Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/10/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the allowance on 03/11/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 11, the examiner is unsure on the recited limitation "the housing" in lines 4 and 23. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the applicant referring to the “printer housing” or the “cartridge housing” that was claimed earlier in claim 11?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as being unpatentable over Sakano (US 20180044128 A1) in view of Hasegawa et al. (JP H09263027 A).
Regarding claim 1, Sakano teaches a media cartridge (“tape cassette 100”, Figure 1) comprising;
a housing (“cartridge case 130”, Figures 2(a)-(f)) having a side wall (Paragraph [0066] describes how the “cartridge case 130” includes a “lower case 150” and “upper case 152”.);
a media core (“reeling core 116”, Figure 2(b)) supported within the housing (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “cartridge case 130” houses the “reeling core 116”.),
wherein the media core (“reeling core 116”, Figure 2(b)) includes at least one detent arranged radially around an inner surface of the media core (Figure 3(b) displays a plurality of “notches 222” that are formed radially around the inner surface of the “reeling core 116” and; therefore, create detents radially around the inner surface of the “reeling core 116”.);
a first cutout in the side wall; a second cutout in the side wall, the second cutout being spaced away and separate from the first cutout, the first and second cutouts creating a strip positioned between the first and second cutouts (Figure 3(b) displays two cutouts that creates a strip referred to as “206” and para. [0078] cutout regions on which hooks 206 are provided.);
the locking tab extending from the strip (Figure 3(b) displays “rotational stopper 206” extended between the two cutouts.).
a locking tab (“stopper hook 206”, Figure 3(b))
the locking tab (“stopper hook 206”, Figure 3(b)) having a cam (Figure 3(b) displays how the “stopper hook 206” includes the long strip between the two cutouts.) and at least one tooth (Figure 3(b) displays a hook at the end of the long strip of the “stopper hook 206” that is acting as the hook/tooth to engage the “notches 224”.)
the locking tab (“stopper hook 206”, Figure 3(b)) being movable between a default position and a flexed position (Paragraph [0083] describes how the “stopper hook 206” is either engaged or disengaged from the “notch 224”.);
wherein in the default position, the at least one tooth is engaged with the at least one detent (Figure 3(b) displays how the hook portion of the “stopper hook 206” is engaged with one of the detents created from the “plurality of notches 222”. Furthermore, paragraph [0056] describes how the “stopper hooks 206” are engaged onto the “reeling core 116” until it is released using the “release pins 53a” shown in Figure 8(a). Therefore, the “stopper hook 206” is engaged with the “plurality of notches 222” in a default setting/state.) and
in the flexed position, the cam is compressed inwardly causing the at least one tooth to disengage from the at least one detent of the media core (Paragraph [0056] describes how the “stopper hooks 206” are pressed inward within the “tape cartridge 100” when the “release pins 53a” presses in and causes the “stopper hooks 206” to release the “reeling core 116”.).
Sakano fails to explicitly teach wherein at least a portion of the cam extends axially from the strip relative to the media core so that the at least a portion of the cam extends externally to the housing past the side wall.
However, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teaches wherein at least a portion of the cam (Hasegawa, “engaging portion 23b”, Figure 4) extends axially from the strip (Sakano, Figure 3(b) displays the “rotational stopper 206” extended between the two cutouts described in paragraph [0078].) relative to the media core (Hasegawa, “take-up spool 15”, Figure 2A) so that the at least a portion of the cam (Hasegawa, “engaging portion 23b”, Figure 4) extends externally to the housing (Hasegawa, “cassette body 12”, Figure 2B) past the side wall (Hasegawa, Figure 5 displays how a part of the “engaging portion 23b” of the “locking spring 23” extends axially from the “cassette body 12” past the “lid 13”).
