DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Applicant Remarks U.S.C. § 102 filed on 12/01/2025 regarding U.S.C.
§ 102 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark, on page 2, asserts “Hughes does not appear to disclose "a disc blade
angle adjustment assembly configured to adjust an angle of a disc blade of the tillage implement relative to a horizontal plane of the tillage implement", as recited by independent claim 1 and as generally recited by independent claims 8 and 15. In contrast, Hughes appears to disclose a disc adjustment mechanism configured to adjust an angle of a disc blade relative to a direction of motion of the implement”.
However, an “adjustment of angle of a disc blade relative to a horizontal plane” is broad statement which can be interpreted as the adjustment of disc angle relative to direction of motion, where the direction of motion is in a horizontal plane.
Applicant’s remark, on page 2, states “Desirably, the flex spring 38 is configured to position the disc blade 20 such that a vertical center line C of the disc blade 20 is positioned directly below the pivot point of pivot 56 as can be seen in FIG. 2." Id. at paragraph 19. Accordingly, Hughes appears to disclose a disc adjustment mechanism 50 configured to adjust an angle of a disc blade 20 relative to a direction of motion A of the implement 10. As such, Hughes does not appear to disclose "a disc blade angle adjustment assembly configured to adjust an angle of a disc blade of the tillage implement relative to a horizontal plane of the tillage implement”
However, as discussed above, the broad statement of “adjustment of angle of a disc blade relative to a horizontal plane” can be interpreted as adjusting disc blade angle relative to the direction of motion of the tillage, where the tillage moves in horizontal plane. Furthermore, as the tillage traverses the surface, the disc’s orientation changes with respect to its direction of travel, creating angle between the disc blade and horizontal trajectory of movement.
Applicant’s remark, on page 2 and 3, states “ the Examiner stated that "Hughes' pivot mount is connected to the support bar which is in horizontal plane as can be seen in fig. 2 of Hughes". Office Action, pages 2, 5, and 7. However, the support bar 30 being in the horizontal plane does not cause the disc adjustment mechanism 50 to adjust an angle of a disc blade 20 relative to the horizontal plane. As such, Applicant maintains that Hughes does not appear to disclose "a disc blade angle adjustment assembly configured to adjust an angle of a disc blade of the tillage implement relative to a horizontal plane of the tillage implement ”.
However, examiner disclosed the support bar in fig.2 to indicate the angle of disc blades relative to the support bar, where the support bar lies in a horizontal plane.
Examiner recommends a clear indication of disc angle adjustment such as tilt angle adjustment or slope adjustment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,2,6,7,8,9,14,15,16,and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes (US 20190357416 A1) (hereinafter Hughes).
Regarding claim 1, A disc blade angle control system for a tillage implement(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), comprising: a disc blade angle adjustment assembly configured to adjust an angle of a disc blade of the tillage implement relative to a horizontal plane of the tillage implement(Hughes’ pivot mount is connected to the support bar which is in horizontal plane as can be seen in fig.2 of Hughes. Additionality, Hughes has an actuator that moves a shuttle which causes the movement of the disc blades. Hughes, paragraph 5, the disc adjustment mechanism has a shuttle, wherein the crank arms of each of the pivot mounts are attached to the shuttle such that movement of the shuttle causes each pivot mount to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the associated disc blade. Hughes, paragraph 20, An actuator 72 is configured to move the shuttle 70 relative the support bar 30 in order to position the crank arms 60 for each of the disc blades 20), wherein the disc blade is configured to engage soil and to break up a top layer of the soil(A tillage cuts through a soil and penetrates a ground to some degree. Hughes discloses the blades cut through a soil. Hughes, paragraph 3,tillage implement contains a set of rotating blades that cut and incorporate residue into the soil).
Regarding claim 2, Hughes teaches the disc blade angle control system of claim 1(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly comprises an actuator configured to drive the disc blade to pivot relative to the horizontal plane of the tillage implement(As disclosed above the shuttle causes the movement of the disc blades (Hughes, paragraph 5).The support bar is in horizontal plane(fig. 2). Hughes, paragraph 20, An actuator 72 is configured to move the shuttle 70 relative the support bar 30 in order to position the crank arms 60 for each of the disc blades 20. Hughes, paragraph 20, back and forth movement of the shuttle 70 causes each pivot mount 50 to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the disc blades 20. Hughes, paragraph 5, The disc adjustment mechanism has a shuttle, wherein the crank arms of each of the pivot mounts are attached to the shuttle such that movement of the shuttle causes each pivot mount to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the associated disc blade).
