DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on July 27, 2026 are entered into the file. Currently claims 1, 6, 10-11, 15, and 19-20 are amended, claims 3, 13-14, and 17 are cancelled, and claim 27 is new, resulting in claims 1-2, 4-12, 15-16, and 18-27 pending for examination.
Claim Notes
Applicant is advised that should claim 8 be found allowable, claim 9 will be objected to and should claim 22 be found allowable claim 23 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
The instant specification does not provide proper antecedent basis for the limitation “wherein the first yarn and the second yarn are fed and knit together at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other” in claims 1 and 15. As will be discussed in more detail in the 112(b) rejection of claims 1 and 15 below, the claims appear to be indicating that in the final knit the first and second yarns are at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other. However, the instant specification at paragraphs [0027]-[0028] discuss how the first and second yarn are fed to the knitting needle at an angle of 10-70 degrees and are then knit together. As can be seen in Fig. 2 this results in a plated structure in the final knit rather than the first and second yarns being at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other in the final knit fabric as is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4-12, 15-16, and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recite the limitation “wherein the first and second yarn are fed and knit together at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other”. The limitation is indefinite because it is unclear whether the yarns are fed at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other, whether the yarns are presented in the final knit at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other, or both. If the yarns are fed at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other it is unclear how the limitation “knit together at an angle of 10-70 degrees” would be met. If the yarns are at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other in the final knit product then it is unclear how the stitches would be plain or purl stitches are required by later claims.
The instant specification at paragraphs [0027]-[0028] discuss how the first and second yarns are fed to the knitting needle at an angle of 10-70 degrees and then are knitted together. As can be seen in at least Fig. 2 this results in a plated structure in the final knit. Therefore, for the purposes of examination, the limitation will be interpreted as the first yarn and the second yarn are fed to the knitting needle at an angle of 10-70 degrees and then knit together, pending further clarification from Applicant.
Claims 2 and 4-12 are also rejected under 112(b) based on their dependency from claim 1, rejected above.
Claims 16 and 18-26 are also rejected under 112(b) based on their dependency from claim 15, rejected above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US 2015/0259834)1 in view of Martinet (US 2015/0111466)1, McMurray (US 2004/0097151)1, and Yoon (US 2005/0079784)1. Supporting evidence provided by Crawford (Plastics Engineering (4th Edition)).
With respect to claims 1-2 and 11, Hsiao teaches a fabric structure including an upper fabric layer knitted with a plurality of first PET fibers and a plurality of first PU fibers; a lower fabric layer knitted with a plurality of second PU fibers (elastic yarn) and a plurality of third PET fibers (polyester second yarn); and a central fabric layer interposed between the upper fabric layer and the lower fabric layer, knitted with a plurality of wave-like second PET fibers (paragraph [0009]). Because of the characteristics of the PU material, the lower fabric layer has stretchability and mild stickiness (paragraph [0017]). The second PU fibers (elastic yarn) may be knitted into a plurality of fibers regions 18 and the third PET fibers (polyester second yarn) are knitted into a plurality of second regions 20, where the regions are in the form of strips arranged alternately (Fig. 3; paragraph [0018]). Since the third PET fibers (polyester second yarn) and the second PU fibers (elastic yarn) of the lower layer are formed in adjacent regions as seen in Fig. 3, the PU fibers (elastic yarn), which provides stickiness, is necessarily entirely or partially exposed on the outside of the lower layer to form a sticky surface. The second PET fiber, which is used to knit the central fabric layer, may be a monofilament (paragraph [0017]). The upper and lower fabrics are knitted in a warp knitting method (paragraph [0017]). The fabric structure may be used as the cloth for a female bra (garment) (paragraph [0020]).
Hsiao is silent as to the PU fiber being thermoplastic.
Martinet teaches a garment comprising a fabric that is knit so as to purposefully cling and grip to a wearer’s body (paragraph [0005]). Yarns made from, for example, thermoplastic polyurethane polymers, spandex, and/or latex may be used for such purposes (paragraph [0005]). Martinet further teaches a bra cup made of a knitted spacer fabric where the inner side, which contacts the wearer’s skin, comprises spandex or thermoplastic polyurethane (paragraphs [0041], [0046]). The thermoplastic polyurethane fibers is strong due to its high molecular weight for a given denier, has good elastic and modulus for wearing, is thin and breathable, and has high stretch (paragraph [0033]).
