DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination, wherein claims 14-18 and the subject matter of Sub-Species A.2 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A and Sub-Species A.1 in the reply filed on January 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Drawings
Figures 1-2 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding dependent claim 9, from which claims 10-13 depend, it is not clear whether the two cover plates of claim 1 are the same or different from one another, such that the claimed “thickness of the cover plate” is unclear as to which or both of the “two cover plates” the claimed “thickness” refers. See further instant specification:
[0104] The thickness of the cover plate 15 is denoted as H, and L>H. The cover plate 15 may be a structure with a uniform thickness or a structure with a non-uniform thickness. For the cover plate 15 of a structure with a non-uniform thickness, the non-uniform thickness may be caused by manufacturing errors, or the cover plate 15 may be manufactured into a structure with a non-uniform wall thickness due to actual needs. The thickness H of the cover plate 15 is a dimension of the cover plate 15 in the first direction X. In an embodiment where the cover plate 15 is a structure with a non-uniform thickness, the thickness H of the cover plate 15 is an average thickness of the cover plate 15. FIG. 4 shows a case where the cover plate 15 has a uniform thickness. The thicknesses H of the two cover plates 15 may be the same or different.
(Instant specification, at e.g. ¶ 0104, emphasis added.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al (CN 216435961, published May 2022, citations to US 2024/0128487) in view of Hu (US 2020/0185664).
Regarding independent claim 1, Li teaches a battery (e.g. item 1) comprising a battery cell (e.g. item 20) and a battery shell (e.g. item 10) comprising
(i) a first cover body (e.g. item 11) that may have a plate-shaped structure with a thickness of e.g. 0.05 mm to 0.3 mm (i.e. 50-300 µm);
(ii) a second cover body (e.g. item 12) that may have a plate-shaped structure with a thickness of e.g. 0.05 mm to 0.3 mm (i.e. 50-300 µm), wherein said second cover body may be identical to said first cover body in order to reduce the number of parts, reduce maintenance costs, and/or avoid manufacturing assembly problems; and,
(iii) an annular middle frame (e.g. item 13) that may be formed as an integrally molded structure; alternatively, said annular middle frame may be formed of two or more plates connected sequentially together,
wherein said annular middle frame comprises two opposite first faces in a Y-direction and two opposite second faces in a Z-direction, each first face at opposite ends contacting said two opposite second faces,
wherein said annular middle frame with a wall thickness range of 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm (i.e. 100-300 µm), said annular middle frame wall thickness is greater than or equal to said thickness of said first cover body and also greater than or equal to said thickness of said second cover body,
wherein said annular middle frame has an internally hollow annular structure that has two open faces on opposite ends of said annular middle frame in an X-direction, each open face adjacent to one of said first and second cover bodies,
wherein said annular middle frame is arranged between said first cover body and said second cover body such that said two open faces are respectively covered by said first and second cover bodies;
said first cover body, said annular middle frame, and said second cover body are sequentially connected to form a closed cavity,
wherein said battery cell comprising a stacked body of a positive electrode sheet, an insulation diaphragm, and a negative electrode sheet, ,
wherein said battery cell is arranged in said closed cavity with an electrolyte so said closed cavity has a high requirement for sealing so that said electrolyte does not leak
(e.g. ¶¶ 0002, 06-08, 12-14, 17-20, 59-62, 66, and 73-74 plus e.g. Figures 1-2 and 4; see further Annotated Figure 2, infra), reading on “housing,” said battery shell comprising:
(1) said first cover body (e.g. item 11) that may have said plate-shaped structure and said second cover body (e.g. item 12) that may have said plate-shaped structure (e.g. supra), reading on “two cover plates” and “the two cover plates are both …plates;” and,
(2) said annular middle frame (e.g. item 13) that may be formed as said integrally molded structure; alternatively, said annular middle frame formed of two or more plates connected sequentially together,
wherein said annular middle frame comprises two opposite first faces in said Y-direction and two opposite second faces in said Z-direction, each first face opposite ends contacting said two opposite second faces,
wherein said annular middle frame has said internally hollow annular structure that has two open faces on opposite ends of said annular middle frame in said X-direction, each open face adjacent to one of said first and second cover bodies
(e.g. supra), reading on “a middle frame,” and “the middle frame has two openings opposite to each other in a first direction,”
wherein said annular middle frame is arranged between said first cover body and said second cover body such that said two open faces are respectively covered by said first and second cover bodies; and, wherein said first cover body, said annular middle frame, and said second cover body are sequentially connected to form said closed cavity (e.g. supra), reading on “the two cover plates are configured to respectively cover the two openings” and the middle frame and the two cover plates jointly define an accommodating space.”
