Claim Objections
Claim 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 17 recite “a mitigation action to one or more of the electronic devices based on generated data”. Please amend the claims to include “the” before “generated”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-16 recite a system (machine) and 17-20 recite a method (process) and therefore fall into a statutory category. The Examiner is interpreting the method performs the functions of the system for examination purposes.
Step 2A – Prong 1 (Is a Judicial Exception Recited?):
Referring to claims 1-20, the claims are directed to a manner of determining a metric for an electronic device and manner of managing communicating information regarding an electronic device, which under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts under the Mental Processes and Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activities grouping of abstract ideas respectively.
The abstract idea portion of the claims is as follows:
(Claim 1)
A system comprising: [a housing]: a plurality of sensors configured to] detect different environmental conditions proximate to an electronic device, and [configured to] generate data representative of the detected different environmental conditions; [a maintenance manager including hardware stored in the housing and configured to] receive the generated data, and a specification of each of the plurality of electronic devices and configured to determine a reliability metric of the electronic device based on the generated data and the specification of the corresponding electronic device; and [a communications device configured to] communicate the reliability metric for each of the electronic devices [to a remote computing device], and to communicate a mitigation action [to one or more of the electronic devices] based on generated data for implementation by the one or more of the electronic devices.
(Claim 17)
A method comprising: [using a plurality of sensors configured to] detect different environmental conditions proximate to an electronic device; [providing a housing; providing a maintenance manager including hardware stored in the housing]; generating, [at the maintenance manager], data representative of the detected different environmental conditions; receiving, [at the maintenance manager], a specification of each of the plurality of electronic devices; determining, [at the maintenance manager], a reliability metric for each of the electronic devices based on the generated data and the specification of the corresponding electronic device; communicating the reliability metric for each of the electronic devices [to a remote computing device]; and communicating a mitigation action [to one or more of the electronic devices] based on generated data for implementation by the one or more of the electronic devices.
Where the portions not bracketed recite the abstract idea
Here the claims are directed to both Mental Process (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion) and Certain Methods of Organizing Activity, in particular managing personal behavior or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions) but for the recitation of generic computer components. In the present application concepts directed to a manner of determining a metric for an electronic device (See paragraphs 11, 19, and 22) and a manner of managing information regarding an electronic device (See paragraphs 4, 19, and 22).
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts capable of being performed in managing personal behavior or interactions between people (including following rules or instructions) it falls under the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity grouping of abstract ideas. See MPEP 2106.04. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers concepts capable of being performed in the human mind or via pen and paper it falls under the Mental Processes grouping of abstract ideas. See Id.
Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A-Prong 2 (Is the Exception Integrated into a Practical Application?):
The examiner views the following as the additional elements:
A plurality of sensors. (See paragraph 20)
A maintenance manager. (See paragraph 21)
Hardware. (See paragraph 30)
A communications device. (See paragraphs 24 and 29-30)
A remote computing device. (See paragraph 19)
One or more of the electronic devices. (See paragraph 17)
These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that they act to merely “apply” the abstract idea using generic computing components and do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. (See MPEP 2106.05 (f))
The combination of these additional elements and/or results oriented steps are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components. (See MPEP 2106.05 (f).
Regarding “a housing”, “hardware stored in the housing”, “providing a housing”, and “providing a maintenance manager including hardware stored in the housing” the examiner views these additional elements merely indicating the particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the abstract idea, in this instance the location of an electronic device for monitoring. See MPEP 2106.05 (h); see also paragraphs 3 and 30.
