Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “raceway” claimed in claims 5 and 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Page 12, Para. [0037], Line 7. “charger power cable d” appears to be a typographical error, since “cable d” is not addressed in any other part of the disclosure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claims 9-10 be found allowable, claims 19-20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The “display screen junction box” and “display screen wire” are not identified in the specification to where a person would understand what part of the claimed invention is considered these two elements of claim 1. Although “display screen junction box” is mentioned 3 times, and “display screen wire” is mentioned once in the summary of the specification, no element numbers were assigned to these two elements and the examiner cannot determine where these elements are found in the illustrations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention, i.e. system claim 20 cannot depend on a method claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 9-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIN, Zhi-fa CN212685284 (hereinafter QIN) in view of Helnerus et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0107368 A1 (hereinafter Helnerus).
Regarding Claim 1, QIN teaches a media display and electric vehicle (EV) charging system (QIN, Fig. 1. Refer to annotated Fig. 1 below.) comprising: a display housing including one or more sides and forming a body cavity within the display housing (QIN, Fig. 1, Element 2, “charging cabinet body”); a display screen mounted on at least one side of the one or more sides of the display housing (QIN, Fig. 1, Element 4, “display screen”).
Excerpts from QIN:
…
…
QIN teaches the above limitations of claim 1, but does not teach the details of the charging system electrical and communication componentry/connections.
Helnerus, however, teaches a charging system (Helnerus, Fig. 1, Title, “Charging Station for Electric Vehicles”) comprising: a display housing (Helnerus, Figs. 1, 2 and 5-11, Element 6, made up of sub-elements 20, “tray assembly” and 26, “lid assembly”; Paras. [0102], [0109]) including one or more sides and forming a body cavity within the display housing (Helnerus, Figs. 2, 5-6 and 8; Para. [0111], “tray assembly 20 is essentially closed with a bottom on the bottom side and is closed on the lid side by the lid assembly 26”, and Para. [0113], “closes the tray assembly 20 at a top side”, and Para. [0129]); a display screen mounted on at least one side of the one or more sides of the display housing (Helnerus, Fig. 11, Element 96; Paras. [0012], [0083], “advertising” and “in a separate housing from the charging station”, and Paras. [0086] – [0088], and [0151], “display 96 can be optionally located in the lid assembly”. Helnerus teaches, albeit confusingly, that the system can power/control an optional advertising display that can be located either within the window of the charging station, as illustrated in fig. 11, or in a separate housing, as described in Para. [0083].).
Further, Helnerus teaches a display screen junction box disposed within the body cavity (Helnerus, Fig. 3; Para. [0104], Not separately identified in Helnerus as a junction box, but functioning as a junction box by making electrical connections within a safe enclosed space; refer to the annotated Fig. 3 below.) and electrically connected to the display screen (Helnerus, Paras. [0088] and [0120] – [0121]); a display screen wire running between the display screen junction box and a power source through a conduit (Helnerus, Fig. 2, Element 14b, and Fig. 3, Element 8; Paras. [0108], [0109], [0124] - [0126] and [0150], “connections not shown in detail”); at least one EV charging unit (Helnerus, Fig. 1, Element 6; Para. [0102], “charging station”) mounted to one of the one or more sides of the display housing (Helnerus, Para. [0104] – [0105]. Although the charging column 2 of Helnerus is illustrated differently than the charging cabinet body of QIN, one would understand the charging station of Helnerus would be one of the many types of charging devices that would constitute the charging portion of QIN); an EV charger junction box disposed within the body cavity (Helnerus, Fig. 3; Para. [0104], Not separately identified in Helnerus as a junction box, but functioning as a junction box by making electrical connections within a safe enclosed space; refer to the annotated Fig. 3 above.) and electrically connected to the EV charging unit (Helnerus, Para. [0123]), the EV charger junction box being separate from the display screen junction box (Helnerus, As illustrated in Fig. 3. Refer to annotated Fig. 3 above); and an EV charger wire running between the EV charger junction box and the power source through the conduit (Helnerus, Fig. 3, Element 8; Paras. [0122]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging system commonly understood in the art. The charging system taught by Helnerus, for providing a modular charging station to fit within an enclosure such as that taught by QIN, teaches one of the many conventional charging systems utilized in the art for charging a battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Helnerus, to provide charging power for the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Regarding Claim 3, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein the EV charger wire is configured to be disconnected from the EV charging unit without interrupting electrical communication between the display screen junction box and the display screen (Helnerus, Fig. 3, Elements 38 and 42; Paras. [0114] – [0118] and [0123]. Not stated explicitly but obvious from the illustrations.