DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), and Kaskel (US 2020/0099039).
Regarding claim 1, Kobori teaches a method for fabricating an anode ([0048]) electrode ([0041]), comprising:
providing a current collector ([0042]);
forming a metal oxide layer ([0042]) on the current collector.
Kobori does not teach that the current collector is stainless steel. Kobori also does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer.
However, Li teaches stainless steel mesh as an option for current collectors having a benefit of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (3.4.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori to use the stainless steel mesh of Li for the benefits of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (Li: 3.4.).
Additionally, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]), with perforated metals as possible substrate materials ([0043]).
Accordingly, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori and Li to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]). Modified Kobori also teaches that increasing the electrode areas and having thinner electrode plates is known to decrease impedance (Kobori: [0011]), which would be achieved by including the method of Kaskel.
This addition is appropriate because the zinc nitrate (Kobori: [0136] [0137]) applied in modified Kobori as the metal salt was thermally decomposed into zinc oxide (Kobori: [0253]), which would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0045]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kobori teaches the stainless steel current collector is a mesh (Li: 3.4.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kobori teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises:
spin-coating (Kobori: [0151]) a metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0042]) onto the stainless steel current collector; and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0045]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kobori teaches the metal nitrate salt is selected from a group consisting of zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) (Kobori: [0136] [0137]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kobori teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises:
spraying (Kobori: [0151]) a metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0042]) onto the stainless steel current collector; and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kobori teaches the metal nitrate salt is selected from a group consisting of zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) (Kobori: [0136] [0137]).
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 6432585) and Kaskel (US 2020/0099039).
Regarding claim 1, Kawakami teaches a method for fabricating an anode electrode (19), comprising:
providing a stainless steel current collector (19);
forming a metal oxide layer (23) on the current collector.
Kawakami does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer.
However, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]), with perforated metals as possible substrate materials ([0043]).
Accordingly, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kawakami to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]) and to make metallic lithium anodes for increased energy densities (Kaskel: [0002]). Kawakami also teaches that the grained host matrix material forming the electrode material layer (22) is desired to be covered by a layer comprising a metal which is deferent from that contained in the grained host matrix material (26), which would be achieved by including the method of Kaskel.
This addition is appropriate because the zinc oxide deposited on the current collector (Kawakami: 23) would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0045]). Additionally, Kawakami teaches that the collector can include a mesh configuration (Kawakami: 20), which would be applicable as a perforated metal substrate (Kaskel: [0043]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kawakami teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises electroplating the stainless steel current collector with the metal oxide layer (Kawakami: 23).
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2006/019168), and Kaskel (US 2020/0099039).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method for fabricating an anode electrode ([0017]), comprising:
providing a stainless steel current collector ([0025]);
forming a metal oxide layer ([0027]) on the current collector ([0025]).
Kawakami does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer.
However, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]), with perforated metals as possible substrate materials ([0043]).
Accordingly, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]) and to use metallic lithium as the anode layer for increased energy densities (Kaskel: [0002]).
This addition is appropriate because the aluminum oxide deposited on the current collector (Li: [0007]) would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0045]). Additionally, Li teaches that the collector can include a mesh configuration (Li: [0083]), which would be applicable as a perforated metal substrate (Kaskel: [0043]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Li teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber ([0058]).
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), and Parsian (US 2006/0115718).
Regarding claim 9, Kobori teaches a method for fabricating a battery cell, comprising:
forming an anode ([0048]) electrode ([0041]) by:
providing a current collector ([0042]); and
forming a metal oxide layer ([0042]) on the current collector.
Kobori does not teach that the current collector is stainless. Kobori also does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer. Kobori is also silent to arranging the plurality of the anode electrode, a plurality of cathode electrodes, and separators in a predetermined sequence in an enclosure of a battery cell.
However, Li teaches stainless steel mesh as an option for current collectors having a benefit of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (3.4.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori to use the stainless steel mesh of Li for the benefits of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (Li: 3.4.).
Additionally, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]), with perforated metals as possible substrate materials ([0043]).
Accordingly, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori and Li to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]). Modified Kobori also teaches that increasing the electrode areas and having thinner electrode plates is known to decrease impedance (Kobori: [0011]), which would be achieved by including the method of Kaskel.
This addition is appropriate because the zinc nitrate (Kobori: [0136] [0137]) applied in modified Kobori as the metal salt was thermally decomposed into zinc oxide (Kobori: [0253]), which would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0044]).
Moreover, Parsian teaches positioning, in sequence, a negative electrode current collector, a negative electrode, a first porous separator, a positive electrode, and a positive electrode current collector to form a single cell unit ([0038]). A plurality of the single cell units is then positioned adjacent one another in sequence, and a second porous separator is positioned between adjacent single cell units ([0038]). A number of cells may then be adhered and bundled together to form a battery or multi-cell ([0006]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of further modified Kobori to position the negative electrode current collector and negative electrode according to the multi-cell method of Parsian as described above ([0038]) to achieve high discharge rate and high power capability.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kobori teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises:
spin-coating (Kobori: [0151]) a metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0042]) onto the stainless steel current collector; and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0045]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kobori teaches the metal nitrate salt is selected from a group consisting of zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) (Kobori: [0136] [0137]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kobori teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises:
spraying (Kobori: [0151]) a metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0042]) onto the stainless steel current collector; and
heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt (Kobori: [0045]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kobori teaches the metal nitrate salt is selected from a group consisting of zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) (Kobori: [0136] [0137]).
Claim(s) 9 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawakami (US 6432585), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), and Parsian (US 2006/0115718).
Regarding claim 9, Kawakami teaches a method for fabricating a battery cell, comprising:
fabricating an anode electrode (19), comprising:
providing a stainless steel current collector (19) mesh (20);
forming a metal oxide layer (23) on the current collector.
