DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 22-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 22:
“23. (original) The brewing material holder of claim 21, wherein the recessed portion of the lid is a tamper.” should be changed to: --22. (original) The brewing material holder of claim 21, wherein the recessed portion of the lid is a tamper.--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Notification regarding 35 USC § 112f
In claims 14-19:
Claim limitations “Brewing material holding means”, “holder body means”, “open receiving means”, “receptacle means”, “holder covering means”, “open pass-through means”, “recess means”, “tamping means”, “mesh filter means”, and “nozzle means” have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because it uses/they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f), claims 14-19 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112f limitation:
“Brewing material holding means”, “holder body means”, “open receiving means”, “receptacle means”, “holder covering means”, “pass-through means”, “recess means”, “tamping means”, and “mesh filter means” have been described in the present disclosure such as “a brewing material holder”, “a holder body”, “an opening receiving end”, ‘an interior”, “a holder lid”, “an aperture”, “a recessed portion”, “a portion of recessed”, “a mesh filter”, and “a nozzle”.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a1) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 1, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Nordskog (US 3878772).
Regarding claim 1, Nordskog discloses
A brewing material holder (reuseable container 10, fig.7) separate from a beverage brewer (base 50, fig.7), comprising:
a holder body (undercup 14, fig.7) configured to be arranged in a brewing chamber (inside of base 50, fig.7) of the beverage brewer (base 50); and
a holder lid (cover 48, fig.7);
wherein the holder body (undercup 14) includes:
a holder base (bottom portion of undercup 14, fig.7),
a holder sidewall (sidewall of undercup 14) extending from the base (base 50) and defining an interior configured to receive and hold ground brewing material, and
an open receiving end (open top of undercup 14, fig.7) opposite the base (base 50),
wherein the holder lid (cover 48) is configured to engage the holder body (undercup 14) to cover the open receiving end (open top of undercup 14);
wherein the holder lid (cover 48) includes an opening aperture (cover 48 has an opening to insert conduit 56, fig.7) configured to allow fluid to flow into the interior of the holder body (undercup 14) from a nozzle (outlet of conduit 56, fig.7) of the beverage brewer (base 50).
Regarding claim 14, Nordskog discloses
Brewing material holding means (reuseable container 10, fig.7) separate from a beverage brewer (base 50, fig.7), comprising:
holder body means (undercup 14, fig.7) for receiving and holding ground brewing material and for being arranged in a brewing chamber (inside of base 50, fig.7) of the beverage brewer (base 50), the holder body means (undercup 14) including open receiving means (open top of undercup 14, fig.7) for receiving the ground brewing material and receptacle means (chamber of undercup 14) for holding the ground brewing material; and
holder covering means (cover 48, fig.7) for engaging the holder body means (undercup 14) to cover the open receiving means (open top of undercup 14);
wherein the holder covering means (cover 48) includes an open pass-through means (cover 48 has an opening to insert conduit 56, fig.7) for allowing fluid to flow into an interior of the holder body means (undercup 14) from a nozzle means (outlet of conduit 56, fig.7) of the beverage brewer (base 50).
Regarding claim 20, Nordskog discloses
A brewing material holder (reuseable container 10, fig.7) separate from a beverage brewer (base 50, fig.7), comprising:
a holder body (undercup 14, fig.7) configured to be arranged in a brewing chamber (inside of base 50, fig.7) of the beverage brewer (base 50); and
a holder lid (cover 48, fig.7);
wherein the holder body (undercup 14) includes:
a holder base (bottom portion of undercup 14, fig.7),
a holder sidewall (sidewall of undercup 14) surrounding the base (base 50), and
an open receiving end (open top of undercup 14, fig.7) opposite the base (base 50),
wherein the holder sidewall (sidewall of undercup 14) and the holder base (base 50) define an interior above the base (base 50) configured to receive ground brewing material through the open receiving end (open top of undercup 14);
wherein the holder base (base 50) includes an opening (central discharge opening 56, fig.7) within a periphery of the base (base 50)
wherein the holder lid (cover 48) is configured to engage the holder body (undercup 14) to cover the open receiving end (open top of undercup 14).
wherein a portion of the holder lid (cover 48) includes an open aperture (cover 48 has an opening to insert conduit 56, fig.7) configured to allow fluid to flow into an interior of the holder body (undercup 14) from a nozzle (outlet of conduit 56, fig.7) of the beverage brewer (base 50).
Claims 1-5, 10-18, and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Mulle (US 5865095).
