Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 have been reviewed based on amendments to claims 1, 13 & 19 and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, applicant submits that Ly does not disclose all of the limitations of claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that a claimed invention may be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 when the invention is anticipated (or is “not novel”) over a disclosure that is available as prior art that teaches every element required by the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation (see §MPEP 2131).
Applicant argues that amendments to claim 1 define two kinds of time windows determined by two different entities, a TDW that is determined by the base station, and an actual time domain window determined by the UE, and that there is a relationship between three different time lengths, where "the actual time domain window" is smaller than the time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station, but includes, and hence is longer than, "a duration to receive multiple PDSCH transmissions" for which Ly, Ma, Yu, Khoshnevisan and Liu, individually or in combination, fail to disclose. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that Figs 7 & 8 and [0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082] & [0088] of Ly disclose a base station (i.e. a first entity) that determines and transmits a TDW (i.e. a first kind of time domain window) based on a standards based formula, and [0050] discloses a UE (i.e. a second entity) determines a processing time (i.e. a second kind of time domain window) that includes an offset associated with joint channel estimation that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message for the last PDSCH reception. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, a processing time that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message over which the UE performs joint channel estimation may be interpreted as an actual time domain window determined by the UE. The processing time (i.e. the actual time domain window) would be smaller than the TDW indicated by the base station (as disclosed in [0078]-[0079] & [0088] and discussed above) since the TDW is a window defined from an instant a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions ends to an instant a first symbol of an ACK feedback message begins, while the actual time domain window determined by the UE over which the UE performs joint channel estimation is defined from a point in time AFTER a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions to a point in time BEFORE a first symbol of an ACK feedback message. [0088] discloses that the processing time (i.e. actual time domain window) may include a duration to decode multiple PDSCH reception occasions, and thus the processing time may be longer than the duration to receive multiple PDSCH reception occasions.
Applicant argues that the figured included in the prior office action Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025 does not have adequate support in the Ly reference. Examiner respectfully disagrees and has modified the figure as shown below to more clearly show how the limitations of claim 1 that the applicant argues are not disclosed by Ly are indeed disclosed by Ly. The figure below shows a TDW, sent as part of a configuration for joint channel estimation bay a base station, spanning a time interval from the end of a PDSCH1 (i.e. a first PDSCH) to the start of an ACK/NACK for PDSCH1, as disclosed by Ly in figs. 7 & 8 and [0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082] & [0088], and a processing time (i.e. an actual time domain window) determined by a UE spanning a time interval AFTER a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions to a point in time BEFORE a first symbol of an ACK feedback message and including multiple PDSCH occasions, as disclosed by Ly in [0050]. The figure shows multiple PDSCH occasions as disclosed by Ly in [0050], and demonstrates how the processing time (i.e. actual time domain window) defined by Ly in [0050] is smaller than the TDW defined by Ly in figs. 7 & 8 and [0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082] & [0088]. Further, the figure shows that the processing time (i.e. actual time domain window) defined by Ly in [0050] is longer than "a duration to receive multiple PDSCH transmissions".
Applicant argues that the quoted figure does not teach the features, "determining by the UE an actual time domain window," and "a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station”, and the "processing time window" is not "a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station" as recited in claim 1, and "actual processing time" is not "an actual time domain window" determined by the UE as recited in claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that “a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station” has been shown to be disclosed by Ly in figs. 7 & 8 and [0078]-[0079], [0081]-[0082] & [0088] and “determining by the UE an actual time domain window” has been shown to be disclosed by Ly in [0050]. The figure created by the examiner merely puts a visual to the elements disclosed by Ly to help demonstrate how Ly discloses the limitations of claim 1. Further, the examiner notes that the Patent and Trademark Office determines the scope of claims in patent applications not solely on the basis of the claim language, but upon giving claims their broadest reasonable construction "in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art." (see MPEP §2111). Thus, while Ly may not identically state an “actual time domain window”, under a broadest reasonable interpretation a processing time that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message over which the UE performs joint channel estimation may be interpreted as an actual time domain window determined by the UE. Thus, examiner maintains that “the processing time” disclosed by Ly in [0050] may be interpreted as an “actual time domain window”.
