DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 7/18/2025 has been entered.
The objections over the Claims presented in the Office Action mailed 1/21/2025 have been withdrawn based on the amendment filed 7/18/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamata et al. (EP 2489931; please see attached copy).
With regards to Claim 1, Kamata et al. discloses a light fixture comprising: a housing [11,31] defining a housing area (see paragraphs 28 and 37 and Figures 4 and 8) and comprising a support groove within the housing area (see paragraph 42 and Figure 8; such a support groove is substantially formed by a portion of housing [31] having element [36] disposed thereon and by the adjacent housing portion [17]); at least one light source [46] within the housing area (see paragraph 57 and Figure 8); a lens [28] at least partially positioned within the support groove and covering the at least one light source [46] (see paragraph 36 and Figure 8); a bottom member [36] positioned within the support groove and between the lens [28] and a bottom portion [31] of the support groove, wherein the bottom member [36] is configured to position the lens [28] relative to the housing (see paragraphs 38 and 42 and Figure 8; the bottom member [36] will substantially assist in positioning lens [28] relative the housing and is therefore substantially configured to position the lens [28] relative the housing); and a top member [25] on an opposite side of the lens [28] from the bottom member [36] (see paragraph 35 and Figure 8), wherein the top member [25] is within the support groove and between the lens [28] and a top portion [17] of the support groove (see Figure 8), wherein the top member [25] is configured to form a seal with the lens [28] (see paragraph 42).
With regards to Claim 5, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kamata et al. further discloses the housing [11,31] comprises a top end, a first sidewall, and a second sidewall (see Figure 8), and wherein the support groove is defined in the first sidewall opposite from the top end of the housing [11,31] (see Figure 8).
With regards to Claim 6, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 5.
Kamata et al. further discloses the support groove is a first support groove, and wherein the housing [11,31] further comprises a second support groove defined in the second sidewall within the housing area and opposite from the first support groove (see Figure 8; such support groove is substantially included).
With regards to Claim 7, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kamata et al. further discloses an end of the bottom portion of the support groove extends at an oblique angle relative to a horizontal axis (see Figure 8; the arrangement of the bottom portion of the support groove having portion [36] disposed thereon substantially would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art an end of such bottom portion having an extension at an oblique angle relative a horizontal axis).
With regards to Claim 8, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kamata et al. further discloses the housing [11,31] comprises a sidewall, wherein the support groove is a first support groove on the sidewall (see Figure 8), and wherein the housing [31,11] further comprises a second support groove (comprising the groove formed by at least portion [21] and the sidewall, see Figure 8) on the sidewall configured to support a mounting substrate for the at least one light source [46] (see Figure 8).
With regards to Claim 9, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kamata et al. further discloses the bottom portion of the support groove comprises at least two ribs [32] for engaging and positioning the bottom member [36] against the lens [28] (see paragraph 43 and Figure 8).
Claims 11-16, 18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ter-Hovhannisyan (US 10,222,052).
With regards to Claim 11, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses a light fixture comprising: a housing [12] comprising a first end and a second end, the housing [12] defining a housing area; a light source [112] within the housing area (see column 5 lines 35-42 and Figure 7); an end cap [42,44] attached to the first end of the housing [12] (see column 3 lines 40-46 and Figures 1 and 3), the end cap [42,44] comprising a face (comprising a face of portion [42], see Figures 3 and 4) with an outer wall (comprising the wall formed towards housing [12] and extending about a periphery of the housing [12] as seen in Figure 4, see Figures 3 and 4) and an inner wall (comprising the inner wall between which a channel is substantially formed with the outer wall and into which sealing member [48] is substantially disposed, see Figure 4), wherein the inner wall and the outer wall form a channel (see column 3 lines 57-67 and column 4 lines 1-11 and Figures 4 and 5; sealing member [48] is substantially disposed in such channel); and a sealing member [48] between the inner wall and the outer wall within the channel and between the face and the first end of the housing (see column 3 lines 57-67 and column 4 lines 1-11 and Figures 4 and 5).
With regards to Claim 12, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses a height of the inner wall is less than a height of the outer wall (see Figures 4 and 5).
With regards to Claim 13, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses the first end of the housing [12] is positioned between the outer wall and the inner wall of the end cap [42,44] (see column 3 lines 57-67 and column 4 lines 1-11 and Figures 4 and 5).
