DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract indicates “purported merits or speculative applications of the invention” in the form of lines 15-16, “The induction furnace is particularly useful for electrically conductive materials having a relatively low value of thermal conductivity,” A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the height of the conductive or non-conductive crucible" in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1-7 are rejected based on their dependencies.
Regarding claim 7,
The term “substantially” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite; it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “substantially” is defined as “consisting of or relating to substance” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe how much the term “substantially” modifies a target, and implicitly requires boundaries at some maximum value above the target and at some minimum value below the target beyond which one is not “substantially” the target any more.
The term “approximately” in claim 7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite; it is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. “approximately” is defined as “used to indicate that a stated number, amount, or value is an approximation” (see Merriam Webster online dictionary). This language is indefinite as the specification does not describe how much the term “approximately” modifies a target, and implicitly requires boundaries at some maximum value above the target and at some minimum value below the target beyond which one is not “approximately” the target any more.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the height of the conductive or non-conductive crucible" in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 is rejected based on its dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fishman et al. (US Patent 6,693,950 B2) in view of Heine et al. (US Patent 6,391,247 B1) and Lazor (US PGPUB 2018/0177001 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Fishman et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3) for a temperature or flow rate (abstract, “heat and/or stir”) of an electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material (abstract, “aluminum or aluminum alloy”) in an induction furnace (10), the apparatus comprising:
a conductive or non-conductive crucible (60, Col.2:63 “formed from a suitable refractory material”) to contain the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material;
a bottom support structure (40) to support a bottom of the conductive or non-conductive crucible (see annotated Fig. 3 above);
a bottom magnetic flux concentrator (20) disposed below the bottom support structure;
an at least one bottom induction coil (30) disposed between the bottom support structure and the bottom magnetic flux concentrator;
whereby a magnetic field generated (32) by a flow (I) of an AC current (70, Fig. 5(a) through the at least one bottom, side and top induction coils penetrate the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible to induce an eddy current (Col. 3:53-61) in the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material that boost the temperature or flow rate of the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible.
However, Fishman et al. does not disclose “at least one side induction coil disposed exteriorly at least partially along the height of the conductive or non-conductive crucible;” and
“at least one top induction coil disposed over a top surface of the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible;”
Heine et al. teaches, in the field of heating, melting, and holding a melt (36) a temperature in a cylindrical vessel (40) a system (20) that includes induction coils (28) placed above the crucible.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the induction crucible of Fishman et al. to have also have a set of coils above the melt as taught by Heine et al., as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that, “As stated above, it is highly desirable to maintain a relatively close proximity between coil 28 and melt 36 in order to maintain high efficiency. It is not uncommon for the surface level of melt 36 to change in melting and temperature holding applications. The level may change due to removal of some of the metal from the bath, addition of material to alloy the melt, or removal of a dross layer (Col. 4:13-19).”
Lazor teaches, in the field of heating, melting, or stirring with electric induction power an induction coil (220) encircling the container and extending along the complete longitudinal length ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fishman et al. and Heine et al. to have inductive coils placed along the complete longitudinal length of the crucible as taught by Lazor, as all references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “The novel stirring arrangement in accordance with the present invention occurs when the electrically conductive material in the container is in a melted or molten state to enable fluid movement of the electrically conductive material in the cavity of the container [0045].”
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 1 as above, wherein the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material has a thermal conductivity value less than or equal to the thermal conductivity of aluminum or an aluminum alloy (Fishman et al., abstract, “aluminum or aluminum alloy”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al. and Lazor teach all of claim 1 as above, wherein the at least one bottom, side and top induction coils comprises:’
an at least one active induction coil section (Fishman et al., 30a), each of the at least one active induction coil section connected to an AC power supply (Fishman et al., 70); and an at least one passive induction coil section (Fishman et al., 30b) connected to a capacitor (Fishman et al., C_2) to form a resonant circuit (Fishman et al., the combination of inductor and capacitor creates a resonant circuit as claimed), whereby the magnetic field generated in the at least one active induction coil section magnetically couples with the at least one passive induction coil section to induce a secondary current flow (Fishman et al., I_2) through the at least one passive induction section to generate a secondary magnetic field (Fishman et al., implicit as there is a current, I_2, in a resonant circuit that also creates an orthogonal magnetic field) that penetrates the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material to induce the eddy current in the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material that heats the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 3 as above, wherein the at least one active induction coil section and the at least one passive induction coil section are disposed interior and exterior to each other (Fishman et al., Fig. 5(a)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 3 as above, wherein the at least one active induction coil section and the at least one passive induction coil section are interspaced with each other (Fishman et al., Fig. 5(a)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 1 as above, further comprising a plenum (Fishman et al., 50) formed between the magnetic bottom flux concentrator and the bottom support structure for the flow of a cooling medium (Fishman et al., Col. 5:20-25, “In FIG. 3, plenum 50, which is bounded by flux concentrator 20 and bottom support structure 40, provides a gaseous (typically, but not limited to air) flow cavity through which cooling air can be provided by a forced air mechanical system (not illustrated in the drawings) to remove heat generated in induction coil 30.”) to cool the at least one bottom and the at least one side induction coil.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 1 as above, wherein the conductive or non-conductive crucible forms a substantially geometric volume for containing the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material, the substantially geometric volume having a diameter to height ratio in the range of approximately 3:1 to 6:1 (Fishman et al., Col.6:1-11, “A crucible with an internal load volume having a diameter to height ratio approximately in the range from 3:1 to 6:1 is preferable.”).
