DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to amendment filed 10/23/2025.
Status of Claims
Applicant amended the claims in the filed amendment, and canceled claims 6,10,12, and added new claims 21-23. Claims 1-5,7-9,11,13-23 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 10/23/25, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 102 rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made based on Ghosh in view of Feng.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5,7-9,11,13-23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 1,19,20 recite the amended limitation “receive… an indication of data to be written…”. This limitation appears incomplete and disconnected from the rest of the claim. Neither the indication, nor the data are relevant to the rest of the other claim elements. There is no relevance or functional interdependence that established between the steps. Accordingly, the claim appears incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01.
Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the independent claim and are thus rejected based on the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5,7-9,11,13-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh (US Publication 20170061832) in view of Feng et al (US Publication 20200313881).
In reference to claim 1, Ghosh teaches a memory system, comprising:
one or more memory devices; one or more interfaces; (see at least ¶s 65,67)
receive, at the memory system, an indication of a cryptographic operation to perform at the memory system; (see at least ¶ 194, which teaches receiving a request for performing a cryptographic function)
perform, based at least in part on receiving the indication of the cryptographic operation, the cryptographic operation using one or more cryptographic primitives at the memory system; (see at least ¶s 191,195, which teaches performing the cryptographic function using one or more primitives) and
output, from the memory system, an indication of a result of the cryptographic operation based at least in part on performing the cryptographic operation using the one or more cryptographic primitives at the memory system (see at least ¶s 197,198, which teaches outputting a result of the cryptographic operation based on the primitives).
Ghosh fails to explicitly teach one or more memory devices; one or more interfaces configured for communication with a host system; and one or more controllers of the memory system, the one or more controllers configured to cause the memory system to: receive, at the memory system via the one or more interfaces, an indication of data to be written to one or more memory cells of the one or more memory devices. However, Feng teaches a memory system that interfaces with a host device, and teaches a controller that manages the memory for receiving, via the interface, data and operations to perform at the memory, and also to output a result to the host device (see Feng, at least ¶s 23,33,46-48 & Figs 1,6,7). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ghosh based on the teachings of Feng for the purpose of performing operations in a dedicated system that handles the operations in a secure and efficient manner.
In reference to claim 2, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 202-204, which teaches generating a random/digest value using entropy source information, where the result of the cryptographic function is the ransom/digest value.
In reference to claim 3, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 82,136, which teaches receive the set of entropy source information used to generate the value.
In reference to claim 4, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 72,79, which teaches the set of information is available prior to request for the cryptographic function.
In reference to claim 5, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 82,136, which teaches the set of information is input data for the cryptographic primitives.
In reference to claim 6, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 64,68, which teaches the data is available prior to request for the cryptographic function.
In reference to claim 7, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶ 51, which teaches generating an authentication code using a set f data and a cryptographic key.
In reference to claim 8, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 45,50, which teaches receiving the data for generating the authentication code.
In reference to claim 9, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 64,75, which teaches data is available prior to request for the cryptographic function.
In reference to claim 10, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 45,50, which teaches the set of information is input data for the cryptographic primitives.
In reference to claim 11, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 64,75, which teaches the data is available prior to request for the cryptographic function.
In reference to claim 12, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 51,135, which teaches outputting the authentication code.
In reference to claim 13, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 44,45,51, which teaches verification of the authentication code.
In reference to claim 14, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 150-152,161, which teaches generating a cryptographic key for a cryptographic primitive.
In reference to claim 15, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶s 149 lines 1-20 and ¶ 150, which teaches receiving information to generate the cryptographic key.
In reference to claim 16, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶ 52, which teaches encrypt data using a cryptographic primitive.
In reference to claim 17, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶ 149 lines 1-20, which teaches store the encrypted data and an indication that the cryptographic function is complete.
In reference to claim 18, this is taught by Ghosh, see at least ¶ 154, which teaches output the encrypted data.
In reference to claim 21, Feng teaches receiving indications for data for the memory and cryptographic operations (see Feng, at least ¶s 35,46-48). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ghosh based on the teachings of Feng in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 22, Feng teaches receiving via interfaces, indications for data for the memory and cryptographic operations (see Feng, at least ¶s 23,40,46). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ghosh based on the teachings of Feng in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
In reference to claim 23, Feng teaches implementing on a single ICC chip (see Feng, at least ¶s 23,27). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Ghosh based on the teachings of Feng in accordance to the rationale given for claim 1.
Claims 19,20 are slight variations of the rejected claims 1-18 above, and are therefore rejected based on the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For any subsequent response that contains new/amended claims, Applicant is required to cite its corresponding support in the specification. (See MPEP chapter 2163.03 section (I.) and chapter 2163.04 section (I.) and chapter 2163.06) Applicant may not introduce any new matter to the claims or to the specification.
In formulating a response/amendment, Applicant is encouraged to take into consideration the prior art made of record but not relied upon, as it is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See previous Form 892.
Contact & Status
To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Ramy M Osman/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457
April 28, 2026