DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1 and 12 have been amended clarifying the translation of the foreign application
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined on the merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno et al. (US 2013/0260212 A1) in view of Ushio et al. (US 2009/0061309 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Kohno discloses an electronic device comprising an electrochemical device ([0032] rectangular lithium ion secondary battery is applied to a motor vehicle), the electrochemical device comprising:
A housing, wherein the housing defines an accommodation cavity and comprises a cover (Figures 1-2; cover 3), the cover comprises a first surface facing toward the accommodation cavity and a second surface facing away from the accommodation cavity, and the cover comprises a first through hole running through the first surface and the second surface (Figure 5 below);
A connecting strip connected to the first surface or the second surface or connected to an inner wall of the cover surrounding the first through hole, wherein the connecting strip comprises a second through-hole communicating with the first through-hole, and the connecting strip is a rigid metal plate (Figure 5 below; 15A/B and 14A/B being brazing and metal layer; formed of a circle as seen in Figure 4 and as a through hole in the central region; [0060] brazing materials 15A/B can be made of an aluminum metal the brazing material 15A/B along with the nickel metalized layer 14A/B read as a metal plate and can be considered to be rigid as the metal plate 14A/B is provide to connect the insulating base to the battery cover 3 and electrode connecting plate and thus is not designed to be bend or changed and thus reads on a simple definition of rigid as the brazing and metal layer forms a layer between the housing and electrode connecting plate);
an insulator fitly connected to the connecting strip, wherein the insulator comprises a third through-hole communicating with the second through-hole, and the insulator is bonded to the connecting strip (Figure 4-5; insulating base materials 13A having a through hole in the central region and is connected/bonded to the brazing and metalized layers 14A/B and 15A/B; [0038]); and
a feedthrough connector comprising a first part and a second part, wherein the first part is fitly connected to a surface of the insulator (Figure 5 below the first part is connected to the insulator through the brazing and metalized layers 14(A and B) and 15 (A and B), the surface of the insulator facing away from the connecting strip (Figure 5 below), the first part covers the third through-hole, one end of the second part is connected to a surface of the first part, the surface of the first part is a surface of the first part facing toward the connecting strip (Figure 5 below), and the second part extends away from the first part and is partly disposed in the first through-hole, the second through-hole, and the third through-hole (Figure 5; the terminals 4A/4B extend through the through holes to protrude to the outside of the battery casing),
View along a direction perpendicular to the second surface, the first through-hole, the second through-hole and the third through-hole are located within a projection of the first part, the second part is located within the first through hole, the second through hole and the third through-hole (Figure 5).
While it is the examiner’s opinion that the brazing material would form an additional metal layer as the process of brazing provides at least a thin metal layer of brazing material that would form and read as an additional metal plate layer, it is explicitly silent with respect to wherein the connecting strip is a metal sheet.
Ushio discloses a container for electric energy storage device and battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Ushio discloses wherein a lid member 3 is bonded to the second conductor layer 4a and to the bottom plate 2 by a brazing material layer 4b and 5b that forms a thin brazing layer of the brazing metal ([0071-0072] Figures 2a-2b) in order to bond and structurally secure the lid to the bottom plate through the frame.
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to incorporate the teaching of Ushio such that the brazing material of Kohno that is provided between the insulating material and the cover would form a metallic brazing layer that securely connects the insulating layer to the cover as taught by Ushio. The resulting modification would render obvious wherein the connecting strip is a metal sheet and bonded to the insulator. Thus all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 12 are rendered obvious through the combination.
Regarding claims 2 and 13, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 12. Kohno further discloses wherein the second part comprises a protruding portion protruding from the first through hole in a direction opposite to the accommodation cavity (Figure 5).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 12. Kohno further discloses wherein, as viewed along a direction perpendicular to the second surface, the second part is partly located in a region of the second through hole, the third through hole and the first through hole (Figure 5; the terminal 4A-4B is located within the through holes).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claims 4 and 15. Kohno further discloses wherein, as viewed along the direction perpendicular to the second surface, the second through hole and the third through hole are located in a region of the first through hole (Figure 5; the through holes are aligned with one another and thus the second and third through holes are located in a region of the first through hole when viewed along the direction perpendicular to the second surface).
