DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims Status
Claims 13-20 are cancelled.
Claims 1-12 remain pending and stand rejected.
Response to Arguments
I. Applicant’s arguments made with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the accompanying amendments. Although Applicant’s arguments Desjardins are inapposite, the specific implementation of preferences to actively configure the transaction interface to modify rendering of transaction interface screens at least integrates the exception into a practical application under Prong Two. The Examiner emphasizes the amendments filed 12/23/2025, as well as p. 8-9 of the Remarks filed therewith. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
II. Applicant’s arguments made with respect to the rejections under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
While Applicant argues that the QR codes of Babcock “are for payment verification, not accessibility preferences”. Babcock is not relied upon to show these features. The base reference to Edwards teaches aspects related to configuring a user interface of a self-checkout system, which includes the storage and retrieval of preferences to cause the SCS to be configured. Babcock demonstrates using a scannable code in order to retrieve preferences.
Additionally, the Examiner notes that Babcock employs a scanner of the POS device (terminal) scans (decodes) a QR code to obtain the preferences (see: 0049, 0053 (apply any suitable cryptographic technique to the captured image and/or optical characteristics in order to decrypt the information that is stored, encrypted, encoded, and/or embedded within the QR code and/or otherwise correlated/mapped to the QR code), 0054 (the scanner/reader device can scan, process, and/or decipher the desired information)). The scanner/reader is implemented on the POS device which utilizes software (an access agent) (see: 0372, Fig. 39 (3932, 3934)), 0356). This software (which includes applications, modules) performs the above decoding (see again: 049, 0053, 0054) responsive to the scanning of the QR code. Babcock is thereby understood as disclosing wherein the scanned preference code is decoded by an access agent executing on the terminal to obtain accessibility preference data, and wherein the access agent is activated responsive to scanning the scanned preference code.
With respect to the allegations on pages 11-12 at (2) and (3), the Examiner again disagrees. As discussed above, Babcock is relied upon solely to demonstrate that a scannable code can be utilized to register and retrieve preferences that are then used in configuring a terminal for performing a transaction. The allegation that the “technical purpose is incompatible with the claimed invention” or “the modified combination would not function as claimed” are mere assertions unsupported by evidence or fact and ignore the combination of Edwards and Babcock. To reiterate: Edwards discloses storage, retrieval and application of accessibility preferences while lacking the use of a scannable code. Babcock then teaches the known use of scannable codes to retrieve preferences.
Concerning motivation, Applicant is reminded that the reason or motivation to modify a reference may be for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. Furthermore, it is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings. The Examiner maintains that one of ordinary skill would have understood the advantage to employing the known QR code technique of Babcock to enhance the security of a user’s private information during a commercial transaction (which is occurring in Edwards).
For at least these reasons, the rejection under 35 USC 101 has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over anticipated by Edwards (US 2013/0232037) in view of Babcock (US 2022/0147966).
Regarding claim 1, Edwards discloses a method, comprising:
registering accessibility preferences of a user for performing transactions on terminals (see: Fig. 1 (110), 0036, 0039);
obtaining the registered accessibility preferences in connection with a transaction of the user on a terminal (see: Fig. 2 (210, 220-221), 0056-0057),
the accessibility preference data comprising at least one of: audio volume levels, text font sizes, color contrast settings, or voice guidance settings (see: 0043 (audio level, color controls, voice recognition input options), 0059 (voice recognition and voice communication), 0060 (spoken language preferences)); and
causing a transaction interface associated with the terminal to apply and enforce the accessibility preferences during the transaction by configuring the transaction interface with the accessibility preference data to modify rendering of transaction interface screens during the transaction (see: Fig. 2 (230-232), 0058-0061).
Though disclosing the above, Edwards does not disclose obtaining preferences from a scanned preference code,
wherein the scanned preference code is decoded by an access agent executing on the terminal to obtain accessibility preference data, and wherein the access agent is activated responsive to scanning the scanned preference code, and,
wherein the scanned preference code is one of: a barcode encoding the accessibility preference data, or a quick response code encoding an identifier for retrieving the accessibility preference data from a repository.
To this accord, Babcock discloses a technique for enabling interaction between a user and a POS device that includes obtaining registered preference information from a scanned preference code (see: 0100, 0119-0120, 0267, 0287, Fig. 2 (206)).
Additionally, a scanner of the POS device (terminal) scans (decodes) a QR code to obtain the preferences (see: 0049, 0053 (apply any suitable cryptographic technique to the captured image and/or optical characteristics in order to decrypt the information that is stored, encrypted, encoded, and/or embedded within the QR code and/or otherwise correlated/mapped to the QR code), 0054 (the scanner/reader device can scan, process, and/or decipher the desired information)). The scanner/reader is implemented on the POS device which utilizes software (an access agent) (see: 0372, Fig. 39 (3932, 3934), 0356). This software (which includes applications, modules) performs the above decoding (see again: 049, 0053, 0054) responsive to the scanning of the QR code. Babcock is thereby understood as disclosing wherein the scanned preference code is decoded by an access agent executing on the terminal to obtain accessibility preference data, and wherein the access agent is activated responsive to scanning the scanned preference code.
