DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the election/restriction response, filed on March 24, 2026. Primary Examiner acknowledges Claims 21-51 are pending in this application, with Claim 48 having been amended, Claims 50 and 51 having been newly added, Claims 1-20 having been cancelled, and Claims 29-39 having been withdrawn – thus leaving Claims 21-28 and 40-51 to be examined.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Claims 21-28 and 40-51, in the reply filed on March 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because:
Reference character “4272” has been used to designate “pressure sensor” (Para 00161) and “pressure transducer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4274” has been used to designate “flow sensor” (Para 00384) and “flow transducer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4280” has been used to designate “data communication systems” (Para 00206-00207) and “data communication interface”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4314” has been used to designate “vent flow” (Para 00219-00220) and “vent flow algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4321” has been used to designate “phase determination” (Para 00227-00228) and “phase determination algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4233” has been used to designate “waveform determination” (Para 00231-00232) and “waveform determination algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4323” has been used to designate “ventilation determination” (Para 00234-00235) and “ventilation determination algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4324” has been used to designate “determination of inspiratory flow limitation” (Para 00236-00237), “one or more algorithms”, and “algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4325” has been used to designate “determination of apneas and hypopneas” (Para 00243-00244) and “one or more algorithms”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4326” has been used to designate “determination of snore” (Para 00247-00248), “one or more snore algorithms”, “snore algorithm”, and “algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4327” has been used to designate “determination of airway patency” (Para 00250-00251), “one or more algorithms”, and “airway patency algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4328” has been used to designate “determination of therapy parameter determination” (Para 00250-00251), “one or more therapy parameter determination algorithms”, and “algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “5110” has been used to designate “humidifier reservoir”, “reservoir”, and “water reservoir”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “5112” has been used to designate “humidifier reservoir base”, “water reservoir base”, “base portion”, “reservoir base”, “base”, and “reservoir”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “5114” has been used to designate “water reservoir lid”, “humidifier lid”, “lid”, “lid portion”, “reservoir lid portion”, and “reservoir lid”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “5130” has been used to designate “water reservoir dock”, “dock”, “humidifier dock”, and “reservoir dock”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “5112” and “5174” have been used to designate “base”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “5116” and “5178” have been used to designate “complaint portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “4286” and “4288” have been used to designate “external device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “5000” and “5110” have been used to designate “humidifier”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “5125” and “5127” have been used to designate “inner end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract, filed on August 9, 2023, has a word count greater than 150 words. Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Reference character “4272” has been used to designate “pressure sensor” (Para 00161) and “pressure transducer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4274” has been used to designate “flow sensor” (Para 00384) and “flow transducer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4280” has been used to designate “data communication systems” (Para 00206-00207) and “data communication interface”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4314” has been used to designate “vent flow” (Para 00219-00220) and “vent flow algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4321” has been used to designate “phase determination” (Para 00227-00228) and “phase determination algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4233” has been used to designate “waveform determination” (Para 00231-00232) and “waveform determination algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4323” has been used to designate “ventilation determination” (Para 00234-00235) and “ventilation determination algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4324” has been used to designate “determination of inspiratory flow limitation” (Para 00236-00237), “one or more algorithms”, and “algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4325” has been used to designate “determination of apneas and hypopneas” (Para 00243-00244) and “one or more algorithms”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4326” has been used to designate “determination of snore” (Para 00247-00248), “one or more snore algorithms”, “snore algorithm”, and “algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4327” has been used to designate “determination of airway patency” (Para 00250-00251), “one or more algorithms”, and “airway patency algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “4328” has been used to designate “determination of therapy parameter determination” (Para 00250-00251), “one or more therapy parameter determination algorithms”, and “algorithm”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “5110” has been used to designate “humidifier reservoir”, “reservoir”, and “water reservoir”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “5112” has been used to designate “humidifier reservoir base”, “water reservoir base”, “base portion”, “reservoir base”, “base”, and “reservoir”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “5114” has been used to designate “water reservoir lid”, “humidifier lid”, “lid”, “lid portion”, “reservoir lid portion”, and “reservoir lid”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference character “5130” has been used to designate “water reservoir dock”, “dock”, “humidifier dock”, and “reservoir dock”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “5112” and “5174” have been used to designate “base”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “5116” and “5178” have been used to designate “complaint portion”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “4286” and “4288” have been used to designate “external device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “5000” and “5110” have been used to designate “humidifier”. Appropriate correction is required.
Reference characters “5125” and “5127” have been used to designate “inner end”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 50 and 51 are objected to because of the following informalities: In Claim 50, Line 4 and Claim 51, Line 4, the word “position” as associated with “releasing position” is misspelled with “ii”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-23, 26, 28, 40-42, 45, and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (2009/0194106, which although sharing a common assignee has a disclosure date before of the grace period).
