DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are canceled, Claims 18 and 35-37 are currently amended, Claims 19-26 are as previously presented, Claim 27 is withdrawn and currently amended, and Claims 28-34 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20, 22, 23, 25, 26, and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heikkila (US 2022/0288686 A1) as evidenced by Nielsen in Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.
Heikkila is applied as discussed in the office action mailed 06/18/2026. Regarding the limitation of the property of at least one barrier, Heikkila teaches “the interfacial modifier coatings on particulate provide an inert surface on the particulate substrate [emphasis added]” in [0023] and the interfacial modifiers include hafnium compounds [0021]. Nielsen teaches as evidence that hafnium nitride is a chemically stable surface coating (pages 89, 90, and 93). Therefore, Heikkila teaches a coating (i.e. hafnium compounds) that provides an inert surface that would impede passage of at least one of oxygen, carbon, metal ions, or water, impedes a chemical reaction, and improves chemical resistance based on chemical stability as described by Nielsen.
Claims 18-26 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gibson (US 2018/0133955 A1) in view of Delmée et al (US 12,508,568 B2).
Gibson in view of Delmée et al is applied as discussed in the office action mailed 06/18/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the interfacial modifies in Heikkila differs from the “barrier layer” in the instant claims. Heikkila does teach a variety of interfacial modifiers that provide physical improvements, but Heikkila specifically teaches “the interfacial modifier coatings on particulate provide an inert surface on the particulate substrate” [0023]. The variety of interfacial modifiers in [0021] includes hafnium compounds, which include chemically inert hafnium nitride as evidenced by Nielsen above.
Applicant also argues that Delmée et al does not reveal complete enveloping as in present invention (instant claims). Delmée et al specifically teaches “the primary particles 1 may have a percentage of surface coverage between 0.1 and 100%. 100% coverage expresses that the primary particles 1 are coated by a layer of secondary particles 2” (column 7, lines 48-51). “100% coverage” is substantially the same as “enveloping” as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733