DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 6/23/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 2, 5 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Abou Shousha et al. (US 10,468,142).
Regarding claim 1, Abou Shousha (figures 1A-1J; col. 10, line 49 – col. 11, line 21), discloses a computer-based method of classifying corneal shape abnormalities, the method comprising generating at least two corneal maps of a subject's cornea or a sublayer, wherein the at least two corneal maps (col. 11, lines 1-4) include at least two of a corneal topography map, a corneal thickness map, and a corneal reflectance map, providing the at least two corneal maps as inputs to an artificial intelligence model (col. 10, lines 49-57) comprising a neural network, obtaining, via the neural network, one or more outputs related to presence of at least one condition, wherein the one or more outputs are generated based on the at least two corneal maps, and classifying the subject's cornea based on the one or more outputs (col. 11, lines 4-21).
Regarding claim 2, Abou Shousha further discloses wherein the at least two corneal maps are generated based on an optical coherence tomography dataset (col. 10, line 66 – col. 11, line 4).
Regarding claim 5, Abou Shousha further discloses wherein the corneal topography map is an elevation map of an anterior surface, a posterior surface, or a sub-epithelial surface of the cornea (col. 10, line 66 – col. 11, line 4).
Regarding claim 8, Abou Shousha further discloses wherein the corneal thickness map included in the inputs includes one or more of an overall corneal thickness map, a corneal epithelial thickness map, a corneal stromal thickness map, a Descemet's layers thickness map, or a corneal endothelial thickness map (col. 11, lines 1-21).
Regarding claim 9, Abou Shousha further discloses wherein the inputs indicate reflectance variation at different depths of corneal thickness, and wherein the one or more outputs include an indication of one or more depth-dependent irregularities in reflectance intensity (col. 11, lines 1-21).
Regarding claim 10, Abou Shousha further discloses wherein the subject's cornea is classified as normal, keratoconic, or cornea with Fuch's dystrophy based on the one or more outputs (see fig. 5 – Fuch’s Dystrophy).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abou Shousha et al. (US 10,468,142), as applied in claim 1, in view of Abou Shousha et al. (US 2020/0035362).
Regarding claim 3, Abou Shousha discloses all the claimed limitations except wherein the neural network includes a convolutional neural network. Within the same field of endeavor, Abou Shousha (US 2020/0035362) discloses the teaching that wherein the neural network includes a convolutional neural network ([0135]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement a convolutional neural network for application specific purpose.
Claims 4, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abou Shousha et al. (US 10,468,142), as applied in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Abou Shousha further discloses wherein the corneal topography map is a map of an anterior surface, a posterior surface, or a sub-epithelial surface of the cornea (col. 11, lines 1-4). Abou Shousha discloses all the claimed limitations except wherein the corneal topography map is a mean curvature map. However, different types of corneal maps are well within the knowledge of one skilled in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the mean curvature map for application specific purpose.
Regarding claim 6, Abou Shousha further discloses wherein the corneal topography map is a map of an anterior surface, a posterior surface, or a sub-epithelial surface of the cornea (col. 11, lines 1-4). Abou Shousha discloses all the claimed limitations except wherein the corneal topography map is an axial power map. However, different types of corneal maps are well within the knowledge of one skilled in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the axial power map for application specific purpose.
Regarding claim 7, Abou Shousha further discloses wherein the corneal topography map is a map of an anterior surface, a posterior surface, or a sub-epithelial surface of the cornea (col. 11, lines 1-4). Abou Shousha discloses all the claimed limitations except wherein the corneal topography map is a tangential power map. However, different types of corneal maps are well within the knowledge of one skilled in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to implement the tangential power map for application specific purpose.
Conclusion
/JACK DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/5/26