Since both Hsiao and Martinet teach spacer fabrics for bra cups comprising polyurethane fibers to provide stickiness to the cup, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polyurethane fiber of Hsiao to be thermoplastic polyurethane in order to provide a bra cup that is strong, has good elastic and modulus for wearing, is thin and breathable and has high stretch, as well as providing the stickiness property desired by both Hsiao and Martinet.
Hsiao in view of Martinet is silent as to the second PU fiber (elastic yarn) being melted and adhered with the third PET fiber (second yarn) through thermal treatment at a thermal setting temperature between a softening point and a melting point of the thermoplastic elastic yarn.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment as a molded breast cup while imparting a permanent heat memory property to the spacer fabric product permitting the molding process to shape the fabric and still maintain all functions of stretch, thickness, and comfort breathability (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teach spaced fabrics for bras comprising thermoplastic elastomers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have heat-molded the spacer fabric to form a breast cup which has a permanent heat memory property while maintaining all functions of stretch, thickness, and comfort breathability. It is well known in the art that thermoforming is a secondary manufacturing process where materials are reheated, but only to a softening temperature which lies below the melting temperature of the polymer (Crawford; 4.4 Thermoforming). Since the prior art teaches the claimed heating method and temperature, it is reasonable to presume the resulting structure (the thermoplastic elastic yarn is melted and adhered with a second yarn) is inherent to the prior art product.
Hsiao is silent as to the second PU yarn (first yarn) and the third PET yarn (second yarn) being fed at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other and knit together where the second PU yarn (first yarn) is used as the face yarn of the first outer layer or the second outer layer to form the sticky surface, and the third PET yarn (second yarn) is used as the bottom yarn of the first outer layer or the second outer layer.
As can be seen in at least Fig. 2 of the instant application, it appears that the structure resulting from the first and second yarn being fed to the knitting needle at an angle of 10-70 degrees is the first and second yarn are plated in the final knitted fabric.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet in view of McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have plated the PU yarn and the PET yarn of Hsiao in view of Martinet because it is known in the art that plating yarns in a spacer fabric will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
Hsiao in view of Martinet is silent as to the density of yarns used to make the central fabric layer being 10-19 deniers.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The multifilament yarns are nylon or polyester with a denier of 20-200 and the spandex yarns have a denier of 10-70 (paragraph [0041]). The spacer yarns may be a polyester monofilament with a denier of 20-80 (paragraph [0042]). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn and polyester fibers with a polyester spacer layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the TPU yarns to have a denier of 10-70, as the TPU yarns provide stretch similar to the spandex yarn, the PET fibers of the outer layers to have a multifilament denier of 20-200, and the PET spacer yarns to have a denier of 20-80 because it is known in the art that the above fiber sizes will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray is silent as to the CPI of the upper and lower layers being 50-80 and the WPI being 20-39.
Yoon teaches a warp knit useful for the manufacture of articles such as ladies’ clothes (paragraph [0002]). The knit has an intermediate spacer sandwiched between a technical face and a rear face (paragraph [0011]). It is preferable to maintain the density of the warp knit at 40 to about 80 wale/course number/inch so that excellent touch and shape stability is obtained (paragraph [0031]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray and Yoon teach spacer fabrics for women’s clothing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and lower fabric layers to have a density of 40-80 wale/course number/inch in order to provide a knit spacer fabric with excellent touch and shape stability.
As to the ranges recited in the claims, it has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ordinary artisan would expect the yarn sizes of the prior art to be capable of providing a spacer fabric suitable for use in bras.
With respect to claim 4, Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon teaches all the limitations of claim 2 above. Hsiao further teaches the upper and lower fabrics are knitted in a warp knitting method (plain stitch) (paragraph [0017]) or the upper layer may be knitted to have a jacquard pattern (paragraph [0019]).
With respect to claim 5, Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon teaches all the limitations of claim 4. Hsiao further teaches the upper and lower fabrics are knitted in a warp knitting method (plain stitch) (paragraph [0017]).
With respect to claims 7-9, Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon teaches all the limitations of claim 4 above.
