Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Baarman et al. U.S. PGPub 2013/0113423 A1 (hereinafter Baarman).
Regarding Claim 1, Baarman teaches a wireless charging device (Baarman, Figs. 1-2, Element 10; Para. [0071], Lines 1-2, “wireless power supply”) for charging a to-be-charged electronic device (Baarman, Fig. 2, Element 100; Para. [0071], Lines 5-8), the wireless charging device comprising: a device body (Baarman, Fig. 1, Element 11; Para. [0071], Line 3, “housing”) comprising an upper member, a lower member and a hollow portion (Baarman, See annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein the upper member and the lower member are opposed to each other, and the hollow portion is formed in the upper member (Baarman, As illustrated in Fig. 1);
a magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure disposed within the device body (Baarman, Figs. 6-9, Element 18’; Para. [0085], Lines 1-3, “plunger”) and aligned with the hollow portion (Baarman, Figs. 6-9, The hollow portion, though not separately called out, is the hole in the Charging Surface 16’ where the Plunger 18’ moves up and down, Paras. [0007], [0071], [0074], [0082], [0083] and [0085]);
and a lifting assembly (Baarman, Figs. 3-5, Made up of Elements 22, 26, 42-46 and 52-58, Another embodiment illustrated but not labeled in Figs. 8-9; Paras. [0075] and [0078]) disposed within the device body (Baarman, Figs. 1-9, Element 11/11’, “housing”) and located under the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure (Baarman, Figs. 1-9, Element 18/18’; Para. [0085], Lines 1-3, “plunger”), where in the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure (Baarman, Figs. 6-9, Element 18’, “plunger”) is movable upwardly or downwardly relative to the device body through the lifting assembly (Baarman, Figs. 6 and 8, Where Element 18’ is illustrated retracted or “downwardly”, and Figs. 7 and 9, Where Element 18’ is illustrated extended or “upwardly”; Para. [0071], Lines 10-15, “extendable/retractable”), wherein when the to-be-charged electronic device (Baarman, Fig. 2, Element 100; Para. [0071], Lines 5-8) is moved to a position close to the wireless charging device (Baarman, Paras. [0007], [0010], [0017], [0074] and [0085]), a magnetic attractive force between a magnetically attractable receiver coil structure of the to-be-charged electronic device and the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure is generated (Baarman, Para. [0012]), wherein in response to the magnetic attractive force, the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure is moved upwardly through the lifting assembly (Baarman, Figs. 4-9; Paras. [0080], [0083] – [0085]), wherein as the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure is moved upwardly (Baarman, Figs. 7 and 9, Where Element 18’ is illustrated extended or “upwardly”; Para. [0071], Lines 10-15, “extendable/retractable”), the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure is moved outside the device body through the hollow portion (Baarman, Figs. 7 and 9, Where Element 18’ is illustrated extended or “outside the device body”; Para. [0071], Lines 10-15, “extendable/retractable”, and Para. [0085], Lines 5-15), and the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure and the magnetically attractable receiver coil structure of the to-be-charged electronic device are attracted by and aligned with each other (Baarman, Paras. [0011] – [0012], [0080] – [0085]).
Regarding Claim 2, The teaching of the Baarman reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Baarman teaches wherein the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure has a sensing plane, wherein after the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure is moved upwardly through the lifting assembly and moved outside the device body through the hollow portion, there is a height difference between the sensing plane of the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure and the upper member of the device body (Baarman, Figs. 6 and 8, Where Element 18’ is illustrated retracted or “downwardly”, and Figs. 7 and 9, Where Element 18’ is illustrated extended or “upwardly”; Para. [0071], Lines 10-15, “extendable/retractable”).
Regarding Claim 3, The teaching of the Baarman reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 2/1. Furthermore, Baarman teaches wherein after the to-be-charged electronic device is departed from the wireless charging device, the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure and the magnetically attractable receiver coil structure are detached from each other, and the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure is moved downwardly through the lifting assembly, wherein as the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure is moved downwardly, the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structurer is moved into an inner portion of the device body through the hollow portion, and the sensing plane of the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure and the upper member of the device body are coplanar with each other (Baarman, Figs. 6 and 8, Where Element 18’ is illustrated retracted or “coplanar”; Para. [0071], Lines 10-15, “extendable/retractable”, and Para. [0085], Lines 5-15, “flush”).