Kawakami does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer. Kawakami also does not teach arranging the plurality of the anode electrode, a plurality of cathode electrodes, and separators in a predetermined sequence in an enclosure of a battery cell.
However, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]).
Accordingly, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kawakami to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]) and form a rechargeable lithium battery. Kawakami also teaches that the grained host matrix material forming the electrode material layer (22) is desired to be covered by a layer comprising a metal which is deferent from that contained in the grained host matrix material (26), which would be achieved by including the method of Kaskel.
This addition is appropriate because the zinc oxide deposited on the current collector (Kawakami: 23) would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0045]). Additionally, Kawakami teaches that the collector can include a mesh configuration (Kawakami: 20), which would be applicable as a perforated metal substrate (Kaskel: [0043]).
Additionally, Parsian teaches positioning, in sequence, a negative electrode current collector, a negative electrode, a first porous separator, a positive electrode, and a positive electrode current collector to form a single cell unit ([0038]). A plurality of the single cell units is then positioned adjacent one another in sequence, and a second porous separator is positioned between adjacent single cell units ([0038]). A number of cells may then be adhered and bundled together to form a battery or multi-cell ([0006]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Kawakami to position the negative electrode current collector and negative electrode according to the multi-cell method of Parsian as described above (Parsian: [0038]) to achieve high discharge rate and high power capability.
Regarding claim 14, modified Kawakami teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises electroplating the stainless steel current collector with the metal oxide layer (Kawakami: 23).
Claim(s) 9 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 2006/019168), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), and Parsian (US 2006/0115718).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method for fabricating a battery cell, comprising:
fabricating an anode electrode ([0017]), comprising:
providing a stainless steel current collector ([0025]) mesh ([0083]);
forming a metal oxide layer ([0027]) on the current collector ([0025]).
Li does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer. Li also does not teach arranging the plurality of the anode electrode, a plurality of cathode electrodes, and separators in a predetermined sequence in an enclosure of a battery cell.
However, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]), with perforated metals as possible substrate materials ([0043]).
Accordingly, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]) and to use metallic lithium as the anode layer for increased energy densities (Kaskel: [0002]).
This addition is appropriate because the aluminum oxide deposited on the current collector (Li: [0007]) would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0045]). Additionally, Li teaches that the collector can include a mesh configuration (Li: [0083]), which would be applicable as a perforated metal substrate (Kaskel: [0043]).
Additionally, Parsian teaches positioning, in sequence, a negative electrode current collector, a negative electrode, a first porous separator, a positive electrode, and a positive electrode current collector to form a single cell unit ([0038]). A plurality of the single cell units is then positioned adjacent one another in sequence, and a second porous separator is positioned between adjacent single cell units ([0038]). A number of cells may then be adhered and bundled together to form a battery or multi-cell ([0006]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of modified Li to position the negative electrode current collector and negative electrode according to the multi-cell method of Parsian as described above (Parsian: [0038]) to achieve high discharge rate and high power capability.
Regarding claim 15, modified Li teaches forming the metal oxide layer comprises depositing the metal oxide layer in a vacuum deposition chamber ([0058]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobori (US 2012/0009479), Li (2020 IOP Conf. Ser.: Earth Environ. Sci. 514 042019), Kaskel (US 2020/0099039), and Parsian (US 2006/0115718).
Regarding claim 16, Kobori teaches a method for fabricating a battery cell, comprising:
forming an anode ([0048]) electrode ([0041]) by:
providing a current collector ([0042]);
forming a metal oxide layer ([0042]) on the current collector by:
spin-coating ([0151]) a metal nitrate salt ([0042]) onto the current collector, wherein the metal nitrate salt is zinc nitrate (Zn(NO3)3) ([0136] [0137]); and heating the stainless steel current collector to a decomposition temperature of the metal nitrate salt ([0045]).
Kobori does not teach that the current collector is a stainless steel mesh, foil, or expanded metal. Kobori also does not teach pouring molten lithium over the metal oxide layer. Kobori is also silent to arranging the plurality of the anode electrode, a plurality of cathode electrodes, and separators in a predetermined sequence in an enclosure of a battery cell.
However, Li teaches stainless steel mesh as an option for current collectors having a benefit of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (3.4.).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori to use the stainless steel mesh of Li for the benefits of low cost, simple process, and large-scale production (Li: 3.4.).
Additionally, Kaskel teaches applying liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die ([0034]), with perforated metals as possible substrate materials ([0043]).
Accordingly, it would also have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Kobori and Li to further include the step of Kaskel to apply liquefied lithium to the mediator layer by a slot die to deposit lithium on large areas while having low thickness (Kaskel: [0005]). Modified Kobori also teaches that increasing the electrode areas and having thinner electrode plates is known to decrease impedance (Kobori: [0011]), which would be achieved by including the method of Kaskel.
This addition is appropriate because the zinc nitrate (Kobori: [0136] [0137]) applied in modified Kobori as the metal salt was thermally decomposed into zinc oxide (Kobori: [0253]), which would be appropriate as the mediator layer for reacting with liquid lithium to form a mediating interface (Kaskel: [0044]).
Moreover, Parsian teaches positioning, in sequence, a negative electrode current collector, a negative electrode, a first porous separator, a positive electrode, and a positive electrode current collector to form a single cell unit ([0038]). A plurality of the single cell units is then positioned adjacent one another in sequence, and a second porous separator is positioned between adjacent single cell units ([0038]). A number of cells may then be adhered and bundled together to form a battery or multi-cell ([0006]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of further modified Kobori to position the negative electrode current collector and negative electrode according to the multi-cell method of Parsian as described above (Parsian: [0038]) to achieve high discharge rate and high power capability.
Conclusion
/A.B.P./Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724