Regarding claim 6, Hughes teaches the disc blade angle control system of claim 1(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly is configured to adjust another angle of the disc blade relative to a direction of travel of the tillage implement(Hughes, paragraph 5, the tillage implement has a disc adjustment mechanism configured to pivotably attach the disc hanger assembly for each of the plurality of disc blades to the support bar so that a disc angle of the disc blades relative the direction of motion may be adjusted).
Regarding claim 7, Hughes teaches the disc blade angle control system of claim 6(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle; ), wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly comprises an actuator configured to drive the disc blade to pivot relative to the direction of travel of the tillage implement(Hughes, paragraph 5, the tillage implement has a disc adjustment mechanism configured to pivotably attach the disc hanger assembly for each of the plurality of disc blades to the support bar so that a disc angle of the disc blades relative the direction of motion may be adjusted. The disc adjustment mechanism has a shuttle, wherein the crank arms of each of the pivot mounts are attached to the shuttle such that movement of the shuttle causes each pivot mount to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the associated disc blade. An actuator is configured to move the shuttle relative the support bar in order to position the crank arms for each of the disc blades).
Regarding claim 8, A tillage implement, comprising:
a gang of disc blades comprising a plurality of disc blades(Hughes, paragraph 5,The tillage implement includes at least one gang assembly having a plurality of disc blades), wherein each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades is configured to engage soil and to break up a top layer of the soil(A tillage cuts through a soil and penetrates a ground to some degree. Hughes discloses the blades cut the soil. Hughes, paragraph 3,tillage implement contains a set of rotating blades that cut and incorporate residue into the soil.);
a shaft assembly non-rotatably coupling the plurality of disc blades to one another, wherein each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades is pivotally coupled to the shaft assembly(Hughes, paragraph 3, the blades are mounted on a common shaft creating a “gang”. Hughes, paragraph 5, The tillage implement includes at least one gang assembly having a plurality of disc blades); and
a disc blade angle control system(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), comprising:
a disc blade angle adjustment assembly configured to adjust an angle of each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades relative to a horizontal plane of the tillage implement(Hughes’ pivot mount is connected to the support bar which is in horizontal plane as can be seen in fig.2 of Hughes. Additionality, Hughes has an actuator that moves a shuttle which causes the movement of the disc blades. Hughes, paragraph 5, the disc adjustment mechanism has a shuttle, wherein the crank arms of each of the pivot mounts are attached to the shuttle such that movement of the shuttle causes each pivot mount to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the associated disc blade). Hughes, paragraph 20, An actuator 72 is configured to move the shuttle 70 relative the support bar 30 in order to position the crank arms 60 for each of the disc blades 20).
Regarding claim 9, Hughes teaches the tillage implement of claim 8(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly comprises an actuator configured to drive each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades to pivot relative to the horizontal plane of the tillage implement(As disclosed above, the shuttle causes the movement of the disc blades (Hughes, paragraph 5).The support bar is in horizontal plane(fig. 2). Hughes, paragraph 20, An actuator 72 is configured to move the shuttle 70 relative the support bar 30 in order to position the crank arms 60 for each of the disc blades 20. Hughes, paragraph 20, back and forth movement of the shuttle 70 causes each pivot mount 50 to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the disc blades 20. Hughes, paragraph 5, The disc adjustment mechanism has a shuttle, wherein the crank arms of each of the pivot mounts are attached to the shuttle such that movement of the shuttle causes each pivot mount to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the associated disc blade).
Regarding claim 14, Hughes teaches the tillage implement of claim 8(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly is configured to adjust another angle of each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades relative to a direction of travel of the tillage implement(Hughes, paragraph 5, the tillage implement has a disc adjustment mechanism configured to pivotably attach the disc hanger assembly for each of the plurality of disc blades to the support bar so that a disc angle of the disc blades relative the direction of motion may be adjusted).