Regarding claims 6 and 17, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 12. Kohno discloses wherein the connecting strip is fitly connected to the first surface (Figure 5; brazing layer 15A/B and metalized layer 14 A/B are connected to the first surface of the cover), and a clearance between the second part and the inner wall of the cover surrounds the first through hole (Figure 5). Kohno is silent with respect to the clearance being greater than or equal to 0.05 mm, however, Kohno discloses the gap such that the insulating base materials 13A/13B can be put between the connecting strip and the cover in order to insulate and seal the cover and terminal. Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to adjust the gap between the connecting strip and the first surface to be greater than 0.05 mm to avoid shorting the cell and in order to provide proper sealing and insulation of the battery terminal. Thus the size of the gap is not inventive as the gap is used such that an insulative material is provided within the gap to seal the battery cell. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claims 7 and 18 modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 12. Kohno discloses wherein the second part is provided in a direction parallel to the second surface. Kohno is silent with respect to the length and width of the cross section, however, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to adjust the length and width and relative sizes of the cross sections of the second part to be greater than or equal to 0.3 mm as a simple change in size of the second part. The size of an article is not a matter of invention. See In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 12. Kohno further discloses wherein the connecting strip is fixedly connected to the first surface, one side of the insulator is bonded to the connecting strip and another side of the insulator is bonded to the first part (Figure 5; cover plate is connected to the brazing material and metalized layer; the insulator is connected to the brazing and metalized layer; and the insulator second side is connected by brazing and metalized layer to the first part of the terminal).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Kohno further discloses wherein an annular clearance exists between the cover and the second part (Figure 5), the annular clearance is arranged around the first through hole, and the insulator seals the annular clearance (Figure 5, the insulating base materials 13A/13B close and seal the battery between the cover and the second part).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Kohno further discloses wherein a material of the housing comprises stainless steel, aluminum or nickel ([0173] battery casing and cover are formed of at least one of stainless steel, aluminum or nickel).
Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno et al. (US 2013/0260212 A1) in view of Ushio et al. (US 2009/0061309 A1) as applied to claims 2 and 13 above, and further in view of Uh et al. (US 2007/0202364 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claims 2 and 13. Kohno further discloses wherein the protruding portion protrudes from the first through hole in a direction opposite to the accommodative cavity, however, is silent with respect to wherein the protruding portion is bent toward a direction parallel to the second surface.
Uh discloses a secondary battery and discloses a terminal configuration for a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor or battery cells. Uh discloses wherein the electrode terminal has a structure in which the terminal extends from a first part within the electrode assembly and extends out of the cap plate and has a head shape that extends in a direction of the cap plate in order to improve the coupling force and sealing of the terminal region (Figures 9-10; [0052-0055]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to change the shape of the terminal taught by Kohno to have a structure as taught by Uh such that the terminal has the first part within and connected to the electrode assembly and a protruding part that extends out of the cover and a head/bent portion that extends in the direction of the cover plate as taught by Uh in order to improve the coupling force and sealing of the terminal region. The resulting structure would have the protruding part of the terminal contain a bent/head region that would extend toward a direction parallel to the second surface and thus would render obvious all the claim limitations of claims 3 and 14. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claims 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kohno et al. (US 2013/0260212 A1) in view of Ushio et al. (US 2009/0061309 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0215558 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, modified Kohno discloses all the claim limitations of claims 1 and 12. Kohno discloses wherein the through holes contain a circular shape (Figures 4-5), however, is silent with respect to wherein the first and third through holes have kidney shaped holes, oval holes, triangular holes, polygonal holes, or irregular special shaped holes.
Lee discloses a mobile terminal for a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Lee discloses wherein the terminal can have a terminal hole that may be an oval ([0106-0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to change that shape of the through holes from a circular shape to an oval shape as taught by Lee as a simple change in shape of the terminal through holes. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claims overcome the rejection of record because the brazing layer is a bonding interface formed and is not a rigid metal plate as claimed. This argument is noted, however, is not found to be persuasive as Kohno discloses a nickel metalized layer 14A/B and a brazing layer 15A/B that are used to form the connection between the casing and the insulator. The method of Brazing provides a thin metallic layer that can read as a metal plate. Examiner further notes that the nickel metalized layer and the brazing layer can read as the metal plate as a distinct layer/layers are formed between the casing and the insulator and would also read on the term “rigid” as a simple definition of “rigid” is unable to bend or be forced out of shape; not flexible; and not able to be changed or adapted. The brazing layer and the metalized layer is present to form a connection between the insulator and the casing that is not designed to be bent or changed and thus the metalized layer and the brazing layer would read on the claimed limitation of rigid metal layer. Examiner notes that the rejection has been updated taking into account the amendments to the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kondo et al. (US 2011/0120754 A1)-discloses a multilayer wiring board and semiconductor device. Kondo discloses wherein a material of a metal coating layer can be made of brazing materials to sufficiently bond the metal coating layer and the conductor layer through the brazing material wherein the brazing material layer can form a distinct layer 56 (Figure 4; [0245]).
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728