Regarding claim 1, Mulle discloses
A brewing material holder (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) separate from a beverage brewer (assembled coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1), comprising:
a holder body (filter holder 60) configured to be arranged in a brewing chamber (inside of assembled coffee maker and grinder 10); and
a holder lid (filter cover 54) configured to be arranged in a brewing chamber (inside of assembled coffee maker and grinder 10) of the beverage brewer (assembled coffee maker and grinder 10);
wherein the holder body (filter holder 60) includes:
a holder base (bottom of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4),
a holder sidewall (side wall of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) extending from the base (bottom of filter holder 60) and defining an interior configured to receive and hold ground brewing material, and
an open receiving end (open top of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) opposite the base (bottom of filter holder 60),
wherein the holder lid (filter cover 54) is configured to engage the holder body (filter holder 60) to cover the open receiving end (open top of filter holder 60);
wherein the holder lid (filter cover 54) includes an opening aperture (filter cover 54 has an opening to insert fluid distributor 42, fig.7) [see fig.2, Col.3, line 47 cited: “…a hole positioned in the center of circular filter lid 55…”] configured to allow fluid to flow into the interior of the holder body (filter holder 60) from a nozzle (fluid distributor 42, fig.) of the beverage brewer (assembled coffee maker and grinder 10) [Col.3, line 66-Col.4, line 1 cited: “…hot water is allowed to flow from flow chamber 44, through filter connector 52 and into filter holder 60…”].
Regarding claim 2, Mulle discloses
the portion of the holder lid (filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is a recessed portion (center of circular filter lid 55, figs.2, 4) [Col.3, line 47 cited: “…the center of circular filter lid 55…”] of the lid (filter cover 54) [downwardly recessed portion in the center of circular filter lid 55, where it mates and contacts fluid distributor 42, figs.2, 4].
Regarding claim 3, Mulle discloses
the holder lid aperture (hole of filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is arranged in the recessed portion (center of circular filter lid 55, figs.2, 4) of the lid (filter cover 54, figs.2, 4).
Regarding claim 4, Mulle discloses
the brewing material holder (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is configured to accept input fluid through the holder lid aperture (hole of filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) to wet the ground brewing material when held in the holder body (filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) [Col.3, line 66 to Col.4, line 1].
Regarding claim 5, Mulle discloses
the brewing material holder (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is configured to accept input fluid through the holder lid aperture (hole of filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) and to provide a corresponding outflow of fluid [Col.3, line 66 to Col.4, line 1].
Regarding claim 10, Mulle discloses
the holder base (bottom surface of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) is configured to rest on a surface of a brewing chamber (chamber of coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1) of the beverage brewer (coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 11, Mulle discloses
the holder body (filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) is configured to receive the ground brewing material before the brewing material holder (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is arranged in the beverage brewer (coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 12, Mulle discloses
the holder lid (filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is configured to engage the holder body (filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) to cover the open receiving end after the holder body (filter holder 60) receives the ground brewing material.
Regarding claim 13, Mulle discloses
the holder lid (filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is configured to engage the holder body (filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) to cover the open receiving end of the holder body (filter holder 60) before the brewing material holder (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is arranged in the beverage brewer (coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 14, Mulle discloses
Brewing material holding means (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) separate from a beverage brewer (assembled coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1), comprising:
holder body means (filter holder 60) for receiving and holding ground brewing material and for being arranged in a brewing chamber (inside of assembled coffee maker and grinder 10) of the beverage brewer (assembled coffee maker and grinder 10), the holder body means (filter holder 60) including open receiving means (open top of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) for receiving the ground brewing material and receptacle means (chamber of filter holder 60) for holding the ground brewing material; and
holder covering means (filter cover 54) for engaging the holder body means (filter holder 60) to cover the open receiving means (open top of filter holder 60);
wherein the holder covering means (filter cover 54) includes an open pass-through means (filter cover 54 has an opening to insert fluid distributor 42, fig.7) [see fig.2, Col.3, line 47 cited: “…a hole positioned in the center of circular filter lid 55…”] for allowing fluid to flow into an interior of the holder body means (filter holder 60) from a nozzle (fluid distributor 42, fig.7) of the beverage brewer (assembled coffee maker and grinder 10) [Col.3, line 66-Col.4, line 1 cited: “…hot water is allowed to flow from flow chamber 44, through filter connector 52 and into filter holder 60…”].
Regarding claim 15, Mulle discloses
the holder covering means (filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) includes recess means (center of circular filter lid 55, figs.2, 4) [Col.3, line 47 cited: “…the center of circular filter lid 55…”] for accommodating the nozzle (fluid distributor 42, figs.2, 4) of the beverage brewer (coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 16, Mulle discloses
the pass-through means (hole of filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is arranged in the recess means (center of circular filter lid 55, figs.2, 4).