As to Claim 21, Smith discloses a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1-4) comprising a pressure generator (20, “FIGS. 1-4 illustrate a CPAP device 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As illustrated, the CPAP device 10 includes a flow generator 20 and a humidifier 30 adapted to be coupled to the flow generator 20.” Para 0039) configured to supply a flow of air at positive pressure for treatment of a respiratory disorder (“The present invention relates to a removable humidifier and/or flow generator for a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) device used to treat sleep disordered breathing (SDB) conditions such as Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA).” Para 0002) and an apparatus (Figures 23-25) configured to humidify the flow of air integrated in the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1-4), the apparatus (Figures 23-25) configured to humidify the flow of air comprising: a dock (540, “FIGS. 23-27 illustrate a cradle 540 according to yet another embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment, the cradle 540 includes a front guard 544 and at least two pressure pads 546. In the illustrated embodiment, a pressure pad 546 is positioned on each side of the cradle 540.” Para 0066) comprising a heater plate (542, “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066); a water reservoir (30, “The humidifier 30 includes a humidifier tub 50 having a base plate 52 sealed to the bottom of the tub 50 and a heater element that may be formed as part of a cradle unit 40 (see FIG. 9).” Para 0041) configured to removably engage (as shown in Figure 24 via arrows) with the dock (540) and configured to add humidity to the flow of air, the water reservoir (30) comprising: a base (52, best seen Figures 1-4, “The humidifier 30 includes a humidifier tub 50 having a base plate 52 sealed to the bottom of the tub 50 and a heater element that may be formed as part of a cradle unit 40 (see FIG. 9).” Para 0041; also see: Paras 0042, 0043, 0058, and 0059) structured to hold a volume of liquid and including a conductive portion (“Also, the base plate 52 may be in the form of a heat conducting base plate. Specifically, the base plate 52 may be formed of a heat conducting material, e.g., aluminum sheet.” Para 0043), wherein the conductive portion (“heat conducting base plate” / “a heat conducting material, e.g., aluminum sheet”) is configured to thermally engage with the heater plate (542) when the water reservoir (30) is engaged with the dock (540); a lid (50, “The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed.” Para 0066) connected to the base (52); and a protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25, “The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) to engage with a recess (546, “The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) of the dock (540) to retain the water reservoir (30) to the dock (540); and a spring (“springs”, “A spring is attached to each pressure pad 546. The spring is configured to force the respective pressure pad 546 in a downward direction toward the bottom of the cradle 540. The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed. … The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) configured to secure the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) in engagement with the dock (540), wherein the water reservoir (30) is configured to be moved in a first direction (defined by the sliding action into the dock as seen in Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis by the arrow into the dock 540) when being received by the dock (540), and the spring (“springs”) is configured to deflect in a second direction (defined by the compression action of the spring resulting in the lowering of 544 as seen in Figure 24 in the Y/vertical axis by the arrow downward into the dock 540, “A spring is attached to each pressure pad 546. The spring is configured to force the respective pressure pad 546 in a downward direction toward the bottom of the cradle 540. The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed. … The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (defined by the sliding action into the dock as seen in Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis by the arrow into the dock 540) before the water reservoir (30) is retained to the dock.
In operation, it appears a protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the water reservoir (30) is engaged with the recess (546) of the dock (540), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) compresses the spring (“springs”) such that “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the lid (50) to the dock (540) results in the claimed “first direction” to permit the lateral insertion along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24) into the dock (540); whilst the compression/depression of the spring (“springs”) oriented within the recess (546) of the dock permits “the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” (Para 0066) is the claimed “second direction” to permit the vertical insertion along the Y/vertical axis (as shown in Figure 24) into the dock (540). Upon desired removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (“springs”) undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) can be realigned to the recess (546), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) is urged upwardly away from the dock (540) to disengage the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540). In this action of realignment of the recess (546) involves the claimed “third direction” to permit the ejection of protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) from the recess (546); whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (“springs”) in an upwards direction that permits the ejection of the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” lateral positions to insert or eject along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24), whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Smith meets the claimed directional movements.
As to Claims 22 and 41, Smith discloses the water reservoir (30) is configured to be moved in a third direction (along the arrow tail of Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis - defined by the realignment of the recess (546) of protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) to permit the ejection of the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540)), opposite the first direction (defined by the sliding action into the dock as seen in Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis by the arrow into the dock 540), when being released from the dock (540), and the spring (“springs”) is configured to deflect in the second direction (defined by the compression action of the spring resulting in the lowering of 544 as seen in Figure 24 in the Y/vertical axis by the arrow downward into the dock 540) before the water reservoir (30) is released from the dock (540).
In operation, it appears a protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the water reservoir (30) is engaged with the recess (546) of the dock (540), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) compresses the spring (“springs”) such that “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the lid (50) to the dock (540) results in the claimed “first direction” to permit the lateral insertion along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24) into the dock (540); whilst the compression/depression of the spring (“springs”) oriented within the recess (546) of the dock permits “the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” (Para 0066) is the claimed “second direction” to permit the vertical insertion along the Y/vertical axis (as shown in Figure 24) into the dock (540). Upon desired removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (“springs”) undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) can be realigned to the recess (546), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) is urged upwardly away from the dock (540) to disengage the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540). In this action of realignment of the recess (546) involves the claimed “third direction” to permit the ejection of protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) from the recess (546); whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (“springs”) in an upwards direction that permits the ejection of the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” lateral positions to insert or eject along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24), whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Smith meets the claimed directional movements.
As to Claims 23 and 42, Smith discloses the spring (“springs”) is configured to resiliently move in a fourth direction (along the arrow tail of Figure 24 on the Y/vertical axis - defined by urging of the spring (“springs”) in an upwards direction that permits the ejection of the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540)), opposite the second direction (defined by the compression action of the spring resulting in the lowering of 544 as seen in Figure 24 in the Y/vertical axis by the arrow downward into the dock 540), (a) as the water reservoir (30) completes its engagement and is retained to the dock (540) while moving in the first direction (defined by the sliding action into the dock as seen in Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis by the arrow into the dock 540). As stated, “The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs.” (Para 0066).
In operation, it appears a protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the water reservoir (30) is engaged with the recess (546) of the dock (540), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) compresses the spring (“springs”) such that “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the lid (50) to the dock (540) results in the claimed “first direction” to permit the lateral insertion along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24) into the dock (540); whilst the compression/depression of the spring (“springs”) oriented within the recess (546) of the dock permits “the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” (Para 0066) is the claimed “second direction” to permit the vertical insertion along the Y/vertical axis (as shown in Figure 24) into the dock (540). Upon desired removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (“springs”) undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) can be realigned to the recess (546), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) is urged upwardly away from the dock (540) to disengage the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540). In this action of realignment of the recess (546) involves the claimed “third direction” to permit the ejection of protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) from the recess (546); whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (“springs”) in an upwards direction that permits the ejection of the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” lateral positions to insert or eject along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24), whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Smith meets the claimed directional movements.
As to Claims 26 and 45, Smith discloses the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) is provided on a top side of the lid (50).