Applicant argues that by interpreting “a processing time” of Ly in [0050] as “an actual processing time” conflicts with the assertion made in relationship with the figure created by the examiner above regarding “an actual processing time” is within and hence smaller than “a processing time”. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that the figure and discussion above clearly distinguishes between a TDW, determined and transmitted by a base station, and a processing time (i.e. actual time domain window) determined by a UE and thus there is no conflicting assertions made by the examiner when asserting that the processing time (i.e. actual time domain window) is smaller than the TDW.
Applicant argues that Ly does not disclose anything about “an actual processing time” and there is no support in Ly that “actual processing time” is the same as “an actual time domain window”. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that [0050] in Ly discloses that the UE determines a processing time that includes an offset associated with joint channel estimation that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message for the last PDSCH reception, that may be interpreted under a broadest reasonable interpretation as an actual time domain window determined by the UE as discussed in more details above.
Applicant argues that the previous office action fails to explicitly point out which term disclosed in Ly can be equated to “a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station” and that the previous office action erroneously asserts that “an offset associated with joint channel estimation” can be equated to “a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station”. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that the previous office action Final Rejection dated 9/23/2025 asserted that fig 8 & [0088] of Ly disclose a base station transmitting a configuration for joint channel estimation that includes an additional offset for joint channel estimation and that the configuration for joint channel estimation and may include the formula in [0078] for a processing time that includes an additional offset for joint channel estimation. Note that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, “the equation for the processing time” in [0078] represents a different time window (i.e. the Time Domain Window (TDW)) than the time window defined by “the processing time” in [0050]. Thus, the previous office action does not equate “an offset associated with joint channel estimation” to “a time domain window (TDW) determined by a base station”, but rather has interpreted transmitting, to a UE, a configuration for joint channel estimation including an equation for processing time that includes an offset for joint channel estimation, as disclosed in [0078] & [0088] of Ly, as “receiving, from the base station, a configuration for joint channel estimation, wherein the configuration…includes a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station indicating a duration of performing the joint channel estimation” as recited in claim 1.
Applicant’s further arguments made regarding the previous office action equating “an offset associated with joint channel estimation” to “a time domain window (TDW) determined by a base station” or “an actual time domain widow” are moot given the above discussion demonstrating that the previous office action does not equate “an offset associated with joint channel estimation” to “a time domain window (TDW) determined by a base station” or “an actual time domain widow”.
Applicant argues that an “indication of the additional offset” transmitted by the BS in Ly does not teach or suggest the related feature that “an actual time domain window” determined by the UE is “smaller than an offset associated with joint channel estimation”. Examiner reiterates that [0050] of Ly discloses a processing time that includes an offset associated with joint channel estimation that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message for the last PDSCH reception. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, a processing time that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message over which the UE performs joint channel estimation may be interpreted as an actual time domain window determined by the UE. The processing time (i.e. the actual time domain window) would be smaller than the TDW indicated by the base station (as disclosed in [0078]-[0079] & [0088] and discussed above) since the TDW is a window defined from an instant a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions ends to an instant a first symbol of an ACK feedback message begins, while the actual time domain window determined by the UE over which the UE performs joint channel estimation is defined from a point in time AFTER a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions to a point in time BEFORE a first symbol of an ACK feedback message.
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1 based on Ly.
Regarding claims 13 & 19, applicant submits that claims 13 and 19 recite similar features as claim 1 and are patentable based on the amendments and arguments made above. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of these claims under 35 USC 102 based on Ly.
Regarding claims 2-12, 14-18 & 20, applicant submits that these claims are allowable based on amendments and arguments made above for claims 1, 13 & 19 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 13 or 19. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains rejection of these claims under 35 USC 102 based on Ly or under 35 USC 103 based on Ly in view of other references cited in this office action.
Regarding claim 11, applicant submits that Ly does not disclose all of the limitations of claim 11. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that a claimed invention may be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 when the invention is anticipated (or is “not novel”) over a disclosure that is available as prior art that teaches every element required by the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation (see §MPEP 2131).