Regarding claim 17, Mulle discloses
the recess means (center of circular filter lid 55, figs.2, 4) includes tamping means (convex-shaped hanging water deflector 56, fig.2) for contacting the ground brewing material when the ground brewing material is held in the receptacle means (center of circular filter lid 55, figs.2, 4).
Regarding claim 18, Mulle discloses
the brewing material holding means (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is configured to accept input fluid through the pass-through means (hole of filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) and to provide a corresponding outflow of fluid.
Regarding claim 31, Mulle discloses
a portion of the holder lid (filter cover 54) is configured to accommodate a nozzle (fluid distributor 42, figs.2, 4) of the beverage brewer (coffee maker and grinder 10).
Regarding claim 32, Mulle discloses
a portion of the holder covering means (filter cover 54) is configured to accommodate a nozzle (fluid distributor 42, figs.2, 4) of the beverage brewer (coffee maker and grinder 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulle (US 5,865,095) in view of Gauger (US 20090202691 A1).
Regarding claims 6-8 and 19, Mulle discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose a mesh filter, and the mesh filter is made of material including nylon mesh or steel mesh.
Gauger discloses a coffee machine (coffee making, abstract) comprises a mesh filter, and the mesh filter is made of material including nylon mesh or steel mesh [Par.0036 cited: “… there are several suitable materials for the mesh cone and mesh disc bottom 5 including stainless steel, nylon, gold plated stainless steel, and others…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a coffee holder of Mulle, by including a mesh filter, and the mesh filter is made of material including nylon mesh or steel mesh, as taught by Gauger, in order to facilitate agitation of the filter while the filter is in a brewing vessel during the brewing process (Gauger, Abstract).
Claims 20-25, 29-30, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulle (US 5,865,095) in view of Nordskog (US 3878772).
Regarding claim 20, Mulle discloses
A brewing material holder (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) separate from a beverage brewer (assembled coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1), comprising:
a holder body (filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) configured to be arranged in a brewing chamber (inside of assembled coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1) of the beverage brewer (assembled coffee maker and grinder 10); and
a holder lid (filter cover 54, figs.2, 4);
wherein the holder body (filter holder 60) includes:
a holder base (bottom part of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4),
a holder sidewall (side wall of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) surrounding the base (bottom part of filter holder 60), and
an open receiving end (open top of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) opposite the base (bottom part of filter holder 60),
wherein the holder sidewall (side wall of filter holder 60) and the holder base (bottom part of filter holder 60) define an interior above the base (bottom part of filter holder 60) configured to receive ground brewing material through the open receiving end (open top of filter holder 60);
wherein the holder lid (filter cover 54) is configured to engage the holder body (filter holder 60) to cover the open receiving end (open top of filter holder 60).
However, Mulle does not explicitly disclose the holder base includes an opening within a periphery of the base; and the portion of the holder lid includes an aperture configure to allow fluid to flow into interior of the holder body from a nozzle of the beverage brewer.
Nordskog discloses a brewing material holder (reuseable container 10, fig.7) comprising a holder base (base 50, fig.7) includes an opening (central discharge opening 56, fig.7) within a periphery of the base (base 50); wherein a portion of the holder lid (cover 48) includes an opening aperture (cover 48 has an opening to insert conduit 56, fig.7) configured to allow fluid to flow into the interior of the holder body (undercup 14) from a nozzle (outlet of conduit 56, fig.7) of the beverage brewer (base 50).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a brewing material holder of Mulle, by including the holder base includes an opening within a periphery of the base; and the portion of the holder lid includes an aperture configure to allow fluid to flow into interior of the holder body from a nozzle of the beverage brewer, as taught by Nordskog, in order to discharge the beverage.
Regarding claim 21, Mulle discloses
the portion of the holder lid (filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is a recessed portion (center of circular filter lid 55, figs.2, 4) [Col.3, line 47 cited: “…the center of circular filter lid 55…”] of the lid (filter cover 54) [downwardly recessed portion in the center of circular filter lid 55, where it mates and contacts fluid distributor 42, figs.2, 4].
Regarding claim 22, Mulle discloses
the recessed portion (center of circular filter lid 55, figs.2, 4) [Col.3, line 47 cited: “…the center of circular filter lid 55…”] of the lid (filter cover 54) is a tamper (convex-shaped hanging water deflector 56, fig.2).
Regarding claim 23, Mulle discloses
the tamper (convex-shaped hanging water deflector 56, fig.2) is configured to contact the ground brewing material when the ground brewing material is held in the holder body interior (chamber of filter holder 60).
Regarding claim 24, Mulle discloses
the brewing material holder (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is configured to accept input fluid through the holder lid apertures (hole of filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) to wet the ground brewing material when held in the holder body (filter holder 60, figs.2, 4).