Regarding claim 15. A tillage implement, comprising:
a frame(Hughes, paragraph 5, tillage implement having a main frame);
a disc blade configured to engage soil and to break up a top layer of the soil(A tillage cuts through a soil and penetrates a ground to some degree. Hughes discloses the blades cut through a soil. Hughes, paragraph 3,tillage implement contains a set of rotating blades that cut and incorporate residue into the soil);
a disc blade support pivotally coupled to the frame(Hughes, paragraph 16,The implement 10 also includes a plurality of disc blades 20 attached to the main frame 12 in one or more gang assemblies 21), wherein the disc blade is
rotatably coupled to the disc blade support(Hughes, paragraph 5, Each of the plurality of disc blades is suspended from the support bar with a disc hanger assembly); and
a disc blade angle control system(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), comprising:
a disc blade angle adjustment assembly coupled to the disc blade support and configured to adjust an angle of the disc blade relative to a horizontal plane of the tillage implement(Hughes’ pivot mount is connected to the support bar which is in horizontal plane as can be seen in fig.2 of Hughes. Additionality, Hughes has an actuator that moves a shuttle which causes the movement of the disc blades. Hughes, paragraph 5, the disc adjustment mechanism has a shuttle, wherein the crank arms of each of the pivot mounts are attached to the shuttle such that movement of the shuttle causes each pivot mount to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the associated disc blade). Hughes, paragraph 20, An actuator 72 is configured to move the shuttle 70 relative the support bar 30 in order to position the crank arms 60 for each of the disc blades 20).
Regarding claim 16, Hughes teaches the tillage implement of claim 15(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly comprises an actuator coupled to the disc blade support and to the frame(Hughes, paragraph 5,the gang assembly has a transverse support bar attached to the main frame. Each of the plurality of disc blades is suspended from the support bar with a disc hanger assembly. An actuator is configured to move the shuttle relative the support bar in order to position the crank arms for each of the disc blades), wherein the actuator is configured to drive the disc blade to pivot relative to the horizontal plane of the tillage implement(As disclosed above, the shuttle causes the movement of the disc blades (Hughes, paragraph 5).The support bar is in horizontal plane(fig. 2). Hughes, paragraph 20, An actuator 72 is configured to move the shuttle 70 relative the support bar 30 in order to position the crank arms 60 for each of the disc blades 20. Hughes, paragraph 20, back and forth movement of the shuttle 70 causes each pivot mount 50 to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the disc blades 20. Hughes, paragraph 5, The disc adjustment mechanism has a shuttle, wherein the crank arms of each of the pivot mounts are attached to the shuttle such that movement of the shuttle causes each pivot mount to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the associated disc blade.).
Regarding claim 20, Hughes teaches the tillage implement of claim 15(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly is configured to adjust another angle of the disc blade relative to a direction of travel of the tillage implement(Hughes, paragraph 05, the tillage implement has a disc adjustment mechanism configured to pivotably attach the disc hanger assembly for each of the plurality of disc blades to the support bar so that a disc angle of the disc blades relative the direction of motion may be adjusted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3,4,11,12,17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hughes (US 20190357416 A1) (hereinafter Hughes) in view of Nair (US 20220183206 A1) (hereinafter Nair).
Regarding claim 3, Hughes teaches the disc blade angle control system of claim 2(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle),
While Hughes teaches about a disc blade angle control system of a tillage implement that can cut through a soil, it fails to disclose a tillage system comprising a controller comprising a memory and a processor, wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the actuator, and the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade.
However, Nair, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about residue detection system for a tillage discloses a system comprising a controller comprising a memory and a processor(Nair, paragraph 59,The controller 70 (or others) includes a computing device with associated processor devices and memory architectures), wherein the controller is communicatively coupled to the actuator(Nair, paragraph 60, the controller 70 is in electronic or hydraulic communication with various actuators), and the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade(As discussed above, the controller can be in communication with the hydraulic component (Nair, paragraph 60), and the hydraulic cylinder which is similar to an actuator, can adjust the angle of the disc angle. Nair, paragraph 60, one or more hydraulic cylinders 36 (or other lift devices) are coupled to the frame 20 in order to respond to move the disk gang assemblies 32 relative to the frame 20. Example adjustments include changing the disk cutting depth, a gang angle, disk angle. Nair, paragraph 29, The hydraulic cylinders 28 are in hydraulic (or other) communication with the controller 26, such that the controller 26 may signal the hydraulic cylinders 28 to raise or lower the frame 20 relative to the field 14 in order to move the various shanks 22 or disks 34 to various orientations relative to the field 14 soil).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hughes with Nair’s processor and memory to store and execute different instructions such as real time adjustment of an angle of a disc blade based on the amount of residue. Hughes discusses the adjustment of disc blades for of its tillage apparatus, but it specifically fails to disclose a memory and processor that can receive instructions and sensor signal to perform the adjustments. However, Nair has a controller that comprises a memory and processor that is in communication with various actuators to control the disc blades of the tillage(paragraph 29). Having processors and memory with controllers can help tillage apparatus adjust the angle of disc blades in real time. By monitoring sensors information such as soil conditions, soil residue, or soil consistence, a controller can perform tasks without human interference. Furthermore, unlike manual systems, tillage with electronic controller maintains precise blade positioning unaffected by human error.
