DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/09/2026 is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97, has been considered by the Examiner, and made of record in the application file.
Response to Amendment
This Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 04/09/2026. Claims 1, 3-4, 6-10, 12-15 and 17-18 are still pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 8-10, 12-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over BI et al Patent Application No. :( US 2021/0289463 A1) hereinafter referred as BI, in view of Lin et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2020/0059847 A1) hereinafter referred as Lin.
For claim 1, BI teaches a wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a wireless communication device to a wireless communication node, a message to update a downlink reference signal (paragraph [0034], lines 1-10),
wherein the downlink reference signal is configured to position a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0035], lines 1-10); requesting, by the wireless communication device, to be activated or triggered by the wireless communication node to semi-persistently receive the downlink reference signal that has been configured (301-304 fig. 3) (paragraph [0044]-[0045], lines 1-19). However , BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the requesting, by the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on going downlink reference signal as recited in claim 1.
LIn from the same or analogous art teaches the terminal device may stop measuring the downlink reference signal, that is, cancel measurement on the downlink reference signal, to reduce operations and computation of the terminal device by terminating the measurement process. Alternatively, the terminal device continues measuring the downlink reference signal even if the terminal device receives the handover command sent by the base station (paragraph [0151], lines 1-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the requesting, by the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on going downlink reference signal as taught by Lin into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The requesting, by the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on going downlink reference signal can be modify/implemented by combining the requesting, by the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on going downlink reference signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Lin into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Lin, the motivation for the combination would be to use the requesting, by the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on going downlink reference signal to manage more efficiently the communication, becoming more efficient and reliable.
For claim 3, BI teaches a wireless communication method, wherein the message further indicates at least one of: (i) one or more positioning node IDs; or ( ii) one or more downlink positioning reference signal resource set IDs (paragraph [0017], lines 13-23) and (paragraph [0171], lines 1-10).
For claim 4, BI teaches a wireless communication method, wherein sending the message further comprises: indicating, by the wireless communication device in the message, which duration is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal (paragraph [0020], lines 1-16) and (paragraph [0085], lines 1-17).
For claim 8, BI teaches a wireless communication device, comprising: at least one processor configured to: send, via a transmitter to a wireless communication node, a message to update a downlink reference signal (paragraph [0034], lines 1-10), wherein the downlink reference signal is configured to position a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0035], lines 1-10);
request to be activated or triggered by the wireless communication node to semi- persistently receive the downlink reference signal that has been configured (301-304 fig. 3) (paragraph [0044]-[0045], lines 1-19). However , BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the request to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal as recited in claim 8.
LIn from the same or analogous art teaches the terminal device may stop measuring the downlink reference signal, that is, cancel measurement on the downlink reference signal, to reduce operations and computation of the terminal device by terminating the measurement process. Alternatively, the terminal device continues measuring the downlink reference signal even if the terminal device receives the handover command sent by the base station (paragraph [0151], lines 1-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the request to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal l as taught by Lin into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The request to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal can be modify/implemented by combining the request to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Lin into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Lin, the motivation for the combination would be to use the requesting, by the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on going downlink reference signal to manage more efficiently the communication, becoming more efficient and reliable.
For claim 9, BI teaches a wireless communication node, comprising: at least one processor configured to: receive, via a receiver from a wireless communication device, a message to update a downlink reference signal (paragraph [0034], lines 1-10), wherein the downlink reference signal is configured to position a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0035], lines 1-10); request, via a transmitter from the wireless communication device, to be activated or triggered by the wireless communication node to semi-persistently receive the downlink reference signal that has been configured (301-304 fig. 3) (paragraph [0044]-[0045], lines 1-19). However, BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the request, via the transmitter from the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal as recited in claim 9.
LIn from the same or analogous art teaches the terminal device may stop measuring the downlink reference signal, that is, cancel measurement on the downlink reference signal, to reduce operations and computation of the terminal device by terminating the measurement process. Alternatively, the terminal device continues measuring the downlink reference signal even if the terminal device receives the handover command sent by the base station (paragraph [0151], lines 1-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the request, via the transmitter from the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal as taught by Lin into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The request, via the transmitter from the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal can be modify/implemented by combining the request, via the transmitter from the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Lin into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Lin, the motivation for the combination would be to use the requesting, by the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on going downlink reference signal to manage more efficiently the communication, becoming more efficient and reliable.