Accordingly, even in combination these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to Significantly More than the Judicial Exception?):
As noted above, the claims as a whole merely describes a method and system that generally “apply” the concepts discussed in prong 1 above. (See MPEP 2106.05 f (II)) In particular applicant has recited the computing components at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As the court stated in TLI Communications v. LLC v. AV Automotive LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613 (Fed. Cir. 2016) merely invoking generic computing components or machinery that perform their functions in their ordinary capacity to facilitate the abstract idea are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea within a computing environment and does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Regarding, the steps “a housing … and hardware stored in the housing” and “providing a housing; providing a maintenance manager including hardware stored in the housing” are generally well understood, routine and conventional information as taught by the Specification. See paragraphs 3 and 30 of the Specification. Accordingly, these additional computer components do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea and as a result the claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2, 4, 8, 13, and 18 further define the abstract idea as identified. Therefore claims 2, 4, 8, 13, and 18 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 3 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of plurality of sensors (See paragraph 20), plurality of first sensors (See paragraph 20), plurality of second sensors (See paragraph 20), maintenance manager (See paragraph 21), communications devices (See paragraph 24 and 29-30), and remote computing device (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claim 3 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 5 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of communications device (See paragraphs 24 and 29-30), and remote computing device (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claim 5 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claims 6, 10-11, and 14 further define the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional element of maintenance manager (See paragraph 21) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claims 6, 10-11, and 14 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 7, 12, and 15-16 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of maintenance manager (See paragraph 21), communications manager (See paragraphs 41-42), and remote computing device (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claims 7, 12, and 15-16 are considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 9 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of maintenance manager (See paragraph 21), communications device (See paragraphs 24 and 29-30), and remote computing device (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claim 9 is considered to be patent ineligible.
Dependent claim 19 further defines the abstract idea as identified. Additionally, the claim recites the additional elements of remote computing device (See paragraph 19) at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computing components and therefore does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or adds significantly more. Therefore claim 19 is considered to be patent ineligible.
In conclusion the claims do not provide an inventive concept, because the claims do not recite additional elements or a combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of the claims. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology, and the collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, whether taken individually or as an order combination, the claims are nonetheless rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fattu et al. (US 20200162342) in view of Toulouse et al. (US 20240134766) and Grant et al. (US 20210073060).
Referring to claim 1,
Fattu, which is directed to data center management through predictive failure analysis and machine learning, teaches:
A system comprising: a housing; a plurality of sensors configured to detect different environmental conditions proximate to an electronic device, and configured to generate data representative of the detected different environmental conditions; (Fattu paragraph 2 teaching data centers process and store large amounts of data on an ongoing basis. Data center infrastructure typically includes multiple rows of IT equipment racks for server nodes, storage enclosures, and other IT equipment. Data centers include power systems that provide power to the IT equipment racks. Cooling systems within the data centers provide cooling flows of air that pass through spaces that separate the rows of IT equipment racks. Managing data centers sometimes requires replacement of devices in the IT equipment due to failure of the devices. Data center management also includes management of power and cooling systems. Fattu paragraph 17 teaching the present invention may be a system, a method, and/or a computer program product at any possible technical detail level of integration. Fattu paragraph 35 teaching in some embodiments, the environmental measurements measure parameters selected from a group consisting of mechanical vibration, acoustic noise, RF noise, temperature, humidity, etc. In various embodiments, the apparatus further includes an administration module that displays a visual map showing the device coordinate, within the 3D coordinate system, of each replaceable device of the plurality of replaceable devices for which the recommended actions are recommended. Fattu paragraph 