Applicant argues that Ly does not teach “determining the actual time domain window within the TDW” as recited in claim 11. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that [0050] of Ly discloses that the UE determines a processing time (i.e. an actual time domain window) that includes an offset associated with joint channel estimation that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message for the last PDSCH reception. A processing time that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message over which the UE performs joint channel estimation may be interpreted under a broadest reasonable interpretation as an actual time domain window determined by the UE. The actual time domain window would be within the TDW indicated by the base station (as disclosed in [0078]-[0079 & [0088] and discussed above) since the TDW is a window defined from an instant a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions ends to an instant a first symbol of an ACK feedback message begins, while the actual time domain window determined by the UE over which the UE performs joint channel estimation is defined from a point in time AFTER a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions to a point in time BEFORE a first symbol of an ACK feedback message.
Applicant argues that Ly does not teach “determining the actual time domain window based on whether power consistency and phase continuity are satisfied within the TDW”. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that Fig 3. & [0061] of Ly disclose that for joint channel estimation to be effective, there must be coherent transmission across the DMRSs in the processing time window, including both phase continuity and the maxima and minima signal level must be aligned (i.e. power consistency). Thus, a broadest reasonable interpretation is that the offset associated with joint channel estimation included in the processing time within the TDW disclosed in [0050] in Ly is based on alignment of maxima and minima signal levels (i.e. power consistency) and phase continuity that enables joint channel estimation to be effective (i.e. phase continuity and power consistency are satisfied within the TDW).
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 11 based on Ly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 10-14, 16, 17, 19 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ly et al. (US 20220294667)(herein after “Ly”).
Regarding Claim 1, Ly discloses a method of performing wireless communication by a user equipment (UE) ([0005] discloses a method of a wireless communication performed by a UE.), comprising:
reporting, to a base station, a capability of the UE to perform joint channel estimation for receiving a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a second PDSCH transmission through a downlink between the base station and the UE, wherein the second PDSCH transmission is a repetition of the first PDSCH transmission (Fig 7, [0079] & [0082] discloses a reported UE capability based on which an additional offset time for joint channel estimation processing is configured wherein a UE receives from a base station a first PDSCH transmission 702 and a second PDSCH transmission 704, and wherein the second PDSCH transmission is a repetition of the first PDSCH transmission.);
receiving, from the base station, a configuration for joint channel estimation, wherein the configuration is determined based on the reported capability of the UE, and the configuration includes a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station indicating a duration of performing the joint channel estimation including a duration to receive multiple PDSCH transmissions (Fig 8 & [0088] disclose a base station transmitting to a UE a configuration for performing joint channel estimation. [0079] discloses that the configuration information may be based on a reported UE capability. [0088] discloses the configuration may include an additional offset for performing joint channel estimation, determined by the base station based on feedback 840 from the UE. Fig 7 and [0078]-[0079] & [0081]-[0082] discloses that the additional offset may be a value added to a standards defined equation defining a processing time window within which the UE is to perform joint channel estimation based on decoding multiple PDSCH repetition occasions. [0088] discloses that the BS may transmit the indication of the additional offset before and/or during transmission of the DMRSs in the multiple PDSCH reception occasions, and that by including the additional offset, the UE may have time to decode the PDSCH of multiple PDSCH occasions. In the scenario where the BS sends the indication of the additional offset before the transmission of the multiple PDSCH receptions, the processing time window may include a duration to receive multiple PDSCH receptions (e.g. if four PDSCH are sent, the base station could send an additional offset indication to the UE before or during the first PDSCH to indicate a processing time window that starts after the last symbol of the first PDSCH and sometime after the reception of the fourth PDSCH but before the transmission of the ACK/NACK for the first PDSCH.).);
determining whether to perform the joint channel estimation for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission (Fig 7 & [0082] disclose a UE determining whether to perform joint channel estimation based on deciding to wait for the second PDSCH transmission 704 to be received.);
based on a determination to perform the joint channel estimation, determining an actual time domain window within the TDW including the duration to receive multiple PDSCH transmissions for performing the joint channel estimation for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission, wherein the actual time domain window is smaller than the TDW ([0050] discloses that the UE determines a processing time (i.e. an actual time domain window) that includes an offset associated with joint channel estimation that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message for the last PDSCH reception. A processing time that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message over which the UE performs joint channel estimation may be interpreted under a broadest reasonable interpretation as an actual time domain window determined by the UE. The actual time domain window would be smaller than the TDW indicated by the base station (as disclosed in [0078]-[0079 & [0088] and discussed above) since the TDW is a window defined from an instant a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions ends to an instant a first symbol of an ACK feedback message begins, while the actual time domain window determined by the UE over which the UE performs joint channel estimation is defined from a point in time AFTER a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions to a point in time BEFORE a first symbol of an ACK feedback message. [0088] discloses that the actual time domain window may include a duration to decode multiple PDSCH reception occasions (e.g. in the scenario discussed above with four PDSCH transmissions).);
performing the joint channel estimation within the actual time domain window for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission based on a first demodulation reference signals (DMRS) associated with the first PDSCH transmission and a second DMRS associated with the second PDSCH transmission (Fig 9 & [0091]-[0093] discloses a UE performing joint channel estimation within an offset time associated with joint channel estimation for multiple PDSCH transmissions based on DMRSs in the multiple PDSCHs. The multiple DMRSs in the multiple PDSCHs could, for example, be a first DMRS in the first PDSCH transmission 702 and a second DMRS in the second PDSCH transmission 704 in Fig. 7 & [0082].); and
decoding the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission based on the joint channel estimation performed based on the first DMRS and the second DMRS (Fig 8 & [0088] disclose a UE may decode PDSCHs from multiple PDSCH reception occasions based on join channel estimation of the DMRSs in the multiple PDSCH occasions).
