Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cibula et al (US 2020/0355731). Regarding claims 1, 14, and 18-22, Cibula’731 discloses sensing and control of position of an electrical discharge comprising (a) first (110) and second (120) longitudinal electrical conductors positioned end-to-end within a current-containing volume (10) through which a primary electric current flows in a predominantly longitudinal direction (i) through at least portions of the first (110) and second (120) conductors, and (ii) as one or more transversely localized electric current segments spanning a gap (115) separating the first (110) and second (120) conductors, the one or more current segments being movable in two transverse dimensions within the gap (par. 0055); (b) multiple magnetic field sensors (200) (i) arranged to measure magnetic field components in one or more spatial dimensions or magnetic field magnitude, and (ii) located at corresponding sensor positions arranged about a lateral periphery of the current-containing volume at multiple different longitudinal positions and multiple different circumferential positions (par. 0056); and(c) computer system (299) comprising one or more electronic processors and one or more digital storage media coupled thereto, the computer system being structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) receive from the magnetic field sensors corresponding signals indicative of magnetic field components measured at multiple corresponding sensor positions longitudinally offset from the gap, and (ii) based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, calculate an estimated transverse spatial distribution of current within or through one or both of the first and second conductors (Figures 2-4, claims 1, 29; par. 0057-par. 0064). Regarding claim 2, Cibula’731 discloses at least one of the current segments is an electric discharge or arc formed across the gap between the first (110) and second (120) conductors (par. 0055). ). Regarding claim 3, Cibula’731 discloses the current-containing volume (10) being an interior volume of a remelting furnace, the first conductor (110) being an electrode of the remelting furnace, and the second conductor (120) being an ingot formed by a remelting process in a crucible of the remelting furnace (par. 0053). Regarding claim 4, Cibula’731 discloses at least one of the one or more current segments is an electric discharge or arc formed across the gap between the electrode and the ingot (par. 0049). Regarding claim 5, Cibula’731 discloses at least one of the current segments is a transient short circuit through a droplet of molten metal that drips across the gap between the electrode and the ingot (par. 0055). Regarding claim 6, Cibula’731 discloses a layer of molten slag at least partially fills the gap between the electrode and the ingot, and the one or more current segments pass through the slag layer (par. 0063). Regarding claim 7, Cibula’731 discloses system (299) being structured, connected, and programmed so as to calculate, based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, a longitudinal or transverse position of a shelf- collapse event of a solidifying portion of a melt pool (122) at a top surface of the ingot (par. 0063). Regarding claim 8, Cibula’731 discloses the computer system is structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) receive from the magnetic field sensors corresponding signals indicative of magnetic field components measured at multiple corresponding sensor positions, (ii) receive signals indicative of magnitude of the primary electric current and furnace voltage across the electrode and ingot, (iii) detect a drip short between the electrode and the ingot based on measured transient deviations in the primary electric current or the furnace voltage indicative of a drip short, and (iv) based at least in part on two or more of the magnetic field components measured at the time of the detected drip short, calculate an estimated transverse position of the detected drip short within the gap (Figures 5-9, par. 0053-0064). Regarding claim 9, Cibula’731 discloses the computer system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) receive from the magnetic field sensors corresponding signals indicative of magnetic field components measured at multiple corresponding sensor positions, (ii) based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, calculate an estimated transverse position or distribution of the one or more current segments within the gap (Figures 5-9, par. 0053-0064). Regarding claims 10-11, Cibula’731 discloses a transverse actuator arranged so as to provide transverse or angular movement of the first or second conductors relative to one another, the computer system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) generate one or more transverse-position control signals, based at least in part on one or both of the estimated transverse position or distribution of the one or more primary electric discharges or the estimated relative transverse offset of the first and second conductors, and (ii) transmit to the transverse actuator the one or more transverse-position control signals so as to alter, maintain, or control relative transverse position or angle of the first and second conductors (Figures 5-9, par. 0053-par. 0064). Regarding claim 12, Cibula’731 discloses one or more magnetic field sources located at corresponding source positions arranged about the lateral periphery of the current-containing volume and arranged so as to apply a corresponding applied magnetic field having a corresponding non-zero component directed transversely across at least a portion of the current-containing volume that includes the gap, the computer system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) generate