Hsiao is silent as to the second PU yarn (first yarn) and the third PET yarn (second yarn) being formed into courses according to a predetermined jacquard pattern by weft knitting, and the positions of the courses formed by the second PU yarn (first yarn) and the third PET yarn (second yarn) in the same row are complementary; wherein the circular weft knitting selects two of knit, tuck, and miss to periodically form the courses.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated (complementary courses) with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet in view of McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have plated the PU yarn and the PET yarn of Hsiao in view of Martinet because it is known in the art that plating yarns in a spacer fabric will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
McMurray further teaches that decorative surfaces may be provided through use of a weft-knit jacquard pattern and a combination of stitches selected from the group consisting of simple knit, miss, or tuck (paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper fabric layer, the lower fabric layer, or both fabric layers of Hsiao in view of Martinet to have a jacquard pattern comprising a combination of stitches selected from the group consisting of simple knit, miss, or tuck, in order to provide decorative surfaces.
With respect to claim 10, Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Hsiao in view of Martinet is silent as to the density of the yarns used to make the upper and lower layers being 5-40 deniers.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The multifilament yarns are nylon or polyester with a denier of 20-200 and the spandex yarns have a denier of 10-70 (paragraph [0041]). The spacer yarns may be a polyester monofilament with a denier of 20-80 (paragraph [0042]). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet in view of McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn and polyester fibers with a polyester spacer layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the TPU yarns to have a denier of 10-70, as the TPU yarns provide stretch similar to the spandex yarn, the PET fibers of the outer layers to have a multifilament denier of 20-200, and the PET spacer yarns to have a denier of 20-80 because it is known in the art that the above fiber sizes will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US 2015/0259834)2 in view of Martinet (US 2015/0111466)1, McMurray (US 2004/0097151)1, and Yoon (US 2005/0079784)1 as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2019/0203389)1.
With respect to claim 6, Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon teaches all the limitations of claim 4 above. Hsiao further teaches the second PU fibers (elastic yarn) may be knitted into a plurality of fibers regions 18 and the third PET fibers (polyester second yarn) are knitted into a plurality of second regions 20, where the regions are in the form of strips arranged alternately (Fig. 3; paragraph [0018]).
Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon is silent as to the second PU yarn (first yarn) and the third PET yarn (second yarn) being knit together to form the purl stitch where the second PU yarn (first yarn) is used as the face yarn of the first outer layer or the second outer layer to form the sticky surface, and the third PET yarn (second yarn) is used as the bottom yarn of the first outer layer or the second outer layer.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have plated the PU yarn and the PET yarn of Hsiao in view of Martinet because it is known in the art that plating yarns in a spacer fabric will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray is silent as to the stitch being a purl stitch.
Liu teaches a functional fabric having a unitary one-piece construction incorporating at least a thermoplastic yarn (paragraph [0001]). Liu further teaches that plain and purl stitches are a known knitting stitch (paragraph [0037]). The fabric may be used in apparel clothing (paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the plain stitch of the knitted fabric of Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray to be a purl stitch because it is known in the art that a purl stitch is suitable for apparel clothing and would yield the predictable result of a purl knitted fabric. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US 2015/0259834)3 in view of Martinet (US 2015/0111466)1, McMurray (US 2004/0097151)1, and Yoon (US 2005/0079784)1 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2020/0001566)1.
With respect to claim 12, Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon is silent as to the lengths of the second PET fibers varying with position in the transverse direction to form a spacer fabric with varying thickness.
Lin teaches spacer fabrics provided with adaptive thickness (paragraph [0002]). The spacer fabric includes a first fabric layer and a second fabric layer and a central fabric layer which is intertwined with the first fabric layer and the second fabric layer and formed of a plurality of wave-like fibers (paragraph [0006]). The central fabric layer is formed with adaptive thicknesses in accordance with predetermined thickness patterns (paragraph [0006]). Generally, the variation of thickness is in consideration of variable functions of the garments to be made so as to save labor costs and time for subsequent processing (paragraph [0005]). With respect to a bra, the thickness of the spacer fabric in the push-up parts is greater than the thickness of the spacer fabric in the upper parts so as to provide better breast-supporting capability (paragraph [0016]). The change in thickness is controlled by changing the thickness (length) of the central fabric layer (paragraph [0019]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet, McMurray, and Yoon teach spacer fabrics for bras, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacer fabric of Hsiao and in view of Martinet to have a varying thickness, such as a decrease in the thickness from the push-up parts of a bra cup to the upper parts, so as to provide better breast-supporting capability while also saving labor costs and reducing time for subsequent processing.