Regarding Claim 2, Ly discloses further comprising: receiving a downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission through the downlink ([0057] discloses a UE may receive a downlink channel from a base station including a PDCCH that carries a DCI. Fig 6 & [0075] disclose the DCI may be used to schedule a first PDSCH transmission 610 and a second PDSCH 614.).
Regarding Claim 4, Ly discloses wherein the first DMRS is same as the second DMRS or is coherent with the second DMRS, and the first DMRS and the second DMRS form a DMRS bundling (Fig 3 & [0060]-[0061] DMRS bundling where DMRSs across slots are to have phase coherence, for Example 302, a first DMRS in the first slot in Fig 3 would have phase coherency with a second DMRS in a second slot in Fig 3 and form a DMRS bundle.).
Regarding Claim 5, Ly discloses wherein the first PDSCH transmission occurs at a first slot, and the second PDSCH transmission occurs at a second slot (Fig 3 & [0060] disclose 3 reception occasions over 3 slots. [0005] discloses that the reception occasions may be PDSCH reception occasions. Thus, the first slot in Fig 3 may be a first PDSCH and the second slot in Fig 3 may be a second PDSCH.).
Regarding Claim 8, Ly discloses wherein the determining whether to perform the joint channel estimation comprises receiving an indication from the base station to enable the UE to perform the joint channel estimation ([0050]-[0052] discloses a UE having a means for performing joint channel estimation based on a base station transmitting to the UE an indication of whether joint channel estimation is enabled.).
Regarding Claim 10, Ly discloses wherein based on a determination of not to perform the joint channel estimation, performing a channel estimation for the first PDSCH transmission based on the first DMRS, and performing a channel estimation for the second PDSCH transmission based on the second DMRS separate from the channel estimation for the first PDSCH (Fig 3 & [0060] disclose 3 reception occasions over 3 slots. [0005] discloses that the reception occasions may be PDSCH reception occasions. Thus, the first slot in Fig 3 may be a first PDSCH and the second slot in Fig 3 may be a second PDSCH. Fig 3 & [0060] further discloses a UE, upon determining not to perform joint channel estimation, performing channel estimation, for Example 300, over a first PDSCH transmission based on a first DMRS, and performing a channel estimation for a second PDSCH transmission based on a second DMRS separate from the channel estimation for the first PDSCH.).
Regarding Claim 11, Ly discloses wherein the determining the actual time domain window within the TDW comprises determining the actual time domain window based on whether power consistency and phase continuity are satisfied within the TDW ([0050] discloses that the UE determines a processing time (i.e. an actual time domain window) that includes an offset associated with joint channel estimation that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message for the last PDSCH reception. A processing time that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message over which the UE performs joint channel estimation may be interpreted under a broadest reasonable interpretation as an actual time domain window determined by the UE. The actual time domain window would be within the TDW indicated by the base station (as disclosed in [0078]-[0079 & [0088] and discussed above) since the TDW is a window defined from an instant a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions ends to an instant a first symbol of an ACK feedback message begins, while the actual time domain window determined by the UE over which the UE performs joint channel estimation is defined from a point in time AFTER a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions to a point in time BEFORE a first symbol of an ACK feedback message. Fig 3. & [0061] disclose that for joint channel estimation to be effective, there must be coherent transmission across the DMRSs in the processing time window, including both phase continuity and the maxima and minima signal level must be aligned (i.e. power consistency). Thus, a broadest reasonable interpretation is that the offset associated with joint channel estimation included in the processing time within the TDW disclosed in [0050] is based on alignment of maxima and minima signal levels (i.e. power consistency) and phase continuity that enables joint channel estimation to be effective (i.e. phase continuity and power consistency are satisfied within the TDW).).