one or more applied-field control signals, based at least in part on one or both of the estimated transverse position or distribution of the one or more current segments within the gap, and (ii) transmit to the magnetic field sources the one or more applied-field control signals so as to alter, maintain, or control a position or distribution of the one or more current segments within the gap (Figures 5-9, par. 0053-par. 0064). Regarding claims 13 and 15-17, Cibula’731 discloses the computer system being structured, connected, and programmed so as to calculate, based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, (i) an estimated relative transverse offset or relative angle of the first and second conductors, (ii) a longitudinal shape profile of one or both of the first or second conductors, or (iii) corresponding positions, sizes, or shapes of one or more cracks, inclusions, cavities, or structural defects within one or both of the first or second conductors (Figures 5-9, par. 0053-par. 0064). Regarding claim 24, Cibula’731 discloses the step of recording, as a function of longitudinal position along the ingot formed by a remelting process within the remelting furnace, one or more of: (i) transverse position or distribution of one or more current segments; (ii) transverse position or distribution of multiple drip shorts; (iii) angle or transverse position of the electrode within the crucible; (iv) distance across the gap between the electrode and the ingot; (v) a surface profile of the electrode obtained by estimating distance across the gap as a function of transverse position of the current segment; (vi) presence or duration or position of one or more side arcs; (vii) presence or duration or position of one or more constricted arcs, glows, or long arcs; (viii) detection of presence or position of a crack or defect in the electrode during a corresponding temporal portion of the remelting process that produced the ingot, (ix) longitudinal shape of the electrode, (x) gas pressure or composition within the furnace, (xi) slag depth or composition within the furnace, (xii) occurrence or position of a shelf-collapse event into the melt pool, (xiii) transient fluctuations of current or voltage or electrical resistance across the gap, (xiv) one or more magnetic field components; (xv) one or more applied magnetic field components, or (xvi) immersion depth of the electrode into molten slag filling the gap (par. 0053-par. 0064). Regarding claim 25, Cibula’731 discloses the map indicating, as a function of longitudinal or three-dimensional position within the ingot, remelting conditions, metal quality, or specified or recommended post-melt processing (see Figure 4).
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-12, 15-17 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cibula et al (US 2021/0286024). Regarding claims 1, 14, and 18-22, Cibula’024 discloses sensing and control of position of an electrical discharge comprising (a) first (110) and second (120) longitudinal electrical conductors positioned end-to-end within a current-containing volume (10) through which a primary electric current flows in a predominantly longitudinal direction (i) through at least portions of the first (110) and second (120) conductors, and (ii) as one or more transversely localized electric current segments spanning a gap (115) separating the first (110) and second (120) conductors, the one or more current segments being movable in two transverse dimensions within the gap; (b) multiple magnetic field sensors (200) (i) arranged to measure magnetic field components in one or more spatial dimensions or magnetic field magnitude, and (ii) located at corresponding sensor positions arranged about a lateral periphery of the current-containing volume at multiple different longitudinal positions and multiple different circumferential positions; and(c) computer system (299) comprising one or more electronic processors and one or more digital storage media coupled thereto, the computer system being structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) receive from the magnetic field sensors corresponding signals indicative of magnetic field components measured at multiple corresponding sensor positions longitudinally offset from the gap, and (ii) based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, calculate an estimated transverse spatial distribution of current within or through one or both of the first and second conductors (see claims 1, 4, 9 and 13-14, par. 0028). Regarding claim 2, Cibula’024 discloses at least one of the current segments is an electric discharge or arc formed across the gap between the first (110) and second (120) conductors (see claim 2). Regarding claim 3, Cibula’024 discloses the current-containing volume (10) being an interior volume of a remelting furnace, the first conductor (110) being an electrode of the remelting furnace, and the second conductor (120) being an ingot formed by a remelting process in a crucible of the remelting furnace (Figure 3). Regarding claim 4, Cibula’024 discloses at least one of the one or more current segments is an electric discharge or arc formed across the gap between the electrode and the ingot (Figure 3). Regarding claim 5, Cibula’024 discloses at least one of the current segments is a transient short circuit through a droplet of molten metal that drips across the gap between the electrode and the ingot (see claim 9). Regarding claim 6, Cibula’024 discloses a layer of molten slag at least partially fills the gap between the electrode and the ingot, and the one or more current segments pass through the slag layer (par. 0078). Regarding claim 7, Cibula’024 discloses system (299) being structured, connected, and programmed so as to calculate, based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, a