Lastly, wherein the scanned preference code is one of: a barcode encoding the accessibility preference data, or a quick response code encoding an identifier for retrieving the accessibility preference data from a repository (see: 0100, 0119-0120, 0267, 0287, Fig. 2 (206)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Edwards to have utilized the known technique of obtaining preferences from a scanned code as taught by Babcock in order to have
applied and/or leveraged the safe, secure and private information transmission capabilities of electronically generated QR codes to enhance the fidelity and/or security of commercial transactions (see: Babcock: 0055).
6. The method of claim 1, wherein registering further includes receiving, from the user through a user interface, user-selected accessibility features for registration as accessibility preferences of the user (see: Edwards: 0026-0030, 0035-0036, 0039).
7. The method of claim 1, wherein registering further includes receiving, from the terminal, user-selected accessibility features for registration as accessibility preferences of the user (see: Edwards: 0026-0030, 0035-0036, 0039, 0041).
8. The method of claim 1, wherein registering further includes generating a preference code linked to the registered accessibility preferences and sending the preference code to a user interface (see: Edwards: Fig. 1 (130), 0047-0048; Babcock: 0100, 0119-0120, 0267, 0287, Fig. 2 (206)).
Note: Edwards discloses a preference record linked registered accessibility preferences, as well as providing scannable cards (e.g., 0052-0053) and using RFID tokens in authenticating users (e.g., 0046). Babcock discloses the express generation of the preference code and sending the preference code to the user interface (may also be taken to teach registering preferences linked to the preference code).
9. The method of claim 1, wherein registering further includes generating a preference code encoded and encapsulated with the registered accessibility preferences and sending the preference code to a user interface (see: Edwards: Fig. 1 (130), 0047-0048; Babcock: 0100, 0119-0120, 0267, 0287, Fig. 2 (204, 206)).
10. The method of claim 1, wherein registering further includes sending the registered accessibility preferences to a loyalty account associated with the user (see: Edwards: 0045-0046).
11. The method of claim 1, wherein obtaining further includes receiving an identifier linked to the user (see: Edwards: 0054-0055, Fig. 2 (211-214)), obtaining the registered accessibility preferences based on the identifier (see: 0056-0057, Fig. 2 (220-221)), and sending the registered accessibility preferences to an agent of the terminal (see: 0065, 0067).
12. The method of claim 11, wherein causing further includes instructing the agent to provide the registered accessibility preferences to a transaction manager of the terminal, wherein the transaction manager configures the transaction interface to apply and enforce the registered accessibility preferences (see: 0067-0068, Fig. 2 (230-232), Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view of Babcock as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Benkreira (US 2021/0081913).
Regarding claim 2, Edwards in view of Babcock discloses all of the above as noted but does not disclose registering accessibility features provided by retailers at stores of the retailers and on terminals at each store.
To this accord, Benkreira discloses a method for routing customers to terminals such as ATMs including registering accessibility features provided by retailers at stores of the retailers and on terminals at each store (see: 0052, Fig. 1 (128, 138)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Edwards in view of Babcock to have utilized the well-known technique of searching for terminal locations as taught by Benkreira in order to have provided users with the ability to locate terminals having desired parameters while providing additional details of the features, thereby enabling a user to select a location and be routed thereto (see: Benkreira: 0002).
3. The method of claim 2 further comprising: maintaining an index of the registered accessibility features (see: Benkreira: 0049, 0051-0052, Fig. 1 (128, 138)).
4. The method of claim 3 further comprising: providing retailer category-based ((see: Benkreira: 0056, Fig. 2 (204-206)) and user proximity-based searching of the index through a user interface (see: Benkreira: Fig. 2 (208), Fig. 6A, 0058, 0078, 0082).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards in view in view of Babcock and Benkreira as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Alanis Lopez (US 2021/0279756 – herein Alanis).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Edwards in view of Babcock and Benkreira discloses all of the above and further including providing an interface that identifies specific features associated with the registered preferences that are supported by each retailer identified in the search results (see: Benkreira: Fig. 6A (612)). Notably, both Edwards and Benkreira discloses features for accessibility options (see: Edwards: 0026-0031, 0042 (sight or hearing impaired); Benkreira: 0052, 0062 (hearing impaired ATM)).
Though disclosing the above, the combination does not disclose providing a legend with search results through the user interface that identifies specific features associated with the registered preferences. Search legends were well-0known in the art at the time of invention, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill.
For example, Alanis discloses a search results interface that presents location-based search results by providing a legend with search results through the user interface, the legend providing additional data descriptive of the respective result (see: 0114, Fig. 7, 0142, Fig. 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the invention of Edwards in view of Babcock and Benkreira to have utilized the well-known technique of providing a legend as taught by Alanis in order to have provided a single view that quickly and easily communicated to users the locations that meets or exceeds their search parameters and compare locations (see: Alanis: 0114, 0062).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gervais (US 2021/028772) discloses an automated teller device having accessibility configurations and a method of operating an automated teller device having accessibility configuration, accommodate a wide range of user challenges and preferences, provide accessibility options for the accessibility features that allow a high level of customization to accommodate user challenges and preferences, provide the ability to apply customized accessibility features to any automated teller device connected to the ATM network, and provide accessibility features which are relatively easy to setup and use (see: 0027, 0104).
WILLIAM J. ALLEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3625
/WILLIAM J ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619