9Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Information Disclosure Statement
IDS(es) submitted on 3/8/2024, 4/21/2024, 8/21/2025, 11/28/2025 have been considered.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration filed on 3/30/2023 has been acknowledged.
Drawings
Drawing(s) submitted on 3/30/2023 have been acknowledged.
Examiner’s Remarks
Please update the claim sheet to reflect the non-elected claims 16-20.
Claims 2 and 11 should be amended to clarify the abbreviated feature of GIN IDs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2024/0172093).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Kim discloses a method, comprising:
maintaining a configuration for Standalone Non-Public Network (SNPN) selection by a user equipment (UE), wherein the configuration for SNPN selection comprises a list of SNPN IDs (Fig. 1D; [0045]-[0050]; [0049]: broadcasting a list of supported network IDs for manual network selection);
triggering a manual network selection by a user of the UE ([0050]: user may manually select network);
determining that a first SNPN ID broadcasted by the first SNPN is included the configuration for SNPN selection, wherein the first SNPN ID is associated with validity information ([0045]-[0050], [0046]: indication of support and access credential support; Fig. 1D, 1d-50) ; and
presenting to the user whether corresponding validity criteria associated with the first SNPN are met ([0050]: presenting to user supported networks for selection).
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Kim discloses wherein the configuration for SNPN selection further comprises a list of GIN IDs, the method further comprising:
determining that a GIN ID broadcasted by a second SNPN is included the configuration for SNPN selection, wherein the GIN ID is associated with validity information ([0051]: indicators A and B of each SNPN whether they are supported; [0131]-[0135]: credentials of SNPNs are also provided, [0134]: the BS may provide a GIN list supportable for credential access for each of the SNPN to the UEs); and
presenting to the user whether corresponding validity criteria associated with the GIN ID broadcasted by the second SNPN are met ([0134]: the BS may provide a GIN list supportable for credential access for each of the SNPN to the UEs).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses wherein the validity information comprises at least one of time validity information and location validity information ([0059]-[0061]: using a barring time to determine allowable access).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Jung et al. (US 2023/0075285; hereinafter Jung).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Kim discloses all the particulars of the claims including in [0062]: applying a higher priority to the access in which a service can be provided directly by the BS, but is unclear about wherein the UE presents to the user a higher priority network candidates in front of a lower priority network.
However, Jung does disclose the limitation of wherein the UE presents to the user a higher priority network candidates in front of a lower priority network ([0162], [0164]: a prioritized list of preferred SNPNs based on credentials).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Kim in view of Jung does disclose wherein the higher priority network is an SNPN with an SNPN ID that is associated with corresponding validity criteria that are met ([0162], [0164]: a prioritized list of preferred SNPNs based on credentials).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Kim in view of Jung does disclose wherein the higher priority network is an SNPN broadcasting a GIN ID that is associated with corresponding validity criteria that are met ([0162], [0164]: a prioritized list of preferred SNPNs based on credentials).
Claim(s) 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Prabhakar et al. (US 2021/0211975; hereinafter Prabhakar).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation of wherein an SNPN is authorized when there is no location validity information associated with the SNPN and the time validity information associated with the SNPN matches a current time of the UE.
However, Prabhakar does disclose the limitation of wherein an SNPN is authorized when there is no location validity information associated with the SNPN and the time validity information associated with the SNPN matches a current time of the UE ([0225]: the configuration and subscription of the SNPN would be considered based on location and time period of validity).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Prabhakar’s disclosure to provide correct service subscription based on location and time for access.
Regarding claim 8 Kim discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation of wherein an SNPN is authorized when there is no time validity information associated with the SNPN and the location validity information associated with the SNPN matches a current location of the UE.
However, Prabhakar does disclose the limitation of wherein an SNPN is authorized when there is no time validity information associated with the SNPN and the location validity information associated with the SNPN matches a current location of the UE ([0225]: the configuration and subscription of the SNPN would be considered based on location and time period of validity).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Prabhakar’s disclosure to provide correct service subscription based on location and time for access.
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the limitation of wherein an SNPN is authorized when the time validity information associated with the SNPN matches a current time of the UE and the location validity information associated with the SNPN matches a current location of the UE.
However, Prabhakar does disclose the limitation of of wherein an SNPN is authorized when the time validity information associated with the SNPN matches a current time of the UE and the location validity information associated with the SNPN matches a current location of the UE ([0225]: the configuration and subscription of the SNPN would be considered based on location and time period of validity).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Prabhakar’s disclosure to provide correct service subscription based on location and time for access.
Conclusion
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644