longitudinal or transverse position of a shelf- collapse event of a solidifying portion of a melt pool (122) at a top surface of the ingot (claim 16 and par. 0037). Regarding claim 8, Cibula’024 discloses the computer system is structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) receive from the magnetic field sensors corresponding signals indicative of magnetic field components measured at multiple corresponding sensor positions, (ii) receive signals indicative of magnitude of the primary electric current and furnace voltage across the electrode and ingot, (iii) detect a drip short between the electrode and the ingot based on measured transient deviations in the primary electric current or the furnace voltage indicative of a drip short, and (iv) based at least in part on two or more of the magnetic field components measured at the time of the detected drip short, calculate an estimated transverse position of the detected drip short within the gap (par. 0033-0037). Regarding claim 9, Cibula’024 discloses the computer system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) receive from the magnetic field sensors corresponding signals indicative of magnetic field components measured at multiple corresponding sensor positions, (ii) based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, calculate an estimated transverse position or distribution of the one or more current segments within the gap (claim 17). Regarding claim 11, Cibula’024 discloses a longitudinal actuator arranged so as to provide longitudinal movement of the first or second conductors relative to one another, the computer system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) calculate, based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, an estimated gap distance between the first and second conductors, (ii) generate one or more longitudinal-position control signals, based at least in part on the estimated gap distance, and (ii) transmit to the longitudinal actuator the one or more longitudinal-position control signals so as to alter, maintain, or control an estimated gap distance between the first or second conductors (Figure 5). Regarding claim 12, Cibula’024 discloses one or more magnetic field sources located at corresponding source positions arranged about the lateral periphery of the current-containing volume and arranged so as to apply a corresponding applied magnetic field having a corresponding non-zero component directed transversely across at least a portion of the current-containing volume that includes the gap, the computer system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) generate one or more applied-field control signals, based at least in part on one or both of the estimated transverse position or distribution of the one or more current segments within the gap, and (ii) transmit to the magnetic field sources the one or more applied-field control signals so as to alter, maintain, or control a position or distribution of the one or more current segments within the gap (Figure 4). Regarding claim 15, Cibula’024 discloses system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to calculate estimated transverse positions for multiple detected drip shorts and to calculate a transverse spatial distribution of those multiple estimated drip short positions.(claim 9). Regarding claim 16, Cibula’024 discloses the computer system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) receive from the magnetic field sensors corresponding signals indicative of magnetic field components measured at multiple corresponding sensor positions, and (ii) based at least in part on two or more of the measured magnetic field components, calculate an estimated transverse position or distribution of the one or more primary electric discharges within the gap (example 3). Regarding claim 17, Cibula’024 discloses one or more magnetic field sources located at corresponding source positions arranged about the lateral periphery of the arc furnace and arranged so as to apply a corresponding applied magnetic field having a corresponding non-zero component directed transversely across at least a portion of the arc furnace that includes the gap, the computer system being further structured, connected, and programmed so as to (i) generate one or more applied-field control signals, based at least in part on one or both of the estimated distribution of drip shorts or the estimated transverse position or distribution of the one or more primary electric discharges, and (ii) transmit to the magnetic field sources the one or more applied-field control signals so as to alter, maintain, or control a position or distribution of the one or more primary discharges which in turn alters, maintains, or controls the distribution of drip shorts (Figure 4). Regarding claim 23, Cibula’024 discloses based at least in part on the received signals or on quantities or parameters calculated, estimated, or derived therefrom, performing during the remelting process one or more of: (i) aborting the remelting process; (ii) temporarily interrupting and then restarting the remelting process; (iii) rejecting or downgrading the ingot or only selected portions thereof; (iv) specifying or recommending specific post-melt processing of the ingot or only specific portions thereof; (v) applying a magnetic field to alter, maintain, or control transverse position or distribution of one or more current segments within the gap; (vi) applying a magnetic field to alter, maintain, or control transverse distribution of multiple drip shorts within the gap; (vii) applying a magnetic field to alter, maintain, or control transverse distribution of heat deposited on a surface of the ingot; (viii) applying a magnetic field to attenuate or terminate a side