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional wire management system commonly understood in the art. The wire management system taught by Helnerus, for providing a modular charging station to fit within an enclosure such as that taught by QIN, teaches one of the many conventional wire management systems utilized in the art for charging a battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Helnerus, to provide charging power for the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Regarding Claim 4, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein display screen wire is configured to be disconnected from the display screen junction box without interrupting electrical communication between the EV charging unit and the EV charger junction box (Helnerus, Fig. 3, Elements 46 and 48; Paras. [0120] – [0121], [0124] and [0126]. Not stated explicitly but obvious from the illustrations.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional wire management system commonly understood in the art. The wire management system taught by Helnerus, for providing a modular charging station to fit within an enclosure such as that taught by QIN, teaches one of the many conventional wire management systems utilized in the art for charging a battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Helnerus, to provide charging power for the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Regarding Claim 6, QIN teaches a media display and electric vehicle (EV) charging system (QIN, Fig. 1. Refer to annotated Fig. 1 above.) comprising: a display housing including one or more sides (QIN, Fig. 1, Element 2, “charging cabinet body”); a display screen mounted on at least one side of the one or more sides of the display housing (QIN, Fig. 1, Element 4, “display screen”).
Excerpts from QIN:
…
…
QIN teaches the above limitations of claim 6, but does not teach the details of the charging system electrical and communication componentry/connections.
Helnerus, however, teaches a charging system (Helnerus, Fig. 1, Title, “Charging Station for Electric Vehicles”) comprising: a display housing (Helnerus, Figs. 1, 2 and 5-11, Element 6, made up of sub-elements 20, “tray assembly” and 26, “lid assembly”; Paras. [0102], [0109]) including one or more sides (Helnerus, Figs. 2, 5-6 and 8; Para. [0111], “tray assembly 20 is essentially closed with a bottom on the bottom side and is closed on the lid side by the lid assembly 26”, and Para. [0113], “closes the tray assembly 20 at a top side”, and Para. [0129]); a display screen mounted on at least one side of the one or more sides of the display housing (Helnerus, Fig. 11, Element 96; Paras. [0012], [0083], “advertising” and “in a separate housing from the charging station”, and Paras. [0086] – [0088], and [0151], “display 96 can be optionally located in the lid assembly”. Helnerus teaches, albeit confusingly, that the system can power/control an optional advertising display that can be located either within the window of the charging station, as illustrated in fig. 11, or in a separate housing, as described in Para. [0083].); at least one EV charging unit (Helnerus, Fig. 1, Element 6; Para. [0102], “charging station”) mounted to one of the one or more sides of the display housing (Helnerus, Para. [0104] – [0105]. Although the charging column 2 of Helnerus is illustrated differently than the charging cabinet body of QIN, one would understand the charging station of Helnerus would be one of the many types of charging devices that would constitute the charging portion of QIN); and a junction box disposed within the display housing (Helnerus, Fig. 3; Para. [0104], Not separately identified in Helnerus as a junction box, but functioning as a junction box by making electrical connections within a safe enclosed space; refer to the annotated Fig. 3 above.), the junction box being in electrical communication with the display screen (Helnerus, Paras. [0088] and [0120] – [0121]) and the at least one EV charging unit (Helnerus, Para. [0123]), and wherein the junction box is configured to receive electrical power from a power source remote from the display housing (Helnerus, Fig. 3, Element 8; Paras. [0114] – [0116] and [0122]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging system commonly understood in the art. The charging system taught by Helnerus, for providing a modular charging station to fit within an enclosure such as that taught by QIN, teaches one of the many conventional charging systems utilized in the art for charging a battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Helnerus, to provide charging power for the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Regarding Claim 9, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches further comprising a communications module in electrical communication with the junction box, the communications module being configured to access one or more communication networks (Helnerus, Fig. 11, Element 90; Paras. [0121], [0126] and [0147] – [0150]).