Sakano and Hasegawa are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field involving a media cartridge with a locking system. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by Sakano to also apply wherein at least a portion of the cam extends axially from the strip relative to the media core so that the at least a portion of the cam extends externally to the housing past the side wall as taught by the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa. This would have been done to create a locking mechanism that can engage or disengage to prevent or allow the rotation of the core, as taught by Sakano at paragraph [0078] and to allow the locking portion to move away and allow the spool to rotate (Hasegawa, paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teach the media cartridge of claim 1, Sakano further discloses wherein the media core (“reeling core 116”, Figure 2(b)) is unable to rotate relative to the housing when the tooth is engaged with the detent (Paragraph [0078] describes how the rotating state of the “reeling core 116” is stopped when the “stopper hook 206” is in engagement with the “notch 224”, described in paragraph [0083], of the “reeling core 116”.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 1. Sakano further discloses wherein the media core supports a media roll (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “reeling core 116” supports the used “ink ribbon 110”.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 5, Sakano further discloses wherein the media roll comprises wristbands configured for thermal printing (Paragraph [0044] describes how heat is applied to the “ink ribbon 110” during the printing operation. Therefore, the “ink ribbon 110” is configured for thermal printing.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 1, Sakano further discloses wherein the media core has a rotational axis that aligns with an aperture in the housing (Paragraphs [0046], [0059], [0071]-[0072], see figure 2(b) displaying a "core shaft portion 192" that protrudes inside
the "cartridge case 130" of the "tape cartridge 100" and also supports the core wall of
the media supply which displays that the core of the media has a rotational axis that
aligns with the aperture of the "tape cartridge 100" case.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 1, Sakano further discloses wherein the at least one tooth projects from the locking tab in a direction that is perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the media core (Figure 3(b) displays how the hook portion of the “stopper hooks 206” are disposed in a direction that is perpendicular to the rotational axis of the “reeling core 116”.).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sakano (US 20180044128 Al) and Hasegawa et al. (JP H09263027 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Silverbrook (US 7191978 B2).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 1, Sakano further discloses wherein the housing comprises opposing first and second side walls (Paragraph [0066] describes how the “cartridge case 130” includes a “lower case 150” and “upper case 152”.),
Modified Sakano fails to teach wherein the locking tab is positioned on the first side wall and a second locking tab is positioned on the second side wall such that the locking tab and the second locking tab are positioned opposite each other.
However, Silverbrook teaches wherein the locking tab is positioned on the first side wall and a second locking tab is positioned on the second side wall such that the locking tab and the second locking tab are positioned opposite each other (Column 8, lines 22-25, see figure 16, describes two supporting members that each hold an opposite side of the shaft and prevent rotation of the shaft within the casing. If the locking systems taught by Modified Sakano were also combined with a supporting member on each side of the structure of Silverbrook, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to also include a second locking system on the other side of the media cartridge structure.).
Modified Sakano and Silverbrook are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field involving a media cartridge for a printing system. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by Modified Sakano to also apply a second locking system on the opposite side wall of the media cartridge as taught by Silverbrook into Modified Sakano for the purpose of having a secured media within the media cartridge.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sakano (US 20180044128 Al) and Hasegawa et al. (JP H09263027 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suva et al. (US 20120027486 Al).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 1.
Modified Sakano fails to disclose wherein the locking tab moves in a rotational direction to transition from the default position to the flexed position.
However, Suva teaches wherein the locking tab moves in a rotational direction to transition from the default position to the flexed position (Paragraphs [0070]-[0072], see figure 6, describes how the "tab 102" rotates when in contact with the "printer 10", which causes the system to unlock and lock when the "media cartridge 12" is inserted and removed, respectfully).
Modified Sakano and Suva are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field involving a media cartridge with a locking system. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge as taught by Modified Sakano to also apply wherein the locking tab moves in a rotational direction to transition from the default position to the flexed position taught by the combination of Suva. This would have been done to create a locking mechanism that can engage or disengage to prevent or allow the rotation of the core, as taught by Sakano at paragraph [0078].
Claim(s) 11-12, 16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over as being unpatentable over Sakano (US 20180044128 Al) in view of Suva et al. (US 20120027486 Al) and Hasegawa et al. (JP H09263027 A).