Regarding claim 25, Mulle discloses
the brewing material holder (filter holder 60, filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) is configured to accept input fluid through the holder lid apertures (hole of filter cover 54, figs.2, 4) and to provide a corresponding outflow of fluid.
Regarding claim 29, Mulle discloses
a lower end of the holder sidewall (bottom sidewall of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) is configured to rest on a surface of a brewing chamber (chamber of coffee maker and grinder 10) of the beverage brewer (coffee maker and grinder 10, fig.1).
Regarding claim 30, Mulle discloses
the holder base (bottom of filter holder 60, figs.2, 4) has at least one opening [bottom part of filter holder 60 inherently has a space/opening to contain the filter].
Regarding claim 33, Mulle discloses
the portion of the holder lid (filter cover 54) is configured to accommodate a nozzle (fluid distributor 42, figs.2, 4) of a beverage brewer (coffee maker and grinder 10).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulle (US 5,865,095) in view of Nordskog (US 3878772) in view of Gauger (US 20090202691 A1).
Regarding claims 26-28, the modification of Mulle and Nordskog discloses substantially all the features as set forth above but does not disclose a mesh filter, and the mesh filter is made of material including nylon mesh or steel mesh.
Gauger discloses a coffee machine (coffee making, abstract) comprises a mesh filter, and the mesh filter is made of material including nylon mesh or steel mesh [Par.0036 cited: “… there are several suitable materials for the mesh cone and mesh disc bottom 5 including stainless steel, nylon, gold plated stainless steel, and others…”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify a coffee holder of Mulle, by including a mesh filter, and the mesh filter is made of material including nylon mesh or steel mesh, as taught by Gauger, in order to facilitate agitation of the filter while the filter is in a brewing vessel during the brewing process (Gauger, Abstract).
Response to Amendment
With respect to Drawing Objection: the applicant’s argument in the Remark, filed on 07/27/2026, has been fully considered and it is persuasive, such that the Drawing Objection is withdrawn.
With respect to Double Patenting Rejection: since the Terminal Disclaimer filed on 07/28/2026 was approved, such that the Double Patenting Rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 07/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as the following reasons:
With respect to Nordskog:
The applicants argue: the reference Nordskog does not disclose or suggest …separate from a beverage brewer…a holder body configured to be arranged in a brewing chamber of the beverage brewer …wherein the holder lid includes an open aperture configured to allow fluid to flow into the interior of the holder from a nozzle of the beverage brewer…, in the Remark.
The examiner’s response: the applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the task of 102 rejections is “a claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference”. Verdagaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628,631,2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987). In this case, the Nordskog reference discloses or suggests all the limitations as shown in in fig.7, with a reusable container 10 is separated from a base 50, comprising: an undercup 14 is located inside of the base 50, … a cover 48 has an opening to allow a conduit 56 is inserted therein, the conduit 56 allows fluid to flow into the undercup 14 from the outlet of the conduit 56.
With respect to Mulle:
The applicants argue: the reference Mulle does not disclose or suggest …separate from a beverage brewer…a holder body configured to be arranged in a brewing chamber of the beverage brewer …wherein the holder lid includes an open aperture configured to allow fluid to flow into the interior of the holder from a nozzle of the beverage brewer…, in the Remark.
The examiner’s response:
In claims 1 and 14: the applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the task of 102 rejections is “a claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference”. Verdagaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628,631,2 USPQ2d 1051, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1987). In this case, the Mulle reference discloses or suggests all the limitations as shown in figs.2, 4, and 7, with a filter holder 60 and filter cover 54 (considered as a brewing material holder) is separated from an assembled coffee maker and grinder 10, comprising: a filter holder 60 is positioned inside the assembled coffee maker and grinder 10; and wherein the filter cover 54 has an opening to allow a fluid distributor 42 is inserted in, that allow fluid to flow into the filter holder 60 from the outlet of fluid distributor 42.
In claim 20: the applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Mulle reference discloses as shown in figs.2, 4, and 7, with a filter holder 60 and filter cover 54 (considered as a brewing material holder) is separated from an assembled coffee maker and grinder 10, comprising: a filter holder 60 is positioned inside the assembled coffee maker and grinder 10. Also, Nordskog reference discloses as shown in fig.7, with a central portion of cover 48 has an opening to allow a conduit 56 is inserted therein, the conduit 56 allows fluid to flow into the undercup 14 from the outlet of the conduit 56.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Daswick (US 3971305) is a relevant prior art in field of a coffee brewer, as shown in figs.1-2, having a brewer, a holder, and a holder sidewall, but silent a holder cap.
/PHUONG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761
09/07/2026