DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11-26-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 112 rejections, the examiner read the paragraphs submitted by applicant’s representative, and none disclose to continuously monitor. Therefore, appear that the limitations have no support from the specification and since there is no support it is unclear the scope of the limitation. It is contradictory that the claims call the monitoring to be continuous, but the monitoring is performed using discontinuous reception and only monitor in the DRX-on state and skip monitoring in the DRX-off. It appears to be an oxymoron. Thereby, the 112 rejections remain.
As to the arguments directed to the amended limitations, please see below the new citations. However, please note that even in the abstract disclose a reception of DRX configuration. For the argument directed to “continuously monitor”, as disclosed in the paragraph above, the current application does not have support for the limitation.
Applicant submits “Park neither teaches nor suggests that the power saving operation based on the discovered sidelink DRX configuration comprises starting continuous monitoring of a control channel as recited in amended claim 1. In fact, Park suggests that continuous monitoring should occur when DRX is not configured, therefore continuous monitoring in Park cannot be based on an area associated with a DRX configuration.”; in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the power saving operation based on the discovered sidelink DRX configuration comprises starting continuous monitoring of a control channel) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The rest of the arguments they fall for the same reasons as shown above. The rejection of record stands.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 5-8 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims were amended to depend from claim 0 which does not exist. The examiner will treat this as a typographical error since the status is maintained as original and the claims will continue to depend as originally claimed. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Parent claims recite “receiving, by a first wireless device from a second wireless device, one or more messages indicating one or more location areas where the first wireless device continuously monitors for one or more sidelink signals; determining that the first wireless device is located in the one or more location areas; based on the determining, starting continuous monitoring of a control channel for the one or more sidelink signals from a third wireless device; and receiving, from the third wireless device and based on the starting continuous monitoring, the one or more side link signals”; the closest support for the limitation would be par. 0218-0220; however, the scope of the claims and the specification is different. Thereby, the examiner was unable to find support for a message indicating areas where the first wireless device continuously monitors for one or more sidelink signals and the rest of the limitations. Please indicate where the support can be found. The rest of the claims they share the deficiency by virtue of dependency.
Claims 2, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The examiner was unable to find support for the limitation “wherein the one or more location areas indicates where the first wireless device starts to continuously monitor for side link signals”. Please indicate where the support can be found.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Parent claims recite “receiving, by a first wireless device from a second wireless device, one or more messages indicating one or more location areas where the first wireless device continuously monitors for one or more sidelink signals; determining that the first wireless device is located in the one or more location areas; based on the determining, starting continuous monitoring of a control channel for the one or more sidelink signals from a third wireless device; and receiving, from the third wireless device and based on the starting continuous monitoring, the one or more side link signals”; since support was not found for a message indicating areas where the first wireless device continuously monitors for one or more sidelink signals”, it is unclear the scope of the limitation. Please indicate where the support can be found. Additionally, it is unclear the scope of “continuous monitoring”; in a discontinuous reception system. Please clarify. The rest of the claims they share the deficiency by virtue of dependency.
Claims 2, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The examiner was unable to find support for the limitation “wherein the one or more location areas indicates where the first wireless device starts to continuously monitor for side link signals”; thereby, the scope of the limitation is unclear. Please clarify.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park 20220322486.
As to claim 1, Park discloses a method comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless device [10] from a second wireless device [20 or UE], one or more messages indicating;
a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (see par. 0028-0029);
one or more location areas where the first wireless device “continuously” monitors for one or more sidelink signals [S1201] (see fig. 12; par. 0153, 0168);
determining that the first wireless device is located in the one or more location areas; based on the determining, starting “continuous” monitoring of a control channel for the one or more sidelink signals from a third wireless device (see par. 0175); and
receiving, from the third wireless device [TX UE] and based on the starting “continuous” monitoring, the one or more side link signals [S1202] (see fig. 12; par. 0153, 0168-0177). Park’s “continuous” monitoring is for the PDCCH under specific circumstances, as indicated in the 112 rejection, no support have been found for the continuous” monitoring limitation. However, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to repeat the technique for the PDCCH to the sidelink, since it is going to bring the same predictable result of monitoring to receive the desired signal; thereby, allowing the device to receive the needed information and function accordingly with received data.
As to claim 2, Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more location areas indicate where the first wireless device starts to “continuously” monitor for side link signals (see par. 0153, 0168). Park’s “continuous” monitoring is for the PDCCH under specific circumstances, as indicated in the 112 rejection, no support have been found for the continuous” monitoring limitation. However, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to repeat the technique for the PDCCH to the sidelink, since it is going to bring the same predictable result of monitoring to receive the desired signal; thereby, allowing the device to receive the needed information and function accordingly with received data.
As to claim 3, Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein each location area of the one or more location areas comprises at least one of: a fixed size; a unique zone identity; a preconfigured zone identity (see par. 0170); a communication range (see par. 0168); or a zone identity configured by the second wireless device (see par. 0170-0172).
As to claim 4, Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the starting “continuous” monitoring is further based on one or more conditions comprising at least one of:
a first threshold for a received signal strength indicator of the first wireless device (see par. 0115);
a second threshold for a channel busy ratio (CBR) of the first wireless device; a third threshold for a number of detected wireless devices within a time period;
a fourth threshold for a remaining battery level of the first wireless device;
a fifth threshold for a transmit power of the first wireless device;
a sixth threshold for a pathloss from a base station to the first wireless device; or a seventh threshold for a speed of the first wireless device.
Park’s “continuous” monitoring is for the PDCCH under specific circumstances, as indicated in the 112 rejection, no support have been found for the continuous” monitoring limitation. However, it would be obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to repeat the technique for the PDCCH to the sidelink, since it is going to bring the same predictable result of monitoring to receive the desired signal and substituting a RSRP for RSSI since it is also going to bring the same predictable result of indicating the quality of the communication; thereby, allowing the device to receive the needed information and determine the quality of the communication for the simple purpose of maintaining and/or improving the quality of the communication.
As to claim 6, Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second wireless device and the third wireless device are the same wireless device [Method 3-4; UE sends zone info and sidelink] (see par. 0171-0172, 0177).
As to claim 7, Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second wireless device is different from the third wireless device [when BS send zone info] (see par. 0039).
As to claim 8, Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second wireless device is a base station and the third wireless device is a sidelink device (see par. 0039).
Regarding claims 9-12 and 14-16 they are the correspondent device claims of method claims 1-4 and 6-9. Therefore, claims 9-12 and 14-16, are rejected for the same reasons as shown above and Park discloses the processor [102,202] and memory [104,204].
Regarding claims 17-20, they are the correspondent non-transitory computer-readable medium claims of method claims 1-4. Therefore, claims 17-20, are rejected for the same reasons as shown above
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view Hoang 20230300713.
As to claim 5, 13 Park discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising sending monitoring instructions such as start monitoring for the one or more location areas (see par. 0153, 0168). Park fails to disclose stopping monitoring. In an analogous art, Hoang discloses start or stopping monitoring when the wireless device receives instructions (see par. 0428). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to instruct monitor where needed such as in the desired area and to stop monitoring where is not needed such as outside of the desired areas; thereby, saving resources such as power and increasing battery life.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647