Regarding claim 4, The combination of Hughes and Nair the disc blade angle control system of claim 3(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle; Nair, paragraph 59,The controller 70 (or others) includes a computing device with associated processor devices and memory architectures ),wherein the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade based on an amount of residue on a surface of the soil(Nair evaluates the amount of residue present with its sensors, and adjusts gang angle or change disc angle. A controller which is connected to an actuator adjusts the disc angle. Nair, paragraph 15, a system and method are described to assess the amount or size of residue in a crop field when conducting tillage or planting operations, and then the agricultural or crop care implement can automatically respond, self-adjust or be manually (e.g. by command) adjusted to work with the amount and type of residue detected…Adjustments include: changing the gang angle; changing disk angles. Nair, paragraph 60, the controller 70 is in electronic or hydraulic communication with various actuators. Nair, paragraph 66, the controller 70 outputs the one or more control signals to the pumps 100 and/or control valves 102 associated with hydraulic cylinders 28, 36, 710, 712 and 44 to move the shanks 22, disks 34, tines 706 and disks 46 of the tillage implement 10 based on one or more of the sensor signals received from the sensors).
Regarding claim 11, Hughes teaches the tillage implement of claim 9(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle),
While Hughes teaches about a disc blade angle control system of a tillage implement that can cut through a soil, it fails to disclose a tillage system wherein the disc blade angle control system comprises a controller comprising a memory and a processor, the controller is communicatively coupled to the actuator, and the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades.
However, Nair, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about residue detection system for a tillage discloses a system wherein the disc blade angle control system comprises a controller comprising a memory and a processor(Nair, paragraph 59,The controller 70 (or others) includes a computing device with associated processor devices and memory architectures), the controller is communicatively coupled to the actuator(Nair, paragraph 60, the controller 70 is in electronic or hydraulic communication with various actuators), and the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades(the controller can be in communication with the hydraulic component (Nair, paragraph 60), and the hydraulic cylinder which is similar to an actuator, can adjust the angle of the disc angle. Nair, paragraph 60, one or more hydraulic cylinders 36 (or other lift devices) are coupled to the frame 20 in order to respond to move the disk gang assemblies 32 relative to the frame 20. Example adjustments include changing the disk cutting depth, a gang angle, disk angle. Nair, paragraph 29, The hydraulic cylinders 28 are in hydraulic (or other) communication with the controller 26, such that the controller 26 may signal the hydraulic cylinders 28 to raise or lower the frame 20 relative to the field 14 in order to move the various shanks 22 or disks 34 to various orientations relative to the field 14 soil).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hughes with Nair’s processor and memory to store and execute different instructions such as real time adjustment of an angle of a disc blade based on the amount of residue. Hughes discusses the adjustment of disc blades for of its tillage apparatus, but it specifically fails to disclose a memory and processor that can receive instructions and sensor signal to perform the adjustments. However, Nair has a controller that comprises a memory and processor that is in communication with various actuators to control the disc blades of the tillage(paragraph 29). Having processors and memory with controllers can help tillage apparatus adjust the angle of disc blades in real time. By monitoring sensors information such as soil conditions, soil residue, or soil consistence, a controller can perform tasks without human interference. Furthermore, unlike manual systems, tillage with electronic controller maintains precise blade positioning unaffected by human error.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hughes and Nair teaches the tillage implement of claim 11(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle; Nair, paragraph 59,The controller 70 (or others) includes a computing device with associated processor devices and memory architectures), wherein the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades based on an amount of residue on a surface of the soil(Nair evaluates the amount of residue present with its sensors, and adjusts gang angle or change disc angle. A controller which is connected to an actuator adjusts the disc angle. Nair, paragraph 15, a system and method are described to assess the amount or size of residue in a crop field when conducting tillage or planting operations, and then the agricultural or crop care implement can automatically respond, self-adjust or be manually (e.g. by command) adjusted to work with the amount and type of residue detected…Adjustments include: changing the gang angle; changing disk angles. Nair, paragraph 60, the controller 70 is in electronic or hydraulic communication with various actuators. Nair, paragraph 66, the controller 70 outputs the one or more control signals to the pumps 100 and/or control valves 102 associated with hydraulic cylinders 28, 36, 710, 712 and 44 to move the shanks 22, disks 34, tines 706 and disks 46 of the tillage implement 10 based on one or more of the sensor signals received from the sensors).