Regarding claim 11, Sakano teaches a printer (“tape printing apparatus 1”, Figure 1) comprising:
a printer housing (“apparatus case 3”, Figure 1);
a slot (“cartridge attachment portion 5”, Figure 1) in the printer housing (Figure 1 displays how the “apparatus case 3” includes a “cartridge attachment portion 5”);
a media cartridge (“tape cassette 100”, Figure 1) received in the slot (Paragraph [0042] describes how the “tape cassette 100” is detachably attached to the “cartridge attachment portion 5”.),
the media cartridge (“tape cassette 100”, Figure 1) comprising: a cartridge housing (“cartridge case 130”, Figures 2(a)-(f)) having a side wall (Paragraph [0066] describes how the “cartridge case 130” includes a “lower case 150” and “upper case 152”.);
a media core (“reeling core 116”, Figure 2(b)) supported within the housing (Paragraph [0045] describes how the “cartridge case 130” houses the “reeling core 116”.),
wherein the media core (“reeling core 116”, Figure 2(b)) including at least one detent arranged radially around an inner surface of the media core (Figure 3(b) displays a plurality of “notches 222” that are formed radially around the inner surface of the “reeling core 116” and; therefore, create detents radially around the inner surface of the “reeling core 116”.);
a first cutout in the side wall: a second cutout in the side wall, the second cutout being spaced away and separate from the first cutout, the first and second cutouts creating a strip positioned between the first and second cutouts (Figure 3(b) displays two cutouts that creates a strip referred to as “206” and paragraph [0078] cutout regions on which hooks 206 are provided.);
a locking tab extending from the strip (Figure 3(b) displays “rotational stopper 206” extended between the two cutouts.),
a locking tab (“stopper hook 206”, Figure 3(b))
the locking tab (“stopper hook 206”, Figure 3(b)) having a cam (Figure 3(b) displays how the “stopper hook 206” includes the long strip between the two cutouts.) and at least one tooth (Figure 3(b) displays a hook at the end of the long strip of the “stopper hook 206” that is acting as the hook/tooth to engage the “notches 224”.),
the locking tab (“stopper hook 206”, Figure 3(b)) being movable between a default position and a flexed position (Paragraph [0083] describes how the “stopper hook 206” is either engaged or disengaged from the “notch 224”.);
Sakano fails to explicitly teach wherein: when the media cartridge is inserted into the slot, the slot forces the locking tab to rotate in a first direction away from the detent of the media core causing the locking tab to disengage with the media core.
However, the combination of Sakano and Suva teaches wherein: when the media cartridge (Sakano, “tape cassette 100”, Figure 1), the slot forces the locking tab to rotate in a first direction away from the detent of the media core causing the locking tab to disengage with the media core (Suva, Paragraphs [0070]-[0072], see figure 6, describes how the "tab 102" rotates when in contact with the "printer 10", which causes the system to unlock and lock when the "media cartridge 12" is inserted and removed, respectfully).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by Sakano to also apply the locking tab to rotate away and disengage from the detent of the media core when the media cartridge is inserted into the slot of the printer as taught by the combination of Sakano and Suva. This would have been done for having a locking system with an extending cartridge receptacle that interacts with the printer and disengages the lock when the cartridge is inserted (Suva, paragraph [0012]).
Sakano also fails to explicitly teach when the media cartridge is removed from the slot, the locking tab rotates in a second direction opposite the first direction, allowing the locking tab to engage with the detent of the media core.