Regarding Claim 4, The teaching of the Baarman reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Baarman teaches wherein the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure (Baarman, Figs. 4-5 and 8-9) comprises a transmitter coil module (Baarman, Figs. 4-5 and 8-9, Elements 14/14’) and a magnetic attraction module (Baarman, Figs. 4-5 and 8-9, Elements 24/24’), and the magnetic attraction module is arranged around the transmitter coil module (Baarman, Figs. 4-5 and 8-9, Elements 20/20’ illustrated around Elements 14/14’.).
Regarding Claim 5, The teaching of the Baarman reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 4/1. Furthermore, Baarman teaches wherein the transmitter coil module comprises a transmitter coil unit (Baarman, Figs. 4-5 and 8-9, Elements 14/14’) and a first bracket (Baarman, Figs. 4-5 and 8-9, Elements 20/20’), wherein the transmitter coil unit is installed on the first bracket (Baarman, Figs. 4-5 and 8-9, As illustrated.).
Regarding Claim 6, The teaching of the Baarman reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 4/1. Furthermore, Baarman teaches wherein the magnetic attraction module comprises: a second bracket (Baarman, Figs. 4-5, Element 26); a buffering pad installed on the second bracket (Baarman, Figs. 4-5, Element 22); a magnetic element installed on the buffering pad (Baarman, Figs. 4-5, Element 24); and a circuit board installed on the second bracket, wherein the buffering pad is arranged around the circuit board (Baarman, Not illustrated but inherent in a wireless charging device).
Regarding Claim 7, The teaching of the Baarman reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 6/4/1. Furthermore, Baarman teaches wherein the lifting assembly comprises: a connection platform comprising a first surface and a second surface, wherein the first surface and the second surface are opposed to each other, and the connection platform is connected with the second bracket of the magnetic attraction module through the first surface; a base plate located under the connection platform; and a movable supporting element connected between the second surface of the connection platform and the base plate (Baarman, Figs. 4-5 and 8-9, As illustrated, but does not label each part individually.).
Regarding Claim 9, The teaching of the Baarman reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Baarman teaches wherein the wireless charging device further comprises a main board and a power input port (Baarman, Fig. 1, Element 12; Para. [0071]. As illustrated, but does not label each part individually.), wherein the main board is disposed within the device body (Baarman, This configuration is not illustrated but inherent in a wireless charging device as being incorporated into one housing or multiple housings based on the physical design constraints. See Figs. 44-45 for an alternate embodiment.), the power input port is disposed within the device body (Baarman, This configuration is not illustrated but inherent in a wireless charging device as being incorporated into one housing or multiple housings based on the physical design constraints. See Figs. 44-45 for an alternate embodiment.), a portion of the power input port is exposed outside the device body (Baarman, Fig. 1, As illustrated.), and the lifting assembly is arranged between the main board and the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure, wherein the main board is electrically connected with the power input port and the magnetically attractable transmitter coil structure (Baarman, Fig. 45, As illustrated, but does not label each part individually.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baarman et al. U.S. PGPub 2013/0113423 A1 (hereinafter Baarman) in view of Trice et al. U.S. PGPub 2024/0213801 A1 (hereinafter Trice).
Regarding Claim 8, The teaching of the Baarman reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 7/6/4/1, but does not teach the supporting element being a scissors-type support.
Trice, however, teaches wherein the movable supporting element is a scissors-type supporting element (Trice, Fig. 4, Element 124, “scissor mechanism”; Para. [0039]).
Absent of showing criticality to use a scissors-type support, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use a scissor-type support based on desirability, since applicant has not disclosed that this type of support solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with other support types and would be at the user’s discretion to use the support type desired.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Azancot et al. U.S. Patent 8,283,812 teaches a wireless charging device with a power transmission coil moving up and down, but retains the coil within the housing.
Fetterman et al. U.S. Patent 10,283,996 teaches a wireless charging device with a transmission coil which moves to better align the two coils using magnetic attraction.
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859