43 teaching in one embodiment, the management apparatus 102 is configured to determine performance metrics of data center computing resources such as for example, servers, computers, networking equipment such as routers or switches, security infrastructure such as firewall or security systems, storage such as storage area networks (“SAN”), storage enclosures, backup storage, racks 114, nodes 116, and replaceable devices 118 a-118 n (collectively or individually “118”), which are described below. In certain embodiments, the management apparatus 102 determines performance metrics over a predetermined time interval at a device coordinate in a three-dimensional (“3D”) coordinate system for each replaceable device of a plurality of replaceable devices 118 within a data center. The Examiner is interpreting that Fattu suggest the usage of a housing for storage. Fattu paragraphs 46-47 teaching in some embodiments, the system 100 includes a plurality of sensors 120 that are disposed and configured to make environmental measurement at various coordinates in the 3D coordinate system. For example, in certain embodiments, the sensors 120 are disposed at sensor coordinates, on, within, or adjacent to racks 114, nodes 116, the management apparatus 102 is configured to map the performance metrics to environmental measurements taken in the predetermined time interval at sensor coordinates in the 3D coordinate system. In some embodiments, the environmental measurements are taken using various sensors 120 disposed at sensor coordinates, on, within, or adjacent to non-computing resources. In certain embodiments, the device coordinates and sensor coordinates overlap, such as for example, when the sensors 120 are embedded within the replaceable devices 118. Fattu paragraph 69 teaching the management apparatus 102, in some embodiments, includes a mapping module 204 that maps the performance metrics to the environmental measurements taken in the predetermined time interval at sensor coordinates in the 3D coordinate system. The terms “maps” or “mapping” and similar terms as used herein refers generally to determining a spatial relationship between two or more metrics. Mapping the performance metrics to the environmental measurements includes mapping the performance metrics to the surrounding sensors 120 and potential sources of interference that affect replaceable device performance which are sensed directly by the sensors 120 at the sensor coordinates and/or interpolated or extrapolated where distance exists between device coordinates and sensor coordinates. For example, in certain embodiments, the mapping module 204 determines a spatial relationship between a first performance metric of a replaceable device 118 a, a second performance metric of replaceable device 118 b, and one or more environmental metrics taken in the predetermined time interval at a first sensor coordinate in the 3D coordinate system. Fattu paragraph 77 teaching similarly, the mapping module 204 may interpolate other measurements from sensors 120, such as vibration. For example, a sensor 120 may measure a certain amount of vibration at a particular point on a rack 114 and the mapping module 204 may estimate a different amount of vibration at a first replaceable device 118 a based on spatial differences between the vibration sensor 120 and the first replaceable device 118 a. Some sensors 120 may make measurements that are applicable to the data center while the mapping module 204 may interpolate measurements based on 3D displacements between sensors 120 and replaceable components 118.)
a maintenance manager configured to receive the generated data, and a specification of each of the plurality of electronic devices and configured to determine a reliability metric of the electronic device based on the generated data and the specification of the corresponding electronic device; (Fattu paragraph 43 teaching in one embodiment, the management apparatus 102 is configured to determine performance metrics of data center computing resources such as for example, servers, computers, networking equipment such as routers or switches, security infrastructure such as firewall or security systems, storage such as storage area networks (“SAN”), storage enclosures, backup storage, racks 114, nodes 116, and replaceable devices 118 a-118 n (collectively or individually “118”), which are described below. Fattu paragraphs 56-57 teaching the apparatus 200 includes a performance module 202 that determines performance metrics over a predetermined time interval at a device coordinate in a three-dimensional (“3D”) coordinate system for each replaceable device of a plurality of replaceable devices 118 within a data center. In some embodiments, the performance module 202 determines performance metrics that include direct performance metrics and indirect performance metrics. As used herein, the term “direct performance metric” refers to a performance and/or status metric for which the value can be measured or read directly. Fattu paragraph 68 teaching in certain embodiments, the performance module 202 determines the device coordinate by reading a machine-readable workbook (“MRW”). The MRW specifies the spatial relationship between two replaceable devices 118, such as for example, a replaceable device 118 a disposed in slot 3 and replaceable device 118 b disposed in slot 4 which is adjacent to the right-hand side of slot 3. In some embodiments, the machine-readable workbook specifies rules related to certain control specifications for one or more replaceable devices 118. For example, if a temperature measurement of a processor ‘A’ goes above a specified temperature ‘X’ degrees C. (specified in the MRW), an on-chip controller (“OCC”) clips the maximum frequency. In another