Regarding claim 17, Hughes teaches the tillage implement of claim 16(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle;),
While Hughes teaches about a disc blade angle control system of a tillage implement that can cut through a soil, it fails to disclose a tillage system wherein the disc blade angle control system comprises a controller comprising a memory and a processor, the controller is communicatively coupled to the actuator, and the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade.
However, Nair, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about residue detection system for a tillage discloses a system wherein the disc blade angle control system comprises a controller comprising a memory and a processor(Nair, paragraph 59,The controller 70 (or others) includes a computing device with associated processor devices and memory architectures), the controller is communicatively coupled to the actuator(Nair, paragraph 60, the controller 70 is in electronic or hydraulic communication with various actuators), and the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade(As disclosed above, the controller can be in communication with the hydraulic component (Nair, paragraph 60), and the hydraulic cylinder which is similar to an actuator, can adjust the angle of the disc angle. Nair, paragraph 60, one or more hydraulic cylinders 36 (or other lift devices) are coupled to the frame 20 in order to respond to move the disk gang assemblies 32 relative to the frame 20. Example adjustments include changing the disk cutting depth, a gang angle, disk angle. Nair, paragraph 29, The hydraulic cylinders 28 are in hydraulic (or other) communication with the controller 26, such that the controller 26 may signal the hydraulic cylinders 28 to raise or lower the frame 20 relative to the field 14 in order to move the various shanks 22 or disks 34 to various orientations relative to the field 14 soil).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hughes with Nair’s processor and memory to store and execute different instructions such as real time adjustment of an angle of a disc blade based on the amount of residue. Hughes discusses the adjustment of disc blades for of its tillage apparatus, but it specifically fails to disclose a memory and processor that can receive instructions and sensor signal to perform the adjustments. However, Nair has a controller that comprises a memory and processor that is in communication with various actuators to control the disc blades of the tillage(paragraph 29). Having processors and memory with controllers can help tillage apparatus adjust the angle of disc blades in real time. By monitoring sensors information such as soil conditions, soil residue, or soil consistence, a controller can perform tasks without human interference. Furthermore, unlike manual systems, tillage with electronic controller maintains precise blade positioning unaffected by human error.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Hughes and Nair the tillage implement of claim 17(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle; Nair, paragraph 59,The controller 70 (or others) includes a computing device with associated processor devices and memory architectures), wherein the controller is configured to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade based on an amount of residue on a surface of the soil(Nair evaluates the amount of residue present with its sensors, and adjusts gang angle or change disc angle. A controller which is connected to an actuator adjusts the disc angle. Nair, paragraph 15, a system and method are described to assess the amount or size of residue in a crop field when conducting tillage or planting operations, and then the agricultural or crop care implement can automatically respond, self-adjust or be manually (e.g. by command) adjusted to work with the amount and type of residue detected…Adjustments include: changing the gang angle; changing disk angles. Nair, paragraph 60, the controller 70 is in electronic or hydraulic communication with various actuators. Nair, paragraph 66, the controller 70 outputs the one or more control signals to the pumps 100 and/or control valves 102 associated with hydraulic cylinders 28, 36, 710, 712 and 44 to move the shanks 22, disks 34, tines 706 and disks 46 of the tillage implement 10 based on one or more of the sensor signals received from the sensors).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hughes (US 20190357416 A1) (hereinafter Hughes) in view of Smith (US 20210127540 A1) (hereinafter Smith).