With regards to Claim 14, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 13.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses the end cap [42,44] further comprises a plurality of projections extending from the inner wall (see Figure 3), the plurality of projections configured to position the first end of the housing [12] between the outer wall and the inner wall of the end cap (see column 3 lines 57-67 and column 4 lines 1-11 and Figures 4 and 5).
With regards to Claim 15, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses the housing [12] further comprises a top end, a first sidewall, and a second sidewall, each extending from the first end to the second end of the housing [12], wherein the top end comprises a non-linear profile (see Figures 1 and 7).
With regards to Claim 16, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 15.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses the top end of the housing further comprises an engagement feature extending into the housing area, and wherein the end cap [42,44] further comprises a projection extending from the face and configured to engage the engagement feature of the top end of the housing [12] within the housing area (see column 3 lines 57-67 and column 4 lines 1-11 and Figures 3-5).
With regards to Claim 18, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses the housing [12] further comprises a top end, a first sidewall, and a second sidewall, each extending from the first end to the second end of the housing [12] (see Figures 1 and 7), wherein the housing [12] further comprises a support groove on the first sidewall within the housing area, and wherein the light fixture further comprises: a lens [14] at least partially positioned within the support groove and covering the light source [112] (see column 3 lines 13-16 and Figure 7); and a bottom member positioned within the support groove and between the lens [14] and a bottom portion of the support groove, wherein the bottom member is configured to position the lens [14] relative to the housing [12] (see Figure 7).
With regards to Claim 20, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses the sealing member [48] comprises a body and an outer wall, wherein the body defines a central aperture, and wherein the outer wall of the sealing member [48] is positioned against the outer wall of the end cap [42,44] (see Figures 3-5).
With regards to Claim 22, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses the inner wall forms a closed perimeter and wherein the outer wall forms a closed perimeter (see Figures 3-5).
With regards to Claim 23, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses a shape of the inner and outer walls is complimentary to a shape of the first end of the housing [12] (see column 3 lines 57-67 and column 4 lines 1-11 and Figures 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata et al. (EP 2489931; please see attached copy).
With regards to Claim 2, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kamata et al. further discloses the bottom member [36] comprises a durable rubber (see paragraph 35).
Kamata et al. does not explicitly disclose the bottom member comprises a durable rubber acrylic. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to utilize a durable rubber acrylic as being a known and usable material. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bottom member of Kamata et al. to include a durable rubber acrylic. One would have been motivated to do so in order to utilize a known and usable material in accordance to a preferred application and structural integrity of the assembly.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata et al. (EP 2489931; please see attached copy) in view of Schimmelpfening et al. (US 2011/0051431).
With regards to Claim 4, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kamata et al. does not disclose the top member comprises a gasket tape.
Schimmelpfening et al. teaches using a gasket tape (see paragraph 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the top member of Kamata et al. comprise a gasket tape as taught by Schimmelpfening et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to ensure a more efficient seal (see Schimmelpfening et al.).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata et al. (EP 2489931; please see attached copy) in view of Ter-Hovhannisyan (US 10,222,052).
With regards to Claim 10, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kamata et al. further discloses an end cap [71] attached to a first end of the housing [11,31] (see paragraph 74 and Figure 4), the end cap [71] comprising a face (see Figures 4 and 7); and an end sealing member [61] between the face and the first end of the housing [11,31] (see paragraphs 69 and 74 and Figure 4), the end sealing member [61] configured to form a seal against water ingress (see paragraph 101).
Kamata et al. does not disclose the end cap face comprising an outer wall and an inner wall, and the end sealing member between the inner wall and the outer wall.
Ter-Hovhannisyan teaches an end cap [42,44] attached to a first end of the housing [12] (see column 3 lines 40-46 and Figures 1 and 3), the end cap [42,44] comprising a face (comprising a face of portion [42], see Figures 3 and 4) with an outer wall (comprising the wall formed towards housing [12] and extending about a periphery of the housing [12] as seen in Figure 4, see Figures 3 and 4) and an inner wall (comprising the inner wall between which a channel is substantially formed with the outer wall and into which sealing member [48] is substantially disposed, see Figure 4); and an end sealing member [48] between the inner wall and the outer wall and between the face and the first end of the housing [12] (see Figure 4), the end sealing member [48] configured to form a seal against water ingress (see column 3 lines 57-67 and column 4 lines 1-11 and Figures 4 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the end cap of Kamata et al. to include the end cap face comprising an outer wall and an inner wall, and the end sealing member between the inner wall and the outer wall as taught by Ter-Hovhannisyan. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form a tight compressive fit between the end cap and housing to increase a waterproof seal (see Ter-Hovhannisyan column 4 lines 3-11).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ter-Hovhannisyan (US 10,222,052) in view of Georgitsis et al. (US 8,277,077).