example, if a temperature of the memory goes above degrees X′ degrees C. (specified in the MRW), the OCC throttles the memory. Fattu paragraph 73 teaching in some embodiments, the mapping module 204 takes environmental measurements that measure parameters such as mechanical vibration, acoustic noise, RF noise, temperature, humidity, magnetic interference, optical interference, solar interference from one or more of alpha particles, high-energy ions, and solar flares, or any event or phenomena that can potentially influence device performance. For example, the mapping module 204 may take environmental measurements relative to a particular server, storage enclosure, or hard disk drive using vibration sensors 120, noise sensors 120, etc. disposed on other servers or storage enclosures within the same rack e.g., 114 a, sensors 120 disposed on other servers or storage enclosures within a different rack e.g. 114 b in a different column within the same data center row of racks, or sensors 120 (e.g., vibration, noise, etc.) disposed on other servers or storage enclosures within a different rack within a different data center column on a different data center row at a different height within the rack. Fattu paragraph 121 teaching the method 600 determines 610 and communicates 612 to an administrator, a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices, the failure predicted based on a comparison correlations with respect to a reliability target influenced by device specifications, a desired performance target, and a desired reliability target In the embodiments, method 600 loops and machine learning process cycle repeat)
and a communications device configured to communicate the reliability metric for each of the electronic devices to a remote computing device,. (Fattu paragraph 49 teaching in certain embodiments, the management apparatus 102 assigns a weighting factor to each environmental measurement (“weighted environmental measurement”) and each performance metric (“weighted performance metric”). In various embodiments, the management apparatus 102 determines, and communicates to an administrator 124, a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices 118, the failure predicted based on a comparison between current weighted performance and environmental measurements and the baseline correlation. Fattu paragraph 94 teaching in certain embodiments, management apparatus 102 of the apparatus 300 further includes administration module 304 that reports data center status and health in various formants and media (e.g., on-screen, generated chart, automated notification when processing is complete). Fattu paragraph 121 teaching the method 600 determines 610 and communicates 612 to an administrator, a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices, the failure predicted based on a comparison correlations with respect to a reliability target influenced by device specifications, a desired performance target, and a desired reliability target In the embodiments, method 600 loops and machine learning process cycle repeats.)
Fattu does not teach or suggest a maintenance manager including hardware stored in the housing
However, Toulouse , which is directed to managing environment conditions of an information handling system teaches a maintenance manager including hardware stored in the housing (Toulouse paragraphs 30-33 teaching in one or more embodiments of the invention, managing the acceleration factor may be handled by an information handling system environmental manager (119) that may be a computing device programmed to: (i) determine the acceleration factor of the components and (ii) perform an action from an action set based on the acceleration factor. To decide which action to perform, the information handling system environmental manager (119) may obtain and/or be provided information regarding the environmental conditions (e.g., temperatures and relative humidity) within each of the chassis. For example, the system information system environmental manager (119) may be operably connected to environmental managers of each of the chassis via any combination of wired and/or wireless networks. In another embodiment, the information handling system environmental manager (119) may be located within a chassis. In another embodiment, the information handling system environmental manager (119) may be located within the frame (110) but not on the door (112). In another embodiment, the information handling system environmental manager (119) may be located external to the IHS (or the building in which the IHS is located (see e.g., FIG. 1.2 ). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that, in another embodiment, the information handling system environmental manager (119) may be located in any other location without departing from the invention. Further, while only one information handling system environmental manager (119) is shown, there may be multiple information handling system environmental managers, where each information handling system environmental manager is associated with one or more IHSs. Continuing with the discussion of FIG. 1.1 , the information handling system environmental manager (119) may be implemented using a computing device. For additional details regarding computing devices, refer to FIG. 3 . The information handling system environmental manager (119) may perform all, or a portion, of the method illustrated in FIG. 2 while providing its functionality. In one or more embodiments of the invention, the information handling system environmental manager (119) may be implemented using a hardware device including circuitry. The information handling system environmental manager (119) may be implemented using, for example, a digital signal processor, a field programmable gate array, or an application specific integrated circuit. The information handling system environmental manager (119) may be implemented using other types of hardware devices without departing from the invention.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manner of monitoring computing resources utilizing environmental sensors as taught in Fattu to incorporate a maintenance manager including hardware stored in the housing as taught in Toulouse with the motivation of leveraging a variety of locations for installing the software/hardware leveraged in gathering corresponding sensor data for analysis. (Toulouse paragraph 31)