Regarding claim 8, Fishman et al. discloses an apparatus (Fig. 3) for boosting a temperature or flow rate (abstract, “heat and/or stir”) of an electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material (abstract, “aluminum or aluminum alloy), comprising:
either a conductive or non-conductive crucible (60, “Col.2:63 “formed from a suitable refractory material”) to contain the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material;
a bottom support structure (40) to support the bottom of the conductive or non-conductive crucible, the bottom support structure having passages (Fig. 3, the area below 40 that includes the coils and plenum) therein for the transmission of an electromagnetic field (Col. 3:6-15);
a magnetic flux concentrator (20) disposed below the bottom support structure (Fig. 3); and
an at least one bottom induction coil (30) disposed between the bottom support structure and the magnetic flux concentrator;
the at least one bottom, formed from an at least one active coil section (30a) and an at least one passive coil section (30b) whereby a magnetic field (32) generated by a flow (I) of AC current (70) through the at least one bottom, side and top induction coils penetrate the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible to induce an eddy current (Col. 3:53-61) in the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material to boost the temperature or to boost the flow rate of the electrically conductive ferrous or non- ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible.
However, Fishman et al. does not disclose, “at least one side induction coil disposed exteriorly at least partially along the height of the conductive or non-conductive crucible”
“at least one top induction coil disposed over a top surface of the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible”
and “the at least one bottom, side and top induction coils each formed from an at least one active coil and at least one passive coil section”
Heine et al. teaches, in the field of heating, melting, and holding a melt (36) a temperature in a cylindrical vessel (40) a system (20) that includes induction coils (28) placed above the crucible.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the induction crucible of Fishman et al. to have also have a set of coils above the melt as taught by Heine et al., as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that, “As stated above, it is highly desirable to maintain a relatively close proximity between coil 28 and melt 36 in order to maintain high efficiency. It is not uncommon for the surface level of melt 36 to change in melting and temperature holding applications. The level may change due to removal of some of the metal from the bath, addition of material to alloy the melt, or removal of a dross layer (Col. 4:13-19).”
Lazor teaches, in the field of heating, melting, or stirring with electric induction power an induction coil (220) encircling the container and extending along the complete longitudinal length ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fishman et al. and Heine et al. to have inductive coils placed along the complete longitudinal length of the crucible as taught by Lazor, as all references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “The novel stirring arrangement in accordance with the present invention occurs when the electrically conductive material in the container is in a melted or molten state to enable fluid movement of the electrically conductive material in the cavity of the container [0045].”
Fishman further teaches, “With active and passive coil sections, the inductive impedance in the passive coil is substantially compensated for by the capacitive impedance (i.e., .omega.L.sub.30b.apprxeq.1/.omega.C.sub.2). The uncompensated resistive component, R.sub.30b, in the passive coil circuit is reflected into the active coil circuit by the mutual inductance between the two circuits, and the effective active coil circuit's resistance is increased, thus improving the power factor angle, or efficiency of the coil system (Col. 5:4-11).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor to have all of the coil sets include an active and passive coil as taught by Fishman et al., and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “in the passive coil circuit is reflected into the active coil circuit by the mutual inductance between the two circuits, and the effective active coil circuit's resistance is increased, thus improving the power factor angle, or efficiency of the coil system (Col. 5:4-11).”
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 8 as above, wherein the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material has a thermal conductivity value less than or equal to the thermal conductivity of aluminum or an aluminum alloy (abstract, “aluminum or aluminum alloy”).