As to Claims 28 and 47, Smith discloses the lid (50) comprises an inlet (54, “The tub 50 includes an inlet 54 adapted to be in fluid communication with (i.e. not necessarily directly) the outlet 24 of the flow generator 20, and an outlet 56 adapted to be connected to an air delivery conduit.” Para 0041; also see: Paras 0042, 0045, 0066) and an outlet (56, “The tub 50 includes an inlet 54 adapted to be in fluid communication with (i.e. not necessarily directly) the outlet 24 of the flow generator 20, and an outlet 56 adapted to be connected to an air delivery conduit.” Para 0041; also see: Para 0042).
As to Claim 40, Smith discloses a water reservoir (30, “The humidifier 30 includes a humidifier tub 50 having a base plate 52 sealed to the bottom of the tub 50 and a heater element that may be formed as part of a cradle unit 40 (see FIG. 9).” Para 0041) for a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1-4) configured to supply a flow of air at positive pressure for treatment of a respiratory disorder (“The present invention relates to a removable humidifier and/or flow generator for a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) device used to treat sleep disordered breathing (SDB) conditions such as Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA).” Para 0002), the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1-4) comprising a dock (540, “FIGS. 23-27 illustrate a cradle 540 according to yet another embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment, the cradle 540 includes a front guard 544 and at least two pressure pads 546. In the illustrated embodiment, a pressure pad 546 is positioned on each side of the cradle 540.” Para 0066) comprising a heater plate (542, “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066), the water reservoir (30) configured to be (as shown in Figure 24 via arrows) with the dock (540) and configured to add humidity to the flow of air, the water reservoir (30) comprising: a base (52, best seen Figures 1-4, “The humidifier 30 includes a humidifier tub 50 having a base plate 52 sealed to the bottom of the tub 50 and a heater element that may be formed as part of a cradle unit 40 (see FIG. 9).” Para 0041; also see: Paras 0042, 0043, 0058, and 0059) structured to hold a volume of liquid and including a conductive portion (“Also, the base plate 52 may be in the form of a heat conducting base plate. Specifically, the base plate 52 may be formed of a heat conducting material, e.g., aluminum sheet.” Para 0043), wherein the conductive portion (“heat conducting base plate” / “a heat conducting material, e.g., aluminum sheet”) is configured to thermally engage with the heater plate (542) when the water reservoir (30) is engaged with the dock (540); a lid (50, “The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed.” Para 0066) connected to the base (52); and a protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25, “The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) to engage with a recess (546, “The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) of the dock (540) to retain the water reservoir (30) to the dock (540); and a spring (“springs”, “A spring is attached to each pressure pad 546. The spring is configured to force the respective pressure pad 546 in a downward direction toward the bottom of the cradle 540. The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed. … The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) configured to secure the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) in engagement with the dock (540), wherein the water reservoir (30) is configured to be moved in a first direction (defined by the sliding action into the dock as seen in Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis by the arrow into the dock 540) when being received by the dock (540), and the spring (“springs”) is configured to deflect in a second direction (defined by the compression action of the spring resulting in the lowering of 544 as seen in Figure 24 in the Y/vertical axis by the arrow downward into the dock 540, “A spring is attached to each pressure pad 546. The spring is configured to force the respective pressure pad 546 in a downward direction toward the bottom of the cradle 540. The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed. … The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (defined by the sliding action into the dock as seen in Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis by the arrow into the dock 540) before the water reservoir (30) is retained to the dock.
In operation, it appears a protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the water reservoir (30) is engaged with the recess (546) of the dock (540), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) compresses the spring (“springs”) such that “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the lid (50) to the dock (540) results in the claimed “first direction” to permit the lateral insertion along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24) into the dock (540); whilst the compression/depression of the spring (“springs”) oriented within the recess (546) of the dock permits “the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” (Para 0066) is the claimed “second direction” to permit the vertical insertion along the Y/vertical axis (as shown in Figure 24) into the dock (540). Upon desired removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (“springs”) undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) can be realigned to the recess (546), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) is urged upwardly away from the dock (540) to disengage the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540). In this action of realignment of the recess (546) involves the claimed “third direction” to permit the ejection of protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) from the recess (546); whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (“springs”) in an upwards direction that permits the ejection of the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” lateral positions to insert or eject along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24), whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Smith meets the claimed directional movements.
As to Claim 48, Smith discloses a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1-4) comprising a pressure generator (20, “FIGS. 1-4 illustrate a CPAP device 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention. As illustrated, the CPAP device 10 includes a flow generator 20 and a humidifier 30 adapted to be coupled to the flow generator 20.” Para 0039) configured to supply a flow of air at positive pressure for treatment of a respiratory disorder (“The present invention relates to a removable humidifier and/or flow generator for a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) device used to treat sleep disordered breathing (SDB) conditions such as Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA).” Para 0002) and an apparatus (Figures 23-25) configured to humidify the flow of air integrated in the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1-4), the apparatus (Figures 23-25) configured to humidify the flow of air comprising: a dock (540, “FIGS. 23-27 illustrate a cradle 540 according to yet another embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment, the cradle 540 includes a front guard 544 and at least two pressure pads 546. In the illustrated embodiment, a pressure pad 546 is positioned on each side of the cradle 540.” Para 0066) comprising a heater plate (542, “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066).