Fattu in view of Toulouse does not teach or suggest and to communicate a mitigation action to one or more of the electronic devices based on generated data for implementation by the one or more of the electronic devices
However, Grant, which is directed to managing device maintenance via artificial intelligence, teaches and to communicate a mitigation action to one or more of the electronic devices based on generated data for implementation by the one or more of the electronic devices (Grant paragraph 62 teaching the method 500 provides one or more example embodiments with respect to step 330 of the method 300. The method 500 begins at step 505, where the device management application accesses a dataset enumerating at least one maintenance action with respect to the device. In an embodiment, the dataset is represented in a list or another data structure. A dataset representation in list form optionally is ordered based upon maintenance priority, e.g., higher priority maintenance actions are ordered prior to and/or displayed more prominently than lower priority maintenance actions. At step 510, the device management application selects one or more actions among the at least one maintenance action in the dataset based upon the failure risk value and the analysis of the device sensor data in view of the environmental sensor data. Grant paragraph 63 teaching at step 515, the device management application facilitates initiation of the selected one or more actions. In an embodiment, the device management application sends at least one control signal to the device and/or device component(s) in order to activate the device. Additionally or alternatively, the device management application sends at least one signal via M2M communication to at least one device sensor associated with device functionality in order to activate the device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manner of monitoring computing resources utilizing environmental sensors as taught in Fattu in view of Toulouse to incorporate and to communicate a mitigation action to one or more of the electronic devices based on generated data for implementation by the one or more of the electronic devices as taught in Grant with the motivation of facilitating addressing risks identified with a device. (Grant paragraph 15)
Referring to claims 2 and 18,
Fattu further teaches: wherein the different environmental conditions comprise pressure, temperature, humidity, gas, airborne contamination, and/or movement. (Fattu paragraph 35 teaching in some embodiments, the environmental measurements measure parameters selected from a group consisting of mechanical vibration, acoustic noise, RF noise, temperature, humidity, etc. In various embodiments, the apparatus further includes an administration module that displays a visual map showing the device coordinate, within the 3D coordinate system, of each replaceable device of the plurality of replaceable devices for which the recommended actions are recommended.)
Referring to claim 3,
Fattu further teaches wherein the plurality of sensors are a plurality of first sensors, wherein the electronic device is a first electronic device, wherein the system further comprises a plurality of second sensors configured to detect different environmental conditions proximate to a second electronic device, and configured to generate data representative of the detected different environmental conditions proximate to the second electronic device, (Fattu paragraph 35 teaching in some embodiments, the environmental measurements measure parameters selected from a group consisting of mechanical vibration, acoustic noise, RF noise, temperature, humidity, etc. In various embodiments, the apparatus further includes an administration module that displays a visual map showing the device coordinate, within the 3D coordinate system, of each replaceable device of the plurality of replaceable devices for which the recommended actions are recommended. Fattu paragraphs 46-47 teaching in some embodiments, the system 100 includes a plurality of sensors 120 that are disposed and configured to make environmental measurement at various coordinates in the 3D coordinate system. For example, in certain embodiments, the sensors 120 are disposed at sensor coordinates, on, within, or adjacent to racks 114, nodes 116, the management apparatus 102 is configured to map the performance metrics to environmental measurements taken in the predetermined time interval at sensor coordinates in the 3D coordinate system. In some embodiments, the environmental measurements are taken using various sensors 120 disposed at sensor coordinates, on, within, or adjacent to non-computing resources. In certain embodiments, the device coordinates and sensor coordinates overlap, such as for example, when the sensors 120 are embedded within the replaceable devices 118. Fattu paragraph 69 teaching the management apparatus 102, in some embodiments, includes a mapping module 204 that maps the performance metrics to the environmental measurements taken in the predetermined time interval at sensor coordinates in the 3D