Li does not expressly teach said first cover body and said second cover body being “arc shaped.”
However, Hu teaches a battery pack comprising arcuate electrode assemblies and an arcuate packaging housing optimizes utilization of space and improves unit energy density,
wherein said arcuate electrode assemblies may have a curvature radius greater than or equal to about 15 mm, such as 20 mm or greater, to satisfy design requirements of a portable device worn at e.g. a human wrist or ankle; and,
wherein said arcuate packing housing curved along an arc length direction (e.g. item 25) comprising
a first arcuate plate (e.g. item 11) and
a second arcuate plate (e.g. item 16),
wherein said first and second arcuate plates may have a curvature radius matching those of said arcuate electrode assemblies, said matching may include, but not limited to, the same curvature or the same arcuate center
(e.g. ¶¶ 0002, 12-13, 17, 37-39, 50-51 plus e.g. Figures 1-9).
As a result, it would have been obvious to shape said battery of Li—including said battery cell and said battery shell, with said first cover body, said second cover body, and said annular middle frame—so that it has the arcuate shape of Hu, forming an arcuate battery and arcuate battery shell, since Hu teaches a battery and battery package formed as an arcuate battery and arcuate battery package optimizes utilization of space and improves unit energy density.
Further, it would have been obvious to shape said first cover body, said second cover body, and said annular middle frame of said arcuate battery packaging of Li as modified, so that they each have said curvature radius greater than or equal to about 15 mm, such as 20 mm or greater, as taught by Hu, since Hu teaches said curvature radius satisfies design requirements of a portable device worn at e.g. a human wrist or ankle, noting Li teaches said first cover body and said second cover body may be identical to one another (e.g. supra), so would have an identical curvature radius to one another.
Furthermore, Li teaches said first cover body, said annular middle frame, and said second cover body are sequentially connected to form said closed cavity;
wherein said battery cell is arranged in said closed cavity with said electrolyte so said closed cavity has a high requirement for sealing so that said electrolyte does not leak; and,
wherein said annular middle frame comprises two opposite first faces in said Y-direction and two opposite second faces in said Z-direction, each first face at opposite ends contacting said two opposite second faces (e.g. supra).
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to shape said arcuate battery shell of Li as modified so that said two opposite first faces in said Y-direction of said annular middle frame have said arcuate shape of Hu—such that each said opposite first faces in said Y-direction of said annular middle frame seals with each of said arcuate first cover body and said arcuate second cover body of Li as modified, since Li teaches said battery cell is arranged in said closed cavity with said electrolyte so said closed cavity has a high requirement for sealing so that said electrolyte does not leak, noting said two opposite second faces in said X-direction retain a rectilinear shape of Li that each of said two opposite second faces in said X-direction seals to said arcuate first cover body and said arcuate second cover body.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to shape said arcuate battery shell of Li as modified so that said two opposite second faces in said X-direction of said annular middle frame have said arcuate shape of Hu—such that each said opposite second faces in said C-direction of said annular middle frame seals with each of said arcuate first cover body and said arcuate second cover body of Li as modified, since Li teaches said battery cell is arranged in said closed cavity with said electrolyte so said closed cavity has a high requirement for sealing so that said electrolyte does not leak, noting said two opposite first faces in said Y-direction retain a rectilinear shape of Li that each of said two opposite first faces in said Y-direction seals to said arcuate first cover body and said arcuate second cover body.
Li as modified reading on “the two cover plates are both arc shaped plates.”
Regarding claim 2, Li as modified teaches the battery shell of claim 1, wherein Li teaches said annular middle frame that may be formed as said integrally molded structure; alternatively, said annular middle frame formed of two or more plates connected sequentially together,
wherein said annular middle frame comprises two opposite first faces in said Y-direction and two opposite second faces in said Z-direction, each first face at opposite ends contacting said two opposite second faces,
wherein said annular middle frame has said internally hollow annular structure that has two open faces on opposite ends of said annular middle frame in said X-direction, each open face adjacent to one of said first and second cover bodies
(e.g. supra), reading on “the middle frame comprises two first walls provided opposite to each other in a second direction and two second walls provided opposite to each other in a third direction, the two first walls and the two second walls are connected end to end in sequence, and the first direction, the second direction, and the third direction are perpendicular to each other.”