Regarding Claim 12, Ly discloses wherein the first PDSCH transmission includes at least a part of a first transport block (TB), and the second PDSCH transmission includes at least a part of a second TB different from the first TB (Fig 3 & [0060] disclose three reception occasions or slots of transport blocks. [0005] discloses that the reception occasions may be PDSCH reception occasions. Thus, the first slot in Fig 3 may be a first PDSCH transmission as part of a first transport block and the second slot in Fig 3 may be a second PDSCH transmission as part of a second transport block.).
Regarding Claim 13, Ly discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver ([0047] discloses a UE including a transceiver.) configured to enable wireless communication over a wireless network with a base station ([0003] discloses a wireless network including base stations that can communicate with UEs.);
and a processor communicatively coupled to the transceiver ([0047] discloses the transceiver may be used by a processor.) and configured to:
report, to the base station, a capability of the UE to perform joint channel estimation for receiving a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a second PDSCH transmission through a downlink between the base station and the UE, wherein the second PDSCH transmission is a repetition of the first PDSCH transmission (Fig 7, [0079] & [0082] discloses a reported UE capability based on which an additional offset time for joint channel estimation processing is configured wherein a UE receives from a base station a first PDSCH transmission 702 and a second PDSCH transmission 704, and wherein the second PDSCH transmission is a repetition of the first PDSCH transmission.);
receive, from the base station, a configuration for joint channel estimation, wherein the configuration is determined based on the reported capability of the UE, and the configuration includes a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station indicating a duration of performing the joint channel estimation including a duration to receive multiple PDSCH transmissions (Fig 8 & [0088] disclose a base station transmitting to a UE a configuration for performing joint channel estimation. [0079] discloses that the configuration information may be based on a reported UE capability. [0088] discloses the configuration may include an additional offset for performing joint channel estimation, determined by the base station based on feedback 840 from the UE. Fig 7 and [0078]-[0079] & [0081]-[0082] discloses that the additional offset may be a value added to a standards defined equation defining a processing time window within which the UE is to perform joint channel estimation based on decoding multiple PDSCH repetition occasions. [0088] discloses that the BS may transmit the indication of the additional offset before and/or during transmission of the DMRSs in the multiple PDSCH reception occasions, and that by including the additional offset, the UE may have time to decode the PDSCH of multiple PDSCH occasions. In the scenario where the BS sends the indication of the additional offset before the transmission of the multiple PDSCH receptions, the processing time window may include a duration to receive multiple PDSCH receptions (e.g. if four PDSCH are sent, the base station could send an additional offset indication to the UE before or during the first PDSCH to indicate a processing time window that starts after the last symbol of the first PDSCH and sometime after the reception of the fourth PDSCH but before the transmission of the ACK/NACK for the first PDSCH.).);
determine whether to perform the joint channel estimation for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission (Fig 7 & [0082] disclose a UE determining whether to perform joint channel estimation based on deciding to wait for the second PDSCH transmission 704 to be received.);
based on a determination to perform the joint channel estimation, determining by the UE an actual time domain window within the TDW including the duration to receive multiple PDSCH transmissions for performing the joint channel estimation for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission, wherein the actual time domain window is smaller than the TDW ([0050] discloses that the UE determines a processing time (i.e. an actual time domain window) that includes an offset associated with joint channel estimation that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message for the last PDSCH reception. A processing time that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message over which the UE performs joint channel estimation may be interpreted under a broadest reasonable interpretation as an actual time domain window determined by the UE. The actual time domain window would be smaller than the TDW indicated by the base station (as disclosed in [0078]-[0079 & [0088] and discussed above) since the TDW is a window defined from an instant a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions ends to an instant a first symbol of an ACK feedback message begins, while the actual time domain window determined by the UE over which the UE performs joint channel estimation is defined from a point in time AFTER a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions to a point in time BEFORE a first symbol of an ACK feedback message. [0088] discloses that the actual time domain window may include a duration to decode multiple PDSCH reception occasions (e.g. in the scenario discussed above with four PDSCH transmissions).);
perform the joint channel estimation within the actual time domain window for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission based on a first demodulation reference signals (DMRS) associated with the first PDSCH transmission and a second DMRS associated with the second PDSCH transmission (Fig 9 & [0091]-[0093] discloses a UE performing joint channel estimation within an offset time associated with joint channel estimation for multiple PDSCH transmissions based on DMRSs in the multiple PDSCHs. The multiple DMRSs in the multiple PDSCHs could, for example, be a first DMRS in the first PDSCH transmission 702 and a second DMRS in the second PDSCH transmission 704 in Fig. 7 & [0082].); and
decode the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission based on the joint channel estimation performed based on the first DMRS and the second DMRS (Fig 8 & [0088] disclose a UE may decode PDSCHs from multiple PDSCH reception occasions based on join channel estimation of the DMRSs in the multiple PDSCH occasions).