Regarding Claim 10, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 9/6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein the communications module is in electronic communication with the display screen so as to transfer electronic data to the display screen (Helnerus, Paras. [0083] and [0088]).
Regarding Claim 11, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein the electrical communication between the display screen and the junction box is configured so as to be interrupted without affecting the electrical communication between the junction box and the at least one EV charging unit (Helnerus, Fig. 3, Elements 46 and 48; Paras. [0120] – [0121], [0124] and [0126]. Not stated explicitly but obvious from the illustrations.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional wire management system commonly understood in the art. The wire management system taught by Helnerus, for providing a modular charging station to fit within an enclosure such as that taught by QIN, teaches one of the many conventional wire management systems utilized in the art for charging a battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Helnerus, to provide charging power for the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Regarding Claim 12, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein the at least one EV charging unit (Helnerus, Fig. 1, Element 6; Para. [0102], “charging station”) is mounted on an exterior surface of the one or more sides of the display housing (Helnerus, Para. [0104] – [0105]. Although the charging column 2 of Helnerus is illustrated differently than the charging cabinet body of QIN, one would understand the charging station of Helnerus would be one of the many types of charging devices that would constitute the charging portion of QIN).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging system commonly understood in the art. The charging system taught by Helnerus, for providing a modular charging station to fit within an enclosure such as that taught by QIN, teaches one of the many conventional charging systems utilized in the art for charging a battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Helnerus, to provide charging power for the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Regarding Claim 13, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 12/6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein an EV charging cable provides the electrical communication between the EV charging unit and the junction box by passing through one of the one or more sides of the display housing (Helnerus, Para. [0123]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional charging system commonly understood in the art. The charging system taught by Helnerus, for providing a modular charging station to fit within an enclosure such as that taught by QIN, teaches one of the many conventional charging systems utilized in the art for charging a battery of an electric vehicle. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Helnerus, to provide charging power for the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Regarding Claim 19, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches further comprising installing a communications module within the display housing, the communications module being in electrical communication with the junction box and configured to access one or more communication networks (Helnerus, Fig. 11, Element 90; Paras. [0121], [0126] and [0147] – [0150]).
Regarding Claim 20, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 19/6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein the communications module is in electronic communication with the display screen so as to transfer electronic data to the display screen (Helnerus, Paras. [0083] and [0088]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIN, Zhi-fa CN212685284 (hereinafter QIN) in view of Helnerus et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0107368 A1 (hereinafter Helnerus) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SHEN, Zhi-ming CN213199501 (hereinafter SHEN).
Regarding Claim 2, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, but does not teach a cable retractor.
SHEN, however, teaches further comprising a cable retractor disposed on the display housing, the cable retractor configured to provide tension on a charging cable connected to the EV charging unit (SHEN, Figs. 1-2, Element 5, “take-up assembly”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional cable management system commonly understood in the art. The cable take-up assembly taught by SHEN, for managing the EV charging cable, teaches one of the many conventional cable management systems utilized in the art for managing a heavy EV charging cable. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by SHEN, to assist a user in the management of a heavy EV charging cable within the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIN, Zhi-fa CN212685284 (hereinafter QIN) in view of Helnerus et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0107368 A1 (hereinafter Helnerus) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Soroky et al. U.S. PGPub 2022/0274495 A1 (hereinafter Soroky).
