DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the reference Xiao (U.S. Pub. No. 20190268956) fails to show certain features of applicant’s invention (i.e. “transmitting a frame via the first link, wherein the frame comprises a non-inheritance element comprising at least one element identity (ID) with at least one identifier of the second link that is not inherited from the first link”).
Applicant further specifically argued and/or stated that “Xiao actually discloses a non-inheritance element which is to be transmitted on a first link and identifies elements of the first link itself that are not inherited from another link (i.e. the second link).
In contrast, the non-inheritance element as defined in claim 1 is transmitted on a first link, comprises at least one element ID with at least one identifier of the second link that is not inherited from the first link, i.e. the non-inheritance element of claim 1 identifies element(s) of the second link (i.e. another link, not the first link where the frame is transmitted) that is not inherited from the first link”. (Emphasis Added).
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagree with the Applicant’s arguments and/or interpretations of the prior art reference.
Xiao, in fig. 5, fig. 12, ¶ [0125], and ¶ [0129], discussed the concept of transmitting a management frame via the first communication link 1112 (i.e. frame is from the first link) that includes non-inheritance information associated with or for the second communication link 1114. As stated, “the apparatus may configure a first non-inheritance element of the first link profile associated with the second communication link to indicate usage of at least one management element of the management information by the second communication link is disabled” And/or “the non-inheritance element of the first link profile may list one or more management elements that will be disabled (or not be inherited) for the second communication link” (Emphasis Added).
Thus, contrary to the Applicant’s arguments and/or interpretations, Xiao discussed a frame transmitted on the first link (i.e. from first communication link) which indicated the information for second communication link that will be disabled (i.e. not be inherited). Therefore, the claim does not uniquely and particularly define the limitation so as to distinguish from the applied prior art. During patent examination, the claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation. See also MPEP §2111. The limitation is broadly claimed, therefore, is fairly characterized as discussed above. Therefore, the previous rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 10-12, 14-16, 18, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiao et al. (US Publication No. 20190268956).
As to claims 1 and 15, Xiao teaches a wireless communication circuit and a wireless communication method of an electronic device (fig. 11, #1150), comprising: establishing at least a first link and a second link with other devices (fig. 11, #1122, #1114, and pp0122); transmitting a frame via the first link, wherein the frame comprises a non-inheritance element (fig. 11, fig. 12, fig. 5, and pp0125, the VAP 1151 may generate and transmit a management frame via the first communication link 1112 that includes the multi-link element 1200 to advertise inheritance (including non-inheritance) information associated with the second communication link 1114) comprising at least one element identity (ID) with at least one identifier of the second link that is not inherited from the first link (fig. 11, fig. 12, fig. 5, pp0125, the non-inheritance element 1215 may indicate the management elements associated with the first communication link 1112 that are disabled (or not inherited) for the second communication link 1114, pp0129, the non-inheritance element of the first link profile may list one or more management elements that will be disabled (or not be inherited) for the second communication link).
As to claims 2 and 16, Xiao teaches wherein the non-inheritance element comprises a plurality of fields, and one of the fields records an element ID list; the element ID list comprises an element identifier list (fig. 5, fig. 12) comprising a plurality sets of identifiers, one of the plurality sets of identifiers comprising the at least one identifier, wherein the one set of plurality sets of identifiers specify different contents under the same at least one element ID (fig. 12, fig. 5, pp0072, a non-inheritance element 500 having list of element IDs field 508 that lists three different element ID values (e.g., each having a value of less than or equal to 254) corresponding to the three management elements that will be disabled for the NonTxBSSID).
As to claims 5 and 18, Xiao teaches wherein the at least one element ID corresponds to a specific element (fig. 5, fig. 12, pp0125, link profile 1212 also may list the management elements of the first communication link 1112 that are customized for the second communication link 1114 (such as channel or band specific elements)).
As to claims 6 and 19, Xiao teaches wherein the non-inheritance element comprises a plurality of fields, and one of the fields indicates an element ID list, and another one of the fields records an element ID with identifier list (fig. 12, fig. 5, and pp0072, length subfield 511 may be set to the number of elements listed in the element ID list subfield 512. For example, the length subfield 511 may be set to three if there are three different element ID values listed, and pp0129, the non-inheritance element of the first link profile may list one or more management elements that will be disabled (or not be inherited) for the second communication link); the element ID list comprises at least one element ID with no identifier of the second link that is not inherited from the first link (fig. 12, fig. 5, pp0072, set to zero), and the element ID with identifier list comprises the at least one element ID with the at least one identifier of the second link that is not inherited from the first link (fig. 12, fig. 5, and pp0072, length subfield 511 may be set to the number of elements listed in the element ID list subfield 512. For example, the length subfield 511 may be set to three if there are three different element ID values listed, and pp0129, the non-inheritance element of the first link profile may list one or more management elements that will be disabled (or not be inherited) for the second communication link).
As to claim 10, Xiao teaches wherein the at least one element ID with the at least one identifier corresponds to a specific element (fig. 5, fig. 12, pp0125, link profile 1212 also may list the management elements of the first communication link 1112 that are customized for the second communication link 1114 (such as channel or band specific elements)).
As to claim 11, Xiao teaches wherein the element ID list further comprises the element ID corresponding to the specific element (fig. 5, fig. 12, pp0125, link profile 1212 also may list the management elements of the first communication link 1112 that are customized for the second communication link 1114 (such as channel or band specific elements)), but the element ID list does not record the at least one identifier of the specific element (fig. 12, fig. 5, pp0072, set to zero).
As to claim 12, Xiao teaches wherein the non-inheritance element comprises a plurality of fields, and one of the fields records element ID with identifier list; and the element ID with identifier list comprises the at least one element ID (fig. 12, fig. 5, #508, #512) with the at least one identifier of the second link that is not inherited from the first link (fig. 11, fig. 12, fig. 5, pp0125, the non-inheritance element 1215 may indicate the management elements associated with the first communication link 1112 that are disabled (or not inherited) for the second communication link 1114, pp0129, the non-inheritance element of the first link profile may list one or more management elements that will be disabled (or not be inherited) for the second communication link).
As to claim 14, Xiao teaches wherein the at least one element ID corresponds to a specific element (fig. 5, fig. 12, pp0125, link profile 1212 also may list the management elements of the first communication link 1112 that are customized for the second communication link 1114 (such as channel or band specific elements)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 4, 7-9, 13, 17, and 20, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645