Regarding claim 10, Hughes teaches the tillage implement of claim 9(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle), wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly comprises an actuator, and the actuator is configured to drive each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades to pivot relative to the horizontal plane of the tillage implement(Hughes, paragraph 20, An actuator 72 is configured to move the shuttle 70 relative the support bar 30 in order to position the crank arms 60 for each of the disc blades 20. Hughes, paragraph 20, back and forth movement of the shuttle 70 causes each pivot mount 50 to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the disc blades 20. Hughes, paragraph 5, The disc adjustment mechanism has a shuttle, wherein the crank arms of each of the pivot mounts are attached to the shuttle such that movement of the shuttle causes each pivot mount to pivot and adjust the disc angle of the associated disc blade.).
While Hughes teaches about a disc blade angle control system with an actuator it specifically mentions an actuator rod that to move the disk. Hughes specifically fails to disclose a system with actuator rode wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly comprises an actuating rod assembly coupled to the actuator and pivotally coupled to each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades, and the actuator is configured to drive the actuating rod assembly to drive each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades to pivot.
However, Smith , which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about ground engaging tools of an agricultural implement discloses a system wherein the disc blade angle adjustment assembly comprises an actuating rod assembly coupled to the actuator and pivotally coupled to each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades(Smith, paragraph 25, a first end of each actuator 104 (e.g., a rod 106 of the actuator 104) may be coupled to a support arm 48 of the corresponding disk gang 44 ), and the actuator is configured to drive the actuating rod assembly to drive each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades to pivot(Smith, paragraph 25, the rod 106 of each actuator 104 may be configured to extend and/or retract relative to the corresponding cylinder 108 to adjust the angle of the corresponding disk gang ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hughes and Nair with Smith’s actuator rod to maintain consistent force to adjust an angle of a disc blade. Hughes discloses an actuator for its tillage implement to adjust the angle of its disc blades, but does not specifically disclose the type of actuator or if the actuator comprises a rod. By incorporating actuators with a rod, it is possible to have a uniform force applied for disc adjustment regardless of external loads. Additionally, unlike other actuator types such as spring actuators, actuator rods provide control in both directions that can extend or retract to adjust the angle of the disc blades.
Claims 5, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hughes (US 20190357416 A1) (hereinafter Hughes) in view of Nair (US 20220183206 A1) (hereinafter Nair) in further view of Resch (DE 102021103040 A1) (hereinafter Resch).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hughes and Nair teaches the disc blade angle control system of claim 3(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle; Nair, paragraph 60, the controller 70 is in electronic or hydraulic communication with various actuators),
While the combination of Hughes and Nair teaches about disc blade angle control system of a tillage implement that can cut through a soil, as well as adjusting the angle of a disc blade based on the amount of a residue, it specifically fails to disclose a blade angle adjustment system with a controller wherein the controller is configured to receive a signal indicative of a side load applied to the disc blade and to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade based on the side load, and the side load corresponds to a force applied to the disc blade along an axis parallel to a rotational axis of the disc blade.
However, Resch, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about inter-row cultivator with soil tillage tools discloses a controller wherein the controller is configured to receive a signal indicative of a side load applied to the disc blade and to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade based on the side load(Lateral force of Resch is similar to the side load. Resch, paragraph 44, the control and/or regulation unit 11 therefore includes sensors for detecting the lateral forces, with the control and/or regulation unit 11 being able to steer the chassis 4 and/or set a suitable angle of attack for the coulter discs on the basis of the lateral forces detected. Resch, paragraph 13, the coulter disc can be rotated in an adjustable manner by means of an actuator), and the side load corresponds to a force applied to the disc blade along an axis parallel to a rotational axis of the disc blade(Resch discloses a lateral force which is similar to the side load, and is applied horizontally as the force is exerted laterally. Resch, paragraph 44, the control and/or regulation unit 11 therefore includes sensors for detecting the lateral forces).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hughes and Nair with Resch’s control and/or regulation unit to adjust the angle of disc based on lateral force applied. Hughes and Nair do not disclose a mechanism of detecting force that is applied sideways for disc angle adjustment. However, Resch address this deficiency by its lateral force detection system and disc angle adjustment mechanism(Resch, paragraph 44). By monitoring the lateral force and adjusting blade angle, the system can prevent excessive stress on the disc that can cause failure or damage of equipment. Excessive lateral forces often indicate the blade is encountering resistance that could cause non-uniform penetration of a ground. By adjusting the angle, it possible to maintain consistent ground penetration.
