Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment made dated 2/18/2026 does not contain any new matter, and has been accepted.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the independent claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the Westfield reference does not disclose the newly amended claims.
Examiner would like to assert that the newly amended claims are now being rejected with the newly incorporated reference of Hammarberg et al. Therefore, the claims are still not yet in condition for allowance and are still rejected as shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westfield (US 7,917,159) in view of Hammarberg et al. (US 2024/0214971; hereinafter Hammarberg).
Regarding claim 1, Westfield discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a definition of a proscribed area (Col 6, lines 46-67: the mobile device receiving hush mode options), wherein:
(i) the wireless terminal is a non-native user of a wireless switching center (switching center 22), and
(ii) the wireless terminal is being provided telecommunications service by a wireless telecommunications system that comprises the wireless switching center (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device);
receiving, from the wireless terminal, a first estimate of whether the wireless terminal is inside of the proscribed area at a first time (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device); and
transmitting, to an equipment identity register associated with the wireless switching center, a request to blacklist service to the wireless terminal when the first estimate is that the wireless terminal is inside of the proscribed area (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device).
Westfield discloses all the particulars of the claim, but is unclear about the limitations of,
receiving (ii) an estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal that the first positioning estimate is correct; and
blacklisting service to the wireless terminal based on the estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal.
However, Hammarberg does disclose the limitations of,
receiving (ii) an estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal that the first positioning estimate is correct ([0015], [0017]: wherein the UE obtaining positioning parameters corresponding to positioning quality of service, which includes an estimated accuracy, confidence interval and geographical area or cell within which the positioning information is valid); and
blocking service based on the estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal ([0015], [0017]: wherein service action includes terminating/blocking a service based on the positioning QoS being below a threshold for the service; wherein other service actions can be allowing services that were previously restricted based on the positioning QoS data).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Hammarberg's disclosure to provide positioning quality of service to improve handling of critical services (Hammarberg: [0012]).
Regarding claim 2, Westfield discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: receiving, from the wireless terminal, a second estimate of whether the wireless terminal is inside of the proscribed area at a second time (Col 6, lines 57-67: wherein the mobile device his determined to have moved out of the quiet zone and therefore returning the mobile device to normal operation); and
transmitting, to the equipment identity register, a request to un-blacklist service to the wireless terminal when the second estimate is that the wireless terminal is outside of the proscribed area (Col 6, lines 57-67: wherein the mobile device his determined to have moved out of the quiet zone and therefore returning the mobile device to normal operation).
Regarding claim 3, Westfield discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first time is before the second time (moving into the quiet zone is the first time and moving out of the quiet zone is the second time; Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device).
Regarding claim 4, Westfield discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the second time is before the first time (moving into and out of the quiet zone and moving back into the quiet zone; Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device).
Regarding claim 6, Westfield discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, to a wireless terminal, a definition of a proscribed area (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device), wherein:
(i) the wireless terminal is a non-native user of a wireless switching center (switching center 22), and
(ii) an equipment identity register associated with the wireless switching center is blacklisting service to the wireless terminal center (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device);
receiving, from the wireless terminal, an estimate of whether the wireless terminal is inside of the proscribed area (Col 6, lines 57-67: wherein the mobile device his determined to have moved out of the quiet zone and therefore returning the mobile device to normal operation); and
transmitting, to the equipment identity register, a request to un-blacklist service to the wireless terminal when the estimate is that the wireless terminal is outside of the proscribed area (Col 6, lines 57-67: wherein the mobile device his determined to have moved out of the quiet zone and therefore returning the mobile device to normal operation).
Westfield discloses all the particulars of the claim, but is unclear about the limitations of,
receiving (ii) an estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal that the first positioning estimate is correct; and
blacklisting service to the wireless terminal based on the estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal.
However, Hammarberg does disclose the limitations of,
receiving (ii) an estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal that the first positioning estimate is correct ([0015], [0017]: wherein the UE obtaining positioning parameters corresponding to positioning quality of service, which includes an estimated accuracy, confidence interval and geographical area or cell within which the positioning information is valid); and
blocking service based on the estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal ([0015], [0017]: wherein service action includes terminating/blocking a service based on the positioning QoS being below a threshold for the service; wherein other service actions can be allowing services that were previously restricted based on the positioning QoS data).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Hammarberg's disclosure to provide positioning quality of service to improve handling of critical services (Hammarberg: [0012]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Westfield discloses a method comprising:
receiving a first signal that is evidence of the location of a wireless terminal at a first time (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device), wherein:
(i) the wireless terminal is a non-native user of a wireless switching center (switching center 22), and
(ii) the wireless terminal is being provided telecommunications service by a wireless telecommunications system that comprises the wireless switching center (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device);
generating, based on the first signal, a first estimate of whether the wireless terminal is inside of a proscribed area at the first time (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-24; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device);
transmitting, to an equipment identity register associated with the wireless switching center, a request to blacklist service to the wireless terminal when the first estimate is that the wireless terminal is inside of the proscribed area (Col 5, lines 8-38; Col 6, lines 8-45; quiet zone controller receiving signal from mobile device being within the quiet zone, and informing the switching center that the mobile device is within the quiet zone, and when it is determined that the mobile device is within the quiet zone and blacklisting incoming calls to the mobile device);
transmitting a definition of the proscribed area to the wireless terminal (Col 6, lines 46-67: the mobile device receiving hush mode options);
receiving, from the wireless terminal, a second estimate of whether the wireless terminal is inside of the proscribed area at a second time (Col 6, lines 57-67: wherein the mobile device his determined to have moved out of the quiet zone and therefore returning the mobile device to normal operation); and
transmitting, to the equipment identity register associated with the wireless switching center, a request to un-blacklist service to the wireless terminal when the second estimate is that the wireless terminal is outside of the proscribed area; wherein the first time is before the second time (Col 6, lines 57-67: wherein the mobile device his determined to have moved out of the quiet zone and therefore returning the mobile device to normal operation).
Westfield discloses all the particulars of the claim, but is unclear about the limitations of,
receiving (ii) an estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal that the first positioning estimate is correct; and
blacklisting service to the wireless terminal based on the estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal.
However, Hammarberg does disclose the limitations of,
receiving (ii) an estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal that the first positioning estimate is correct ([0015], [0017]: wherein the UE obtaining positioning parameters corresponding to positioning quality of service, which includes an estimated accuracy, confidence interval and geographical area or cell within which the positioning information is valid); and
blocking service based on the estimate of the confidence of the wireless terminal ([0015], [0017]: wherein service action includes terminating/blocking a service based on the positioning QoS being below a threshold for the service; wherein other service actions can be allowing services that were previously restricted based on the positioning QoS data).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Hammarberg's disclosure to provide positioning quality of service to improve handling of critical services (Hammarberg: [0012]).
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westfield in view of in view of Hammarberg in further view of Grego et al. (US 7,046,990; hereinafter Grego).
Regarding claim 5, Westfield discloses all the particulars of the claim but is unclear about the method of claim 1 wherein the wireless terminal is absent from a list of wireless terminals authorized to operate inside of the proscribed area.
However, Grego does disclose the limitation of wherein the wireless terminal is absent from a list of wireless terminals authorized to operate inside of the proscribed area (Col 4, lines 36-58; wherein the mobile device entering a restricted area A is checked against a list of authorized users and failed, hence the mobile device is unauthorized).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at the time of invention to incorporate Grego’s disclosure to provide authorized personnel service within a restricted area.
Conclusion
/CHUCK HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644