Regarding Claim 5, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1, but does not teach raceways and conduits buried beneath a mounting surface.
Soroky, however, teaches wherein the conduit is disposed in a raceway buried beneath a mounting surface (Soroky, Figs. 1A, 1D, Elements 60, 62a, 18; Paras. [0030], [0032], [0037], [0041] – [0043] and [0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Helnerus is silent as to the wiring/cable connection between the source of power and the junction box(es) of the charging system, Helnerus would inherently incorporate some type of conventional wiring/cable design/installation commonly understood in the art. The wiring/cable design/installation taught by Soroky, for providing power safely to the charging unit with flexibility to reroute wires for future needs, teaches one of the many conventional wiring/cable design/installations utilized in the art for connecting power to EV charging station(s). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Soroky, to provide power safely to the charging unit(s) with flexibility to reroute wires for future needs of the charging system of Helnerus.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIN, Zhi-fa CN212685284 (hereinafter QIN) in view of Helnerus et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0107368 A1 (hereinafter Helnerus) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Castle U.S. PGPub 2023/0356613 A1 (hereinafter Castle).
Regarding Claim 7, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches electrical communication with the junction box (Helnerus, Paras. [0088] and [0120] – [0121]), but does not teach a power outlet in communication with the junction box.
Castle, however, teaches further comprising a power outlet in electrical communication with the junction box (Castle, Fig. 3, Elements 320; Para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to whether or not there are additional power points such as power outlet(s) for maintenance purposes, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional maintenance power commonly understood in the art. The power outlets taught by Castle, for providing standard power outlets for miscellaneous needs, teaches one of the many conventional power availability utilized in the art for providing a convenient power source for maintenance personnel. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Castle, to provide power for a user’s convenience within the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Regarding Claim 8, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein the display screen is in electrical communication with the junction box (Helnerus, Paras. [0088] and [0120] – [0121]), but does not teach the power outlet.
Castle, however, teaches the power outlet (Castle, Fig. 3, Elements 320; Para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to whether or not there are additional power points such as power outlet(s) for maintenance purposes, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional maintenance power commonly understood in the art. The power outlets taught by Castle, for providing standard power outlets for miscellaneous needs, teaches one of the many conventional power availability utilized in the art for providing a convenient power source for maintenance personnel. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Castle, to provide power for a user’s convenience within the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIN, Zhi-fa CN212685284 (hereinafter QIN) in view of Helnerus et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0107368 A1 (hereinafter Helnerus) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of SHEN, Zhi-ming CN213199501 (hereinafter SHEN).
Regarding Claim 14, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 6, but does not teach a cable retractor.
SHEN, however, teaches further comprising a cable retractor disposed on the display housing, the cable retractor configured to provide tension on a charging cable connected to the at least one EV charging unit (SHEN, Figs. 1-2, Element 5, “take-up assembly”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to the details of the charging componentry/operations of the charging portion of the media display and EV charging system, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional cable management system commonly understood in the art. The cable take-up assembly taught by SHEN, for managing the EV charging cable, teaches one of the many conventional cable management systems utilized in the art for managing a heavy EV charging cable. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by SHEN, to assist a user in the management of a heavy EV charging cable within the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over QIN, Zhi-fa CN212685284 (hereinafter QIN) in view of Helnerus et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0107368 A1 (hereinafter Helnerus) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Castle U.S. PGPub 2023/0356613 A1 (hereinafter Castle).
Regarding Claim 15, The combined teaching of the QIN and Helnerus references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 6. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches electrical communication with the junction box (Helnerus, Paras. [0088] and [0120] – [0121]), a communications module in electrical communication with the power outlet, the communications module being configured to access one or more communication networks (Helnerus, Fig. 11, Element 90; Paras. [0121], [0126] and [0147] – [0150]), and a media data cable providing electronic communication between a data port of the display screen and the communications module (Helnerus, Fig. 2, Element 14b, and Fig. 3, Element 8; Paras. [0108], [0109], [0124] - [0126] and [0150], “connections not shown in detail”), but does not teach a power outlet.