Regarding Claim 14, The UE of claim 13, wherein the processor is further configured to: receive a downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission through the downlink ([0057] discloses a UE may receive a downlink channel from a base station including a PDCCH that carries a DCI. Fig 6 & [0075] disclose the DCI may be used to schedule a first PDSCH transmission 610 and a second PDSCH 614.).
Regarding Claim 16, Ly discloses wherein the first DMRS is same as the second DMRS or is coherent with the second DMRS, and the first DMRS and the second DMRS form a DMRS bundling (Fig 3 & [0060]-[0061] DMRS bundling where DMRSs across slots are to have phase coherence, for Example 302, a first DMRS in the first slot in Fig 3 would have phase coherency with a second DMRS in a second slot in Fig 3 and form a DMRS bundle.).
Regarding Claim 17, Ly discloses wherein the first PDSCH transmission occurs at a first slot, and the second PDSCH transmission occurs at a second slot (Fig 3 & [0060] disclose 3 reception occasions over 3 slots. [0005] discloses that the reception occasions may be PDSCH reception occasions. Thus, the first slot in Fig 3 may be a first PDSCH and the second slot in Fig 3 may be a second PDSCH.).
Regarding Claim 19, Ly discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor of a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to perform operations ([0009] discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a UE, cause the UE to perform operations.) comprising:
reporting, to a base station, a capability of the UE to perform joint channel estimation for receiving a first physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and a second PDSCH transmission through a downlink between the base station and the UE, wherein the second PDSCH transmission is a repetition of the first PDSCH transmission (Fig 7, [0079] & [0082] discloses a reported UE capability based on which an additional offset time for joint channel estimation processing is configured wherein a UE receives from a base station a first PDSCH transmission 702 and a second PDSCH transmission 704, and wherein the second PDSCH transmission is a repetition of the first PDSCH transmission.);
receiving, from the base station, a configuration for joint channel estimation, wherein the configuration is determined based on the reported capability of the UE, and the configuration includes a time domain window (TDW) determined by the base station indicating a duration of performing the joint channel estimation including a duration to receive multiple PDSCH transmissions (Fig 8 & [0088] disclose a base station transmitting to a UE a configuration for performing joint channel estimation. [0079] discloses that the configuration information may be based on a reported UE capability. [0088] discloses the configuration may include an additional offset for performing joint channel estimation, determined by the base station based on feedback 840 from the UE. Fig 7 and [0078]-[0079] & [0081]-[0082] discloses that the additional offset may be a value added to a standards defined equation defining a processing time window within which the UE is to perform joint channel estimation based on decoding multiple PDSCH repetition occasions. [0088] discloses that the BS may transmit the indication of the additional offset before and/or during transmission of the DMRSs in the multiple PDSCH reception occasions, and that by including the additional offset, the UE may have time to decode the PDSCH of multiple PDSCH occasions. In the scenario where the BS sends the indication of the additional offset before the transmission of the multiple PDSCH receptions, the processing time window may include a duration to receive multiple PDSCH receptions (e.g. if four PDSCH are sent, the base station could send an additional offset indication to the UE before or during the first PDSCH to indicate a processing time window that starts after the last symbol of the first PDSCH and sometime after the reception of the fourth PDSCH but before the transmission of the ACK/NACK for the first PDSCH.).);
determining whether to perform the joint channel estimation for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission (Fig 7 & [0082] disclose a UE determining whether to perform joint channel estimation based on deciding to wait for the second PDSCH transmission 704 to be received.);