Further, Smith discloses a water reservoir (30, “The humidifier 30 includes a humidifier tub 50 having a base plate 52 sealed to the bottom of the tub 50 and a heater element that may be formed as part of a cradle unit 40 (see FIG. 9).” Para 0041) for a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1-4) configured to supply a flow of air at positive pressure for treatment of a respiratory disorder (“The present invention relates to a removable humidifier and/or flow generator for a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) device used to treat sleep disordered breathing (SDB) conditions such as Obstructive Sleep Apnea (OSA).” Para 0002), the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1-4) comprising a dock (540, “FIGS. 23-27 illustrate a cradle 540 according to yet another embodiment of the present invention. In this embodiment, the cradle 540 includes a front guard 544 and at least two pressure pads 546. In the illustrated embodiment, a pressure pad 546 is positioned on each side of the cradle 540.” Para 0066) comprising a heater plate (542, “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066), the water reservoir (30) configured to be (as shown in Figure 24 via arrows) with the dock (540) and configured to add humidity to the flow of air, the water reservoir (30) comprising: a base (52, best seen Figures 1-4, “The humidifier 30 includes a humidifier tub 50 having a base plate 52 sealed to the bottom of the tub 50 and a heater element that may be formed as part of a cradle unit 40 (see FIG. 9).” Para 0041; also see: Paras 0042, 0043, 0058, and 0059) structured to hold a volume of liquid and including a conductive portion (“Also, the base plate 52 may be in the form of a heat conducting base plate. Specifically, the base plate 52 may be formed of a heat conducting material, e.g., aluminum sheet.” Para 0043), wherein the conductive portion (“heat conducting base plate” / “a heat conducting material, e.g., aluminum sheet”) is configured to thermally engage with the heater plate (542) when the water reservoir (30) is engaged with the dock (540); a lid (50, “The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed.” Para 0066) connected to the base (52); and a protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25, “The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) to engage with a recess (546, “The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) of the dock (540) to retain the water reservoir (30) to the dock (540); and a spring (“springs”, “A spring is attached to each pressure pad 546. The spring is configured to force the respective pressure pad 546 in a downward direction toward the bottom of the cradle 540. The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed. … The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) configured to secure the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) in engagement with the dock (540), wherein the water reservoir (30) is configured to be moved in a first direction (defined by the sliding action into the dock as seen in Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis by the arrow into the dock 540) when being received by the dock (540), and the spring (“springs”) is configured to deflect in a second direction (defined by the compression action of the spring resulting in the lowering of 544 as seen in Figure 24 in the Y/vertical axis by the arrow downward into the dock 540, “A spring is attached to each pressure pad 546. The spring is configured to force the respective pressure pad 546 in a downward direction toward the bottom of the cradle 540. The front guard 544 includes a spring that forces the front guard 544 upwardly to protect against access to the cradle 540 and prevent the humidifier tub 50 from falling out when installed. … The bottom edges of the humidifier tub 50 are then inserted underneath each of the pressure pads 546 thereby causing the pressure pads 546 to be deflected upwards against biasing of the springs. This allows the humidifier tub 50 to slide into the cradle 540 (see FIGS. 25-27).” Para 0066) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (defined by the sliding action into the dock as seen in Figure 24 on the X/horizontal axis by the arrow into the dock 540) before the water reservoir (30) is retained to the dock.
In operation, it appears a protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the water reservoir (30) is engaged with the recess (546) of the dock (540), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) compresses the spring (“springs”) such that “Once the humidifier tub 50 is located within the cradle 540, the pressure pads 546 supply the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” Para 0066). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) of the lid (50) to the dock (540) results in the claimed “first direction” to permit the lateral insertion along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24) into the dock (540); whilst the compression/depression of the spring (“springs”) oriented within the recess (546) of the dock permits “the force to maintain the base of the humidifier tub 50 against the heater plate 542.” (Para 0066) is the claimed “second direction” to permit the vertical insertion along the Y/vertical axis (as shown in Figure 24) into the dock (540). Upon desired removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (“springs”) undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) can be realigned to the recess (546), and thereafter the water reservoir (30) is urged upwardly away from the dock (540) to disengage the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540). In this action of realignment of the recess (546) involves the claimed “third direction” to permit the ejection of protrusion (via inclined surface of 50 which engages 546, as best seen in Figures 23-25) from the recess (546); whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (“springs”) in an upwards direction that permits the ejection of the water reservoir (30) from the dock (540) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” lateral positions to insert or eject along the X/horizontal axis (as shown by arrow in 24), whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Smith meets the claimed directional movements.
As to Claim 49, Smith discloses the dock (540) includes a cavity (defined as the space between 546) to receive at least a portion of the water reservoir (30) therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25, 27, 28, 40-44, and 46-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melville et al. (3,659,604) in view of Thudor et al. (2003/0066526).
As to Claim 21, Melville discloses a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1) comprising a supply of air (via 20, “A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. … It is to be noted that the inlet 20 is an inlet for air and the other gases, e.g. added oxygen to be humidified.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) for treatment of a respiratory disorder (defined by the necessity of the patient to be “undergoing artificial respiration”, “In humidifying means, for use, for example for humidifying and heating air or gases which is to be breathed by a patient undergoing artificial respiration, there is a need for a humidifying means which is capable of having portions thereof readily sterilized yet enabling adequate and accurate control of the temperature, and the saturation of the air passed through the humidifying means.” Column 1, Lines 1-20; also see: “a patient undergoing assisted or artificial respiration” Abstract) and an apparatus (defined by the cooperative interactions of 1, 2, and 3, “Referring to the drawings, the humidifying apparatus shown in FIGS. 1 to 3, is referred as a matter of convenience in the following into a delivery module 1, a humidifying module 2, and a heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 30-50) configured to humidify the flow of air integrated in the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1), the apparatus (defined by the cooperative interactions of 1, 2, and 3) configured to humidify the flow of air, comprising: a dock (3, “a heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 30-50) comprising a heater plate (16, “The container 12, preferably of transparent material, has an open mouth 14, and a disc bottom 15, with the disc bottom being substantially flat so as to have a considerable bearing surface on a heating plate 16 forming part of the heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “As stated above, the heater module 3 includes a heater plate 16 and the plate is provided with a heating element 31 therein.” Column 3, Lines 20-35); a water reservoir (2, “a humidifying module 2” Column 2, Lines 30-50) configured to removably engage (via cooperative interaction of 18 with 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) with the dock (3) and configured to add humidity to the flow of air, the water reservoir (2) comprising: a base (15, “The container 12, preferably of transparent material, has an open mouth 14, and a disc bottom 15, with the disc bottom being substantially flat so as to have a considerable bearing surface on a heating plate 16 forming part of the heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “The heater plate 16 is mounted on springs 32 equipped with holding bolts 33, and for example, three such spring mountings are provided. The purpose thereof is to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) structured to hold a volume of liquid and including a conductive portion (23, “Mounted within the container 12 are conducting means which, preferably, comprise a scroll 23 preferably of metal e.g. aluminum plate of a suitable gauge, e.g. 12g., and having a sufficient number of turns as to provide an adequate evaporating surface area, to evaporating means or vapor transfer means associated with the scroll comprising, e.g. blotting paper 24 placed in contact with the surface of the scroll in the air space 25 in an cover 19 above the open mouth 14 of the container 12, with the blotting paper also dipping into the water.” Column 2, Line 70 thru Column 3, Line 10), wherein the conductive portion (23) is configured to thermally engage with the heater plate (16) when the water reservoir (2) is engaged with the dock (3); a lid (19, “A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. The cover 19 is also preferably of a transparent material so that water levels can be examined within the container 12, and the cover is sealed to the container 12 by an O-ring 21.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) connected to the base (15); and a protrusion (18, “The container 12 is provided with lugs 17 and 18.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) configured to engage with a recess (36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) of the dock (3) to retain the water reservoir (2) to the dock (3); and a spring (32, “The heater plate 16 is mounted on springs 32 equipped with holding bolts 33, and for example, three such spring mountings are provided. The purpose thereof is to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) configured to secure the protrusion (18) in engagement with the dock (3), wherein the water reservoir (2) is configured to be moved in a first direction (“rotation” in one direction for the alignment of 18 into 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) when being received by the dock (3), and the spring (23) is configured to deflect in a second direction (downwardly to “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (“rotation” for the alignment of 18 into 36) before the water reservoir (2) is retained to the dock (3).