Castle, however, teaches further comprising: a power outlet in electrical communication with the junction box, and a display power cable providing electrical communication between a power port of the display screen and the power outlet (Castle, Fig. 3, Elements 320; Para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although QIN is silent as to whether or not there are additional power points such as power outlet(s) for maintenance purposes, QIN would inherently incorporate some type of conventional maintenance power commonly understood in the art. The power outlets taught by Castle, for providing standard power outlets for miscellaneous needs, teaches one of the many conventional power availability utilized in the art for providing a convenient power source for maintenance personnel. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Castle, to provide power for a user’s convenience within the media display and EV charging system of QIN.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helnerus et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0107368 A1 (hereinafter Helnerus) in view of Soroky et al. U.S. PGPub 2022/0274495 A1 (hereinafter Soroky) and QIN, Zhi-fa CN212685284 (hereinafter QIN).
Regarding Claim 16, Helnerus teaches a method of installing an EV charging (Helnerus, Fig. 1, Title, “Charging Station for Electric Vehicles”) and media display system (Helnerus, Fig. 11, Element 96; Paras. [0012], [0083], “advertising” and “in a separate housing from the charging station”, and Paras. [0086] – [0088], and [0151], “display 96 can be optionally located in the lid assembly”. Helnerus teaches, albeit confusingly, that the system can power/control an optional advertising display that can be located either within the window of the charging station, as illustrated in fig. 11, or in a separate housing, as described in Para. [0083].), the method comprising: pulling electrical cable into a junction box housed within a display housing (Helnerus, Fig. 3; Para. [0104], Not separately identified in Helnerus as a junction box, but functioning as a junction box by making electrical connections within a safe enclosed space; refer to the annotated Fig. 3 below.); mounting one or more EV charging units (Helnerus, Fig. 1, Element 6; Para. [0102], “charging station”) on the display housing (Helnerus, Para. [0104] – [0105]. Although the charging column 2 of Helnerus is illustrated differently than the charging cabinet body of QIN, one would understand the charging station of Helnerus would be one of the many types of charging devices that would constitute the charging portion of QIN); mounting a display screen on the display housing (Helnerus, Fig. 11, Element 96; Paras. [0012], [0083], “advertising” and “in a separate housing from the charging station”, and Paras. [0086] – [0088], and [0151], “display 96 can be optionally located in the lid assembly”. Helnerus teaches, albeit confusingly, that the system can power/control an optional advertising display that can be located either within the window of the charging station, as illustrated in fig. 11, or in a separate housing, as described in Para. [0083].); electrically connecting a charger power cable between the junction box and the one or more EV charging units (Helnerus, Para. [0123]); and electrically connecting a display power cable between the junction box and the display screen (Helnerus, Paras. [0088] and [0120] – [0121]), but does not teach providing a raceway, installing conduit and pulling wires through the conduit to the charging station.
Soroky et al., however, teaches providing a single raceway between an EV charger location and an electrical panel; installing electrical conduit within the single raceway; pulling an electrical cable through the conduit such that the electrical cable spans the distance between the electrical panel and the EV charger location (Soroky, Figs. 1A, 1D and 3A-3B, Elements 60, 62a, 18, and 24a-24d; Paras. [0025], [0030], [0032], [0037], [0041] – [0043] and [0046]. Although Soroky does not provide the raceways, conduits and wire pulling exactly as stated in the claim, it is understood these steps are provided/performed in many different ways, but the end result is the same and the claimed invention does not offer any novel ideas. These steps are performed to the specific need(s) of the application and location.); pulling electrical cable into a junction box housed within a housing (Soroky, Figs. 1A and 1D; Element 16; Paras. [0030] and [0040]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Helnerus is silent as to the wiring/cable connection between the source of power and the junction box(es) of the charging system, Helnerus would inherently incorporate some type of conventional wiring/cable design/installation commonly understood in the art. The wiring/cable design/installation taught by Soroky, for providing power safely to the charging unit with flexibility to reroute wires for future needs, teaches one of the many conventional wiring/cable design/installations utilized in the art for connecting power to EV charging station(s). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Soroky, to provide power safely to the charging unit(s) with flexibility to reroute wires for future needs of the charging system of Helnerus.