based on a determination to perform the joint channel estimation, determining by the UE an actual time domain window within the TDW including the duration to receive multiple PDSCH transmissions for performing the joint channel estimation for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission, wherein the actual time domain window is smaller than the TDW ([0050] discloses that the UE determines a processing time (i.e. an actual time domain window) that includes an offset associated with joint channel estimation that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message for the last PDSCH reception. A processing time that starts after a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions and ends before a first symbol of an ACK feedback message over which the UE performs joint channel estimation may be interpreted under a broadest reasonable interpretation as an actual time domain window determined by the UE. The actual time domain window would be smaller than the TDW indicated by the base station (as disclosed in [0078]-[0079 & [0088] and discussed above) since the TDW is a window defined from an instant a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions ends to an instant a first symbol of an ACK feedback message begins, while the actual time domain window determined by the UE over which the UE performs joint channel estimation is defined from a point in time AFTER a last symbol of a PDSCH reception occasion of the multiple PDSCH reception occasions to a point in time BEFORE a first symbol of an ACK feedback message. [0088] discloses that the actual time domain window may include a duration to decode multiple PDSCH reception occasions (e.g. in the scenario discussed above with four PDSCH transmissions).);
performing the joint channel estimation within the actual time domain window for the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission based on a first demodulation reference signals (DMRS) associated with the first PDSCH transmission and a second DMRS associated with the second PDSCH transmission (Fig 9 & [0091]-[0093] discloses a UE performing joint channel estimation within an offset time associated with joint channel estimation for multiple PDSCH transmissions based on DMRSs in the multiple PDSCHs. The multiple DMRSs in the multiple PDSCHs could, for example, be a first DMRS in the first PDSCH transmission 702 and a second DMRS in the second PDSCH transmission 704 in Fig. 7 & [0082].); and
decoding the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission based on the joint channel estimation performed based on the first DMRS and the second DMRS (Fig 8 & [0088] disclose a UE may decode PDSCHs from multiple PDSCH reception occasions based on join channel estimation of the DMRSs in the multiple PDSCH occasions).
Regarding Claim 20, Ly discloses wherein the first DMRS is same as the second DMRS or is coherent with the second DMRS, and the first DMRS and the second DMRS form a DMRS bundling (Fig 3 & [0060]-[0061] DMRS bundling where DMRSs across slots are to have phase coherence, for Example 302, a first DMRS in the first slot in Fig 3 would have phase coherency with a second DMRS in a second slot in Fig 3 and form a DMRS bundle.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 3 & 15 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 20220294667)(herein after “Ly”) in view of Ma et al. (US 20240120976)(herein after “Ma”).
Regarding Claim 3, Ly discloses the method of Claim 1.
Ly fails to disclose wherein the downlink from the base station includes a link from a satellite to the UE.
However, Ma teaches wherein the downlink from the base station includes a link from a satellite to the UE (Fig 4 & [0065] disclose a downlink 460-D from a base station 450 that includes a link 430-D from a satellite 440 to a UE 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of Claim 1, as disclosed by Ly, wherein the downlink from the base station includes a link from a satellite to the UE, as taught by Ma. The motivation to do so would be to reduce downlink decoding errors in systems including a satellite link that send repeated PDSCHs as an alternative to enabling HARQ that is less effective due to latency in the satellite link.
Regarding Claim 15, Ly discloses the UE of claim 13.
Ly fails to disclose wherein the downlink from the base station includes a link from a satellite to the UE.
However Ma teaches wherein the downlink from the base station includes a link from a satellite to the UE (Fig 4 & [0065] disclose a downlink 460-D from a base station 450 that includes a link 430-D from a satellite 440 to a UE 120).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the UE of Claim 13, as disclosed by Ly, wherein the downlink from the base station includes a link from a satellite to the UE, as taught by Ma. The motivation to do so would be to have a UE with reduced downlink decoding errors in systems including a satellite link that send repeated PDSCHs as an alternative to enabling HARQ that is less effective due to latency in the satellite link.