In operation, it appears a protrusion (18) of the water reservoir (2) is engaged with an opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) to permit the introduction of the protrusion (18) into the ring (36), once aligned, the protrusion (18) is rotated within the ring (36) resulting in an interlocking engagement, and thereafter the water reservoir (2) compresses the spring (32) “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (18) within the ring (36) subsequent rotation resulting in an interlocking engagement is the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the compression/depression of the spring (32) to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35) is the claimed “second direction”. Upon the desire of removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (32) is again undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (18) can be realigned to the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15), and thereafter the water reservoir (2) is urged upwardly away from the base (15) to disengage the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3). In this action, the realignment of the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) involves rotation the claimed “third direction” which is opposite the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (32) in an upward direction that expands and permits the ejection of the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” are axial rotation along the X axis, whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Melville discloses the claimed directional movements.
Yet, Melville does not expressly disclose the configuration of “a pressure generator configured to supply a flow of air at positive pressure”.
Thudor teaches a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a pressure generator (1, “CPAP machine 1” Paras 0041 and 0042; also see: “Preferably the connection manifold 8 includes a passage which receives airflow from the blower and directs it into the water chamber 2, as well as a passage which directs airflow received via the water chamber outlet port 6, to the CPAP patient outlet port 9.” Para 0055; and “In use air from the CPAP machine blower exits through outlet port 4, and enters the chamber 2 through inlet port 5.” Para 0056) configured to supply a flow of air at positive pressure for treatment of a respiratory disorder (“Humidifier chambers of this type are also now used in compact and portable ventilation machines, for example machines intended for the home treatment of obstructive sleep apnoea (CPAP machines).” Para 0006) and an apparatus (2, “water chamber 2” Paras 0041 and 0042; also see: “In use air from the CPAP machine blower exits through outlet port 4, and enters the chamber 2 through inlet port 5. Air entering the chamber is humidified by the evaporation of water from the water source in the bottom of the chamber before leaving the chamber through the patient outlet port 6. Humidified air from the outlet port 6 is received into the connection manifold of the CPAP machine 9 via the inlet port 7. ” Para 0056) configured to humidify the flow of air integrated in the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figures 1 and 2), the apparatus (2) configured to humidify the flow of air.
Regarding the remaining limitations of the claims, Thudor teaches the application of “a pressure generator configured to supply a flow of air at positive pressure” as the source of air to be humidified was a known configuration, whereby the pressure generator may be in the form of “CPAP machine 1” having a “blower” to direct the passage of pressurized air into the apparatus (2) for humidification was known in order to treat a patient suffering from a “respiratory disorder” - (“Humidifier chambers of this type are also now used in compact and portable ventilation machines, for example machines intended for the home treatment of obstructive sleep apnoea (CPAP machines).” Para 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the unknown source of air of Melville to be in the form of a pressure generator as taught by Thudor to be a known source of air suitable for offering treatment to a patient suffering from a respiratory disorder.
As to Claims 22 and 41, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the water reservoir (2) is configured to move in a third direction (“rotation” in the other direction for realignment of 18 into 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35), opposite the first direction (“rotation” in one direction for the alignment of 18 into 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35), when being released from the dock (3), and the spring (32) is configured to deflect in the second direction (downwardly) before the water reservoir (2) is released from the dock.
In operation, it appears a protrusion (18) of the water reservoir (2) is engaged with an opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) to permit the introduction of the protrusion (18) into the ring (36), once aligned, the protrusion (18) is rotated within the ring (36) resulting in an interlocking engagement, and thereafter the water reservoir (2) compresses the spring (32) “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (18) within the ring (36) subsequent rotation resulting in an interlocking engagement is the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the compression/depression of the spring (32) to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35) is the claimed “second direction”. Upon the desire of removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (32) is again undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (18) can be realigned to the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15), and thereafter the water reservoir (2) is urged upwardly away from the base (15) to disengage the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3). In this action, the realignment of the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) involves rotation the claimed “third direction” which is opposite the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (32) in an upward direction that expands and permits the ejection of the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” are axial rotation along the X axis, whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Melville discloses the claimed directional movements.
As to Claims 23 and 42, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the spring (32) is configured to resiliently move in a fourth direction (upwardly), opposite the second direction (downwardly), (b) as the water reservoir (2) continues and completes its release from the dock (3) while moving on the third direction (“rotation” in the other direction for realignment of 18 into 36).