With regards to Claim 17, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 15.
Ter-Hovhannisyan does not explicitly disclose the top end of the housing further comprises at least one fin extending into the housing area and configured to contact a surface of a driver positioned within the housing area.
Georgitsis et al. teaches the top end of the housing [105] further comprises at least one fin extending into the housing area(comprising at least one fin extending towards portion [196] as seen in Figure 11) and configured to contact a surface of a driver positioned within the housing area (see column 3 lines 14-35 and column 13 lines 28-37 and Figure 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing top end of Ter-Hovhannisyan to include at least one fin extending into the housing area and configured to contact a surface of a driver positioned within the housing area, as taught by Georgitsis et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide efficient heat transfer from internal components through the housing (see Georgitsis et al. column 13 lines 28-37).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ter-Hovhannisyan (US 10,222,052) in view of Kamata et al. (EP 2489931; please see attached copy).
With regards to Claim 19, Ter-Hovhannisyan discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 11.
Ter-Hovhannisyan further discloses the sealing member [48] is a first sealing member and the end cap [42,44] is a first end cap, and wherein the light fixture further comprises: a second end cap [42,44] at the second end of the housing [12]; a second sealing member [48] between the second end cap [42,44] and the second end of the housing [12] and forming a seal against water ingress at the second end of the housing [12] (see column 3 lines 41-46 and column 3 lines 57-59 and Figure 3); a lens [14] supported at a bottom end of the housing [12] (see column 3 lines 11-16 and Figure 7).
Ter-Hovhannisyan does not disclose a top member between the lens and a portion of the housing, the top member forming a seal against water ingress at the bottom end of the housing.
Kamata et al. teaches a top member [25] between the lens [28] and a portion of the housing [31,11], the top member [25] forming a seal against water ingress at the bottom end of the housing [11,31] (see paragraph 85).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light fixture of Ter-Hovhannisyan to include a top member between the lens and a portion of the housing, the top member forming a seal against water ingress at the bottom end of the housing, as taught by Kamata et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to provide a protection of internal components from external environmental elements (see Kamata et al. paragraph 88).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamata et al. (EP 2489931; please see attached copy) in view of Georgitsis et al. (US 8,277,077).
With regards to Claim 21, Kamata et al. discloses the light fixture as discussed above with regards to Claim 1.
Kamata et al. does not disclose a gap is defined between the bottom member and the bottom portion of the support groove.
Georgitsis et al. teaches a gap is defined between the bottom member (comprising the member shown as element [122] in Figure 11 but disclosed as element [172] in column 12 lines 37-57, see Figure 11) and the bottom portion of the support groove (comprising the portion of the groove [174] formed by the housing [105] into which at least portion [122,172] is disposed, see column 16 lines 23-31 and Figures 11 and 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the light fixture of Kamata et al. to include a gap defined between the bottom member and the bottom portion of the support groove as taught by Georgitsis et al. One would have been motivated to do so in order to substantially engage the bottom member with an end of the support groove against the lens to provide sufficient seal against external environmental elements (se Georgitsis et al. column 12 lines 37-57).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 7/18/2025, with respect to the rejections of Claims 1, 2, and 4-10 using the Georgitsis and Okata references have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of Claims 1, 2, and 4-10 over Georgitsis in view of Okata have been withdrawn. However, new rejections of Claims 1, 2, and 4-10 have been presented above.
The examiner notes that the Ter-Hovhannisyan reference has been included in the present rejection of Claims 11-16, 18, 20, 22, and 23 to disclose features of at least Claim 11 included in the amendment filed 7/18/2025.
Prior Art Referral
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the prior art discussed in this action, the applicant is directed to form 892, and particularly the references Tan (US 2022/0120414) which discloses at least a light fixture having a housing, end cap and sealing member, and a lens attached to the housing, a light source disposed in the housing area, and Huang (US 2019/0178483), which discloses at least a light fixture having a housing, end cap and sealing member, and a lens attached to the housing, a light source disposed in the housing area.
Conclusion
/ERIN KRYUKOVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875