coordinate system. The terms “maps” or “mapping” and similar terms as used herein refers generally to determining a spatial relationship between two or more metrics. Mapping the performance metrics to the environmental measurements includes mapping the performance metrics to the surrounding sensors 120 and potential sources of interference that affect replaceable device performance which are sensed directly by the sensors 120 at the sensor coordinates and/or interpolated or extrapolated where distance exists between device coordinates and sensor coordinates. For example, in certain embodiments, the mapping module 204 determines a spatial relationship between a first performance metric of a replaceable device 118 a, a second performance metric of replaceable device 118 b, and one or more environmental metrics taken in the predetermined time interval at a first sensor coordinate in the 3D coordinate system. Fattu paragraph 77 teaching similarly, the mapping module 204 may interpolate other measurements from sensors 120, such as vibration. For example, a sensor 120 may measure a certain amount of vibration at a particular point on a rack 114 and the mapping module 204 may estimate a different amount of vibration at a first replaceable device 118 a based on spatial differences between the vibration sensor 120 and the first replaceable device 118 a. Some sensors 120 may make measurements that are applicable to the data center while the mapping module 204 may interpolate measurements based on 3D displacements between sensors 120 and replaceable components 118)
wherein the maintenance manager is configured to receive the generated data representative of the detected different environmental conditions proximate to the second electronic device and to determine a reliability metric of the second electronic device based on the generated data representative of the detected different environmental conditions proximate to the second electronic device, (Fattu paragraph 43 teaching in one embodiment, the management apparatus 102 is configured to determine performance metrics of data center computing resources such as for example, servers, computers, networking equipment such as routers or switches, security infrastructure such as firewall or security systems, storage such as storage area networks (“SAN”), storage enclosures, backup storage, racks 114, nodes 116, and replaceable devices 118 a-118 n (collectively or individually “118”), which are described below. Fattu paragraphs 56-57 teaching the apparatus 200 includes a performance module 202 that determines performance metrics over a predetermined time interval at a device coordinate in a three-dimensional (“3D”) coordinate system for each replaceable device of a plurality of replaceable devices 118 within a data center. In some embodiments, the performance module 202 determines performance metrics that include direct performance metrics and indirect performance metrics. As used herein, the term “direct performance metric” refers to a performance and/or status metric for which the value can be measured or read directly. Fattu paragraph 85 teaching in one embodiment, the management apparatus 102 includes a factor weighting module 208 that assigns a weighting factor to each environment measurement (“weighted environmental measurement”) and each performance metric (“weighted performance metric”). The weighted performance metrics and the weighted environmental measurements are used in the input analysis module 206 in analyzing the influence of the environmental measurements taken by the sensors 120 at the sensor coordinates on the performance metrics for the replaceable devices 118.)
and wherein the communications device is configured to communicate the reliability metric of the second electronic device to the remote computing device. (Fattu paragraph 49 teaching in certain embodiments, the management apparatus 102 assigns a weighting factor to each environmental measurement (“weighted environmental measurement”) and each performance metric (“weighted performance metric”). In various embodiments, the management apparatus 102 determines, and communicates to an administrator 124, a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices 118, the failure predicted based on a comparison between current weighted performance and environmental measurements and the baseline correlation. Fattu paragraph 94 teaching in certain embodiments, management apparatus 102 of the apparatus 300 further includes administration module 304 that reports data center status and health in various formants and media (e.g., on-screen, generated chart, automated notification when processing is complete). Fattu paragraph 121 teaching the method 600 determines 610 and communicates 612 to an administrator, a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices, the failure predicted based on a comparison correlations with respect to a reliability target influenced by device specifications, a desired performance target, and a desired reliability target In the embodiments, method 600 loops and machine learning process cycle repeats.)
Referring to claim 4,
Fattu further teaches wherein the electronic device comprises one of an edge device, a server, or a microcontroller. (Fattu paragraph 43 teaching in one embodiment, the management apparatus 102 is configured to determine performance metrics of data center computing resources such as for example, servers, computers, networking equipment such as routers or switches, security infrastructure such as firewall or security systems, storage such as storage area networks (“SAN”), storage enclosures, backup storage, racks 114, nodes 116, and replaceable devices 118 a-118 n (collectively or individually “118”), which are described below.)