In operation, it appears a protrusion (18) of the water reservoir (2) is engaged with an opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) to permit the introduction of the protrusion (18) into the ring (36), once aligned, the protrusion (18) is rotated within the ring (36) resulting in an interlocking engagement, and thereafter the water reservoir (2) compresses the spring (32) “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (18) within the ring (36) subsequent rotation resulting in an interlocking engagement is the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the compression/depression of the spring (32) to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35) is the claimed “second direction”. Upon the desire of removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (32) is again undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (18) can be realigned to the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15), and thereafter the water reservoir (2) is urged upwardly away from the base (15) to disengage the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3). In this action, the realignment of the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) involves rotation the claimed “third direction” which is opposite the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (32) in an upward direction that expands and permits the ejection of the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” are axial rotation along the X axis, whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Melville discloses the claimed directional movements.
As to Claims 24 and 43, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the spring (32) comprises a resilient portion (defined as a function of the compression and expansion of 32) arranged between the lid (12) and the base (15). As best seen in Figure 3, the orientation of the spring (32) is located between the lid (12) and the ring 36 of base (15).
As to Claims 25 and 44, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the resilient portion (defined as a function of the compression and expansion of 32) is arranged on the periphery of an opening (via 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) into the base (15).
As to Claims 27 and 46, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the lid (19) is movably connected (via 26 as a function of 17, “The cover 19 is fixed to the container 12 by the cover 19 also having lugs 26 and a ring 27 has an annulus 28 and lugs 29, with the annulus 28 pressing against the lugs 26 and the lugs 29 engaging below the lugs 17 of the container. The ring is given a twist action in use so that spaces, not shown, between the lugs 29 can pass over the lugs 17 for separating the cover from the container.” Column 3, Lines 5-20) to the base (15) to allow the water reservoir (2) to be convertible between an open configuration (“separating the cover from the container”) and a closed configuration (“The cover 19 is fixed to the container 12”).
As to Claims 28 and 47, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the lid (19) comprises an inlet (20, “A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. … It is to be noted that the inlet 20 is an inlet for air and the other gases, e.g. added oxygen to be humidified.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) and an outlet (13, “The air inlet 5 of the cap 4 fits on an air outlet 13, leading from the humidifying module 2. … The container 12 is provided with lugs 17 and 18. A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20.” Column 2, Lines 45-70).
As to Claim 40, Melville discloses a water reservoir (2, “a humidifying module 2” Column 2, Lines 30-50) for a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1) configured to supply a humidified flow of air (via 20, “A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. … It is to be noted that the inlet 20 is an inlet for air and the other gases, e.g. added oxygen to be humidified.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) for treatment of a respiratory disorder (defined by the necessity of the patient to be “undergoing artificial respiration”, “In humidifying means, for use, for example for humidifying and heating air or gases which is to be breathed by a patient undergoing artificial respiration, there is a need for a humidifying means which is capable of having portions thereof readily sterilized yet enabling adequate and accurate control of the temperature, and the saturation of the air passed through the humidifying means.” Column 1, Lines 1-20; also see: “a patient undergoing assisted or artificial respiration” Abstract), the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1) comprising a dock (3, “a heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 30-50) comprising a heater plate (16, “The container 12, preferably of transparent material, has an open mouth 14, and a disc bottom 15, with the disc bottom being substantially flat so as to have a considerable bearing surface on a heating plate 16 forming part of the heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “As stated above, the heater module 3 includes a heater plate 16 and the plate is provided with a heating element 31 therein.” Column 3, Lines 20-35), the water reservoir (2) configured to removably engage (via cooperative interaction of 18 with 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) with the dock (3) and add humidity to the flow of air (via 20), the water reservoir (2) comprising: a base (15, “The container 12, preferably of transparent material, has an open mouth 14, and a disc bottom 15, with the disc bottom being substantially flat so as to have a considerable bearing surface on a heating plate 16 forming part of the heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “The heater plate 16 is mounted on springs 32 equipped with holding bolts 33, and for example, three such spring mountings are provided. The purpose thereof is to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) structured to hold a volume of liquid and including a conductive portion (23, “Mounted within the container 12 are conducting means which, preferably, comprise a scroll 23 preferably of metal e.g. aluminum plate of a suitable gauge, e.g. 12g., and having a sufficient number of turns as to provide an adequate evaporating surface area, to evaporating means or vapor transfer means associated with the scroll comprising, e.g. blotting paper 24 placed in contact with the surface of the scroll in the air space 25 in an cover 19 above the open mouth 14 of the container 12, with the blotting paper also dipping into the water.” Column 2, Line 70 thru Column 3, Line 10), wherein the conductive portion (23) is configured to thermally engage with the heater plate (16) when the water reservoir (2) is engaged with the dock (3); a lid (19, “A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. The cover 19 is also preferably of a transparent material so that water levels can be examined within the container 12, and the cover is sealed to the container 12 by an O-ring 21.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) connected to the base (15); and a protrusion (18, “The container 12 is provided with lugs 17 and 18.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) configured to engage with a recess (36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) of the dock (3) to retain the water reservoir (2) to the dock (3); and a spring (32, “The heater plate 16 is mounted on springs 32 equipped with holding bolts 33, and for example, three such spring mountings are provided. The purpose thereof is to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) configured to secure the protrusion (18) in engagement with the dock (3), wherein the water reservoir (2) is configured to be moved in a first direction (“rotation” in one direction for the alignment of 18 into 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) when being received by the dock (3), and the spring (23) is configured to deflect in a second direction (downwardly to “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (“rotation” for the alignment of 18 into 36) before the water reservoir (2) is retained to the dock (3).