arc, constricted arc, glow, or long arc; (ix) alter, maintain, or control distance between the electrode and the ingot across the gap, or immersion depth of the electrode into molten slag filling the gap; (x) alter, maintain, or control angle or transverse position of the electrode within the crucible; (xi) alter, maintain, or control voltage across the gap; (xii) alter, maintain, or control electrical resistance across the gap; (xiii) alter, maintain, or control current flowing through the electrode and the ingot; or (xiv) alter, maintain, or control gas pressure or composition within the furnace (claims 1, 9; par. 0028). Regarding claim 24, Cibula’024 discloses the step of recording, as a function of longitudinal position along the ingot formed by a remelting process within the remelting furnace, one or more of: (i) transverse position or distribution of one or more current segments; (ii) transverse position or distribution of multiple drip shorts; (iii) angle or transverse position of the electrode within the crucible; (iv) distance across the gap between the electrode and the ingot; (v) a surface profile of the electrode obtained by estimating distance across the gap as a function of transverse position of the current segment; (vi) presence or duration or position of one or more side arcs; (vii) presence or duration or position of one or more constricted arcs, glows, or long arcs; (viii) detection of presence or position of a crack or defect in the electrode during a corresponding temporal portion of the remelting process that produced the ingot, (ix) longitudinal shape of the electrode, (x) gas pressure or composition within the furnace, (xi) slag depth or composition within the furnace, (xii) occurrence or position of a shelf-collapse event into the melt pool, (xiii) transient fluctuations of current or voltage or electrical resistance across the gap, (xiv) one or more magnetic field components; (xv) one or more applied magnetic field components, or (xvi) immersion depth of the electrode into molten slag filling the gap (claims 1 and 29, par. 0028).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cibula et al (US 2020/0355731) in view of Fink et al (US 2010/0315098) cited by applicant. Regarding claim 26, Cibula’731 discloses substantially all features of the claimed invention except the step of providing as training data to the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network (i) the received signals of parts (b) and (c) for multiple remelting processes, and (ii) observed or measured metal quality as a function of three-dimensional position within the corresponding ingots produced by the multiple remelting processes; during a subsequent remelting process, providing the received signals of parts (b) and (c) to the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network; and using the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network, altering, maintaining, or controlling one or more operating parameters of the furnace during the subsequent remelting process. Fink discloses the step of providing as training data to the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network (i) the received signals of parts (b) and (c) for multiple remelting processes, and (ii) observed or measured metal quality as a function of three-dimensional position within the corresponding ingots produced by the multiple remelting processes; during a subsequent remelting process, providing the received signals of parts (b) and (c) to the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network; and using the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network, altering, maintaining, or controlling one or more operating parameters of the furnace during the subsequent remelting process (see claim 46). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to utilize in Cibula’731 the step of providing as training data to the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network (i) the received signals of parts (b) and (c) for multiple remelting processes, and (ii) observed or measured metal quality as a function of three-dimensional position within the corresponding ingots produced by the multiple remelting processes; during a subsequent remelting process, providing the received signals of parts (b) and (c) to the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network; and using the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network, altering, maintaining, or controlling one or more operating parameters of the furnace during the subsequent remelting process as taught by Fink in order to automatic control the remelting process by artificial intelligence subsystem. Regarding claim 27, Fink discloses providing as training data to the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network (i) the received signals of parts (b) and (c) for multiple remelting processes, and (ii) observed or measured metal quality as a function of three-dimensional position within the corresponding ingots produced by the multiple remelting processes; during a subsequent remelting process, providing the received signals of parts (b) and (c) to the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network; and using the artificial intelligence subsystem, the machine learning subsystem, or the neural network, generating and storing a map of the ingot produced by the subsequent remelting process, the map indicating, as a function of longitudinal or three-dimensional position within the ingot, remelting conditions, metal quality, or specified or recommended post-melt processing (claim 46).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Cibula et al (US 2019/0219615) discloses sensing and control of position of an electrical discharge.
/QUANG T VAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 May 21, 2026