Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-7, 10-14, and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 3-6, 10-13, and 16 present a subject matter where forming the metal oxide layer comprises both depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber using electron beam evaporation (EBE) from the third method and also spraying and spin-coating a metal nitrate salt onto the stainless steel current collector and heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt from the first method.
[0039] of the specification states "although each of the embodiments is described above as having certain features, any one or more of those features described with respect to any embodiment of the disclosure can be implemented in and/or combined with features of any of the other embodiments, even if that combination is not explicitly described. In other words, the described embodiments are not mutually exclusive, and permutations of one or more embodiments with one another remain within the scope of this disclosure."
However, this does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention because it is not described how one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the first method with the third method to form the same metal oxide layer. Because each method separately results in a metal oxide layer formed onto the stainless steel current collector, combining two methods would result in two separate metal oxide layers on the current collector instead of the same metal oxide layer, and there is no description on combining two methods to form the same metal oxide layer.
As to claims 3-6, 10-13, and 16, in an effort to expedite prosecution, examiner interprets the corresponding independent claims to be without the limitation “wherein forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber using electron beam evaporation (EBE)” as examiner believes the combination is not described in the specification.
Claims 7 and 14 present a subject matter where forming the metal oxide layer comprises both depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber using electron beam evaporation (EBE) from the third method and also electroplating from the second method.
[0039] of the specification states "although each of the embodiments is described above as having certain features, any one or more of those features described with respect to any embodiment of the disclosure can be implemented in and/or combined with features of any of the other embodiments, even if that combination is not explicitly described. In other words, the described embodiments are not mutually exclusive, and permutations of one or more embodiments with one another remain within the scope of this disclosure."
However, this does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention because it is not described how one of ordinary skill in the art would perform the second method with the third method to form the same metal oxide layer. Because each method separately results in a metal oxide layer formed onto the stainless steel current collector, combining two methods would result in two separate metal oxide layers on the current collector instead of the same metal oxide layer, and there is no description on combining two methods to form the same metal oxide layer.
As to claims 7 and 14, in an effort to expedite prosecution, examiner interprets the corresponding independent claims to be without the limitation “wherein forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber using electron beam evaporation (EBE)” as examiner believes the combination is not described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), and further in view of Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), and Kaskel (US 2020/0099039).
Regarding claim 1, Kobori teaches a method for fabricating an anode ([0048]) electrode ([0041]), comprising:
providing a current collector ([0042]);
forming a metal oxide layer ([0042]) on the current collector.
Kobori does not teach that the current collector is stainless steel. Kobori also does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer.
However, Li teaches stainless steel mesh as an option for current collectors having a benefit of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (3.4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori to use the stainless steel mesh of Li for the benefits of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (Li: 3.4.).
Additionally, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]), with perforated metals as possible substrate materials ([0043]).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori and Li to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]). Modified Kobori also teaches that increasing the electrode areas and having thinner electrode plates is known to decrease impedance (Kobori: [0011]), which would be achieved by including the method of Kaskel.
This addition is appropriate because the zinc nitrate (Kobori: [0136] [0137]) applied in modified Kobori as the metal salt was thermally decomposed into zinc oxide (Kobori: [0253]), which would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0045]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kobori teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises:
spin-coating (Kobori: [0151]) a metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0042]) onto the stainless steel current collector; and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kobori teaches the metal nitrate salt is selected from a group consisting of zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) (Kobori: [0136] [0137]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kobori teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises:
spraying (Kobori: [0151]) a metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0042]) onto the stainless steel current collector; and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kobori teaches the metal nitrate salt is selected from a group consisting of zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) (Kobori: [0136] [0137]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), and further in view of Kawakami (US 6432585).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kobori does not teach forming the metal oxide layer comprises electroplating the stainless steel current collector with the metal oxide layer.
However, Kawakami teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises electroplating the stainless steel current collector with the metal oxide layer (Kawakami: 23).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Kobori to use the electroplating method of Kawakami as an alternative for forming an electrode material layer having an average particle size and void ratio and density controlled as desired (Kawakami: 110).