In operation, it appears a protrusion (18) of the water reservoir (2) is engaged with an opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) to permit the introduction of the protrusion (18) into the ring (36), once aligned, the protrusion (18) is rotated within the ring (36) resulting in an interlocking engagement, and thereafter the water reservoir (2) compresses the spring (32) “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (18) within the ring (36) subsequent rotation resulting in an interlocking engagement is the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the compression/depression of the spring (32) to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35) is the claimed “second direction”. Upon the desire of removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (32) is again undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (18) can be realigned to the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15), and thereafter the water reservoir (2) is urged upwardly away from the base (15) to disengage the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3). In this action, the realignment of the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) involves rotation the claimed “third direction” which is opposite the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (32) in an upward direction that expands and permits the ejection of the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” are axial rotation along the X axis, whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Melville discloses the claimed directional movements.
Yet, Melville does not expressly disclose the configuration of “a flow of air at positive pressure”.
Thudor teaches a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figures 1 and 2) comprising a pressure generator (1, “CPAP machine 1” Paras 0041 and 0042; also see: “Preferably the connection manifold 8 includes a passage which receives airflow from the blower and directs it into the water chamber 2, as well as a passage which directs airflow received via the water chamber outlet port 6, to the CPAP patient outlet port 9.” Para 0055; and “In use air from the CPAP machine blower exits through outlet port 4, and enters the chamber 2 through inlet port 5.” Para 0056) configured to supply a flow of air at positive pressure for treatment of a respiratory disorder (“Humidifier chambers of this type are also now used in compact and portable ventilation machines, for example machines intended for the home treatment of obstructive sleep apnoea (CPAP machines).” Para 0006) and an apparatus (2, “water chamber 2” Paras 0041 and 0042; also see: “In use air from the CPAP machine blower exits through outlet port 4, and enters the chamber 2 through inlet port 5. Air entering the chamber is humidified by the evaporation of water from the water source in the bottom of the chamber before leaving the chamber through the patient outlet port 6. Humidified air from the outlet port 6 is received into the connection manifold of the CPAP machine 9 via the inlet port 7. ” Para 0056) configured to humidify the flow of air integrated in the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figures 1 and 2), the apparatus (2) configured to humidify the flow of air.
Regarding the remaining limitations of the claims, Thudor teaches the application of “a flow of air at positive pressure” as the source of air to be humidified was a known configuration, whereby the pressure generator may be in the form of “CPAP machine 1” having a “blower” to direct the passage of pressurized air into the apparatus (2) for humidification was known in order to treat a patient suffering from a “respiratory disorder” - (“Humidifier chambers of this type are also now used in compact and portable ventilation machines, for example machines intended for the home treatment of obstructive sleep apnoea (CPAP machines).” Para 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the unknown source of air of Melville to be at positive pressure as taught by Thudor to be a known source of air suitable for offering treatment to a patient suffering from a respiratory disorder.
As to Claim 48, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1) comprising a supply of air (via 20, “A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. … It is to be noted that the inlet 20 is an inlet for air and the other gases, e.g. added oxygen to be humidified.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) and an apparatus (defined by the cooperative interactions of 1, 2, and 3, “Referring to the drawings, the humidifying apparatus shown in FIGS. 1 to 3, is referred as a matter of convenience in the following into a delivery module 1, a humidifying module 2, and a heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 30-50) configured to humidify the flow of air integrated in the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1), the apparatus (defined by the cooperative interactions of 1, 2, and 3) configured to humidify the flow of air, comprising: a dock (3, “a heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 30-50) comprising a heater plate (16, “The container 12, preferably of transparent material, has an open mouth 14, and a disc bottom 15, with the disc bottom being substantially flat so as to have a considerable bearing surface on a heating plate 16 forming part of the heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “As stated above, the heater module 3 includes a heater plate 16 and the plate is provided with a heating element 31 therein.” Column 3, Lines 20-35).
Further, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the features of a water reservoir (2, “a humidifying module 2” Column 2, Lines 30-50) for a respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1) configured to supply a humidified flow of air (via 20, “A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. … It is to be noted that the inlet 20 is an inlet for air and the other gases, e.g. added oxygen to be humidified.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) for treatment of a respiratory disorder (defined by the necessity of the patient to be “undergoing artificial respiration”, “In humidifying means, for use, for example for humidifying and heating air or gases which is to be breathed by a patient undergoing artificial respiration, there is a need for a humidifying means which is capable of having portions thereof readily sterilized yet enabling adequate and accurate control of the temperature, and the saturation of the air passed through the humidifying means.” Column 1, Lines 1-20; also see: “a patient undergoing assisted or artificial respiration” Abstract), the respiratory pressure therapy device (Figure 1) comprising a dock (3, “a heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 30-50) comprising a heater plate (16, “The container 12, preferably of transparent material, has an open mouth 14, and a disc bottom 15, with the disc bottom being substantially flat so as to have a considerable bearing surface on a heating plate 16 forming part of the heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “As stated above, the heater module 3 includes a heater plate 16 and the plate is provided with a heating element 31 therein.” Column 3, Lines 20-35), the water reservoir (2) configured to removably engage (via cooperative interaction of 18 with 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) with the dock (3) and add humidity to the flow of air (via 20), the water reservoir (2) comprising: a base (15, “The container 12, preferably of transparent material, has an open mouth 14, and a disc bottom 15, with the disc bottom being substantially flat so as to have a considerable bearing surface on a heating plate 16 forming part of the heater module 3.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “The heater plate 16 is mounted on springs 32 equipped with holding bolts 33, and for example, three such spring mountings are provided. The purpose thereof is to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) structured to hold a volume of liquid and including a conductive portion (23, “Mounted within the container 12 are conducting means which, preferably, comprise a scroll 23 preferably of metal e.g. aluminum plate of a suitable gauge, e.g. 12g., and having a sufficient number of turns as to provide an adequate evaporating surface area, to evaporating means or vapor transfer means associated with the scroll comprising, e.g. blotting paper 24 placed in contact with the surface of the scroll in the air space 25 in an cover 19 above the open mouth 14 of the container 12, with the blotting paper also dipping into the water.” Column 2, Line 70 thru Column 3, Line 10), wherein the conductive portion (23) is configured to thermally engage with the heater plate (16) when the water reservoir (2) is engaged with the dock (3); a lid (19, “A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. The cover 19 is also preferably of a transparent material so that water levels can be examined within the container 12, and the cover is sealed to the container 12 by an O-ring 21.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) connected to the base (15); and a protrusion (18, “The container 12 is provided with lugs 17 and 18.” Column 2, Lines 50-70; also see: “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) configured to engage with a recess (36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) of the dock (3) to retain the water reservoir (2) to the dock (3); and a spring (32, “The heater plate 16 is mounted on springs 32 equipped with holding bolts 33, and for example, three such spring mountings are provided. The purpose thereof is to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) configured to secure the protrusion (18) in engagement with the dock (3), wherein the water reservoir (2) is configured to be moved in a first direction (“rotation” in one direction for the alignment of 18 into 36, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) when being received by the dock (3), and the spring (23) is configured to deflect in a second direction (downwardly to “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction (“rotation” for the alignment of 18 into 36) before the water reservoir (2) is retained to the dock (3).