For claim 10, BI teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: receiving, by a wireless communication node from a wireless communication device, a message to update a downlink reference signal (paragraph [0034], lines 1-10), wherein the downlink reference signal is configured to position a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0035], lines 1-10);
receiving a first request from the wireless communication device to be activated or triggered by the wireless communication node to semi-persistently receive the downlink reference signal that has been configured(301-304 fig. 3) (paragraph [0044]-[0045], lines 1-19). However , BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving a second request from the wireless communication device to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal as recited in claim 10.
LIn from the same or analogous art teaches the terminal device may stop measuring the downlink reference signal, that is, cancel measurement on the downlink reference signal, to reduce operations and computation of the terminal device by terminating the measurement process. Alternatively, the terminal device continues measuring the downlink reference signal even if the terminal device receives the handover command sent by the base station (paragraph [0151], lines 1-13). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving a second request from the wireless communication device to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal taught by Lin into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The receiving a second request from the wireless communication device to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving a second request from the wireless communication device to terminate a transmission of an on-going downlink reference signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Lin into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Lin, the motivation for the combination would be to use the requesting, by the wireless communication device, to terminate a transmission of an on going downlink reference signal to manage more efficiently the communication, becoming more efficient and reliable.
For claim 12, BI teaches a wireless communication method, wherein the message further indicates at least one of: (i) one or more positioning node IDs; or (ii )one or more downlink positioning reference signal resource set IDs (paragraph [0017], lines 13-23) and (paragraph [0171], lines 1-10).
For claim 13, BI teaches a wireless communication method, wherein receiving the message further comprises: receiving an indication in the message, on which duration is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal (paragraph [0020], lines 1-16) and (paragraph [0085], lines 1-17).
For claim 17, BI teaches a wireless device, wherein the message further indicates at least one of: (i) one or more positioning node IDs; or (ii) one or more downlink positioning reference signal resource set IDs (paragraph [0017], lines 13-23) and (paragraph [0171], lines 1-10).
For claim 18, BI teaches a wireless device, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: request to be activated or triggered by the wireless communication node to semi- persistently receive the downlink reference signal that has been configured (301-304 fig. 3) (paragraph [0044]-[0045], lines 1-19); and indicate, in the message, which duration is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal (paragraph [0020], lines 1-16) and (paragraph [0085], lines 1-17).
Claims 6-7, 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being un-patentable over BI et al Patent Application No. :( US 2021/0289463 A1) hereinafter referred as BI, in view of Lin et al US Patent Application No.:( US 2020/0059847 A1) hereinafter referred as Lin, in further view of Hussain et al US Patent No.:( US 11,277,223 B2) hereinafter referred as Hussain.
For claim 6, BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal as recited in claim 6.
Hussain from the same or analogous art teaches the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal (Column 13, lines 6-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal as taught by Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal can be modify/implemented by combining the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Hussain, the motivation for the combination would be to use the wireless communications where can select a bandwidth from a plurality of bandwidths becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 7, BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the wireless communication device, beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node as recited in claim 7.
Hussain from the same or analogous art teaches the wireless communication device, beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node (Column 8, lines 42-47). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the wireless communication device, beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node as taught by Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The wireless communication device, beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node can be modify/implemented by combining the wireless communication device, beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Hussain, the motivation for the combination would be to use the beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node that will help the device to connect more efficiently and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 14, BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal as recited in claim 14.
Hussain from the same or analogous art teaches the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal (Column 13, lines 6-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal as taught by Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal can be modify/implemented by combining the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Hussain, the motivation for the combination would be to use the wireless communications where can select a bandwidth from a plurality of bandwidths becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 15, BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the receiving a third request from the wireless communication device, for beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node as recited in claim 15.
Hussain from the same or analogous art teaches the receiving a third request from the wireless communication device, for beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node (Column 8, lines 42-47). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the receiving a third request from the wireless communication device, for beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node as taught by Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The receiving a third request from the wireless communication device, for beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node can be modify/implemented by combining the receiving a third request from the wireless communication device, for beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Hussain, the motivation for the combination would be to use the beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node that will help the device to connect more efficiently and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 19, BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal as recited in claim 19.
Hussain from the same or analogous art teaches the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal (Column 13, lines 6-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal as taught by Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal can be modify/implemented by combining the wireless communication device in the message, which bandwidth is selected for receiving the downlink reference signal with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Hussain, the motivation for the combination would be to use the wireless communications where can select a bandwidth from a plurality of bandwidths becoming more efficient and reliable for a better communication.
