DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 29 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims require a comma after the preamble. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 25 recites “the intravenous infusion pump” there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 28 and 34 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite “the infusion pump” this should be “the intravenous infusion pump” for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 29 recites “an intravenous infusion pump” a pump is previously claimed in claim 25, it is not clear if this is the same or a different pump. For purposes of the rejection, it is considered as the same pump.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25, 26, and 28-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ater (US 2016/0270658 A1).
With regard to claims 25, 26, and 28-32, Ater teaches a method for the safe administration of contraction inducing drugs comprising: measuring one or more of frequency, strength, and duration of uterine contractions through a measurement device connected to a monitor ([0111]-[0112] sensor 10 monitor 9, [0174] uterine pressure Fig. 4A 214); determining whether one or more of the measured frequency, strength, or duration of uterine contractions exceeds one or more predetermined thresholds ([0129] stops deliveries when alarm is activated); and stopping the intravenous infusion pump from administering a drug when the frequency, strength, or duration of uterine contractions exceed the one or more predetermined thresholds ([0129] stops deliveries when alarm is activated, Fig. 1 pump 46 delivers oxytocin/Pitocin [0006], [0051]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ater (US 2016/0270658 A1) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Chossat (US 2011/0320049 A1).
With regard to claim 27, Ater discloses a method substantially as claimed. Ater does not disclose restarting administration by entering a passcode. However, Chossat teaches that after an alert related to dosage has been given authorization like a password may be needed to override the alert ([0045]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to require a passcode to restart delivery in Ater because Chossat teaches such may be required to override a system which ensures a patient is only receiving medication deemed necessary which enhances safety.
Claim(s) 33 and 35-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ater (US 2016/0270658 A1) and Chossat (US 2011/0320049 A1) as applied to claim 27 above, and further in view of Boone, III et al. (US 2010/0045427 A1) and Khair et al. (US 2010/0280486 A1).
With regard to claims 33 and 35-37, Ater and Chossat teach a method substantially as claimed. Ater and Chossat do not disclose the number of passcode entries are based on categories of medical staff. However, Boone, III et al. teach a limited number of times a usage code may be used ([00009]-[0010]). Further, Khair et al. teach limiting which caregivers may have access to overriding dosage information to physicians or nursing supervisors ([0068]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to limit the number of times someone may enter a passcode and to limit the staff allowed to enter a passcode for overriding a system to deliver a drug in Ater and Chossat as Boone, III et al. and Khair teach such measures which would help to ensure proper usage and patient safety by preventing and over delivery of medication and ensuring proper staff is making decisions regarding treatment. As combined other staff would have zero number of times available to them if they attempted to input a code to restart the pump.
Claim(s) 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ater (US 2016/0270658 A1) and Chossat (US 2011/0320049 A1) as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Boone, III et al. (US 2010/0045427 A1).
With regard to claim 34, Ater teaches the pump is stopped and shows the pump in connection to the monitor and that the system controller which stop delivery is in the monitor (Fig. 1, [0116], [0117], [0121], [0129]) but does not specifically disclose the pump is shut down by shutting down power from the monitor. However, Boone, III et al. teach disabling operation to a system by disconnecting the power ([0099]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to shut off the pump of Ater by shutting off the monitor power as Boone, III et al. teach this is an art effective means for disabling operation. Further, as the pump and monitor work in conjunction with each other and the pump is controlled by the monitor there are a limited number of power supplies which may be shut down to shut down pump operation. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to determine appropriate measures for disconnecting power such that the pump system shuts down.
Conclusion
/EMILY L SCHMIDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783