Referring to claim 5,
Fattu further teaches wherein the communications device is configured to wirelessly communicate the reliability metric to the remote computing device. (Fattu paragraph 41 teaching in various embodiments, the program instructions cause the processor to assign a weighting factor to each environmental measurement (“weighted environmental measurement”) and each performance metric (“weighted performance metric”) and to communicate to an administrator, a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices, the failure predicted based on a comparison between current weighted performance and environmental measurements and the baseline correlations. Fattu paragraph 52 teaching in some embodiments, the computer 106 is a server connected to one or more replaceable devices 118 and/or one or more sensors 120 through a computer network 112. The computer network 112 may include a LAN, a WAN, a fiber network, the Internet, a wireless network, or a combination of networks. One of skill in the art will recognize other computers 106 and computing environments appropriate for execution of the management apparatus 102. In some embodiments, the computer 106 is located in the data center. In other embodiments, the computer 106 is located external to the data center. Fattu paragraph 121 teaching the method 600 determines 610 and communicates 612 to an administrator, a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices, the failure predicted based on a comparison correlations with respect to a reliability target influenced by device specifications, a desired performance target, and a desired reliability target.)
Referring to claims 7 and 19,
Fattu further teaches wherein the maintenance manager is configured to determine a mitigation plan based on the generated data, and wherein the communications manager is configured to communicate the mitigation plan to the remote computing device. (Fattu paragraph 31 teaching in certain embodiments, the apparatus includes a factor weighting module that assigns a weighting factor to each environmental measurement (“weighted environmental measurement”) and each performance metric (“weighted performance metric”). In some embodiments, the apparatus includes a preventative action module that communicates a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices, the failure predicted based on a comparison between current weighted performance and environmental measurements and the baseline correlations. Fattu paragraph 125 teaching the method 700 continues and communicates 710 to an administrator (e.g., administrator 124), a ranked set of recommended actions for mitigating a predicted failure of one or more of the replaceable devices, the failure predicted based on the comparison of current weighted performance metrics and environmental measurements with the baseline correlations. In some embodiments, the recommended actions are selected from a group consisting of property device playback, delay device replacement workload shifting within the three-dimensional coordinate system, diagnostic testing, design optimization, environment of control adjustments, etc.)
Referring to claims 8 and 20,
Fattu further teaches wherein the mitigation plan comprises one of covering the electronic device, mounting the electronic device on a vibration damper, or replacing or removing a component or sub-system. (Fattu paragraph 39 teaching in certain embodiments, the recommended actions are selected from a group consisting of prompt device replacement, delayed device replacement, workload shifting within the 3D coordinate system, diagnostic testing, design optimization, environmental control adjustments, and so forth. Fattu paragraph 45 teaching on the other hand, at a different level of hierarchy such as for example within a particular node or drawer, individual device fans, server fans, rack fans or blowers, can be considered a type of cooling unit and environmental measurements may be made with regard to such non-computing resources. For example, a particular sensor 120 may sense a fan speed of a particular fan within a specific node 116 in a certain rack 114. As used herein, the term “node” e.g., node 116 refers to a device that can contain replaceable components such as for example, a computer node, an external drive enclosure, a network switch, etc.0
Referring to claim 9,
Fattu further teaches wherein the maintenance manager is configured to determine a benefit metric of implementing the mitigation plan, and wherein the communications device communicates the benefit metric to the remote computing device. (Fattu paragraph 94 teaching in certain embodiments, management apparatus 102 of the apparatus 300 further includes administration module 304 that reports data center status and health in various formants and media (e.g., on-screen, generated chart, automated notification when processing is complete). Fattu paragraph 102 teaching when the GPU driver reports a particular fatal GPU link error, there are three potential sources of the failure. The tradeoff learning module 306 observes the results of three recommended actions involving replacements of replaceable devices 118 including a CPU, a GPU, and a system planar device. The tradeoff learning module 306 determines that replacing the CPU