Claim 6 & 18 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 20220294667)(herein after “Ly”) in view of Yu et al. (US 20230361960)(herein after “Yu”).
Regarding Claim 6, Ly discloses the method of Claim 1.
Ly fails to disclose wherein the capability of the UE includes a maximum number of slots for performing the joint channel estimation.
However, Yu teaches wherein the capability of the UE includes a maximum number of slots for performing the joint channel estimation ([0501] discloses a capability of a UE including a maximum of four slots for performing joint channel estimation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of Claim 1, as disclosed by Ly, wherein the capability of the UE includes a maximum number of slots for performing the joint channel estimation., as taught by Yu. The motivation to do so would be to enable various complexity vs. cost capable UEs that support a range of maximum number of slots to perform joint channel estimation.
Regarding Claim 18, Ly discloses The UE of Claim 13.
Ly fails to disclose wherein the capability of the UE includes a maximum number of slots for performing the joint channel estimation.
However, Yu teaches wherein the capability of the UE includes a maximum number of slots for performing the joint channel estimation ([0501] discloses a capability of a UE including a maximum of four slots for performing joint channel estimation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the UE of Claim 13, as disclosed by Ly, wherein the capability of the UE includes a maximum number of slots for performing the joint channel estimation., as taught by Yu. The motivation to do so would be to enable various complexity vs. cost capable UEs that support a range of maximum number of slots to perform joint channel estimation.
Claim 7 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 20220294667)(herein after “Ly”) in view of Khoshnevisan et al. (US 20210298051)(herein after “Khoshnevisan”).
Regarding Claim 7, Ly discloses the method of Claim 1.
Ly fails to disclose wherein the configuration includes a time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) table having an indication of a number of repetitions of PDSCH transmissions including the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission.
However, Khoshnevisan teaches wherein the configuration includes a time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) table having an indication of a number of repetitions of PDSCH transmissions including the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission (Fig 3B & [0147] disclose a PDSCH configuration including a TDRA table that indicates a number of PDSCH repetitions including a first PDSCH transmission and a second PDSCH transmission within 340-a.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of Claim 1, as disclosed by Ly, wherein the configuration includes a time-domain resource allocation (TDRA) table having an indication of a number of repetitions of PDSCH transmissions including the first PDSCH transmission and the second PDSCH transmission, as taught by Khoshnevisan. The motivation to do so would be to improve PDSCH decoding through joint channel estimation across a number of PDSCH repetitions using a TDRA table in a Semi-Persistent Scheduling configuration.
Claim 9 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 20220294667)(herein after “Ly”) in view of Liu et al. (US 20240187280)(herein after “Liu”).
Regarding Claim 9, Ly discloses the method of Claim 1.
Ly fails to discloses wherein the determining whether to perform the joint channel estimation comprises determining an indication from the UE to start performing the joint channel estimation.
However Liu teaches wherein the determining whether to perform the joint channel estimation comprises determining an indication from the UE to start performing the joint channel estimation ([0004] & [0015] disclose a UE sending a message indicating whether to perform joint channel estimation to trigger a network device to determine whether to perform joint channel estimation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of Claim 1, as disclosed by Ly, wherein the determining whether to perform the joint channel estimation comprises determining an indication from the UE to start performing the joint channel estimation, as taught by Liu. The motivation to do so would be to enable a UE to signal to a network device when a constraint condition is met to enable the network device to perform joint channel estimation.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maso et al. (US 2024/0205918) discloses a Time Domain Window Adaptation for Joint Channel Estimation and DMRS Bundling.
Xiong et al. (US 2025/0048272) discloses Transmit Power Control for DMRS Bundling for Coverage Enhancement.
Rudolf et al. (US 2023/0292294) discloses Uplink Transmission in Full-Duplex Systems.
Shim et al. (US 2024/0064745) discloses a Coverage Enhancement.
Zhang et al. (US 2025/0158724) discloses Testing Wireless Device Coherence Transmission Relating to Joint Channel estimation.
Marcone et al. (US 2023/0180135) discloses Uplink Transmission Power Control Adjustment.
Bae et al. (US 12401471) discloses Demodulation Reference Signal Bundling in Carrier Aggregation.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419