Regarding claims 3-4, Li as modified teaches the battery shell of claim 2, wherein said two opposite first faces in said Y-direction of said annular middle frame have said arcuate shape of Hu—such that each said opposite first faces in said Y-direction of said annular middle frame seals with each of said arcuate first cover body and said arcuate second cover body of Li as modified, noting said two opposite second faces in said X-direction retain a rectilinear shape of Li that each of said two opposite second faces in said X-direction seals to said arcuate first cover body and said arcuate second cover body; alternatively, said two opposite second faces in said X-direction of said annular middle frame have said arcuate shape of Hu—such that each said opposite second faces in said C-direction of said annular middle frame seals with each of said arcuate first cover body and said arcuate second cover body of Li as modified, noting said two opposite first faces in said Y-direction retain a rectilinear shape of Li that each of said two opposite first faces in said Y-direction seals to said arcuate first cover body and said arcuate second cover body (e.g. supra), reading on “the first wall has two arc edges opposite to each other in the first direction, and the two cover plates are respectively connected to the two arc edges” (claim 3) and the second wall has two straight edges opposite to each other in the first direction, and the two cover plates are respectively connected to the two straight edges” (claim 4).
Regarding claims 5-6, Li as modified teaches the battery shell of claim 1, wherein Li teaches said annular middle frame that may be formed as said integrally molded structure; alternatively, said annular middle frame formed of two or more plates connected sequentially together (e.g. supra), reading on “the middle frame is an integrally formed structure” (claim 5), wherein the process limitation “bending a plate” does not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art, see also e.g. MPEP § 2113, see also instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0016-17 and 93-95, reading on “the middle frame is formed by bending a plate, and two ends of the plate are connected” (claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, Li as modified teaches the battery shell of claim 1, wherein Li teaches said first cover body with said thickness of e.g. 0.05 mm to 0.3 mm (i.e. 50-300 µm) and said curvature radius greater than or equal to about 15 mm, such as 20 mm or greater; and, said second cover body with said thickness of e.g. 0.05 mm to 0.3 mm (i.e. 50-300 µm) and said curvature radius greater than or equal to about 15 mm, such as 20 mm or greater, wherein said second cover body may be identical to said first cover body (e.g. supra), reading on “arc angles of the two cover plates are same.”
Regarding claims 8-13, Li as modified teaches the battery shell of claim 1, wherein Li teaches said first cover body with said thickness of e.g. 0.05 mm to 0.3 mm (i.e. 50-300 µm) and said curvature radius greater than or equal to about 15 mm, such as 20 mm or greater; said second cover body with said thickness of e.g. 0.05 mm to 0.3 mm (i.e. 50-300 µm) and said curvature radius greater than or equal to about 15 mm, such as 20 mm or greater, wherein said second cover body may be identical to said first cover body; and, said annular middle frame with said wall thickness range of 0.1 mm to 0.3 mm (i.e. 100-300 µm), said annular middle frame wall thickness is greater than or equal to said thickness of said first cover body and also greater than or equal to said thickness of said second cover body (e.g. supra), severably establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed ranges, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on “a wall thickness of the middle frame is L, and 100 μm≤L≤1500 μm” (claim 8); “the wall thickness of the middle frame is larger than a thickness of the cover plate” (claim 9); “the wall thickness of the cover plate is H, and 50 μm≤H≤1000 μm” (claim 10); “the wall thickness of the middle frame is L, the wall thickness of the cover plate is H, and 50 μm≤L−H≤500 μm” (claim 11); “50 μm≤L−H≤200 μm, and 80 mm≤R≤300 mm…,wherein R is a curvature radius of each cover plate” (claim 12); and, “80 mm≤R≤300 mm, and 50 μm≤L−H≤100 μm…” (claim 13).
Regarding claims 19-20, Li and Hu are applied as provided supra, with the following modifications.
Still regarding independent claims 19-20, Li as modified teaches said battery, wherein said battery of Li—including said battery cell and said battery shell, with said first cover body, said second cover body, and said annular middle frame—has the arcuate shape of Hu, forming an arcuate battery and arcuate battery shell (e.g. supra), reading on “arc battery” (claims 19-20), said battery comprising:
said first cover body, said annular middle frame, and said second cover body are sequentially connected to form said closed cavity,
wherein said battery cell comprising a stacked body of a positive electrode sheet, an insulation diaphragm, and a negative electrode sheet,
wherein said battery cell is arranged in said closed cavity with an electrolyte so said closed cavity has a high requirement for sealing so that said electrolyte does not leak,
(e.g. supra), reading on “an electrode assembly…the electrode assembly accommodated in the accommodating space” (claims 19-20) and said battery being an electric device, reading on “electric device” (claim 20), as claimed.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ju et al (US 2016/0276635);
Hiroki (US 2016/0073519); and,
Slocum (US 2015/0140371).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723