DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-12 and 14 are pending for examinations.
Claims 1, 7, 9 and 11-12 are independent Claims.
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-9, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddiraju et al. (U.S. 2012/0044137 hereinafter Oddiraju) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. 2019/0114022 hereinafter Kim) in further view of Nicholas et al. (U.S 2015/0278182 hereinafter Nicholas) in further view of Alsing et al. (U.S. 6,362,850 hereinafter Alsing).
As Claim 1, Oddiraju teaches a screenshot method, applicable to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises an input unit and a touch screen, the touch screen is configured to display an image, and the screenshot method (Oddiraju (¶0016 line 1-8), touch screens) comprises:
receiving a first screenshot signal using the input unit or the touch screen (Oddiraju (¶0022 line 3-8, fig. 2 item 42, ¶0046 line 1-2, fig. 7 item 604), user actuates item 42 on touch screen. User request the capturing of a screenshot);
taking a screenshot of the image only according to a second screenshot signal when the successive screenshot function is enabled (Oddiraju (¶0047 line 1-4), user enable successive screen screenshot function by answering “no”), wherein the second screenshot signal is different from the first screenshot signal (Oddiraju (¶0047 line 6-end), user inputs the portion of display to be captured).
wherein the first screenshot signal is for generating single screenshot data (Oddiraju (¶0046 line 7-11, fig. 7 item 604), when the answer is capturing the entire screenshot, the entire screenshot is capture and the second screenshot signal is for generating successive screenshot data (Oddiraju (¶0047 line 6-end), user inputs the portion of display to be captured)
wherein the first screenshot signal is a multi-touch signal or a gesture signal of the touch screen (Oddiraju (¶0016 line 5-10, ¶0022 line 3-8, fig. 2 item 42), user input includes touch input to a touch screen. User activates button 42 on the touch screen), and
Oddiraju may not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second screenshot signal is formed by a succession of a contacting screen signal and a leaving screen signal.
Kim teaches:
and enable a successive screenshot function according to the first screenshot signal
wherein the second screenshot signal is formed by a succession of a contacting screen signal and a leaving screen signal (Kim (¶0132, ¶0135, fig. 7), user sets a capture area “A” defined by touch positions. When user touch is released, image in area “A” is captured).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify area identifying module of Oddiraju instead be an area identifying gesture taught by Kim, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to allow user to “set[s] the capture area “A” by a simple operation of applying the 3D touch to the touchscreen” (Kim (¶0135 line 3-4)).
Oddiraju in view of Kim may not explicitly disclose:
taking a screenshot of the image according to the first screenshot signal and enable a successive screenshot function according to the first screenshot signal
Nicholas teaches:
taking a screenshot of the image according to the first screenshot signal and enable a successive screenshot function according to the first screenshot signal (Nicholas (¶0049 line 3-8, fig. 4, ¶0051 line 1-6, fig. 5A), captured screenshot is displayed with editing tools when user selects a button. Editing tools includes a cropping function for user to crop the captures screenshot)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify area identifying module of Oddiraju in view of Kim with a crop option taught by Nicholas, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to allow user’s “interaction can include images to greatly enhance interaction” (Nicholas (¶0003 line 3-5)).
Oddiraju in further view of Kim in further view of Nicholas may not explicitly disclose:
and wherein when the successive screenshot function is enabled, a successive screenshot condition including a preset screenshot count and a preset screenshot time interval, is set to determine when to stop the successive screenshot function.
Alsing teaches:
and wherein when the successive screenshot function is enabled, a successive screenshot condition including a preset screenshot count and a preset screenshot time interval, is set to determine when to stop the successive screenshot function (Alsing (col. 4 line 39-42 and 47-50), “and a time lapse image is a series of images automatically captured by the camera at predefined time intervals for a defined duration ( e.g. capturing a picture every five minutes for an hour”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify area identifying module of Oddiraju in view of Kim in further view of Nicholas with a time lapse image capturing module taught by Alsing , with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to allow to save computer resources by capturing time-lapse video and “interactively creating a movie from one or more images in a digital camera” (Alsing (col. 4 line 62-67)).
As Claim 2, beside Claim 1, Oddiraju and Kim in view of Nicholas in further view of Alsing teaches wherein the step of selectively enabling the successive screenshot function according to the first screenshot signal comprises:
generating an operation interface; and enabling the successive screenshot function when the operation interface detects a successive screenshot enabling signal (Nicholas (¶0049 line 3-8, fig. 4, ¶0051 line 1-6, fig. 5A), captured screenshot is displayed with editing tools when user selects a button. Editing tools includes a cropping function for user to crop the captures screenshot).