Claim(s) 15-16, 18-19, 21-24, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US 2015/0259834)4 in view of Martinet (US 2015/0111466)1 and McMurray (US 2004/0097151). Supporting evidence provided by Crawford (Plastics Engineering (4th Edition)).
With respect to claims 15-16 and 27, Hsiao teaches a fabric structure including an upper fabric layer knitted with a plurality of first PET fibers and a plurality of first PU fibers; a lower fabric layer knitted with a plurality of second PU fibers (elastic yarn) and a plurality of third PET fibers (polyester second yarn); and a central fabric layer interposed between the upper fabric layer and the lower fabric layer, knitted with a plurality of wave-like second PET fibers (paragraph [0009]). Because of the characteristics of the PU material, the lower fabric layer has stretchability and mild stickiness (paragraph [0017]). The second PU fibers (elastic yarn) may be knitted into a plurality of fibers regions 18 and the third PET fibers (polyester second yarn) are knitted into a plurality of second regions 20, where the regions are in the form of strips arranged alternately (Fig. 3; paragraph [0018]). Since the third PET fibers (polyester second yarn) and the second PU fibers (elastic yarn) of the lower layer are formed in adjacent regions as seen in Fig. 3, the PU fibers (elastic yarn), which provides stickiness, is necessarily entirely or partially exposed on the outside of the lower layer to form a sticky surface. The second PET fiber, which is used to knit the central fabric layer, may be a monofilament (paragraph [0017]). The upper and lower fabrics are knitted in a warp knitting method (paragraph [0017]). The fabric structure may be used as the cloth for a female bra (garment) (paragraph [0020]).
Hsiao is silent as to the PU fiber being thermoplastic.
Martinet teaches a garment comprising a fabric that is knit so as to purposefully cling and grip to a wearer’s body (paragraph [0005]). Yarns made from, for example, thermoplastic polyurethane polymers, spandex, and/or latex may be used for such purposes (paragraph [0005]). Martinet further teaches a bra cup made of a knitted spacer fabric where the inner side, which contacts the wearer’s skin, comprises spandex or thermoplastic polyurethane (paragraphs [0041], [0046]). The thermoplastic polyurethane fibers is strong due to its high molecular weight for a given denier, has good elastic and modulus for wearing, is thin and breathable, and has high stretch (paragraph [0033]).
Since both Hsiao and Martinet teach spacer fabrics for bra cups comprising polyurethane fibers to provide stickiness to the cup, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the polyurethane fiber of Hsiao to be thermoplastic polyurethane in order to provide a bra cup that is strong, has good elastic and modulus for wearing, is thin and breathable and has high stretch, as well as providing the stickiness property desired by both Hsiao and Martinet.
Hsiao in view of Martinet is silent as to the second PU fiber (elastic yarn) being melted and adhered with the third PET fiber (second yarn) through thermal treatment at a thermal setting temperature between a softening point and a melting point of the thermoplastic elastic yarn.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment as a molded breast cup while imparting a permanent heat memory property to the spacer fabric product permitting the molding process to shape the fabric and still maintain all functions of stretch, thickness, and comfort breathability (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teach spaced fabrics for bras comprising thermoplastic elastomers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have heat-molded the spacer fabric to form a breast cup which has a permanent heat memory property while maintaining all functions of stretch, thickness, and comfort breathability. It is well known in the art that thermoforming is a secondary manufacturing process where materials are reheated, but only to a softening temperature which lies below the melting temperature of the polymer (Crawford; 4.4 Thermoforming). Since the prior art teaches the claimed heating method and temperature, it is reasonable to presume the resulting structure (the thermoplastic elastic yarn is melted and adhered with a second yarn) is inherent to the prior art product.
Hsiao is silent as to the second PU yarn (first yarn) and the third PET yarn (second yarn) being fed at an angle of 10-70 degrees from each other and knit together where the second PU yarn (first yarn) is used as the face yarn of the first outer layer or the second outer layer to form the sticky surface, and the third PET yarn (second yarn) is used as the bottom yarn of the first outer layer or the second outer layer.