Regarding claim 10, Fishman et al. discloses a method (Fig. 3) of boosting a temperature or flow rate (abstract, “heat and/or stir”) of an electrically conductive ferrous or non- ferrous material (abstract, “aluminum or aluminum alloy”) in a conductive or non-conductive crucible (60, Col.2:63 “formed from a suitable refractory material”) comprising the steps:
supporting the conductive or non-conductive crucible on a bottom support structure (40, Fig. 3);
placing the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible (Col. 7:43-46);
generating a plurality of magnetic fields (32) from a flow (I) of an AC current (70) through an at least one bottom induction coil (30) disposed below the bottom support structure;
directing the plurality of magnetic fields towards the bottom, side and top surface of the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible (Col. 3:53-61); and
magnetically coupling the magnetic field with the electrically conductive ferrous or non- ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible to boost the temperature or to boost the flow rate of the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible (Col. 3:53-61).
Fishman et al. does not disclose, “an at least one side induction coil; and at least one top induction coil;”
Heine et al. teaches, in the field of heating, melting, and holding a melt (36) a temperature in a cylindrical vessel (40) a system (20) that includes induction coils (28) placed above the crucible.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the induction crucible of Fishman et al. to have also have a set of coils above the melt as taught by Heine et al., as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that, “As stated above, it is highly desirable to maintain a relatively close proximity between coil 28 and melt 36 in order to maintain high efficiency. It is not uncommon for the surface level of melt 36 to change in melting and temperature holding applications. The level may change due to removal of some of the metal from the bath, addition of material to alloy the melt, or removal of a dross layer (Col. 4:13-19).”
Lazor teaches, in the field of heating, melting, or stirring with electric induction power an induction coil (220) encircling the container and extending along the complete longitudinal length ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fishman et al. and Heine et al. to have inductive coils placed along the complete longitudinal length of the crucible as taught by Lazor, as all references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “The novel stirring arrangement in accordance with the present invention occurs when the electrically conductive material in the container is in a melted or molten state to enable fluid movement of the electrically conductive material in the cavity of the container [0045].”
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 10 as above, wherein the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material has a thermal conductivity value less than or equal to the thermal conductivity of aluminum or an aluminum alloy (Fishman et al.,; abstract, “aluminum or aluminum alloy”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 10 as above, wherein the step of directing the magnetic field towards the bottom of the conductive or non-conductive crucible includes placing a magnetic flux concentrator (Fishman et al., 20) below the at least one bottom induction coil (Fishman et al., Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 10 as above, wherein the frequency of the AC current is adjusted to control the flow rate of the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non- conductive crucible (Fishman et al., Col.3:54-61).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 13 as above, further comprising inducing an AC secondary current (Fishman et al., I_2) in an at least one passive coil section of the at least one bottom (Fishman et al., 30b), side and top induction coils by magnetically coupling the at least one passive coil section to an at least one active coil (Fishman et al., 30a) section of the at least one bottom, side and top induction coil, the at least one active coil section connected to a source of AC current (Fishman et al., 70), the secondary AC current generating a secondary magnetic field (Fishman et al.; I_2, C_2 the combination of the inductor and the capacitor creates a resonant circuit that responds to changing electrical fields and magnetic fields) exterior to the at least one passive coil section; and
magnetically coupling the secondary magnetic field with the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible to boost the temperature or to boost the flow rate of the electrically conductive ferrous or nonferrous material in the conductive or non-conductive crucible (Fishman et al., Col.5:4-11).
Fishman further teaches, “With active and passive coil sections, the inductive impedance in the passive coil is substantially compensated for by the capacitive impedance (i.e., .omega.L.sub.30b.apprxeq.1/.omega.C.sub.2). The uncompensated resistive component, R.sub.30b, in the passive coil circuit is reflected into the active coil circuit by the mutual inductance between the two circuits, and the effective active coil circuit's resistance is increased, thus improving the power factor angle, or efficiency of the coil system (Col. 5:4-11).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor to have all of the coil sets include an active and passive coil as taught by Fishman et al., and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “in the passive coil circuit is reflected into the active coil circuit by the mutual inductance between the two circuits, and the effective active coil circuit's resistance is increased, thus improving the power factor angle, or efficiency of the coil system (Col. 5:4-11).”
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Fishman et al., Heine et al., and Lazor teach all of claim 10 as above. selectively energizing any combination of the at least one bottom induction coil, side induction coil and top induction coil to boost the temperature or to boost the flow rate (Fishman et al., abstract) of the electrically conductive ferrous or non-ferrous material in the conductive or non- conductive crucible.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 8,437,150 B1 discloses a dual frequency heating, melting, and stirring with electric induction power.
US Patent 8,242,420 B2 discloses a directional solidification of silicon by electric induction susceptor heating in a controlled environment with top (30), side (40), and bottom (50) inductor coil arrays.
US PGPUB 2009/0129429 A1 discloses a melting and mixing of material in a crucible by electric induction heel process.
US Patent 3,875,322 A discloses an electric induction furnace hearth for containing metal melt (with bottom and side coils).
/RYAN C CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3745