For claim 20, BI discloses all the subject matter of the claimed invention with the exemption of the wireless communication device, request beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node as recited in claim 20.
Hussain from the same or analogous art teaches the wireless communication device, request beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node (Column 8, lines 42-47). Therefore, it would have been obvious for the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to use the wireless communication device, request beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node as taught by Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI.
The wireless communication device, request beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node can be modify/implemented by combining the wireless communication device, request beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node with the device. This process is implemented as a hardware solution or as firmware solutions of Hussain into the uplink signal transmission method and apparatus of BI. As disclosed in Hussain, the motivation for the combination would be to use the beam-related information associated with the wireless communication node that will help the device to connect more efficiently and reliable for a better communication.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/17/2007, with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Bi does not teach in claims 1-15, "requesting, by the wireless communication device, to be activated or triggered by the wireless communication node to semi-persistently receive the downlink reference signal that has been configured”. However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees with such assertion. (See below for further clarification).
In response to the preceding argument examiner respectfully submits that Bi et al teaches "requesting, by the wireless communication device, to be activated or triggered by the wireless communication node to semi-persistently receive the downlink reference signal that has been configured”. Bi teaches the receiving, by a network device, an uplink signal sent by a terminal device when a first variation meets a timing advance (TA) update condition, where the first variation is used to indicate a quality change value of a downlink signal received by the terminal device, a strength change value of the downlink signal, and/or a location change value of the terminal device; generating, by the network device, first information based on the uplink signal, where when the network device determines that TA information can be generated, the first information includes the TA information, and the TA information is used to indicate the terminal device to adjust an uplink transmission time; and sending, by the network device, the first information to the terminal device. The first variation is used to indicate the quality change value of the downlink signal received by the terminal device, the strength change value of the downlink signal, and/or the location change value of the terminal device. The terminal device receives the first information sent by the network device. When the first information includes the TA information, the terminal device adjusts the uplink transmission time based on the TA information. In this embodiment of this application, based on the first variation generated by the terminal device, when the first variation meets the TA update condition, the network device may be triggered in a timely manner to send the TA information, so that the terminal device can adjust the uplink transmission time in a timely manner. This ensures TA validity, avoids interference to other users, and further, can effectively reduce power consumption of a user and reduce a TA obtaining delay of the user as disclosed in paragraphs [0021]-[0022]. The foregoing embodiment of this application, the terminal device sends the DMRS or the random access request to the network device when the timer expires, and the terminal device receives the first information sent by the network device. When the first information includes the TA information, the terminal device adjusts the uplink transmission time based on the TA information. In this embodiment of this application, the terminal device may send the DMRS or the random access request at a fixed time when the timer expires, so that the network device can be triggered in a timely manner to send the TA information, and the terminal device can adjust the uplink transmission time in a timely manner. This ensures TA validity, avoids interference to other users, and further, can effectively reduce power consumption of a user and reduce a TA obtaining delay of the user. The terminal device sends a DMRS, the first information includes indication information, and the indication information is used to indicate the terminal device to send a random access request ( is the process by which a mobile device initiates communication with a network to obtain uplink resources or establish a connection )to the network device. The terminal device, including: a processing module, configured to send an uplink signal to a network device by using a sending module when determining that a first variation meets a timing advance (TA) update condition, where the first variation is used to indicate a quality change value of a downlink signal received by the terminal device, a strength change value of the downlink signal, and/or a location change value of the terminal device; and a receiving module, configured to receive first information sent by the network device, where the processing module is further configured to: when the first information includes TA information, adjust an uplink transmission time based on the TA information. Therefore, the terminal device is sending periodically (semi-persistently) to the network device a random access request (requesting) which is the process by which a mobile device initiates communication with a network to obtaining an uplink resources or establishing a connection. The connection is triggered by constantly requesting the connection through the random access request when is sending the first information through the 305 from the network device to the terminal device including the TA information as a downlink communication adjusting the uplink transmission. The timing advance (TA) update condition, where the first variation is used to indicate a quality change value of a downlink signal received by the terminal device, a strength change value of the downlink signal, and/or a location change value of the terminal device.
The prior art should be considered as a whole. See also MPEP § 2141.02 [R-5] Paragraph VI. Claims must be given the broadest reasonable interpretation during examination and limitations appearing in the specification but not recited in the claim are not read into the claim (See M.P.E.P. 2111 [R-l]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH AREVALO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642