As can be seen in at least Fig. 2 of the instant application, it appears that the structure resulting from the first and second yarn being fed to the knitting needle at an angle of 10-70 degrees is the first and second yarn are plated in the final knitted fabric.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet in view of McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have plated the PU yarn and the PET yarn of Hsiao in view of Martinet because it is known in the art that plating yarns in a spacer fabric will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
With respect to claim 18, Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teaches all the limitations of claim 16 above. Hsiao further teaches the upper and lower fabrics are knitted in a warp knitting method (plain stitch) (paragraph [0017]) or the upper layer may be knitted to have a jacquard pattern (paragraph [0019]).
With respect to claim 19, Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teaches all the limitations of claim 18 above. Hsiao further teaches the upper and lower fabrics are knitted in a warp knitting method (plain stitch) (paragraph [0017]).
With respect to claims 21-23, Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teaches all the limitations of claim 18 above.
Hsiao is silent as to the second PU yarn (first yarn) and the third PET yarn (second yarn) being formed into courses according to a predetermined jacquard pattern by weft knitting, and the positions of the courses formed by the second PU yarn (first yarn) and the third PET yarn (second yarn) in the same row are complementary; wherein the circular weft knitting selects two of knit, tuck, and miss to periodically form the courses.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated (complementary courses) with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet in view of McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have plated the PU yarn and the PET yarn of Hsiao in view of Martinet because it is known in the art that plating yarns in a spacer fabric will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
McMurray further teaches that decorative surfaces may be provided through use of a weft-knit jacquard pattern and a combination of stitches selected from the group consisting of simple knit, miss, or tuck (paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper fabric layer, the lower fabric layer, or both fabric layers of Hsiao in view of Martinet to have a jacquard pattern comprising a combination of stitches selected from the group consisting of simple knit, miss, or tuck, in order to provide decorative surfaces.
With respect to claim 24, Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above.
Hsiao in view of Martinet is silent as to the density of the yarns used to make the upper and lower layers being 5-40 deniers and the density of the yarns used to make the intermediate layer being 10-50 deniers.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The multifilament yarns are nylon or polyester with a denier of 20-200 and the spandex yarns have a denier of 10-70 (paragraph [0041]). The spacer yarns may be a polyester monofilament with a denier of 20-80 (paragraph [0042]). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet in view of McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn and polyester fibers with a polyester spacer layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the TPU yarns to have a denier of 10-70, as the TPU yarns provide stretch similar to the spandex yarn, the PET fibers of the outer layers to have a multifilament denier of 20-200, and the PET spacer yarns to have a denier of 20-80 because it is known in the art that the above fiber sizes will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US 2015/0259834)5 in view of Martinet (US 2015/0111466)1 and McMurray (US 2004/0097151)1 as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Liu (US 2019/0203389)1.
With respect to claim 20, Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teaches all the limitations of claim 18 above. Hsiao further teaches the second PU fibers (elastic yarn) may be knitted into a plurality of fibers regions 18 and the third PET fibers (polyester second yarn) are knitted into a plurality of second regions 20, where the regions are in the form of strips arranged alternately (Fig. 3; paragraph [0018]).
Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray is silent as to the second PU yarn (first yarn) and the third PET yarn (second yarn) being knit together to form the purl stitch where the second PU yarn (first yarn) is used as the face yarn of the first outer layer or the second outer layer to form the sticky surface, and the third PET yarn (second yarn) is used as the bottom yarn of the first outer layer or the second outer layer.
McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have plated the PU yarn and the PET yarn of Hsiao in view of Martinet because it is known in the art that plating yarns in a spacer fabric will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray is silent as to the stitch being a purl stitch.
Liu teaches a functional fabric having a unitary one-piece construction incorporating at least a thermoplastic yarn (paragraph [0001]). Liu further teaches that plain and purl stitches are a known knitting stitch (paragraph [0037]). The fabric may be used in apparel clothing (paragraph [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the plain stitch of the knitted fabric of Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray to be a purl stitch because it is known in the art that a purl stitch is suitable for apparel clothing and would yield the predictable result of a purl knitted fabric. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US 2015/0259834)6 in view of Martinet (US 2015/0111466)1, McMurray (US 2004/0097151)1 as applied to claim 15 above, and Yoon (US 2005/0079784)1.
With respect to claim 25, Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above.
Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray is silent as to the CPI of the upper and lower layers being 50-80 and the WPI being 20-39.
