and Col. 2 lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 15, Yamasaki further teaches further comprising: a support structure (bed 1 covering, Figure 1 and Col. 3 lines 59-62); wherein the support structure is vertically or horizontally oriented (bed 1 is oriented both vertically and horizontally over the rollers and frame, Col. 3 lines 59-62); the massaging frame is coupled to the support structure (bed 1 is secured relative to the frame, Col. 3 lines 59-62).
Conclusion
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785