As Claim 5, beside Claim 1, Oddiraju and Kim in view of Nicholas in further view of Alsing teaches wherein the step of taking a screenshot of the image according to the second screenshot signal is taking a screenshot of the image according to the second screenshot signal within a preset screenshot duration (Oddiraju (¶0052 last 7 lines), screenshot capture system captures screen shot after certain amount of time).
As Claim 6, besides Claim 1, Oddiraju and Kim in view of Nicholas in further view of Alsing teaches further comprising stopping the successive screenshot function according to a successive screenshot stop signal (Oddiraju (¶0025 last 5 lines), confirmation step could be omitted).
As Claim 7, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 8, besides Claim 7, Oddiraju and Kim in view of Nicholas in further view of Alsing teaches wherein the scheduling screenshot function is taking a screenshot of the image according to a preset screenshot duration or a preset screenshot count (Oddiraju (¶0025 last 5 lines), confirmation step could be omitted based on touch duration).
As Claim 9, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 11, the Claim is rejected for the same reasons as Claim 1.
As Claim 14, besides Claim 1, Oddiraju and Kim in view of Nicholas in further view of Alsing teaches wherein the second screenshot signal is formed by the succession of the contacting screen signal, the leaving screen signal and a blank signal (Kim (¶0132, ¶0135, fig. 7), user sets a capture area “A” defined by touch positions. When user touch is released, image in area “A” is captured. User gestures includes touch at P1 (contact screen signal), leaving P1 to P2 (blank signal) and 3D touch release).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddiraju in view of Nicholas in further view of Alsing.
As Claim 12, Oddiraju teaches a screenshot method, applicable to an electronic device, wherein the electronic device comprises an input unit and a touch screen, the touch screen is configured to display an image, and the screenshot method (Oddiraju (¶0016 line 1-8), touch screens) comprises:
receiving a first screenshot signal using the input unit or the touch screen (Oddiraju (¶0022 line 3-8, fig. 2 item 42, ¶0046 line 1-2, fig. 7 item 604), user actuates item 42 on touch screen. User request the capturing of a screenshot);
taking a screenshot of the image only according to a second screenshot signal when the successive screenshot function is enabled (Oddiraju (¶0047 line 1-4), user enable successive screen screenshot function by answering “no”), wherein the second screenshot signal is different from the first screenshot signal (Oddiraju (¶0047 line 6-end), user inputs the portion of display to be captured).
wherein the first screenshot signal is for generating single screenshot data (Oddiraju (¶0046 line 7-11, fig. 7 item 604), when the answer is capturing the entire screenshot, the entire screenshot is capture and the second screenshot signal is for generating successive screenshot data (Oddiraju (¶0047 line 6-end), user inputs the portion of display to be captured)
Oddiraju may not explicitly disclose:
taking a screenshot of the image according to the first screenshot signal and enable a successive screenshot function according to the first screenshot signal
Nicholas teaches:
taking a screenshot of the image according to the first screenshot signal and enable a successive screenshot function according to the first screenshot signal (Nicholas (¶0049 line 3-8, fig. 4, ¶0051 line 1-6, fig. 5A), captured screenshot is displayed with editing tools when user selects a button. Editing tools includes a cropping function for user to crop the captures screenshot)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify area identifying module of Oddiraju with a crop option taught by Nicholas, with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to allow user’s “interaction can include images to greatly enhance interaction” (Nicholas (¶0003 line 3-5)).
Oddiraju in view of Nicholas may not explicitly disclose:
and wherein when the successive screenshot function is enabled, a successive screenshot condition including a preset screenshot count and a preset screenshot time interval, is set to determine when to stop the successive screenshot function.
Alsing teaches:
and wherein when the successive screenshot function is enabled, a successive screenshot condition including a preset screenshot count and a preset screenshot time interval, is set to determine when to stop the successive screenshot function (Alsing (col. 4 line 39-42 and 47-50), “and a time lapse image is a series of images automatically captured by the camera at predefined time intervals for a defined duration ( e.g. capturing a picture every five minutes for an hour”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify area identifying module of Oddiraju in view of Nicholas with a time lapse image capturing module taught by Alsing , with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation would be to allow to save computer resources by capturing time-lapse video and “interactively creating a movie from one or more images in a digital camera” (Alsing (col. 4 line 62-67)).
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103:
As Claim 1-11, Applicant argues that Oddiraju does not disclose “preset screen shot count as well as the preset screenshot time” (last paragraph of page 7 in the remarks).
Applicant’s arguments are moot because new reference Alsing teaches the limitation(s).
Other independent/dependent Claims are not allowable for the same reason(s) above.
Conclusion
/NHAT HUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2147