Yoon teaches a warp knit useful for the manufacture of articles such as ladies’ clothes (paragraph [0002]). The knit has an intermediate spacer sandwiched between a technical face and a rear face (paragraph [0011]). It is preferable to maintain the density of the warp knit at 40 to about 80 wale/course number/inch so that excellent touch and shape stability is obtained (paragraph [0031]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray and Yoon teach spacer fabrics for women’s clothing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and lower fabric layers to have a density of 40-80 wale/course number/inch in order to provide a knit spacer fabric with excellent touch and shape stability.
As to the ranges recited in the claims, it has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ordinary artisan would expect the yarn sizes of the prior art to be capable of providing a spacer fabric suitable for use in bras.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsiao (US 2015/0259834)7 in view of Martinet (US 2015/0111466)1 and McMurray (US 2004/0097151)1 as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Lin (US 2020/0001566)1.
With respect to claim 26, Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teaches all the limitations of claim 15 above.
Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray is silent as to the lengths of the second PET fibers varying with position in the transverse direction to form a spacer fabric with varying thickness.
Lin teaches spacer fabrics provided with adaptive thickness (paragraph [0002]). The spacer fabric includes a first fabric layer and a second fabric layer and a central fabric layer which is intertwined with the first fabric layer and the second fabric layer and formed of a plurality of wave-like fibers (paragraph [0006]). The central fabric layer is formed with adaptive thicknesses in accordance with predetermined thickness patterns (paragraph [0006]). Generally, the variation of thickness is in consideration of variable functions of the garments to be made so as to save labor costs and time for subsequent processing (paragraph [0005]). With respect to a bra, the thickness of the spacer fabric in the push-up parts is greater than the thickness of the spacer fabric in the upper parts so as to provide better breast-supporting capability (paragraph [0016]). The change in thickness is controlled by changing the thickness (length) of the central fabric layer (paragraph [0019]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teach spacer fabrics for bras, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the spacer fabric of Hsiao and in view of Martinet and McMurray to have a varying thickness, such as a decrease in the thickness from the push-up parts of a bra cup to the upper parts, so as to provide better breast-supporting capability while also saving labor costs and reducing time for subsequent processing.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §103
Applicant’s arguments in the response filed July 27, 2026 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On page 18 of the response Applicant submits that the prior art does not teach the claimed combination of WPI and intermediate-layer denier limitations.
These arguments are not persuasive. As explained in the rejection of claim 1 above, McMurray teaches an integrally formed weft knit fabric structure having first and second knit fabric layers that are secured in a parallel and spaced relationship with each other by a plurality of resilient spacer yarns that extend between the first and second layers (paragraph [0007]). The spacer fabric includes elastomeric spandex yarns to create stretch and recovery (paragraph [0041]). The spandex are plated with textured synthetic multifilament yarns and/or bright luster synthetic multifilament yarns to form the first and second knit fabric layers (paragraph [0043]; Fig. 3). The multifilament yarns are nylon or polyester with a denier of 20-200 and the spandex yarns have a denier of 10-70 (paragraph [0041]). The spacer yarns may be a polyester monofilament with a denier of 20-80 (paragraph [0042]). The spacer product may be heat-molded and used in a brassiere garment (paragraph [0010]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray teach spacer fabrics comprising an elastomeric yarn and polyester fibers with a polyester spacer layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the TPU yarns to have a denier of 10-70, as the TPU yarns provide stretch similar to the spandex yarn, the PET fibers of the outer layers to have a multifilament denier of 20-200, and the PET spacer yarns to have a denier of 20-80 because it is known in the art that the above fiber sizes will provide the predictable results of a spacer fabric with stretch suitable for bras. See MPEP 2143.
Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray is silent as to the CPI of the upper and lower layers being 50-80 and the WPI being 20-39.
Yoon teaches a warp knit useful for the manufacture of articles such as ladies’ clothes (paragraph [0002]). The knit has an intermediate spacer sandwiched between a technical face and a rear face (paragraph [0011]). It is preferable to maintain the density of the warp knit at 40 to about 80 wale/course number/inch so that excellent touch and shape stability is obtained (paragraph [0031]).
Since both Hsiao in view of Martinet and McMurray and Yoon teach spacer fabrics for women’s clothing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper and lower fabric layers to have a density of 40-80 wale/course number/inch in order to provide a knit spacer fabric with excellent touch and shape stability.