Regarding claim 13 Hughes teaches the tillage implement of claim 11(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle; Nair, paragraph 59,The controller 70 (or others) includes a computing device with associated processor devices and memory architectures),
While the combination of Hughes and Nair teaches about disc blade angle control system of a tillage implement that can cut through a soil, as well as adjusting the angle of a disc blade based on the amount of a residue, it specifically fails to disclose a blade angle adjustment system with a controller wherein the controller is configured to receive a signal indicative of a side load applied to the gang of disc blades and to control the actuator to adjust the angle of each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades based on the side load(), and the side load corresponds to a force applied to the gang of disc blades along an axis parallel to a rotational axis of the gang of disc blades.
However, Resch, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about inter-row cultivator with soil tillage tools discloses a controller wherein the controller is configured to receive a signal indicative of a side load applied to the gang of disc blades and to control the actuator to adjust the angle of each disc blade of the plurality of disc blades based on the side load(Lateral force of Resch is similar to the side load. Resch, paragraph 44, the control and/or regulation unit 11 therefore includes sensors for detecting the lateral forces, with the control and/or regulation unit 11 being able to steer the chassis 4 and/or set a suitable angle of attack for the coulter discs on the basis of the lateral forces detected. Resch, paragraph 13, the coulter disc can be rotated in an adjustable manner by means of an actuator), and the side load corresponds to a force applied to the gang of disc blades along an axis parallel to a rotational axis of the gang of disc blades(Resch discloses a lateral force which is similar to the side load, and is applied horizontally as the force is exerted laterally. Resch, paragraph 44, the control and/or regulation unit 11 therefore includes sensors for detecting the lateral forces).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hughes and Nair with Resch’s control and/or regulation unit to adjust the angle of disc based on lateral force applied. Hughes and Nair do not disclose a mechanism of detecting force that is applied sideways for disc angle adjustment. However, Resch address this deficiency by its lateral force detection system and disc angle adjustment mechanism(Resch, paragraph 44). By monitoring the lateral force and adjusting blade angle, the system can prevent excessive stress on the disc that can cause failure or damage of equipment. Excessive lateral forces often indicate the blade is encountering resistance that could cause non-uniform penetration of a ground. By adjusting the angle, it possible to maintain consistent ground penetration.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Hughes and Nair teaches the tillage implement of claim 17(Hughes, paragraph 1, a tillage implement with a mechanism to adjust the disc blade angle; Nair, paragraph 60, the controller 70 is in electronic or hydraulic communication with various actuators),
While the combination of Hughes and Nair teaches about disc blade angle control system of a tillage implement that can cut through a soil, as well as adjusting the angle of a disc blade based on the amount of a residue, it specifically fails to disclose a blade angle adjustment system with a controller wherein the controller is configured to receive a signal indicative of a side load applied to the disc blade and to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade based on the side load, and the side load corresponds to a force applied to the disc blade along an axis parallel to a rotational axis of the disc blade.
However, Resch, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about inter-row cultivator with soil tillage tools discloses a controller wherein the controller is configured to receive a signal indicative of a side load applied to the disc blade and to control the actuator to adjust the angle of the disc blade based on the side load(Lateral force of Resch is similar to the side load. Resch, paragraph 44, the control and/or regulation unit 11 therefore includes sensors for detecting the lateral forces, with the control and/or regulation unit 11 being able to steer the chassis 4 and/or set a suitable angle of attack for the coulter discs on the basis of the lateral forces detected. Resch, paragraph 13, the coulter disc can be rotated in an adjustable manner by means of an actuator), and the side load corresponds to a force applied to the disc blade along an axis parallel to a rotational axis of the disc blade(Resch discloses a lateral force which is similar to the side load, and is applied horizontally as the force is exerted laterally. Resch, paragraph 44, the control and/or regulation unit 11 therefore includes sensors for detecting the lateral forces).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Hughes and Nair with Resch’s control and/or regulation unit to adjust the angle of disc based on lateral force applied. Hughes and Nair do not disclose a mechanism of detecting force that is applied sideways for disc angle adjustment. However, Resch address this deficiency by its lateral force detection system and disc angle adjustment mechanism(Resch, paragraph 44). By monitoring the lateral force and adjusting blade angle, the system can prevent excessive stress on the disc that can cause failure or damage of equipment. Excessive lateral forces often indicate the blade is encountering resistance that could cause non-uniform penetration of a ground. By adjusting the angle, it possible to maintain consistent ground penetration.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Janelle (DE-102016217593-A1) an analogous art that teaches about tillage implement with independently adjustable tool rows.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665