However, the combination of Sakano and Suva teaches when the media cartridge (Sakano, “tape cassette 100”, Figure 1) is removed from the slot, the locking tab rotates in a second direction opposite the first direction (Suva, Paragraphs [0070]-[0072], see figure 6, describes how the "tab 102" rotates when in contact with the "printer 10", which causes the system to unlock and lock when the "media cartridge 12" is inserted and removed, respectfully. Furthermore, when the “media cartridge 12” is removed, the “tab 102” rotates in the opposite direction to lock the locking system.), allowing the locking tab to engage with the detent of the media core (Sakano, Figure 3(b) displays how the hook portion of the “stopper hook 206” is engaged with one of the detents created from the “plurality of notches 222” of the “reeling core 116”.).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by Sakano to also apply the locking tab to rotate the opposite direction and engage the detent of the media core when the media cartridge is removed from the slot of the printer as taught by the combination of Sakano and Suva into Sakano for the purpose of having a locking system that re-engages when the cartridge is removed from the printer (Suva, paragraph [0021]).
Sakano and Suva fail to explicitly teach wherein at least a portion of the cam extends axially from the strip relative to the media core so that the at least a portion of the cam extends externally to the housing past the side wall.
However, the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa teaches wherein at least a portion of the cam (Hasegawa, “engaging portion 23b”, Figure 4) extends axially from the strip (Sakano, Figure 3(b) displays the “rotational stopper 206” extended between the two cutouts described in paragraph [0078].) relative to the media core (Hasegawa, “take-up spool 15”, Figure 2A) so that the at least a portion of the cam (Hasegawa, “engaging portion 23b”, Figure 4) extends externally to the housing (Hasegawa, “cassette body 12”, Figure 2B) past the side wall (Hasegawa, Figure 5 displays how a part of the “engaging portion 23b” of the “locking spring 23” extends axially from the “cassette body 12” past the “lid 13”).
Modified Sakano and Hasegawa are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field involving a media cartridge with a locking system. Therefore, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by Modified Sakano to also apply wherein at least a portion of the cam extends axially from the strip relative to the media core so that the at least a portion of the cam extends externally to the housing past the side wall as taught by the combination of Sakano and Hasegawa. This would have been done to create a locking mechanism that can engage or disengage to prevent or allow the rotation of the core, as taught by Sakano at paragraph [0078] and to allow the locking portion to move away and allow the spool to rotate (Hasegawa, paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sakano, Suva, and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 11, Sakano further discloses wherein the media core (“reeling core 116”, Figure 2(b)) is unable to rotate within the media cartridge (“tape cassette 100”, Figure 1) when the locking tab is engaged with the detent (Paragraph [0078] describes how the rotating state of the “reeling core 116” is stopped when the “stopper hook 206” is in engagement with the “notch 224”, described in paragraph [0083], of the “reeling core 116”.) and the media core is free to rotate within the media cartridge when the locking tab is disengaged from the detent (Paragraph [0056] describes how the “stopper hooks 206” are pressed inward within the “tape cartridge 100” when the “release pins 53a” presses in and causes the “stopper hooks 206” to release the “reeling core 116”. By releasing the “reeling core 116”, the “reeling core 116” is able to freely rotate within the “tape cassette 100”.).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sakano, Suva, and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 11, Sakano further discloses wherein the printer (“tape printing apparatus 1”, Figure 1) is configured for thermal printing and the media cartridge (“tape cassette 100”, Figure 1) includes a plurality of wristbands configured for thermal printing (Paragraph [0044] describes how heat is applied to the “ink ribbon 110” during the printing operation. Therefore, the “tape printing apparatus 1” and the “ink ribbon 110” within the “tape cassette 100” are configured for thermal printing.).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sakano, Suva, and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 11, Sakano further discloses wherein the media cartridge (“tape cassette 100”, Figure 1) is inserted into the printer (“tape printing apparatus 1”, Figure 1) in a first direction (Figure 1 displays how the “tape cassette 100” is inserted into the “tape printing apparatus 1” in an up/down direction);
Sakano fails to explicitly teach the locking tab includes teeth projecting in the first direction
However, Suva teaches the locking tab includes teeth projecting in the first direction (Paragraph [0072], see figures 9 and 11, item “media pinch arm 104” connected to the "tab 102" and is arranged to be pointing in the same direction as the direction the "media cartridge 12" inserted into the "printer 10". Therefore, the locking tab has a tooth component that projects in the same direction as the media cartridge being inserted into the printer).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by Sakano to also apply the locking tab includes teeth projecting in the first direction as taught by Suva. This would have been done for controlling the rotational ability of the media supply within the cartridge through the media core.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sakano, Suva, and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 11, Sakano further discloses wherein the media cartridge (“tape cassette 100”, Figure 1) is inserted into the printer (“tape printing apparatus 1”, Figure 1) in a lateral direction (Figure 1 displays how the “tape cassette 100” is inserted into the “tape printing apparatus 1” in a lateral, or straight, direction.).