As to the ranges recited in the claims, it has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 (I). In the instant case, the ordinary artisan would expect the yarn sizes of the prior art to be capable of providing a spacer fabric suitable for use in bras.
On pages 18-19 of the response Applicant submits that McMurray teaches heat molding of a spacer fabric and therefore does not teach melting spacer yarns. Applicant further submits that Rabinowicz discloses melting TPU monofilaments at a high temperature which would render McMurray unsuitable for its intended purpose.
These arguments are not persuasive. Applicant has provided no evidence that heat molding does not melt spacer yarns, particularly as evidenced by Rabinowicz which teaches that heat molding does melt the yarn. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence on the record. See MPEP 716.01(c)(II). Even though Rabinowicz is not relied upon in the above rejection, it is noted that Rabinowicz does not disclose a heating temperature, and therefore cannot disclose a “high” temperature as alleged. Additionally, it is within the ambit of the ordinary artisan to choose a temperature that is suitable for the heat molding of McMurray to maintain its product as suggested by the previous rejection. It is well-established that a determination of obviousness based on teachings from multiple references does not require an actual, physical substitution of elements. See MPEP 2145(III).
On pages 19-20 of the response Applicant submits that McMurray does not teach the amended claim because molding merely imparts a desired shape to the fabric whereas localized melting creates permanent inter-yarn bonding.
These arguments are not persuasive. Applicant has not provided evidence that heat molding merely imparts the desired shape to the fabric without the claimed structure. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence on the record. See MPEP 716.01(c)(II). As evidenced by Crawford, it is well known in the art that thermoforming is a secondary manufacturing process where materials are reheated, but only to a softening temperature which lies below the melting temperature of the polymer (Crawford; 4.4 Thermoforming). Since the prior art teaches the claimed heating method and temperature, it is reasonable to presume the resulting structure (the thermoplastic elastic yarn is melted and adhered with a second yarn) is inherent to the prior art product.
It is noted that the claim requires the structure of the elastic yarn being melted, however also claims the temperature during thermal treatment is set at a temperature below the melting point of the elastic yarn. Therefore even though thermo-molding is known in the prior art as being performed below the melting point of a polymer, sufficient melting and adherence to meet the structure of the claim is expected because the prior art teaches the same thermal setting temperature as the claimed invention.
On pages 20-21 Applicant submits the feed angle between the first yarn and the second yarn is a critical structural parameter that governs how the yarns interact during knitting and subsequent thermal treatment. Specifically Applicant submits that the product-by-process limitation of the selected feed angle determines the relative orientation, contact area, overlap, and exposure of the adjacent yarns within the knitted layer. Applicant concludes that because the prior art does not teach the knitting angle it does not have the same structure as the claimed invention.
These arguments are not persuasive. The instant specification does not discuss these structural features which result from the feeding angle and Applicant has provided no evidence to support the assertion that different feed angles necessarily change the relative orientation, contact area, overlap, and exposure of the adjacent yarns. Arguments presented by the applicant cannot take the place of evidence on the record. See MPEP 716.01(c)(II). The instant specification describes the yarns after feeding at the claimed angle as the first yarn being exposed on one side of the fabric and the second yarn exposed on the other side (Fig. 2, paragraph [0027]), i.e., the yarns are plated. The instant specification does not discuss any other specific degrees of orientation, contact area, overlap, or exposure required by the feed angle. Plating being formed from yarns fed at an angle is also well known in the art. See for example Wildt (US 1699320) which describes yarns being fed at different angles and/or heights so that one is brought to the front of the fabric and the other to the back (page 1, lines 5-25). When the relative positions of the yarns are reversed, that yarn which, up until the time of reversal, appeared on the front of the fabric will be thrown to the back, and vice versa (col. 1, lines 5-25).
As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the prior art teaches a plated yarn structure where one yarn forms the face surface and one yarn forms the back surface. Applicant has alleged that the feed angle requires specific final product structure, however has not explained how this final structure is not met by the prior art structure. Once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a prior art rejection is made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show a nonobvious difference. See MPEP 2113(II).
It is further noted that claim 1 does not require the thermal treatment to occur in tandem with knitting, therefore there is no requirement in claim 1 that the thermal treatment “locks” the yarns into their positions which occur directly after knitting.
Conclusion
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Previously presented
2 Previously presented
3 Previously presented
4 Previously presented
5 Previously presented
6 Previously presented
7 Previously presented