In operation, it appears a protrusion (18) of the water reservoir (2) is engaged with an opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) to permit the introduction of the protrusion (18) into the ring (36), once aligned, the protrusion (18) is rotated within the ring (36) resulting in an interlocking engagement, and thereafter the water reservoir (2) compresses the spring (32) “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35). In this action, the alignment of the protrusion (18) within the ring (36) subsequent rotation resulting in an interlocking engagement is the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the compression/depression of the spring (32) to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35) is the claimed “second direction”. Upon the desire of removal, the actions are reversed, whereby the spring (32) is again undergoes compression/depression in the claimed “second direction” to enable the space upon which the protrusion (18) can be realigned to the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15), and thereafter the water reservoir (2) is urged upwardly away from the base (15) to disengage the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3). In this action, the realignment of the opening (best seen Figure 1) in the ring (36) of the base (15) involves rotation the claimed “third direction” which is opposite the claimed “first direction”; whilst, the act of being realigned results in the urging of the spring (32) in an upward direction that expands and permits the ejection of the water reservoir (2) from the dock (3) is the claimed “fourth direction”, whereby the claimed “fourth direction” is opposite the claimed “second direction”. It is noted the actions of the claimed “first direction” and “third directions” are axial rotation along the X axis, whilst the actions of the claimed “second direction” and “fourth direction” are vertical movement along the Y axis, whereby convention requires the X axis and the Y axis to be perpendicular from each other. Thus, it appears Melville discloses the claimed directional movements.
As to Claim 49, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the dock (3) comprises a cavity (37, “Normally, the plate 16 stands above members 34, but when the container is pressed onto the plate 16, and the lugs 18 held onto heater module body 35 by a ring 36 having a flange and annulus 37 which has lugs 38 engaging with further lugs 39 forming a part of the body 35. Again rotation of the ring 36 engages or disengages the lugs 38 and 39.” Column 3, Lines 20-35) to receive at least a portion (via 18) of the water reservoir (2) therein.
As to Claims 50 and 51, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the lid (19) includes a grip (21, “ A cover 19 is provided, having the air outlet 13, and also an air inlet 20. The cover 19 is also preferably of a transparent material so that water levels can be examined within the container 12, and the cover is sealed to the container 12 by an O-ring 21. It is a feature of the invention that the container 12 may not be over-filled without it being clearly obvious to the attendant, since filling to the level of the open-mouth 14 will cause overflow into a space 22, between the cover and the container 12, so that the container may be readily filled with a predetermined amount of water i.e. to the level of the mouth 14.” Column 2, Lines 50-70) that is movable relative to the base (15) between a locking position (whereby 21 engages both 14 and 19) and a releasing position (whereby 21 does not engage both 14 and 19), the grip (21) being configured to receive a downwardly directed force (a function of the combined unit of 2 being received within 3) from the user to compress the spring (32, in order to “to ensure that there is close contact between the plate 16 and the bottom 15 of the container 12.” (Column 3, Lines 20-35), and wherein the grip (21) moves from the releasing position (whereby 21 does not engage both 14 and 19) to the locking position (whereby 21 engages both 14 and 19) under the bias of the spring (32).
In operation, the modified Melville, specifically Melville discloses the lid (19) is movably connected (via 26 as a function of 17, “The cover 19 is fixed to the container 12 by the cover 19 also having lugs 26 and a ring 27 has an annulus 28 and lugs 29, with the annulus 28 pressing against the lugs 26 and the lugs 29 engaging below the lugs 17 of the container. The ring is given a twist action in use so that spaces, not shown, between the lugs 29 can pass over the lugs 17 for separating the cover from the container.” Column 3, Lines 5-20) to the base (15) to allow the water reservoir (2) to be convertible between an open configuration (“separating the cover from the container”) and a closed configuration (“The cover 19 is fixed to the container 12”). The open configuration (“separating the cover from the container”) is coextensive with the claimed releasing position (whereby 21 does not engage both 14 and 19) and the closed configuration (“The cover 19 is fixed to the container 12”) is coextensive with the claimed locking position (whereby 21 engages both 14 and 19). In this action of the open configuration (“separating the cover from the container”) in which the claimed releasing position (whereby 21 does not engage both 14 and 19) is apparent the depression of spring (32) permits space upon which 26 can rotate within the ring 27; whilst, in the closed configuration (“The cover 19 is fixed to the container 12”) in which the claimed locking position (whereby 21 engages both 14 and 19) is achieved the spring (32) is expanded to urge 26 to abut 28. Thus, the movement of the spring (32) permits the functional disconnection and attachment of the lid (19) to the base (15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Virr et al. (11,318,271) shares a common assignee/inventor with the instant application; however, at this time, there does not appear to be an applicable double patenting rejection as the order of operations as recited by the instantly claimed “before” in the phrase “the spring configured to deflect in a second direction that is substantially perpendicular to the first direction before the water reservoir is retained to the dock” does not appear to be represented.
ANNETTE FREDRICKA DIXON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3782
/Annette Dixon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785