The combined teaching of the Helnerus and Soroky references discloses the claimed invention as stated above, but does not explicitly teach mounting a display screen on the display housing.
QIN, however, teaches mounting a display screen (QIN, Fig. 1, Element 4, “display screen”) on the display housing (QIN, Fig. 1, Element 2, “charging cabinet body”).
Excerpts from QIN:
…
…
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Helnerus as modified by Soroky does not offer much detail as to the display screen other than indicate it can be used for advertising, Helnerus as modified by Soroky would inherently incorporate some type of conventional display screen advertising commonly understood in the art. The display screen advertising taught by QIN, for using the display screen for advertising, teaches one of the many conventional display screen advertising methods utilized in the art for making the charging pile a dual purpose asset. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by QIN, to take advantage of the opportunity of marketing provided by a display of Helnerus.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helnerus et al. U.S. PGPub 2021/0107368 A1 (hereinafter Helnerus) in view of Soroky et al. U.S. PGPub 2022/0274495 A1 (hereinafter Soroky) and QIN, Zhi-fa CN212685284 (hereinafter QIN) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Castle U.S. PGPub 2023/0356613 A1 (hereinafter Castle).
Regarding Claim 17, The combined teaching of the Helnerus, Soroky and QIN references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 16. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches electrical communication with the junction box (Helnerus, Paras. [0088] and [0120] – [0121]), but does not teach a power outlet in communication with the junction box.
Castle, however, teaches further comprising installing a power outlet in electrical communication with the junction box (Castle, Fig. 3, Elements 320; Para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Helnerus is silent as to whether or not there are additional power points such as power outlet(s) for maintenance purposes, Helnerus would inherently incorporate some type of conventional maintenance power commonly understood in the art. The power outlets taught by Castle, for providing standard power outlets for miscellaneous needs, teaches one of the many conventional power availability utilized in the art for providing a convenient power source for maintenance personnel. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Castle, to provide power for a user’s convenience within the media display and EV charging system of Helnerus.
Regarding Claim 18, The combined teaching of the Helnerus, Soroky, QIN and Castle references discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 17/16. Furthermore, Helnerus teaches wherein the display screen is in electrical communication with the junction box (Helnerus, Paras. [0088] and [0120] – [0121]), but does not teach the power outlet.
Castle, however, teaches the power outlet (Castle, Fig. 3, Elements 320; Para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to understand that although Helnerus is silent as to whether or not there are additional power points such as power outlet(s) for maintenance purposes, Helnerus would inherently incorporate some type of conventional maintenance power commonly understood in the art. The power outlets taught by Castle, for providing standard power outlets for miscellaneous needs, teaches one of the many conventional power availability utilized in the art for providing a convenient power source for maintenance personnel. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose based on desirability, one of the many known conventional methods, such as the one taught by Castle, to provide power for a user’s convenience within the media display and EV charging system of Helnerus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gilchrest et al. U.S. PGPub 2022/0355687 teaches an EV charging station with advertising capabilities on the front surface of the charging device.
Bonwit et al. U.S. PGPub 2013/0175083 teaches an EV charging station that can be mounted on a vertical surface.
Di Maggio et al. U.S. Patent 3,800,063 teaches an Electrical post attached to a ground support with wiring fed through a buried underground conduit.
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859