has an 80% success rate, replacing the GPU has a 10% success rate, and replacing the system planar has a 10% success rate, which results in different weighting factors than initial weighting factors. Fattu paragraphs 105-106 teaching further teaches the tradeoff analytics section 406 analyzes the predicted failure data 420 and the baseline performance data to determine recommended actions 422 for preventing predicted failures. In various embodiments, the recommended actions 422 include a recommended replacement action 422 a to replace hardware such as one of the replaceable devices 118. The recommended replacement action 422 a may be for immediate replacement 422 b or replacement at a predetermined time 422 c. Other examples of recommended actions include moving a workload 422 d. For example, if the input analysis engine 416 determines a predicted time to failure for a disk drive that correlates with mechanical or electrical stress related to an operational workload near particular device coordinates, the recommended action of moving the workload 422 d could more evenly distribute the workload so as to reduce the stress or could move the workload to a device with a different device coordinate that spatially correlates less with environmental measurements related to the failure. The recommended actions 422 are not limited to the example recommended actions 422 a-422 e and can include any recommended action that potentially improves performance or increases reliability. The tradeoff analytics section 406 also observes or determines 424 whether taking one or more of the recommended actions 422 results in improved performance and feeds back 426 recalculated weighting factors to the discovery analytics section 404 which applies the recalculated weighting factors as it continues to determine baseline data and temporal and spatial correlations among the performance metrics and the environmental variables. Fattu paragraph 122 teaching in various embodiments, determining 610 the ranked set of recommended actions and communicating 612 the recommended actions to an administrator are performed as a part of the tradeoff analytics section 406 of the machine learning process cycle 400 described above with respect to FIG. 4. In some embodiments, the performance module 202, the mapping module 204, the input analysis module 206, the factor weighting module 208 and the preventive action module 210 implement one or more steps of the method 600.)
Referring to claim 10,
Grant further teaches wherein the maintenance manager is configured to determine a mitigation action based on the generated data, and configured to instruct the electronic device to implement the mitigation action. (Grant paragraph 62 teaching the method 500 provides one or more example embodiments with respect to step 330 of the method 300. The method 500 begins at step 505, where the device management application accesses a dataset enumerating at least one maintenance action with respect to the device. In an embodiment, the dataset is represented in a list or another data structure. A dataset representation in list form optionally is ordered based upon maintenance priority, e.g., higher priority maintenance actions are ordered prior to and/or displayed more prominently than lower priority maintenance actions. At step 510, the device management application selects one or more actions among the at least one maintenance action in the dataset based upon the failure risk value and the analysis of the device sensor data in view of the environmental sensor data. Grant paragraph 63 teaching at step 515, the device management application facilitates initiation of the selected one or more actions. In an embodiment, the device management application sends at least one control signal to the device and/or device component(s) in order to activate the device. Additionally or alternatively, the device management application sends at least one signal via M2M communication to at least one device sensor associated with device functionality in order to activate the device.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the manner of monitoring computing resources utilizing environmental sensors as taught in Fattu in view of Toulose to incorporate wherein the maintenance manager is configured to determine a mitigation action based on the generated data, and configured to instruct the electronic device to implement the mitigation action as taught in Grant with the motivation of facilitating addressing risks identified with a device. (Grant paragraph 15)
Referring to claim 11,
Fattu further teaches wherein the maintenance manager is configured to determine the reliability metric based on a specification of the electronic device. (Fattu paragraph 79 teaching in various embodiments, the input analysis module 206 determines baseline performance metrics for individual replaceable devices 118 as well as aggregate baselines for plurality of replaceable devices 118 the input analysis module 206 also determines baseline environmental measurements both individually and in the aggregate for a plurality of environmental sources of noise, interference, etc. that are potentially capable of affecting the performance metrics as measured by sensors 120 at specific sensor coordinates. These individual