Claim(s) 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), and further in view of Han (US 2022/0344672).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kobori teaches the stainless steel current collector is selected from a group consisting of mesh.
Modified Kobori does not teach wherein forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber using electron beam evaporation (EBE).
However, Han teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber using electron beam evaporation (EBE) (Han: [0056]).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Kobori to use the electron beam evaporation method of Han as an alternative for improving the adhesive force of the interface between the primer coating layer and the electrode active material layer, prevent performance deterioration of the electrode, and improve productivity and processability of the electrode (Han: [0006], [0027], [0028]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kobori does not teach forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber (Han: [0056], electron beam evaporation is inherently performed in a vacuum deposition chamber).
However, Han teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber (Han: [0056], electron beam evaporation is inherently performed in a vacuum deposition chamber).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Kobori to use the electron beam evaporation method of Han as an alternative for improving the adhesive force of the interface between the primer coating layer and the electrode active material layer, prevent performance deterioration of the electrode, and improve productivity and processability of the electrode (Han: [0006], [0027], [0028]).
Claim(s) 9-13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), and further in view of Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), Kawakami (US 6432585), and Han (US 2022/0344672).
Regarding claim 9 and 16, Kobori teaches a method for fabricating a battery cell, comprising:
forming an anode ([0048]) electrode ([0041]) by:
providing a current collector ([0042]);
forming a metal oxide layer ([0042]) on the current collector by:
spin-coating ([0151]) a metal nitrate salt ([0042]) onto the current collector,
wherein the metal nitrate salt is zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) ([0136] [0137]); and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt ([0045]);
arranging a plurality of the anode electrode, a plurality of cathode electrodes, and separators in a predetermined sequence in an enclosure of a battery cell ([0027] to [0030]; a battery cell inherently can have a plurality of the anode electrode, a plurality of cathode electrodes, and separators, and any arrangement would result in a sequence).
Kobori does not teach that the current collector is a stainless steel mesh, foil, or expanded metal. Kobori also does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer.
However, Li teaches stainless steel mesh as an option for current collectors having a benefit of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (3.4.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori to use the stainless steel mesh of Li for the benefits of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (Li: 3.4.).
Additionally, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]), with perforated metals as possible substrate materials ([0043]).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori and Li to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]). Modified Kobori also teaches that increasing the electrode areas and having thinner electrode plates is known to decrease impedance (Kobori: [0011]), which would be achieved by including the method of Kaskel.
This addition is appropriate because the zinc nitrate (Kobori: [0136] [0137]) applied in modified Kobori as the metal salt was thermally decomposed into zinc oxide (Kobori: [0253]), which would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0044]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kobori teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises:
spin-coating (Kobori: [0151]) a metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0042]) onto the stainless steel current collector; and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kobori teaches the metal nitrate salt is selected from a group consisting of zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) (Kobori: [0136] [0137]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kobori teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises:
spraying (Kobori: [0151]) a metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0042]) onto the stainless steel current collector; and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0045]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kobori teaches the metal nitrate salt is selected from a group consisting of zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) (Kobori: [0136] [0137]).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), and further in view of Kawakami (US 6432585).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kobori does not teach forming the metal oxide layer comprises electroplating the stainless steel current collector with the metal oxide layer.
However, Kawakami teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises electroplating the stainless steel current collector with the metal oxide layer (Kawakami: 23).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Kobori to use the electroplating method of Kawakami as an alternative for forming an electrode material layer having an average particle size and void ratio and density controlled as desired (Kawakami: 110).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), and further in view of Han (US 2022/0344672).
Regarding claim 15, modified Kobori does not teach forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber (Han: [0056], electron beam evaporation is inherently performed in a vacuum deposition chamber).
However, Han teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber (Han: [0056], electron beam evaporation is inherently performed in a vacuum deposition chamber).
Therefore, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Kobori to use the electron beam evaporation method of Han as an alternative for improving the adhesive force of the interface between the primer coating layer and the electrode active material layer, prevent performance deterioration of the electrode, and improve productivity and processability of the electrode (Han: [0006], [0027], [0028]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763