Sakano fails to explicitly teach the locking tab of the media cartridge moves in a rotational direction.
However, Suva teaches the locking tab of the media cartridge moves in a rotational direction (Paragraphs [0070]-[0072], see figure 6, describes how the "tab 102" rotates when in contact with the "printer 10", which causes the system to unlock and lock when the "media cartridge 12" is inserted and removed, respectfully).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by Sakano to also apply the locking tab of the media cartridge moves in a rotational direction as taught by Suva. This would have been done for having a locking system with an extending cartridge receptacle that interacts with the printer and disengages the lock when the cartridge is inserted (Suva, paragraph [0012]).
Claim(s) 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sakano (US 20180044128 Al), Suva et al. (US 20120027486 Al), and Hasegawa et al. (JP H09263027 A) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Silverbrook (US 7191978 B2).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Sakano, Suva, and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 11.
Modified Sakano fails to teach wherein the locking tab comprises a cam and a tooth opposite the cam on the locking tab, wherein the tooth is configured to engage with the detent.
However, the combination of Sakano and Silverbrook teaches wherein the locking tab comprises a cam and a tooth opposite the cam on the locking tab (Silverbrook, Column 8, lines 22-25 describes two supporting members that each hold an opposite side of the shaft and prevent rotation of the shaft within the casing and is displayed in Figure 16. While Sakano discloses two locking tabs. Combining a cartridge that includes two locking systems described in Sakano and the structure of Silverbrook where the supporting members are on opposite sides of media, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to also include a second locking system on the other side of the media cartridge structure that functions identically to the first locking system.), wherein the tooth is configured to engage with the detent (Sakano, Figure 3(b) displays how the hook portion of the “stopper hook 206” is engaged with one of the detents created from the “plurality of notches 222” of the “reeling core 116”.).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by Modified Sakano to also apply a second locking system on the opposite side wall of the media cartridge as taught by the combination of modified Sakano and Silverbrook into Sakano for the purpose of having a secured media within the media cartridge.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sakano, Suva, and Hasegawa teaches the media cartridge of claim 11, Sakano further discloses wherein the media cartridge includes a second locking tab (Figure 3(b) displays two “stopper hooks 206” on the “tape cartridge 100” that is for the “unreeling core 112” and functions identically to the “stopper hook 206” for the “reeling core 116”.)
Modified Sakano fails to teach wherein the locking tab and the second locking tab are configured to contact opposite sides of the slot.
However, the combination of Sakano and Silverbrook teaches wherein the locking tab and the second locking tab are configured to contact opposite sides of the slot (Silverbrook, Column 8, lines 22-25 describes two supporting members that each hold an opposite side of the shaft and prevent rotation of the shaft within the casing and is displayed in Figure 16. Sakano discloses the slot in the printer housing used to insert the cartridge and discloses two locking tabs. Combining the slot structure described in Sakano, a cartridge that includes two locking systems also described in Sakano, and the structure of Silverbrook where the supporting members are on opposite sides of media, it would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to also include a second locking system on the other side of the media cartridge structure that functions identically to the first locking system.).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the media cartridge with a media roll locking system as taught by modified Sakano to also apply a second locking system on the opposite side wall of the media cartridge that makes contact with the opposite sides of the slot as taught by the combination of modified Sakano and Silverbrook into modified Sakano for the purpose of having a secured media within the media cartridge.
Conclusion
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853