DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20170347914 A1 to Issacson et al. (hereinafter, Issacson).
Regarding Claim 1, Issacson discloses a medical device comprising inter alia:
a magnetized member comprising at least one magnetized portion containing magnetized martensitic stainless steel (para. [0045] “…a needle 620 having a cannula 622 defining an elongate shaft 626 having a proximal end 621 and a distal tip 623…”) (para. [0044] “Multiple magnetic regions enable the invasive medical device to be encoded with multiple magnetic signatures…”) (para. [0054] “The magnetic regions according to any of the embodiments described above can be… martensitic…”), wherein:
the medical device has an elongated outer shape with a distal end side configured to be inserted inside a body (para. [0053] “… the plurality of magnetic regions can be used for visualization of the device during an insertion procedure…”) (distal tip 623 is capable of being inserted inside a body), and the magnetized member is provided in a portion of the distal end side of the medical device (magnetic regions 630, 631 and 632 are located in a portion of the distal end side of the medical device, see FIG. 13).
Regarding Claim 2, Issacson discloses the medical device according to claim 1, wherein: the magnetized member is a core shaft, and the magnetized portion is provided in a distal end portion of the core shaft (para. [0045] “…the magnetic regions can be provided by cold working the shaft 626 of the needle 620, or modifying the composition of the needle 620 to increase the strength of the magnetic fields B1, B2, and B3.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Issacson discloses the medical device according to claim 1, wherein: the at least one magnetized portion comprises a plurality of magnetized portions, and the plurality of magnetized portions are spaced apart from each other in an axial direction of the medical device (para. [0045] “…a distance d1 and d2 between the magnetic regions 630, 631 and 631…”).
Regarding Claim 6, Issacson discloses the medical device according to claim 2, wherein: the at least one magnetized portion comprises a plurality of magnetized portions, and the plurality of magnetized portions are spaced apart from each other in an axial direction of the medical device (para. [0045] “…a distance d1 and d2 between the magnetic regions 630, 631 and 631…”).
Regarding Claim 9, Issacson discloses the medical device according to claim 5, wherein at least two magnetized portions among the plurality of magnetized portions have lines of magnetic force extending in different directions from each other (para. [0045] “Thus, while magnetic regions 630, 631 and 632 are shown as having pole orientations of +/−, +/− and +/−, these pole orientations can be varied in any number of ways such as +/−, −/+ and +/−, or alternatively, −/+, +/− and −/+. Thus, by changing pole orientation of the magnetic regions, another variable of the magnetic regions can be utilized to provide another way to encode needle information.”) (see different directions indicated by arrows in FIG. 13).
Regarding Claim 10, Issacson discloses the medical device according to claim 6, wherein at least two magnetized portions among the plurality of magnetized portions have lines of magnetic force extending in different directions from each other (para. [0045] “Thus, while magnetic regions 630, 631 and 632 are shown as having pole orientations of +/−, +/− and +/−, these pole orientations can be varied in any number of ways such as +/−, −/+ and +/−, or alternatively, −/+, +/− and −/+. Thus, by changing pole orientation of the magnetic regions, another variable of the magnetic regions can be utilized to provide another way to encode needle information.”) see different directions indicated by arrows in FIG. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 7, 8, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Issacson in view of US 20030093011 A1 to Jalisi.
Issacson discloses (Claims 7 and 8) wherein the at least one magnetized portion comprises a plurality of magnetized portions, and the plurality of magnetized portions are spaced apart from each other in an axial direction of the medical device (para. [0045] “…a distance d1 and d2 between the magnetic regions 630, 631 and 631…”). And (Claims 11 and 12) wherein at least two magnetized portions among the plurality of magnetized portions have lines of magnetic force extending in different directions from each other (para. [0045] “Thus, while magnetic regions 630, 631 and 632 are shown as having pole orientations of +/−, +/− and +/−, these pole orientations can be varied in any number of ways such as +/−, −/+ and +/−, or alternatively, −/+, +/− and −/+. Thus, by changing pole orientation of the magnetic regions, another variable of the magnetic regions can be utilized to provide another way to encode needle information.”) see different directions indicated by arrows in FIG. 13).
Issacson discloses the claimed invention except for expressly disclosing (Claims 3 and 4) a coercive force layer covering at least a portion of a surface of the magnetized member, and containing a material with a higher coercive force than martensitic stainless steel, wherein the magnetized portion comprises the coercive force layer magnetized together with the magnetized member. However, Jalisi teaches a stainless-steel intraluminal device that has a performance enhancing coating such as platinum, applied at the distal end of the device (Abstract, paras. [0006], [0024]). One having an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have found it obvious to modify the martensitic stainless steel of Issacson to include the platinum coating of Jalisi, as Jalisi teaches at para. [0024] that a platinum coating would have provided the device radiopacity and further teaches at para. [0006] that this would have allow visualization under fluoroscope allowing a surgeon to advance the device to a desired location.
Conclusion
/SEAN P DOUGHERTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791